找到梦寐以求的远程办公

从设计简历格式到搞定在线面试,我们为您提供成功求职过程中所需的所有策略。

一个人在用笔记本电脑搜索远程办公

远程办公的兴起为更多人提供了更多就业机会。现在,您不再需要住在公司办公室附近,也不必为了方便工作而搬家。但是,获得这种新自由是有代价的。如果您的简历只是数千份在线简历中的一份,想要受到关注是很困难的。要想在视频面试中留下好印象,需要具备一系列全新的技能。近 40% 的招聘经理表示,转为远程招聘这一变化趋势对面试融洽感产生了影响。别紧张!即使是在汹涌的求职大军中,也有很多方法可以脱颖而出。

击败机器人,使您的简历受到关注

有越来越多的公司使用人工智能 (AI) 软件来完成对求职者进行分类的繁重工作。了解这种招聘技术的工作原理非常重要,这样您就可以利用它来发挥出您自己的优势。幸运的是,借助一些简单的策略,可以帮助您提升让简历顺利通过软件筛选并送到招聘经理手中的机会。以下是相关的四点提示:

1. 确保机器人可以阅读您的简历

尽管求职者追踪软件变得越来越智能,但它在可识别的对象方面仍然存在局限性。您应该检查自己简历的格式,不要使用图片、花哨字体,最重要的是不要在图片中添加文字。与上传 PDF、使用 HTML 或采用其他格式相比,Microsoft Word 通常更可取。所有 AI 程序都可以轻松扫描 Word 文档。

含突出显示的关键字的求职信示例

2. 使用关键字

求职者追踪软件会扫描您简历中的关键字,然后为您提供职位合适性评分。您应尽可能添加实际职位描述信息中的适当关键字,以获得最高评分。另外,应仔细检查所需的所有其他信息是否正确,例如曾担任过的每份职务的开始和结束月份及年份。

您得到了在线面试机会!下一步就是成功被录用。

如今,公司通常会在招聘过程中至少安排一次 Zoom 面试。稍作准备,您就可以利用这个机会发挥自己的优势。想象一下,对于并不可笑的即兴喜剧,和制作精良、时机刚刚好的电影,当然是后者更有趣。请执行下列七个简单步骤以从在线面试中脱颖而出并获得工作:

1. 做好准备,条理清晰

将所有相关的具体求职申请文件放在有序的文件夹中。通常情况下,求职者会带着这些材料去面试,以防面试官要求提供或参考这些材料。即使是在视频面试过程中,您也需要做好充分准备,而不要浪费时间单击多个文件夹或寻找正确文件版本。

Dropbox 让您能够轻松保存、整理和共享每一份独一无二的简历。您甚至可以通过 Microsoft 和 Google 集成,直接从 Dropbox 中进行编辑。

2. 检查技术准备情况

确保一切顺利的第一步是仔细检查所有技术情况。请在面试前一天按照以下清单进行检查:

  • 确保电脑或网络摄像头能够正常运行。
  • 测试互联网连接和 WiFi。为此,需进行 Google“网速测试”,单击“运行速度测试”,确保您的相关服务正常运行。
  • 检查麦克风的音频电平。带内置麦克风的耳塞式耳机将有助于减少回声。如果使用无线耳机,请检查蓝牙连接是否正常。

3. 布置现场

请按照以下清单消除干扰因素以便您和面试官能够专注于进行彼此了解:

  • 保持安静!关上门窗,告知室友或家人不要打扰,关掉手机铃声。采取一切措施来防止可能会干扰面试流程的背景噪音。
  • 理想情况下,背景最好是一面空白墙。如果没有空白墙,请确保背景干净整洁。不要让杂乱环境降低您的魅力。
  • 面试有时会被打断,甚至面试官那边也可能会发生这种情况。如果您的室友或孩子在面试时进入房间,不要惊慌。要冷静地道歉,请求稍等片刻。关掉视频和音频,清理环境,然后再继续面试流程!您并非总能控制周围的环境,但是您可以控制自己处理突发情况的方式,而面试官也会注意您的反应。
一个人于在线面试中做自我介绍

4. 灯光,摄像头,…

您有没有想过为什么有些人总是在镜头前状态良好?他们并非有特异功能。良好状态归功于摄像头,更主要是归功于灯光!请按照以下步骤操作以便自己呈现出最佳状态:

  1. 将摄像头放在与眼睛齐平的位置,让头部位于电脑屏幕上方三分之一处,而不是居中。
  2. 尽可能使用柔和的间接光。如果是可控制方向的灯光,请将其对准您前面的白墙。如果您使用的是一般台灯,请在台灯上面放一张薄纸来进行漫射。
  3. 光源应始终在您的前面,而不是在后面或正上方。
  4. 建议使用自然光。从窗外照进来的自然光往往比专业设备发出的光线更好。

5. 穿着得体

如果您穿着睡衣参加虚拟面试,再充分的准备或再出色的照明也无济于事。穿着得体可让招聘经理知道您对这份工作非常重视:

  1. 在选择服装之前先应该研究一下公司文化。长辈可能会告诉您,职业装始终是最合适的。但是对许多公司而言,尤其是在时尚和科技行业中,干净休闲的着装是更好的选择。
  2. 不要选择容易分散别人注意力的着装。宝石色调的着装会很上镜,而且不会引起不必要的注意。

6. 熟能生巧

远程面试可能会很尴尬。要在面试过程中真正放松,唯一方法就是练习!找一位有耐心的家人或朋友,尽可能多地进行模拟视频面试。以下是一些提示,可让帮助您在镜头前表现得泰然自若:

  1. 对着镜头进行眼神交流练习,而不是对着面试官这样做。一开始会觉得不自然,但是研究表明,直视镜头可以拉近您和面试官之间的距离。
  2. 面带微笑,并表现得比实际会面时更有活力一些。略微夸张的面部表情和手势会让您在镜头前显得更加自然。
  3. 保持自信和友好的肢体语言。要全程坐直,肩膀向后收。
  4. 练习回答各种常见的面试问题。你为什么从之前的公司离职?你为什么想要得到这份工作?你为什么认为自己最能胜任这份工作?你最大的缺点是什么?

7. 做笔记并跟进

在面试过程中做笔记,并在面试后 24 小时内给招聘人员或招聘经理发送电子邮件。确保:

  1. 记下有关面试官的有趣个人情况。
  2. 记下他们对相关职务的介绍,以及您将如何与他们合作。
  3. 记得索要他们的工作电子邮箱。
  4. 给面试官发一封跟进信,对他们抽出时间来面试表示感谢。如果能引用你们谈话中的一两个细节,让您发的电子邮件更具有个人特征,会很有帮助。

Dropbox Paper 是记录和整理笔记的好方式。单击此处了解如何使用 Paper。

Dropbox 可以帮助您适应并进一步掌控远程办公

详细了解 Dropbox Business

Land your remote dream job

From formatting a resume to nailing your online interview, we have all the strategies you need to succeed.

A person searching for a remote job with their laptop

The rise of remote work has opened up job opportunities to more people than ever before. Now you no longer have to live near a company’s offices—or relocate—to work for them. But this newfound freedom comes at a cost. It's hard to get noticed when your resume is one of the thousands submitted online, and it takes a whole new set of skills to make a great impression in a video interview. Nearly 40% of hiring managers say that interview chemistry has been impacted by the shift to remote hiring. Don't stress! There are plenty of ways to stand out, even in a sea of applicants. 

Beat the bots and get your resume noticed

More and more companies are using artificial intelligence (AI) software to do the heavy lifting of sorting through job applicants. It's essential to understand how this hiring technology works, so you can use it to your advantage. Luckily, a few simple strategies can help increase your chances of getting your resume past the software and into the hands of a real, living, breathing person. Check out our four tips here:

1. Make sure a robot can read your resume

Even though applicant-tracking software is getting smarter, it still has limitations in what it can recognize. Check the formatting of your resume and steer clear of graphics, fancy fonts, and most importantly, any text within images. Microsoft Word is generally more preferable than uploading a PDF, using HTML, or anything else. Word docs are easily scanned by all AI programs.

An example cover letter with highlighted keywords

2. Use keywords

Applicant-tracking software works by scanning the text in your resume for keywords before giving you a job compatibility score. Wherever possible and relevant, include keywords from the actual job description to get the highest score possible. Also, double-check all of the other information that’s needed is correct, such as the month and year you started and ended each of your past roles.

You got an online job interview! Next step, get hired.

