職場的軟技能

瞭解什麼是軟技能,及為什麼軟技能對於取得職場上的成功如此關鍵。

裝飾圖片

軟技術是什麼?

直接雇用最有經驗的候選人看似是最符合邏輯且最明智的決定,但造就一個優秀的團隊成員,除了資格和經驗以外,還有很多層面需要考量。瞭解軟技能和硬技能之間的區別,及為什麼軟技能絕對不可或缺,對於建立更強大、更高效率的團隊至為重要。

隨著企業持續快速演變,傳統的「職涯」概念產生變化和重塑,具備可應用於各種職位和行業的可轉移技能,日趨重要。

長久下來,硬技能被視為比較「專業的技能」,軟技能僅被當作履歷表上增加版面的內容。研究表示,如今人力資源專業人員在選擇理想的候選人時,傾向考慮軟技能而非硬技能。

硬技能是可衡量的、實質的能力,儘管在任何職位上都很重要,但並非造就優秀員工的最終決定因素。硬技能是指技術能力,舉例如數學、閱讀理解力、語言流利能力、及電腦技巧等。

另一方面,軟技能是較無法量化的人格特質和特徵,但在職場同樣重要,甚至有過之而無不及。軟技能根植於行為、態度和價值觀。

雖然硬技能對您工作成果有較大影響,但軟技能則有助於打造人際關係,並在職場上建立文化氣息和社群意識。也就是說,軟技能絕對會對您的工作產生積極正面的影響,特別是進行協作工作的時候。

最重要的軟技能有哪些?

軟技能不僅是人際交往能力和積極態度。以下列出的關鍵軟技能可以緊密相關,並具備許多共通的原理和應用方式。每一項軟技能都很重要,且此清單還在不斷增加,但以下是現今職場中最有價值的個人特質:

軟技能清單

1. 情緒智商

情緒智商囊括了軟技能的許多重要特徵,包含解決衝突、社交技能、自我意識、同情心及同理心。

具備高情緒智商的人,具有解釋、理解和管理自己和周圍一起工作人們情緒的能力。他們能夠處理和管理壓力,協助他人放鬆,並瞭解自己的行為能夠如何影響工作環境。能夠建立緊密人際關係這項軟技能,便可以增強團隊的生產力和績效。

情緒智商有很大一部分,也和具備優秀的傾聽技巧有關。積極的傾聽,可在職場上激發更開放、更富成效的溝通,並確保團隊中每個人都感到被認可、理解和重視。

2. 溝通

溝通技巧在職場非常重要,不僅可建立一個開放且友善的環境,還可確保您執行的工作內容目標明確且清楚。

知道如何良好溝通的團隊會更有效率、更有條理,且彼此之間的想法和觀點會更協調一致。具備溝通技巧並不只代表擁有天才的天賦,它的層面遠遠超出口語上的交流。不論透過口語、書面或其他方式,能夠輕鬆溝通複雜想法並清楚簡潔傳達重要訊息的能力,可大為減低錯誤和效率不彰的情形。

唯有透過有效率的溝通,才能造就順暢良好的協作工作。隨著遠端數位工作環境變得愈來愈普遍,良好溝通尤其重要。健全的軟技能可幫助相隔兩地工作的人們,團結在一起。像是 Dropbox 這類工具的目的就在促進和改善協作及溝通,但關鍵是要確保使用這些工具的人,必須具備相匹配的軟技能。

3. 團隊合作與互相尊重

一個好的團隊合作者,跨越千山萬水也要達成團隊的集體目標。這代表拋開自私自利,真正關心與您合作的人,採取一切必要方法來確保團隊合作順暢,充滿凝聚力,並將團隊的最大利益置於自己之上。團隊合作者對彼此開放且誠實,以各種方式展現可靠性和忠誠度。

您和同事之間的相互尊重絕對極為重要。這代表要尊重不同的觀點和意見、尊重每個人的責任、並尊重您所做的工作。缺乏尊重的職場根本無法產出受人尊敬的作品。

4. 彈性和創造力

適應新環境和挑戰的能力非常珍貴的特質。無論身處哪種工作、公司或行業,我們都應該隨時為預期以外的情況做好準備,並保持彈性,順應過程中遇到的事情。無論是適應新技術、新系統或架構、或只是新專案,具備多才多藝的特質對任何團隊的成功都至關重要。

