計畫、執行、查核、行動的循環

只要利用 PDCA 循環法,即可使團隊的問題解決流程變得更加完善,也更令人滿意。

PDCA 是什麼?

PDCA 是種簡單、不斷重複的管理方法,可用來測試流程改變或問題解決方案,並隨著時間流逝持續改進。PDCA 與當今業界使用的諸多流程和品質管控方法一樣,源自於 20 世紀的製造業實務經驗。基於 PDCA 簡單又易於重複的特性,許多非製造業紛紛開始使用這個方法,對於個人、團隊或組織整體都適用。

PDCA 起源何方?

PDCA 源自於 W. Edwards Deming 的「Shewhart 循環」,以統計學家 Walter Shewhart 的名字命名,世人多稱 Shewhart 為現代品質管控之父。Deming 是位美國工程師和教授,因在日本的工作而廣為人知,他的構想影響了日本戰後的工業程序與工業復甦。事實上 PDCA 的名稱由來,出自參與 Deming 講習的學員,他們將 Shewhart 循環簡化成「計畫、執行、查核、行動」。Deming 本人其實較偏好以「研究」取代「查核」,即「計畫、執行、研究、行動」循環 (PDSA),因為「研究」一詞更能強調分析結果,而不單是檢查有所改變的部分。

儘管如此,這個方法目前最廣為人知的名稱還是 PDCA 循環,其設計可供多次實施及重複。在其他製造導向的品質管理法當中,也可以發現這樣的設計和邏輯,例如精實生產、Kaizen 方法和六標準差方法。

PDCA 循環如何運作?

PDCA 循環共有 4 個步驟:計畫、執行、查核、行動。整個流程為線性進行,每段循環的結束即銜接下個循環的開始。

  • 計畫:瞭解目前狀態和預期狀態。簡單來說,計畫階段旨在定義目標,制訂實現目標的方式,以及該如何衡量目標實現的進度。當然,這步驟有些模糊,要依照計畫目標而定,而且不同團隊進行 PDCA 的方式也都不同。有些團隊可能會將循環切分成數個中繼步驟,這一點其他流程 (如 DMAIC) 已經施行。

    如果想要善用某個機會,規劃時應著重在把握機會所需的必要流程或行動上。如果想解決流程問題,那麼在開始制定計畫前,可能需要先執行根本原因分析。總之,無論是既有流程資料或前次 PDCA 循環的分析,資料運用都有助於訂定行動計畫或假設。

  • 執行:設下行動計畫或針對問題的潛在解決方案後,即可開始測試。在執行步驟,您可以開始測試初步提議的改動。不過,這時的測試都應該當作是實驗,畢竟目前還不是完全實施解決方案或流程改變的好時機。因此,這個階段應設定在可控環境下小規模作業,不應受到外部因素影響,也不該干擾到團隊或組織的其他流程與運作。整個階段的重點在於收集與測試影響相關資料和資訊,這些結果會供下個流程階段所用。

  • 查核:前導測試完成後,即可開始檢查所提議的改動或解決方案,是否有發揮預期的效果。在查核階段,需分析從執行階段收集而來的資料,並將資料與原始目標與目的相互比較。此外也應評估先前所使用的測試方法,觀察在計畫階段擬定的方法是否有任何改變,以及這些改變是否很可能已影響整個流程。總而言之,這個步驟旨在評估目前是否已達成目的,以及哪些部分應保留到下個流程階段。事實上此時可能會選擇再測試一次,重複進行執行階段與查核階段,直到找到滿意的解決方案為止,再來才進入到行動階段。

  • 行動:整個循環到了尾聲,這時您和團隊應該已經在欲實施的流程中找出改變建議。不過,PDCA 循環之所以稱作循環,是因為在行動階段執行任何改變,並不不代表流程就此結束。新建立或改善過的產品、流程,或是已解決的問題,都會成為往後 PDCA 反覆循環的新基準。

通常 PDCA 團隊和實施人員會在各階段找出最適合自己的工具。不過,無論是正在計畫階段腦力激盪,還是在查核階段整理資料,Dropbox Paper 都能幫助您管理流程的每個部分。共享專案規劃文件可協助確立流程綱要,協作工具則可讓團隊共同參與,並在重複進行 PDCA 時隨時掌握進度。當然還有能輕鬆共享所有文件和檔案的 Dropbox 儲存空間

為什麼要使用 PDCA?

PDCA 的核心在於提供標準化方法和指導原則,讓團隊成員和員工有所依循,以此解決問題並不斷改進。不過,許多管理及品質管控方法,也都各有其複雜之處和成功案例。與其他方法相比,PDCA 有什麼獨到的地方?

