瞭解工作流程管理

透過這份詳細的工作流管理指南,您可以享受完善工作流程所帶來的成果。

裝飾圖片

什麼是工作流程?

工作流程是將執行任務所需的活動順序,以概述的方式列出。工作流程步驟透過系統化的組織資源來決定企業流程,並描述每項任務從「尚未開始」到「完成」的途徑。

有些工作流程比較容易記錄,通常可分為三種主要類型:流程、專案和案例。

流程方面的工作流程從一開始就可以完全列出。這種類型的工作流程很適合描述汽車製造業。任務是可預測且標準化的,幾乎沒有修改的空間。

專案工作流程與流程工作流程相似,但提供更多彈性空間。這類流程提供客製解決方案,而不是一體適用的方法。例子之一就是畫家接受繪畫委託。儘管藝術家知道在每項專案結束時,他們都會創作一幅作品,但他們預期每次過程根據要畫的內容而有所不同。

案例工作流程可能會根據需求情況而變化很大,隨著收集到更多資訊,正確的行動方法會更容易顯現。IT 支援服務回報單和保險索賠就會列入案件工作流程的類型,因為一開始,相關人員不確定他們要採取的行動或結果是什麼。

將工作流程概述列出,可提供更寬廣的能見度和監督功能,從而提高責任感並降低專案風險。將過程資料紀錄下來有助於確保透過穩固可靠的方式,將工作完成並重複執行。這代表企業能夠更準確衡量其能力及生產力,所以工作流程成為企業流程管理中極為重要的工具。

工作流程的歷史

由波蘭工程師卡羅爾阿達米耶茨基 (Karol Adamiecki) 發明的時間表 (harmonogram) 被認為是最早所知的工作流程管理系統形式之一。時間表利用紙條來概述作業流程,指出過程中之前和之後的任務。這些紙條上加了紙標籤,每個紙標籤代表一個時間單位,利用這個方法來測量完成任務所需的時間。

以視覺化呈現的話,可用 Excel 檔案來想像。每個 Excel 資料列都相當於時間表的紙標籤,代表花費的時間,而每個 Excel 資料欄則代表工作流程中的各項不同任務。具有五個任務的流程則需要五欄。若每項任務花費 2 個小時,我們可透過在 A 欄標記 1 和 2、在 B 欄標記 3 和 4、在 C 欄標記 5 和 6、在 D 欄標記 7 和 8、及在 E 欄標記 9 和 10 來說明。這代表完成全部五個任務總共需要 10 個小時。

經由對應每個必要事件及完成所需的時間,阿達米斯基可為管理人員提供總生產時間的準確估計。生產更新會顯示剩餘工作量,對照已完成工作量的關係,提供損失時間的概要。若有落後於預測的作業情況,這些紙條會特別以記號和字母標明,說明延遲的原因。專案完成後,阿達米斯基鼓勵管理人員將已完成的時間表拍照,並在未來的規劃中將已完成工作的進度列入考量。

時間表早在 1896 年就在波蘭受到採用,讓化工廠、金屬軋機、農業和採礦業的產量增加了 100% 至 400%。1903 年,阿達米斯基向葉卡捷琳諾斯拉夫 (Ekaterinoslaw) 的俄羅斯工程師協會介紹了他的案例研究結果,但直到 1931 年,他的圖表才被出版,即便如此,當時也只以波蘭語出版。這代表甘特圖已被廣泛認可為工作流程範本的基礎。

亨利·甘特 (Henry Gantt) 在 1910 年至 1915 年之間設計了他的同名圖表。儘管 1912 年赫爾曼·舒爾奇 (Hermann Schürch) 也發表了類似的設計,但當時人們普遍認為他的作品不值得關注。甘特圖顯示需要完成的任務、負責每項任務的人員、及完成每項任務所需的時間。甘特圖對工作流程的視覺化與時間表略有不同,是以垂直方式顯示任務,並使用水平條狀表示任務持續時間、里程碑及相關性。許多時程範本都採用了這種觀點,且在當今已經非常普遍。

多年下來,工作流程管理軟體日益普及,且針對特定產業的工作流程工具也變得很普遍。

工作流程範例

員工部署

新進員工的部署流程通常牽涉多個階段且橫跨不同單位。這個流程預期需要文件管理及具有法律約束力簽名的需求。部署工作流程其中一項元素可能如下所示:

  • 第一步:人力資源經理以電子郵件向所有新進員工發送歡迎信,信中包含部署文件
  • 第二步:新進員工閱讀歡迎信並打開附件的文件
  • 第三步:新進員工簽署工作合約並寄回給人力資源部門
  • 第四步:人力資源部門加以處理並將文件歸檔

工作流程中的每個步驟都可能遇到瓶頸,也代表是改善流程的機會。為了確保人力資源經理能為新進員工提供所需的一切,他們可考慮與員工經理建立共享資料夾。該資料夾可包含與新人相關的所有文件,新人就不用再要求提供這些文件,省了人力資源經理很多麻煩。