在日新月異的的企業環境中,創造力同樣重要。具有跳脫框架的思維能力及將創新概念和想法付諸策略行動的能力,使您成為團隊中可靠且珍貴的成員。有些問題需要全新的解決方案,而創造力是推動創新和進步的動力。一個富有創造力的思考者團隊,完整具備成長和發展所需的能力。

5. 解決問題與批判性思維

解決問題的能力與彈性和創造力息息相關,代表能夠拆解問題,並採取立即、合理的行動來解決問題。您的團隊已做好準備,且能夠為預期以外的問題訂定富有成效且合理的解決方案,有了以上的想法,會增強並激發工作上的信心,並幫助您在毫無壓力或負擔的情況下,將充滿挑戰的障礙一一解決。

透過具有邏輯及系統化的方法深入研究問題,並分析和評估其細微差別的能力,可確保您永遠可獲得最強而有力的解決方案。批判性思維代表完全拆解問題的每個角度,且避免按照本能或直覺做出決策。

6. 領導力

不論員工在公司階級架構中的職務或職位為何,領導技能對於任何角色都不可或缺。您希望團隊有凝聚力、有士氣、朝向目標邁進,並希望可以加速團隊成長和發展。確保團隊中每個人都具有強大的領導技巧,讓您消除疑慮,因為您可依賴任何人來接手管理。

當您為團隊加入新成員時,您會希望他們是長期業務計劃中的一分子。您需要一個願意並準備成長的團隊,且具備所需的空間和工具。

一個好的領導者不僅會指揮,還會激勵和鼓勵團隊,並關心合作夥伴及為他們服務的人。領導力並非只是老闆、經理和主管的特權,具有領導才能的人甚至在極小的專案或任務中,也能發揮主導和掌控能力。

7. 時間管理與組織能力

知道自己可以信任團隊,在不影響工作品質的前提下迅速完成工作,有這樣的想法非常重要。時間管理的實踐,不是只要準時出現並按照要求交付工作就好,並在於瞭解如何排定優先順序、如何安排時間、及如何充分利用自己的時間。時間管理不僅可以提高生產力和效率,還會對您產出的工作品質產生正面影響。

對於任何工作環境,無論是實體辦公室、數位辦公室還是您的腦袋,雜亂都有害無益。若您保持一切井井有條,代表您不僅可有效管理工作空間,也能掌握時間及工作量。真正有組織能力的人,能夠建立有助於提高效率的系統和架構,並堅持這項方法。他們不會讓自己被壓得喘不過氣,也不會讓過程變得混亂。

8. 動力與職業道德

您想確保自己和同事正發揮最大的努力,把工作做到盡善盡美,其中一種方法是透過了解、鼓勵和善用與您合作團隊的動力。

舉例來說,一個技術高超的程式工程師看似很有價值,但除非有力量驅使他們竭盡所能,否則他們真正的潛能不會反映在工作成果上。

動機會受到個人和專業成就的影響,同時也理應如此。您必須知道團隊真的在乎他們所做的事。如果他們對工作缺乏熱情,且不盡心盡力投入團隊和組織更高遠的目標,則他們就不會盡力做到最好。

職業道德與動力非常相似。具備良好職業道德的人,很享受他們的工作,他們理解並承擔責任。他們紀律嚴明、專注且永遠保持專業。因為強烈的職業道德和動力,他們理解努力會得到回報,並盡最大努力投身於工作的各個層面。

線上使用軟技能

軟技能看似是只有面對面才能展現的一種特質,但其實在遠端和線上工作與協作中,有很多方法可以找出軟技能,並加以應用。隨著遠端工作在全球企業中的普遍性日益提高,軟技能讓線上協作更有溫度且更有效率,大家對於軟技能的需求其重要性前所未見。

無論您想增強的能力是關於組織有效的檔案系統、使用工具來促進任務管理、還是鼓勵團隊順暢溝通,Dropbox 都能讓您迎接並增強自己的軟技能,讓您輕鬆實現高效率的在線團隊合作

軟技能造就努力工作的人

重要技能可造就偉大的職涯成功,這些只佔其中的一部分。

在一項特定任務上的表現突出並不重要,如果他們不具備優秀的軟技能,就無法成為有價值的團隊成員。我們需要軟技能來理解公司的目標和願景、認可工作的目的、溝通和接受想法、打造舒適安全的工作環境,並讓員工能夠發揮最大潛能。

並不是說技術能力不重要,但除非同時具備很優秀的軟技能,否則技術能力沒有發光發熱的機會。

身為雇主,當您撰寫職務說明或提出面試問題時,請務必牢記這些技能,並明確表示這些技能與經驗和專業知識同樣重要。請確保當您閱讀求職信、評估履歷表或舉行面試時,您所尋找的不僅是資歷和針對特定工作的能力,而且還要觀察候選人的人際關係技巧、態度和價值觀。

在招募流程中將軟技能列入考量,代表您會建立一個多元化、高效率、富有成效和熱情的環境,在這裡每個人都會覺得被重視和信任。

Soft skills in the workplace

Learn about soft skills, what they are, and why they’re so crucial towards success in the workplace.