運用 PDCA,也就是計畫、執行、查核、行動的一連串循環步驟的主要理由,就是因為流程簡單明瞭、容易上手,方便掌握,也易於實際推行。基於這些特性,PDCA 不僅在工作場域中歷久不衰,更席捲了各行各業和大眾思想。儘管想在團隊中發揮作用,仍須獲得同事支持。但 PDCA 運作方式相當簡單,可輕鬆融入組織文化和整體流程。

PDCA 本質上會不斷循環、一再重複,因此也有助於剔除錯誤,避免將來重蹈覆轍。隨著流程不斷最佳化,PDCA 循環會協助您從中發現錯誤及根本原因。隨著持續測試不同的解決方案並付諸實踐,您也在過程中不斷累積資料和經驗,更加瞭解整個流程。由此可見,PDCA 不單是解決問題的方法,這種循環還能為團隊或組織中的各種流程增添寶貴的相關資訊。

PDCA 是一種具高度彈性的策略。有些人為了確保準備好進入接下來的流程階段,可能會在計畫階段指定完成特定文件或步驟。不過,實際需要訂定或規劃的項目,最終仍由您和團隊決定,只要能繼續其餘流程即可。基於這種彈性,PDCA 也能靈活調整規模,可適用任何情況和任何大小的團隊,甚至小至一人團隊也不例外。

PDCA 使用時機為何?

想要落實某些問題的解決方法和管理做法,可能得花上大把時間與資源才能實現。但 PDCA 具備良好的適應能力,也就是幾近全體適用。若想持續改善自己或團隊的工作流程,PDCA 是理想的選擇。不過,PDCA 方法講求有條有理、循序漸進,因此改變是逐步發生。因此,如果組織正在處理急迫的流程問題或緊急情況,PDCA 可能不太合適。同理,如果希望能迅速改善效能和結果,PDCA 也可能無法滿足期待。PDCA 的優勢在於能夠持續發現問題,再加以改良並找出最佳方法;僅僅重複一輪,不太可能徹底解決問題或改善效能。

運用 PDCA 持續改進

PDCA 的核心理念在於因應。首先需確定情況並設定目標,再測試各種實現目標的方法,接著回顧成功的部分並依此調整自身行為,最後採取有效的方法繼續邁進。即使無法實際在工作團隊或組織中直接融入 PDCA,這個方法仍提供了一套指導原則,有助於瞭解應對工作等場合遇到的任何情況。

雖然 PDCA 看似簡單,若想真正從中受益,仍須嚴謹並熟練掌握整個流程。不過,堅持落實這個方法確實能改變您和團隊的工作方式。隨著時間流逝,循環不斷重複,終會迎來可觀的成果。在工作團隊和組織內部推動 PDCA,努力獲得支持,可協助所有同事逐漸建立解決問題與批判思考的思維模式

The Plan Do Check Act cycle

Make the problem-solving process for your team more refined—and more satisfying—simply by using the PDCA cycle approach.

What is PDCA?

PDCA is a simple, iterative management approach for testing changes to processes or solutions to problems, and driving continuous improvement to them over time. As with many process and quality control approaches used by various industries today, it originated from manufacturing practices in the 20th century. The simplicity and readily reproducible success of PDCA led to it being used by many industries outside manufacturing, whether by individuals, teams, or entire organizations.

Where did PDCA come from?

PDCA was derived from W. Edwards Deming’s “Shewhart Cycle,” named after Walter Shewhart, a statistician often referred to as the father of modern quality control. Deming, an American engineer and professor, was best known for his work in Japan, where his ideas helped influence the country’s post-war industrial processes and recovery. In fact, the name PDCA was coined by participants of his lectures, who streamlined the Shewhart Cycle to “Plan, Do, Check, Act.” Deming actually preferred “Study” to “Check,” making it the Plan-Do-Study-Act or PDSA cycle, as the word placed more emphasis on analyzing results rather than simply checking what had changed.

Nevertheless, the approach today is best-known as the PDCA cycle, as it is designed to be completed and repeated numerous times. The design and logic can be seen in other manufacturing-based quality management approaches of the time, such as Lean Manufacturing, Kaizen, and Six Sigma.

How does the PDCA cycle work?

The PDCA cycle involves 4 steps: Plan, Do, Check, Act. The process is performed in a linear fashion, with the completion of a cycle tying into the beginning of the next cycle.

  • Plan: Understand your current state and the desired state. In the simplest terms, the purpose of the planning phase is to define your aims, how to accomplish them, and how you’ll measure your progress toward them. Naturally, this is somewhat of a vague step, as  based on what you’re trying to do—and different teams approach PDCA in different ways. Some may split it into several intermediary steps, which other processes such as DMAIC already do.

