有效的工作场所沟通

工作空间中的有效沟通是提高工作效率和鼓舞员工士气的重要工具。探索一些最成功的职业沟通策略。

在 Dropbox 文件中发表评论是一种工作场所沟通方式

用于实现有效工作场所沟通的策略

工作场所中的有效沟通不仅仅关乎对员工和同事开诚布公,当然这也是一个积极因素。职业沟通的关键是企业内部流程和公司文化的核心,它决定了您的工作方式和人际关系处理方式。探讨工作场所沟通的重要性,以及一些用于工作中沟通的最佳策略。

为什么工作场所中的有效沟通很重要?

明智的职场沟通是企业获得长期成功的关键之一,有助于提高工作效率,并在整个组织内保持牢固的工作关系。想象一下工作中因沟通不畅而产生的问题:晦涩的公司目标、有限或根本不存在的反馈模型、糟糕的冲突管理,或来自管理者的模糊指示。这一切加起来意味着浪费。浪费时间,浪费精力,浪费资本。换句话说,您公司的职业沟通标准对业务盈利底线有着直接影响。一项研究表明,在内部进行有效沟通的公司为股东提供的回报率(五年内)比无法这样做的公司高 47%

5 个职业沟通策略

确保工作场所中的有效沟通应成为贵公司领导团队的首要任务。我们在下面概述了一些用于改善工作沟通的最佳方法:

1. 投资于智能工作区

最重要的是,必须集中地管理您的各种职业沟通工具。约 50% 的员工会使用未经批准的应用或软件, 这除了导致安全风险之外,还可能导致团队和项目不同步。分散、断裂的沟通渠道会导致在访问文档或文件时出现问题,使一些同事无法获得其所需的所有信息,从而产生延迟和收益浪费。

解决方案?诸如 Dropbox 这样的智能工作区可将您企业中的所有平台、应用和内容类型整合到一个地方。这样,当团队成员在一天中处理不同的任务时,就不需要在各工具之间进行切换。例如,Dropbox Paper 的任务管理功能可以帮助确保每个人都跟上进度并知道他们所担负的职责,从而有助于改善问责机制并确保清晰的沟通渠道。

此外,项目规划也需要进行良好的工作场所沟通。借助 Dropbox Paper 的项目规划模板,您将获得能够帮助整个团队保持同步的工具。委派待办事项,并在一个地方收集您的所有反馈,而不会受困于来回进行的电子邮件操作。在实时管理反馈方面,Dropbox 中的注释功能远比涉及过多抄送人员的冗长而混乱的电子邮件线程更有效。

2. 尽可能面对面交谈

在现代工作场所中,面对面会议有时会被忽略,因为 Slack 和电子邮件等工作场所通信工具已成为首选标准。但是,不应该完全抛弃面对面交流。如果您需要传递敏感信息,那么就必须进行面对面会议。亲自与您的团队会面(或至少通过 Zoom 进行视频会议),可以让您看到肢体语言和面部表情,这样您就可以全面了解自己在传达特定信息时获得的效果。将您的沟通渠道想象成这样的层次结构:视频通话(必须进行眼神交流)比电话更具人际效果,而电话比电子邮件或即时消息更具人际效果。

3. 关注消息传递的清晰度

当在工作场所进行有效沟通时,您需要使消息传递过程清晰和简洁。领导者进行的晦涩办公室沟通(即重复工作、混乱的时间期限、不正确的可交付成果等)可能会在项目开始之前就延迟甚至破坏项目,因此,在最初就获得正确消息是非常重要的。包括任何任务的详细说明,并确保您正在解决团队的核心问题:对象、方式及原因。否则,只会让同事感到困惑,让他们无法专心完成手头的任务。当然,糟糕的职业沟通也会对供应商和客户造成打击,导致他们无法有效参与到您的业务,转而与其他企业合作。可通过从一开始就保持及时而清晰的沟通来避免这种情况。

4. 实践“坦诚相待”

坦诚相待是一种职业沟通框架,它要求您关心同事,同时直接质疑他们的行为,让您在工作环境中实现好斗情绪和同理心之间的适当平衡。对于许多领导者来说,良好的沟通技巧并不是与生俱来的。事实上,Interact 进行的一项调查发现,69% 的经理不喜欢直接与员工沟通,而 37% 的经理表示,如果认为员工可能会做出负面回应,他们就不喜欢提供直接反馈。如果您的情况与此相似,那么“坦诚相待”可能是您所需的办公室沟通策略,可帮助您建立有凝聚力的团队并取得更佳成果。

5. 保持横向沟通结构

开放式办公室沟通流程是让员工发表意见的好方法。“经济学人智库” (The Economist Intelligence Unit) 在 2018 年的一项调查中发现,31% 的员工认为不够坦诚的开放式沟通是导致士气低落的一个原因。这是一个会影响员工敬业度和工作满意度的重要因素。为了改善工作场所内的相互联系,您需要确保实施横向沟通结构,在其中,公司高管层和高级管理人员直接与员工沟通,并邀请直接提供反馈。

换句话说,初级员工应感到有权与高级员工交谈,而不应该有任何与组织领导沟通受阻或不受欢迎的感觉。这可能需要进行制度层面的改变,而您还可能有能力实施有其他一些工作场所沟通策略以弥合领导和员工之间的代沟,比如虚拟的问答会议。

结语

职业沟通几乎可以在您业务的各个方面发挥重要作用。通过在工作场所中进行有效沟通,有助于提高效率、生产力和创新能力,让员工保持高敬业度,让您的企业准备好迎接成功。

探索工作场所沟通策略

开始使用

Effective workplace communication

Effective communication in the workspace is an essential tool for boosting productivity and raising employee morale. Explore some of the most successful professional communication strategies.