發送給新進員工的檔案,可透過受密碼保護的連結接收檔案,或只有團隊成員具備查看的權限,以確保檔案安全。可透過 HelloSign 執行法律文件相關流程,員工可提供電子簽章,還有很多有用的工具,甚至可讓人力資源經理將歡迎信這項工作自動化。

製作影片活動

客戶和代理商的關係依經驗可能需要以下工作流程:

  • 第一步:公司品牌經理製作並分享簡介
  • 第二步:代理商的客戶經理聽了簡介、製作要求的影片、寄給品牌經理審核
  • 第三步:品牌經理將影片分享給相關人員,請他們提供意見
  • 第四步:客戶經理根據意見修改並交付最終版本的檔案

這個專案工作流程圍繞著寄送長影片內容協作,這可能是常見的痛點。透過與 Dropbox 配合使用,尤其可讓這幾個過程更加順暢無縫,使用者不需經過壓縮,就可快速寄送大型檔案。使用者還可以在影片的特定點留下時間碼留言,提供清楚準確的意見,打造更完美的最終產品。

臨時專案管理

與客戶建立合作關係時,專案可能會出現需要超出原本範圍的工作,且可能會產生新任務的額外需求。儘管我們不可能將預期之外的工作流程最佳化,但還是可以採取許多步驟來確保非預期的需求得到妥善處理。

藉由已建立好的文件管理流程,相關人員本來就可以存取事先定義好的區域,臨時專案需求即可利用此區域交付。透過使用 Dropbox 來儲存成果,檔案的任何修改都會自動同步,讓您不需擔心手邊是否有保留最更新的工作檔案版本。

如果您已使用 Dropbox Paper 來撰寫會議記錄,則其他額外需求的任務管理非常簡單。您只需要標註專案經理,加上請求內容和建議的到期日,就一切就緒。Paper 甚至會發送自動提醒,確保每個人都按進度執行。

執行對應工作流程

建立自己的工作流程圖時,重要的是要將過程發生的事件準確記錄下來,不要理會少見的情況和例外。如果流程涉及團隊成員,最好讓執行流程的人員提供意見,因為他們的洞察力非常寶貴。

雖然流程工作流程可能最容易對應,但不應該忽略案例和專案工作流程。在這些情況下,請考慮為最常完成的案例和專案建立工作流程,因為將這些專案的流程最佳化所帶來的好處,會讓您的感受最深刻。

最初的工作流程也許不甚完美,但不用對此感到羞愧。練習的目的是找出改進的空間,並讓每個新的工作流程迭代都比上一個更好。紀錄流程只是第一步,但很關鍵。工作流程軟體或技術推陳出新,可能提供新的成長機會,因此這個最佳化過程可說是永無止境。

Dropbox 和其整合功能不斷增加,代表您有無數種方法可改善工作流程。哪怕只是從單一整合資料夾中的不同程式來查看檔案,這類對於生活品質的小小改善,也可能對您執行任務的方式產生巨大影響。無論您單獨執行專案或身為國際團隊的一員,只有將 Dropbox 導入流程中,您的工作方式才能得到改善。

Understanding workflow management

Reap the rewards of a refined workflow process with this detailed guide to workflow management.

What is a workflow?

A workflow is an outline of the sequence of events needed to carry out a task. Workflow steps dictate business processes through the systematic organization of resources and describe the path that takes tasks from "not yet started" to "complete."

Some workflows are easier to document than others and can typically be categorized under three main types: process, project, and case.

Process workflows can be entirely outlined from the very first step. This type of workflow well-describes car manufacturing. Tasks are predictable and standardized with little room for variation.

Project workflows are similar to process workflows but provide more room for flexibility. They function more as bespoke solutions instead of a one-size-fits-all approach. An example of this would be an artist taking commissions for paintings. While the artist knows that at the end of each project, they will have created a painting, they can expect the process to vary depending on what they will be painting.

Case workflows can vary greatly depending on the circumstances of the request with the right course of action becoming apparent as more information is gathered. IT support tickets and insurance claims would fall under case workflows as, at the start, those involved will be unsure of the action they’ll need to take or of what the result will be.

Outlining a workflow process can increase accountability and reduce project risk by providing greater visibility and oversight. Documenting process information helps ensure work can reliably be completed and repeated. This means businesses are able to better measure their capability and capacity, making workflows an incredibly important tool in business process management.

The history of workflows

The harmonogram, invented by Polish engineer Karol Adamiecki, is credited as being one of the earliest known forms of a workflow management system. The harmonogram outlined operations with paper strips which noted the next and previous task in the process. Paper tabs were attached to these strips to measure the time required to complete them, with each tab representing a unit of time.