What are soft skills?

Simply hiring the most experienced candidate may seem like the most logical and sensible decision; but there’s a lot more to what makes a good team member than qualifications and experience. Understanding the difference between soft and hard skills, and why soft skills are absolutely essential is vital in establishing a stronger, more efficient team.

As business continues to evolve at a rapid pace, and the traditional concept of the “career” shifts and reshapes, having transferrable skills that can be applied in any position and any industry is only becoming more important every day.

While for a long while, hard skills were considered the more “professional skills” and soft skills were viewed only as resumé space-filler, studies have shown that these days, human resources professionals tend to favor soft skills over hard skills when choosing the ideal candidate.

Hard skills are measurable, tangible proficiencies that, while important in any position, are not the ultimate determinant of what makes a good employee. Hard skills refer to technical ability, like mathematics, reading comprehension, language fluency, and computer skills, to name a few.

Soft skills, on the other hand, are personality traits and characteristics that are less quantifiable, but equally as important in the workplace and beyond, if not more. They’re rooted in behavior, attitude, and values.

While hard skills have a larger impact on the work you produce, soft skills help develop human connections and establish a sense of culture and community in the workplace. Having said that, soft skills absolutely have a positive impact on the work you produce, especially when working collaboratively.

What are the most important soft skills?

Soft skills are more than just people skills and a positive attitude. The key soft skills listed below can intertwine with one another and share many mutual principles and applications. There is no single most important soft skill and the list is ever-growing, but these are some of the most valuable personal attributes to possess in the modern workplace:

Soft Skills List

1. Emotional Intelligence

Emotional intelligence encapsulates many of the vital characteristics of soft skills, from conflict resolution, to social skills, to self-awareness, to compassion and empathy.

A person with high emotional intelligence has the ability to interpret, comprehend and manage the emotions of both themselves and those they work with. They can handle and manage pressure while helping others feel at ease, and they understand how their behavior can impact their work environment. This ability to build strong interpersonal relationships is a soft skill that can bolster the productivity and performance of your team.

A large part of emotional intelligence is also having excellent listening skills. Active listening inspires more open, productive communication in the workplace and ensures that everyone in the team feels recognized, understood, and valued.

2. Communication

Communication skills are crucial in the workplace, not just to help establish an open and welcoming environment, but to ensure that the work you produce is focused and clear.

A team that knows how to communicate well will be more efficient, more organized, and more in-tune with each other’s ideas and perspectives. Having communication skills doesn’t just mean having the gift of the gab; it goes far beyond verbal communication. The ability to easily communicate complex ideas and convey important messages with clarity and brevity, whether spoken, written or otherwise, will minimize mistakes and inefficiency.

Good collaborative work is simply not possible without efficient communication. It’s especially important as remote, digital working environments become more and more prevalent; strong soft skills help bring people together even when they’re working from afar. Tools like Dropbox are designed to facilitate and improve collaboration and communication, but ensuring that those using the tools have the soft skills to match is key.

3. Teamwork & Respect

Being a good team player means going above and beyond to reach the collective goals of the team. It means putting selfishness aside and truly caring for those you collaborate with, taking whatever steps necessary to ensure the team operates with fluidity and cohesion, and putting the best interests of the team above your own. Team players are open and honest with one another, they exhibit dependability and loyalty in every way.

Mutual respect between you and your coworkers is absolutely vital. That means respecting different views and opinions, respecting each person’s responsibilities, and respecting the work that you do. A workplace without respect simply cannot produce respectable work.

4. Flexibility & Creativity

The ability to adapt to new environments and challenges is a hugely valuable trait. No matter what the job, company, or industry, we should always expect the unexpected, and have the flexibility to adapt to whatever comes our way. Whether it’s adapting to new technology, new systems and structures or simply a new project, versatility is crucial towards any team’s success.

