什么是 DMAIC?

了解 DMAIC 方法,以便您可以使用数据在组织内实际改进流程。

什么是 DMAIC?

DMAIC 是一种数据驱动的问题解决方法,可帮助不断完善和改进产品、设计和业务流程。它于 20 世纪 80 年代由摩托罗拉工程师 Bill Smith 作为六西格玛方法的一部分提出。六西格玛方法旨在使用数据和统计信息推动制造流程的持续改进。

DMAIC 流程有哪些不同步骤?

DMAIC 有 5 个相互关联的步骤:定义、测量、分析、改进和控制。每个阶段都具有累积效应:以先前阶段中生成的信息和数据为基础,并在多次迭代中重复执行。

  • 定义:“定义”阶段确定问题是什么以及制定出解决方案需要什么。在流程的这一阶段,您清楚地说明问题、最终目标以及实现该目标要付出哪些努力。此阶段可帮助您全面了解整个流程以及哪些要素对质量至关重要,也称为“CTQ”(关键质量特性)。输入和输出通常使用 SIPOC 图进行概括 — SIPOC 是 Supplier(供应商)、Input(输入)、Process(流程)、Output(输出)和 Customer(客户)的首字母缩写。这些信息通常在项目章程文件中捕获,该文件阐明了 DMAIC 流程的模型。

  • 测量:清楚流程问题后,您需要概述如何观察对其进行的更改。当然,采用数据驱动方法时,具有良好的数据对于 DMAIC 流程至关重要。因此,“测量”阶段的目的是确定当前的流程性能以及将要分析的数据。从那里,您可以使用数据收集计划来监控随着您不断做出改进的性能变化,并在项目结束时进行比较。

  • 分析:现在,您应建立了数据基线,可以用来开始制定有关流程的决策。如您所料,分析阶段是仔细检查这些数据的最佳时机。此时,您和您的团队成员将使用您掌握的数据绘制当前流程图,以此了解流程问题的开始位置。尽管一些六西格玛项目使用更为复杂的工具执行这一工作,但是鱼骨图和帕累托图已完全足够并且是进行根本原因分析的常用方法。确定几个根本原因后,就该让您的团队参与进来了。让他们投票决定接下来 DMAIC 流程的重点应该放在哪里。

  • 改进:最后,要开始对流程进行实际改进了。在“改进”阶段,与您的团队一起制定可在 DMAIC 流程中实施和测量的创造性解决方法。此时,集思广益和召开有效的会议对于您的团队而言至关重要。想出了解决方案之后,您需要测试、验证和实施解决方案。计划-执行-检查-行动或“PDCA”循环是执行这一工作的常用方法,该方法与“失效模式与影响分析”或“FMEA”结合使用来预测可能的问题。这些信息应写在详细的实施计划中,然后您可以遵照实施计划在流程中应用解决方案。

  • 控制:DMAIC 方法的最后一步可以帮助您验证解决方案并确保在未来的持续成功。在“控制”阶段,您的团队应制定监控和控制计划,以不断重新评估任何已实施流程更改的影响。同时,您还应制定反应计划,以在性能再次开始下降并出现新问题时采取行动。能够回顾如何执行的改进以及提出了什么解决方案非常宝贵。在这些时候,对改进流程编制适当的文档并执行版本控制至关重要。

如果您对 DMAIC 已有所了解,那么您可能听说过一个不同的初始步骤,称为“识别”阶段。此步骤首先要选择正确的项目或要解决的问题,因为并非所有项目都需要像 DMAIC 一样严格的方法。

DMAIC 的优点是什么?

在工业方面,六西格码和 DMAIC 的吸引力在于能够推动精益制造方法。目标是尽可能消除浪费、缺陷和过度生产 —“六西格玛”这个名字实际上是从使用的统计模型中得来的。在统计中,标准差也称为“西格玛”或 σ。制造商发现,他们的平均和可接受质量极限之间的标准差越大,越不可能超过这些极限。因此,六西格玛或六个标准差成为定义生产极限、减少缺陷数和改进流程的黄金标准。

用实际的统计术语来说,拥有六西格玛质量意味着流程的缺陷率为 3.4/1000000。由于缺陷的可能后果,某些行业,例如药品制造商或飞机制造商,可能在生产中使用更高的西格玛水平。

这种流程改进统计方法以及诸如 Kaizen 之类的其他方法在 90 年代和 2000 年代对于推动制造业的改进发挥了关键作用。但是,DMAIC 如何应用于当今的其他行业呢?

