有遠端工作相關的疑問嗎?讓我們解答您的疑惑

居家辦公與遠端工作一樣嗎?不太一樣。查看這些常見問題的解答,以瞭解遠端工作相關的專門用語。

在行動裝置上尋找遠端工作相關問題解答的人

遠端工作是什麼意思?

採用遠端工作模式的公司很少 (如果有的話) 要求員工前往集中的工作地點,例如辦公室。只要員工有良好的網路連線,就可以全天在家中、咖啡店、圖書館—在任何地方工作。事實上,只要有手機熱點,您甚至可以在酋長岩山腳下或茂宜島的海灘處理工作。

*完全沒有任何訊號嗎?離線同步與存取功能可以讓您輕鬆選擇在沒有 Wi-fi 連線時,也能使用 Dropbox 中的檔案。只要對您需要離線使用的檔案取消選取「僅供線上存取」,需要時就可以隨時隨地存取。

遠端工作和居家辦公一樣嗎?

不,如果上司表示您可以每週五居家辦公,您還是必須在其他工作日前往辦公室。或者您也許可以一週選幾天居家辦公,不過在大部分的工作週間,您還是得待在辦公室—這就是居家辦公的現實狀況。另一方面,遠端工作者完全不需要進辦公室報告,他們的工作常態就是在辦公室之外的地方工作。

*想要一份遠端工作嗎?想要招聘遠端工作者嗎?請記得:求職者搜尋「居家辦公」的機率是搜尋「遠端工作」的五倍。務必要確保職位說明有清楚表明進辦公室的相關要求。

居家辦公的人

那麼,遠端工作有哪些好處?

好處不少。想想看,您往返通勤要花多少時間?一小時?三小時?與其坐在車陣中或是擠在火車裡,您可以吃一頓健康的早餐和健身 30 分鐘。遠端工作者有辦法達到比較理想的工作與生活平衡、比較彈性的時程,以及有比較多自由決定要如何及在何處運用自由時間。

然而,這對企業來說有益嗎?相較於傳統的辦公室工作者,管理良好的遠端工作者更有生產力也更快樂。此外,進辦公室的人數減少,表示雇主需要的辦公室空間也會減少—或甚至完全不需要辦公室—也不必再支付昂貴的通勤津貼。

什麼是分散式團隊?

在採用分散式團隊的組織中,員工們不需要在集中的辦公室工作。基本上,所有員工都是遠端工作者,可能是居家辦公或是分佈在數個衛星辦公室。國際新聞和旅遊出版業向來都是以這種模式運作。例如,記者身在國外採訪,並遠端傳送報導給編輯。近期,有越來越多公司意識到不將人才限制在特定地點的益處。

在這種企業架構之下,關鍵在於有條理的組織一切事務。管理跨時區的員工可能會是惡夢一場。Dropbox 可以提供針對分散式團隊問題的解決方案。Dropbox 就是工作團隊檔案的單一來源,因此所有人都知道該去哪裡找到最新資訊—沒有人需要等待其他時區的同事回覆。

有哪些工作正在轉變為遠端工作?

各產業的公司都開始採用遠端工作模式,甚至包括一些令人出乎意料的產業:

  • 製造業:遠端職位增加 1622%
  • 醫療保健業:遠端職位增加 640%
  • IT 業:遠端職位增加 60%

一面用電話討論遠端工作一面在筆電上工作的人
這股趨勢會持續到疫情結束之後嗎?沒有人能確定,不過各種跡象都指向肯定的答案。25-30% 的遠端工作者並不希望回到辦公室。而有 60% 的員工認為遠端工作選項是決定接受職位的關鍵因素。

Dropbox 可以幫助您在遠端世界中生存並蓬勃發展

進一步瞭解 Dropbox Business

Got remote work questions? We’ve got answers

Is working from home the same thing as remote work? Not quite. Learn the lingo of remote work with these answers to frequently asked questions.

A person looking for answers to remote work questions on a mobile device

What does working remotely mean?

Companies that follow a remote work model rarely, if ever, require their employees to come into a central work location, like an office. As long as you have a good internet connection you can work full-time from home, a coffee shop, the library—anywhere. Really, with a mobile hotspot you can even put in the hours from the foot of El Capitan, or on the beach in Maui. 

*Don’t have any signal at all? With offline sync and access, you can easily choose to make files in your Dropbox available when you’re away from Wi-fi. Simply deselect ‘Online Only’ for the files you need offline to access where and when you need them.

Is remote work the same as working from home?

No. If the boss said you could work from home every Friday, you’d still be on the hook to come into the office the rest of the week. Or maybe you get to pick a couple of days to work from home a week. You’ll still spend most of your work week in the office—that’s the reality of working from home. Remote workers, on the other hand, are never required to report into an office and their norm is to work offsite.

*Want a remote job? Trying to hire a remote worker? Keep this in mind: the term “work from home” is five times as likely to be searched for than “remote work.” Be sure the job description clearly states the expectations for coming into the office.

A person working at home

So, what are the perks of remote work?

There are many. Think about it this way, how long is your round trip commute? One hour? Three hours? Instead of sitting in traffic or cramming into a train, you could eat a healthy breakfast and do a 30-minute workout. Remote workers are able to carve out better work-life balance, a more flexible schedule, and greater freedom to determine where and how they will spend their free time. 

But, is it good for business? Well-managed remote workers are more productive and happier than traditional office workers. Also, fewer people coming into the office means employers require less office space—or none at all—and no more expensive commuter benefits.

What are distributed teams?

Organizations with distributed teams have groups of employees who do not work from a central office. Essentially, everyone is a remote worker, and may be reporting to work from home or several satellite offices. International news and travel publications have always been working with this model. Think, correspondents abroad collecting stories and remotely sending them to editors. Recently, more and more companies are realizing the benefits of not having their talent tied down to a specific location.

With this type of business structure, it is crucial to have all of your ducks in a row. Managing employees across time zones can be a nightmare. Dropbox has solutions to the problems of distributed teams. It’s your single source for team files so everyone knows where to find the latest info—no one has to wait on a reply from a coworker who’s in another timezone.

What jobs are moving to remote work?

Companies of all kinds are embracing remote work, even in industries that you might not expect:

  • Manufacturing: 1622% increase in remote roles
  • Healthcare: 640% increase in remote roles
  • IT: 60% increase in remote roles

A person on a phone discusses remote work while working on a laptop
Will this trend continue post-pandemic? No one knows for sure, but all signs point to yes. 25-30% of remote workers don’t want to return to the office. And 60% of employees see the option to work remotely as a deciding factor in accepting a position.
The statistics and quotes featured in this article are compiled from several years of research conducted by Dropbox, Totaljobs, Remoters, Appcast, and Brandata. Learn more about the methodology and sources here.

Dropbox can help you survive—and thrive—in a remote world

Learn more about Dropbox Business