Creativity is equally important in an ever-evolving business environment; having the ability to think outside the box and strategize innovative concepts and ideas makes you a reliable, valuable member of any team. Some problems require fresh solutions, and creativity is what drives innovation and progress. A team of creative thinkers is a team that is well equipped for growth and development.

5. Problem-Solving & Critical Thinking

Coming hand-in-hand with flexibility and creativity, problem solving skills are the ability to deconstruct issues and take immediate, logical actions to solve them. Knowing that your team is ready and able to strategize productive, rational solutions to unexpected problems will heighten and inspire confidence in the workplace and help you tackle challenging obstacles without stress or burden.

The ability to look deeper at an issue and analyze and evaluate its nuances with a logical, systematic approach will ensure that you always arrive at the strongest solution possible. Critical thinking means completely deconstructing every angle of the issue and avoiding decision making that’s based on instinct or intuition.

6. Leadership

Regardless of their specific job title or position within the company hierarchy, leadership skills are absolutely essential in any role. You want your team to be motivated, driven, and goal-oriented, and you want to facilitate growth and development. Ensuring each individual in your team has strong leadership skills gives you reassurance that you can rely on anybody to take control.

When you bring a member into your team, you want to be able to see them in your long-term business plans. You want a team that is willing and ready to grow, and that has the space and tools to do so.

A good leader does not simply make commands, they inspire and encourage their team, and they care about those who work with and for them. Leadership is not reserved for bosses, managers and supervisors, and a person with leadership skills has the ability to take ownership and authority over even the smallest of projects or tasks.

7. Time Management & Organization

Knowing you can trust your team to get the job done promptly, without compromising the quality of the work, is hugely important. Time management is more than just showing up on time and delivering work when it’s asked for, it’s about knowing how to prioritize, how to schedule, and how to make the very most of the time you’ve got. Time management doesn’t just improve productivity and efficiency, it will also have a positive impact on the quality of the work you produce.

Clutter is never good for any working environment, whether it be in the office, digitally, or in your mind. Being organized means knowing how to efficiently manage not only the space you work in, but also your time and workload. Someone who is truly organized will have the ability to create and adhere to systems and structures that aid efficiency, and will not allow themselves to become overwhelmed or their processes to become messy.

8. Motivation & Work Ethic

You want to know that you’re getting the best work possible out of you and your co-workers, and one way to do so is to understand, encourage and leverage the motivations of those you work with.

A highly skilled coder, for example, may seem valuable, but their true potential won’t reflect on the work they do unless they’re driven to do their best.

Motivation can and should be influenced by both personal and professional achievement. You need to know that your team truly cares about what they are doing. If they’re not passionate about the work, and if they’re not dedicated to the wider goals of the team and organization, they will not do their best work.

Work ethic is very similar to motivation. A person with good work ethic enjoys what they do, they understand and accept their responsibilities. They’re disciplined, focused, and always professional. Strong work ethic and motivation means understanding that hard work pays off and putting the upmost effort into every aspect of the job.

Using soft skills online

Soft skills may seem like a quality that’s only exhibited in-person, but there are plenty of ways to recognize and apply soft skills when working and collaborating remotely and online. As remote working becomes more and more prevalent in businesses across the globe, the need for soft skills to make online collaboration organic and productive is more important than ever.

Whether its the ability to organize effective file systems, using tools to facilitate task management, or encouraging fluid communication within your team, Dropbox makes efficient online teamwork easy by enabling you to embrace and enhance your soft skills.

Soft skills result in hard workers

These are just some of the many important skills that can lead to tremendous career success.

It doesn’t matter how good someone is at a specific task, if they do not have good soft skills, they will not be that valuable of a team member. Soft skills are needed to understand the goals and vision of the company, to recognize the intent of the work, to both communicate and receive ideas, to foster a comfortable and safe working environment, and to enable a worker to reach their maximum potential.

It’s not that technical skills aren’t important, but unless the strong soft skills are there too, that technical ability will not have the opportunity to shine through.

As a hirer, when you’re creating a job description or formulating interview questions, always be sure to keep these skills in mind and be clear that they are no less important than experience and expertise. Ensure that when you read a cover letter, assess a resume, or conduct an interview, you’re looking beyond the qualifications and job-specific proficiencies, and monitoring the interpersonal skills, attitudes, and values of the candidate.

Hiring with soft skills in mind means establishing a versatile, efficient, productive, and enthusiastic environment where everyone feels valued and trusted.

Learn how you and your team can do more with Dropbox.

Get started now