It’s now normal for companies to schedule at least one Zoom interview as part of the hiring process. With a bit of prep, you can use this to your advantage. Think about live improv comedy where the jokes fall flat versus a well-directed movie with perfect timing. The movie is always funnier. Follow these seven easy steps to ace your online interview and get the job:

1. Prepare and organize

Keep all your application documents for a specific job together in organized folders. Typically candidates carry this stuff with them to an interview in case their interviewer requests or references it. You still want to be prepared, even on a video call, and don't want to waste time clicking through multiple folders or looking for the correct version. 

Dropbox makes it easy to save, organize, and share each unique resume. You can even do the editing right from Dropbox with Microsoft and Google integrations.

2. Check your tech

The first step in making sure everything runs smoothly is double-checking all of your technology. Follow this checklist the day before the interview:

  • Make sure your computer or webcam is working correctly.
  • Test your internet connection and wifi. Just Google "internet speed test," click "Run Speed Test," and make sure your service is running smoothly.
  • Check audio levels for your microphone. Earbuds with a built-in microphone will help reduce the chance of an echo. It they are wireless, check that the Bluetooth connection is working.

3. Set the scene

Follow this checklist to remove distractions, so you and your interviewer can focus on getting to know each other:

  • Quiet! Close doors and windows, ask roommates or family members for privacy, turn off your cell phone ringer. Do whatever you need to do to prevent any background noise that could interrupt your flow.
  • Ideally, set yourself up in front of a blank wall, but if that isn't an option, make sure your background is tidy and free of clutter. Don't let a mess overshadow your charm.
  • Interruptions happen. Chances are they've even happened to your interviewer. If a roommate or one of your children comes into the room during the interview, don't panic. Calmly apologize and ask for a moment. Turn off your video and audio, clear the space, and get back to work! You don't always have control of your surroundings, but you do have control of how you handle the situation—and your interviewer will be paying attention to your reaction. 
A person introducing themselves during an online interview

4. Lights, camera, …

Do you ever wonder why some people always seem to look good on camera? They aren't special. It's the camera, and more importantly, the lighting! Follow these steps to look your best:

  1. Place your camera at eye level and have your head in the upper third of the computer screen, not centered.
  2. Use soft, indirect light when possible. If you have a light that you can direct, aim it at a white wall in front of you. If you have a typical desk light, put a thin sheet over it to diffuse.
  3. The light source should always be in front of you, never behind or directly overhead.
  4. Natural light is best. Light from a window is often better than even professional equipment.

5. Look the part

No amount of preparation or good lighting will help if you show up for your virtual interview still in your pajamas. Dress for success to show the hiring manager you are serious about the job:

  1. Research the company culture before you pick an outfit. Your grandpa may tell you businesswear is always best, but for many companies, especially in the fashion and tech industries, clean and casual is better.
  2. Don't dress in distracting clothes. Jewel tones always work well on camera and won't draw unneeded attention.

6. Practice makes perfect

Remote interviewing can be awkward. The only way to truly get comfortable is to practice! Find a patient family member or friend and do as many mock video interviews as you can handle. Here are some tips to follow to get you feeling natural and confident on camera:

  1. Practice eye contact with the camera, not the person you are interviewing. It feels unnatural at first, but research shows that looking directly at the camera will create more of a connection between you and the interviewer.
  2. Smile and act a little more animated than in-person. Slightly exaggerated facial expressions and hand gestures will make you seem more natural on camera.
  3. Maintain confident and friendly body language. Sit up straight with your shoulders back the whole time. 
  4. Practice answering common interview questions. Why did you leave your last job? Why do you want this job? Why are you the best candidate? What are your biggest weaknesses?

7. Take notes and follow up

Take notes during the interview and send an email to the recruiter or hiring manager within 24 hours of your interview. Make sure to:

  1. Write down interesting personal facts about your interviewers. 
  2. Note how they describe the role and how you would work with them.
  3. Be sure to ask for their work email.
  4. Send a follow-up note to thank your interviewers for their time. It helps if you can reference a detail or two from your conversation to make your email more personal. 

Dropbox Paper is a great way to take and organize notes. Learn how to use Paper here.

The statistics and quotes featured in this article are compiled from several years of research conducted by Dropbox, Totaljobs, Remoters, Appcast, and Brandata. Learn more about the methodology and sources here.

Dropbox can help you survive—and thrive—in a remote world

Learn more about Dropbox Business