Strategies for effective workplace communication

Effective communication in the workplace isn’t just about being open and honest with your employees and peers—although that won’t do any harm. The crux of professional communication goes to the heart of your business’s internal processes and company culture, dictating how you work and the manner in which you navigate interpersonal relationships. Explore the importance of workplace communication, as well as some of the best strategies for communication at work.

Why is effective communication in the workplace important?

Smart workplace communication is one of the keys to the long-term success of your business, helping to improve productivity and maintain strong working relationships throughout your organization. Just think about the symptoms of poor communication at work: incomprehensible company goals, limited or non-existent feedback models, or unclear instructions from managers. It all adds up to one thing—waste. Wasted time, wasted effort, and wasted capital. In other words, your company’s professional communication standards have a direct impact on your business’s bottom line, with one study indicating that companies that communicate effectively provide a 47% higher return to shareholders (over a five-year period) than those that don’t.

5 professional communication strategies

Ensuring effective communication in the workplace should be top of the agenda for your company’s leadership team. We’ve outlined some of the best ways to improve communication at work below:

1. Invest in a smart workspace

Most important, it’s vital to centralize your professional communication tools. Around 50% of employees use unsanctioned apps or software, which—aside from being a security risk—can lead to teams and projects getting out of sync. Decentralized, fractured channels of communication cause issues with access to documents or files, as well as situations where some co-workers may not have all the information they need to proceed, resulting in delays and wasted revenue.

The solution? A smart workspace, such as Dropbox, that consolidates all of your business’s platforms, apps, and content types in one place. That way, there’s no need for team members to switch between tools when they’re working on different tasks throughout the day. For example, Dropbox Paper’s task management feature can help to ensure that everyone’s on track and understands what’s expected of them, helping to improve accountability and ensure clear lines of communication.

Project planning is also an area that requires excellent workplace communication. Dropbox Paper’s project planning template can give you the tools you need to keep the whole team on the same page. Delegate to-dos and gather all your feedback in one place, so that there’s no confusing back and forth over email. When it comes to managing feedback in real time, annotations on Dropbox can be far more effective than long, messy email threads with too many people on cc.

2. Talk face-to-face, when possible

In the modern workplace, face-to-face meetings can sometimes fall by the wayside as workplace communication tools like Slack and email have become the go-to standard. However, you shouldn’t let face-to-face communications go completely out of fashion. If you need to relay sensitive information, face-to-face meetings are a must, while meeting your team in person (or at least via a Zoom call) allows you to see body language and facial expressions, so you can fully understand how well you’re communicating certain pieces of information. Think of your communication channels like a hierarchy: video calls are more personal than phone calls (eye contact is a must), and phone calls are more personal than emails or instant messages.

3. Focus on the clarity of your messaging

When it comes to effective communication in the workplace, you need to bring clarity and concision to your messaging. Unclear office communication from leaders can delay or even torpedo a project before it gets going (i.e., duplication of work, confusing time-frames, incorrect deliverables, etc.), which is why it’s important to get the message right the first time. Include detailed instructions for any task, and make sure that you’re addressing your team’s core questions—what, how, and why. If you don’t do that, you’ll only confuse and disengage co-workers from the task at hand. Of course, poor professional communication can also hit suppliers and customers, causing them to become disenfranchised with your business and go elsewhere. Avoid this by maintaining prompt and clear communication from the outset.

4. Practice “radical candor”

Radical candor is a framework for professional communication that requires you to care about your colleagues while also directly challenging them on their behavior, giving you the right balance between aggression and empathy in a work environment. For many leaders, good communication skills don’t come naturally. In fact, a survey by Interact found that 69% of managers are uncomfortable communicating directly with employees, while 37% stated that they’re uncomfortable giving direct feedback if they believe that the employee may respond negatively. If that sounds like you, radical candor could be the office communication strategy you’re looking for, helping you to build a cohesive team and achieve better results.

5. Maintain a horizontal communication structure

Opening up the flow of office communication is a great way to give your employees a voice. A 2018 survey from The Economist Intelligence Unit found that 31% of employees cite a lack of honest, open communication as a cause of low morale. This is an integral factor for employee engagement and job satisfaction. To boost connectivity within your workplace, you need to ensure a horizontal communication structure wherein C-level employees and senior management communicate directly with employees, inviting direct feedback.

In other words, junior employees should feel empowered to talk to high-level employees—there shouldn’t be any sense that lines of communication with your organization’s leaders are blocked or frowned upon. This may require change on an institutional level, but there are other workplace communication strategies that you may be able to implement to bridge the gap between leadership and employees, such as virtual town halls with question-and-answer sessions.

Final word

Professional communication can play an important role in virtually every aspect of your business. Mastering effective communication in the workplace can help to increase efficiency, productivity, and innovation, keeping employees engaged and leaving your business primed for success.

Explore workplace communication strategies

Get started