DMAIC 的主要优点是,它是一种非常严格的问题解决方法。无论您是什么企业,对新流程进行实验或对工作流程进行更改通常都无法得出关于有什么改变的明确答案。但是,通过使用 DMAIC(这是一种数据驱动方法,明确定义了目标和阶段,旨在客观地评估对流程的更改是否取得了积极结果),您可以更好地评估可衡量的进展。无论是确定问题的真正根源还是确定实验的实际影响,DMAIC 都可以为您提供执行这一工作所需的数据。

DMAIC 提供了一个用于执行更改的标准化、结构化框架,清晰的 5 步方法使每个人都能了解流程的每个阶段。这样一来,您可以编制文档来汇总所有决策和所取得的进展,从而可以无缝地逐步向前推动。另外,拥有明确的流程,您可以帮助指导团队清晰了解当前的目标和未来的工作方向。

DMAIC 的其中一个最大优点是,它是一个高度可重复的流程,具有持续性。在流程的“控制”阶段,流程所有者必须继续监控优化的影响。如果已制定数据监控计划,新流程数据自然就构成新“测量”阶段的基线。如果最初的改进无法维持性能,您的反应计划还可能应用于新的 DMAIC 流程中。这样,DMAIC 方法就能够持续识别问题或对性能的影响(采用立即针对这些问题的方法)。

通过这种方式,DMAIC 框架提供了一种结构化的方法,通过反复不断地优化企业流程为您的组织提供指导。无论您所属哪个行业,无论您的团队或组织规模如何,它都是一种十分有效的方法,可推动持续性能改进。

何时应该使用 DMAIC?

如前所述,对 DMAIC 的常见调整是添加的“识别”阶段:确定问题是否适合 DMAIC 的时期。添加这一步骤的原因是,DMAIC 是一个需要大量合作、努力及时间才能理解的流程。一个组织需要实施和实践 DMAIC,来了解它对他们的团队、行业和组织文化的最佳运作方式。同时,组织需要考虑在哪里最好地分配其资源:哪个流程或团队将从 DMAIC 中受益最大?

因此,它不一定是任何问题的首选方法。如果可以确定某个流程问题,并且有一个以有说服力的数据为支撑的简单解决方案可用,那么可能就不需要执行完整的 DMAIC 流程。

但是,如果该流程问题很复杂或者涉及高风险(也许是承受不起性能下降的情况),则 DMAIC 是更可取的方法。即使资源成本更高,DMAIC 也会确保遵循该程序并且不会跳过关键步骤,从而增加成功实施的机率。

使用 DMAIC 改进流程

第一次尝试 DMAIC 项目可能会令人怯步,尤其是在组织需要解决重大问题的情况下。理解 DMAIC 的关键是,对于您的组织或企业而言,它不是一种开箱即用的最佳实践方法。相反,它是一个发现过程,使您可以通过不断逐渐改进为您的团队和组织找到最佳实践。虽然并非您的组织面临的所有问题都需要 DMAIC,但是引入它可以开始推动对流程做出真正的改变和改进,这最终可以为您的公司带来可衡量的成功。

发现更有效的团队协作方式。

Dropbox Business 使用入门

What is DMAIC?

Learn the DMAIC methodology so you can use data to create real process improvements in your organization.

What is DMAIC?

DMAIC is a data-driven, problem-solving approach that helps make incremental refinements and optimizations to products, designs and business processes. It was created in the 1980s as part of the Six Sigma methodology by Motorola engineer, Bill Smith. The Six Sigma approach was designed to drive continual improvement in manufacturing processes using data and statistics.

What are the different steps of the DMAIC process?

DMAIC has 5 interconnected steps: Define, Measure, Analyze, Improve and Control. Each phase is designed to have a cumulative effect: to build on information and data generated in the previous stages and to be repeated over multiple iterations.

  • Define: The Define phase establishes what a problem is and what’s needed to accomplish a solution. This part of the process is where you clearly state your problem, the end goal, and the scope it will take to achieve it. This phase helps you understand the process in its entirety and which elements are critical to quality, otherwise referred to as “CTQs.” Inputs and outputs are usually outlined with a SIPOC diagram—SIPOC being an acronym for suppliers, inputs, process, outputs and customers. This information is typically captured in a project charter document, which sets out the shape of your DMAIC process.

  • Measure: Once you’ve understood your process problem, you need to outline how you’re going to observe the changes you make to it. Of course, with a data-driven approach, having good data is essential to the DMAIC process. As such, the purpose of the Measure phase is to establish your current process performance and what data you’ll be analyzing. From there, you can use a data collection plan to monitor your performance as you make changes and to compare at the end of the project.

  • Analyze: You should now have a baseline of data that you can use to start making decisions about your process. As you might expect, the analyze phase is the perfect time to go through that data. Here, you and your team members will build a current process map using your data to understand where issues in your process begin. While some Six Sigma projects use more complicated tools for this, fishbone diagrams and Pareto charts are perfectly sufficient and commonly used methods for conducting root cause analysis. Once you’ve identified several root causes, it’s time to involve your team. Have them vote to decide where the focus of your DMAIC process should be moving forward.