    If you’re looking to leverage an opportunity, then your planning should focus on the processes or actions that are necessary to target that opportunity. If you’re looking to solve a process problem, then a root cause analysis may be needed before you can move forward with a plan. In any case, using data—whether pre-existing process data or analysis from previous PDCA cycles—will help you formulate a plan of action or hypothesis.

  • Do: Once you have your plan of action or your potential solution for a problem, test it. The Do step is the time for you put your initial proposed changes to the test. However, this should be seen as an experiment—it is not the point at which you are fully implementing a solution or process change. As such, this phase should be conducted at a small-scale in a controlled setting. It shouldn’t be impacted by external factors or disrupt other processes and operations of your team or organization. Of course, the whole point of this phase is to collect data and information on the impact of the test, as this will inform the next stages of the process.

  • Check: After your pilot test is complete, you need to examine whether your proposed changes or solutions had the intended effect. The Check phase is where you analyze the data gathered from the Do phase and compare it to your original goals and aims. The testing approach you used should also be evaluated, to see if any changes were made to the method set out in the Plan phase that may have affected the process. Overall, the purpose of this step is to evaluate how successful you’ve been, and what should be taken into the next step of the process. In fact, you may choose to run another test, repeating the Do and Check phases until you find a satisfactory solution to take onto the Act phase.

  • Act: Upon reaching the end of the cycle, you and your team should have identified a proposed change from the process to implement. However, the PDCA cycle is called a cycle for a reason, as whatever changes you implement in the Act phase aren’t the end of your process. Your new and improved product, process or solved problem should form a new baseline for further iterations of the PDCA cycle.

Teams and practitioners of PDCA will typically work out what tools work best for themselves in each phase. However, whether you’re brainstorming in the Plan phase, or collating your data at the Check stage, Dropbox Paper can help you manage every part of the process. Shared project planning documents can help you outline your process, while collaboration tools can keep your team involved and on track as you iterate with PDCA. And of course, all of your documents are files are easily shareable through Dropbox storage.

Why should you use PDCA?

At its core, PDCA provides a standardized approach and guiding philosophy for team members and employees to resolve issues and continuously improve their work. However, this could be said of many management and quality control approaches, all with varying levels of complexity and numbers of success stories. What makes PDCA special compared to the rest?

The main reason is that PDCA or Plan, Do, Check, Act is a simple, straightforward and intuitive process for people to grasp and implement into their work. This has made it not only enduring in the world of work, but also pervasive across industries, and in people’s minds. While it still requires a degree of buy-in from your colleagues to make it work in teams, PDCA’s simplicity makes it easy to bake into your organizational culture and overall processes.

Due to its cyclical and iterative nature, PDCA also helps you to iron out mistakes and prevent them from occurring in the future. The cycle is designed to help you identify errors and their root causes as you repeatedly optimize a process. As you continue to test different solutions and successfully implement them, you’ll also build up data and experience in understanding the process. At this point, PDCA becomes more than problem-solving approach, as it can add valuable information that’s relevant to different processes in your team or organization.

PDCA is a highly adaptable strategy. Some may prescribe certain documents or steps be completed during the Plan phase to ensure that they are ready to proceed with the rest of the cycle. However, what needs to be defined or planned is ultimately up to you and your team, providing it can sustain the rest of the process. This adaptability in turn makes PDCA scalable, as it can be adapted to any situation and for teams of any size—even down to a team of one.

When should you use PDCA?

While some problem-solving and management approaches can be time and resource-intensive to apply, PDCA’s adaptability means it is rarely non-applicable. If you are looking to make consistent improvement to your own work processes or those of your team, then PDCA is a good option.However, PDCA’s methodical, incrementalist approach means that change comes gradually. As such, it may not be as suitable if your organization is dealing with an urgent issue with process or an emergency. Equally, if you are looking to see fast turnarounds in performance and results, PDCA may not give what you’re looking for. PDCA’s strength is in its ability to continually identify problems, then refine and find optimal methods—it is unlikely to completely solve an issue or turn around performance after a singular iteration.

Continual refinement with PDCA

At its core, PDCA is a philosophy for approaching situations. First, you identify the situation and set goals, then you test different approaches for reaching those goals, review their success and adjust your behavior accordingly, before finally moving forward with what has worked. If it’s not realistic for your team or organization to integrate PDCA directly, it still offers guiding principle to help you understand and approach any situation you come across in the workplace and beyond.

While being so simple, PDCA is still a process that requires rigor and mastery in order to truly benefit from it. However, adopting it—and then sticking to it—can really change the way you and your team work, with measurable results you can see as time and iterations go by. Promoting PDCA within your teams and organization—with successful uptake—can help move all your colleagues toward a mindset for problem-solving and critical thinking.

Learn how you and your team can do more with Dropbox.

Get started now