To visualize this, imagine an Excel file. Each Excel row serves as the harmonogram’s paper tabs to indicate an amount of time and each Excel column represents a different task in the workflow. A process with five tasks will require five columns, or tabs. If each task takes 2 hours, we can demonstrate this by marking cells 1 and 2 in column A, 3 and 4 in B, 5 and 6 in C, 7 and 8 in D, and 9 and 10 in E. This will show us that it should take 10 hours in total to complete all five tasks.

By mapping each necessary event and time needed for them all to be completed, Adamiecki could provide managers with an accurate estimate of their total production time. Production updates would indicate the amount of work remaining in relation to the amount completed, providing an overview of the amount of time lost. The strips would be highlighted if they fell behind forecast with signs and letters describing the reasons for their delay. On completion of the project, Adamiecki encouraged managers to take a picture of the finished harmonogram and factor the progression of completed jobs in future plans.

The harmonogram was adapted in Poland as early as 1896 and brought about increases in output of between 100 - 400% in chemical plants, metal rolling mills, agriculture, and mining. Adamiecki presented his results of his case studies to the Society of Russian Engineers in Ekaterinoslaw in 1903, however his chart was not published until 1931 and even then, was only done so in Polish. This has meant that Gantt charts have become much more widely recognized as a building block for workflow templates.

Henry Gantt designed his eponymous charts between 1910 and 1915, though similar designs were also published in 1912 by Hermann Schürch, whose work was generally not considered noteworthy at the time. Gantt charts demonstrate the tasks that needed to be completed, the people responsible for each task, and the time needed for each task to be completed. They visualize workflows slightly differently from harmonograms, instead displaying tasks vertically and using horizontal bars to represent task duration, milestones, and dependencies. Many timeline templates have adopted this view and it is very much commonplace today.

Over the years, workflow management software has increased in popularity and industry-specific workflow tools have become readily available.

Workflow examples

Employee onboarding 

The onboarding process for new employees is often a multi-stage and cross-functional one. It can be expected to come with document management considerations as well as the request for legally binding signatures. One element of the onboarding workflow may look like this:

  • Step one: HR manager to send a welcome email with onboarding documents to all new hires

  • Step two: New hire to read welcome email and open attached documents

  • Step three: New hire to sign contract of work and send back to HR

  • Step four: HR to process and store documentation

Each step in the workflow is both a potential bottleneck and an opportunity to refine the process. To ensure that HR managers are providing new hires with everything they need, they could consider creating a shared folder with the hire’s manager. This folder could contain all the relevant files for a new starter and save the HR manager from needing to request them.

The files sent to the new hire could receive files from a password protected link or with viewing permissions only available to those on the team to ensure file security. Legal documents could be processed through HelloSign and given an electronic signature, and there are tools available that would allow the HR manager to even automate the welcome email itself.

Developing a video campaign

Client and agency relationships may experience workflows that require:

  • Step one: Company brand manager to create and share a brief

  • Step two: Agency’s account manager to take brief, create requested video and send to brand manager for review

  • Step three: Brand manager to share with stakeholders for their feedback

  • Step four: Account manager to make edits according to feedback and deliver final file

This project workflow revolves around sending long videos and content collaboration which can be common pain points. These processes in particular could be made more seamless by working with Dropbox which would allow users to send large files quickly and without compression. Users would also be able to leave time-based comments at specific points of the video, making for clear and precise feedback, and resulting in a better final product.

Ad hoc project management

When engaging in a client partnership, projects may require work outside of their initial scope and additional requests for new tasks may arise. Although optimizing a workflow for the unexpected is impossible, there are a number of steps that can be taken to ensure that unforeseen requests are well-handled.

With established document management procedures, ad hoc requests can have a predefined area for delivery that stakeholders will already have access to. By using Dropbox to store your deliverables, any changes made to files are automatically synced and you’ll never need to worry about having the most up-to-date version of your work.

If you’re already writing your meeting notes with Dropbox Paper, then task management for additional requests is simple. Just tag the project manager with a request and a proposed due date and you’re good to go. Paper even sends automatic reminders to help make sure everyone stays on track.

Process mapping workflows

When creating your own workflow diagrams, it is important to document an accurate representation of your process and ignore rare cases and exceptions. If a process involves team members, it is best to get the people executing the process to provide their input as their insight is invaluable.

While process workflows may be the easiest to map, case and project workflows should not be ignored. In these cases, consider creating workflows for the most commonly completed cases and projects as this is where the greatest benefits of process optimization will be felt.

There’s no shame in your initial workflow not being a perfect process. The purpose of the exercise is to identify room for improvement and make each new workflow iteration better than the last. Getting the process documented is just the first step, but a critical one. There is arguably no end to this process as new developments in workflow software or technology as a whole may provide new opportunities for growth.

Dropbox and its growing number of integrations mean there are countless ways your workflow can be refined. Even small quality of life improvements like viewing files from multiple programs in one integrated folder can have an enormous impact on the way you carry out your assignments. Whether you’re working on a project alone or as part of an international team, your way of working can only be improved by plugging Dropbox into your process.

Learn how you and your team can do more with Dropbox.

Get started now