  • Improve: Finally, it’s time to start making actual improvements to your process. In the Improve phase, work with your team to find creative solutions that can be implemented and measured within the DMAIC process. At this point, brainstorming and having effective meetings are critical for your team. Once you have solutions in mind, you need to test, fail-proof, and implement them. Plan-Do-Check-Act or “PDCA” cycles are a common method for this, combined with Failure Mode and Effects Analysis, or “FMEA,” to anticipate possible issues. This information should be drawn up in a detailed implementation plan, which you can then use to guide the application of solutions in your processes.

  • Control: The last step in the DMAIC methodology can help you verify and sustain the success of your solutions for the future. In the Control phase, your team should create a monitoring and control plan to continually reassess the impacts of any implemented process changes. At the same time, you should create a response plan to act upon in the event that performance begins to fall again, and a new problem appears. Being able to look back on how improvements were conducted and what solutions were made can be an invaluable asset. In these moments, having proper documentation and version control on the improvement process is vital.

If you already know a little about DMAIC, you may have heard of a different initial step, known as the Recognize phase. This step involves selecting the right project or problem to tackle in the first place, as not all projects may require as rigorous an approach as DMAIC.

What are the advantages of DMAIC?

In industry, the appeal of Six Sigma and DMAIC was its ability to drive a lean manufacturing approach. The goal was eliminating waste, defects, and over-production as much as possible—the name Six Sigma is actually derived from the statistical model used. In statistics, a standard deviation is also referred to as a “Sigma” or σ. Manufacturers found that the more standard deviations there were between their average and acceptable quality limits, the less likely they were to go over those limits. Thus, Six Sigma, or six standard deviations, became the gold standard in defining production limits, reducing the number of defects and improving processes.

In actual statistical terms, having Six Sigma Quality means having a defect rate of 3.4 per million opportunities in your processes. Some industries, such as pharmaceutical or airplane manufacturers, may use an even higher sigma level in production due to the possible consequences of defects.

This statistical approach to process improvement, along with other methodologies such as Kaizen, was vital to driving improvement in manufacturing in the 90s and 2000s. But how does DMAIC apply to other industries today?

The core benefit of DMAIC is that it is an incredibly rigorous problem-solving approach. Experiments with new processes or changes to workflows can often end up not yielding definitive answers as to what’s changed, no matter your business. But by using DMAIC, a data-driven approach with defined objectives and stages designed to objectively assess whether changes to process have been positive, you’re in a better position to assess measurable progress. Whether it’s identifying the real roots of your problems or the actual impacts of your experiments, DMAIC equips you with the data to do this.

DMAIC provides a standardized, structured framework for making change, and the clear 5-step approach keeps everyone abreast of every stage of the process. This enables you to produce documentation to summarize all decisions and progress made, so you can move seamlessly from step to step. And by having a definitive process, you can help guide teams in terms of what their current objectives are and where their work is headed.

One of the best things about DMAIC is that it’s a highly repeatable process designed to be ongoing. The Control phase of the process necessitates that process owners continue to monitor the impacts of optimization. With a data monitoring plan already in place, your new process data naturally forms the baseline for a new Measure phase. Your response plan could also dovetail into a new DMAIC process in the case of initial improvements failing to sustain performance. As such, the DMAIC methodology is able to continually identify problems or impacts on performance, with a method to immediately target those issues.

In this way, the DMAIC framework provides a structured approach that can guide your organization through repeated, incremental optimizations of business processes. No matter what sector you’re in or the size of your team or organization, it’s a tested method for driving continual improvements in performance.

When should you use DMAIC?

As mentioned earlier, a common adjustment to DMAIC is the added Recognize phase: a period of identifying whether a problem is suitable for DMAIC. The reason for this step is that DMAIC is a process that requires a high degree of alignment and effort, as well as time to understand. An organization needs to implement and practice DMAIC to see how it works best for their teams, their industry and with their organizational culture. At the same time, organizations need to consider where to best allocate their resources: which process or team stands to benefit most from DMAIC?

As such, it is not necessarily the go-to option for any issue or problem. If a process issue is identifiable, and a simple solution backed by compelling data is available, then a full DMAIC process may not be necessary.

However, when the process problem is complex or involves high risk—perhaps where performance decreases can’t be afforded—DMAIC is the preferable approach. Even if resource costs are higher, DMAIC ensures that procedure is followed and crucial steps are not skipped, increasing the chances of successful implementation.

Improving processes with DMAIC

It can be daunting to attempt a DMAIC project for the first time, especially if there are major problems that your organization needs to solve. What’s critical to understand with DMAIC is that it’s not an out-of-the-box best practice approach for your organization or business. Rather, it’s a discovery process that allows you to find the best practices for your teams and organization through iteration and incremental improvement. While not all problems your organization faces will require DMAIC, introducing it can start to drive real change and improvements to your processes, which, ultimately, can lead to measurable success for your company.

Learn how you and your team can do more with Dropbox.

Get started now