视频会议礼仪

充分利用虚拟团队会议,确保您知道该做什么,也知道该避免做什么。

什么是视频会议?

视频会议是两个人或多人之间通过视频和音频进行的 远程通信 。远程工作者和那些远离家人和朋友的人可能已经是视频通话专家了。随着越来越多的人 居家远程工作 ,通过视频会议与同事交流变得越来越普遍。

为什么我们需要视频会议礼仪?

考虑到时至如今视频会议软件是多么的普遍,人们可能会认为现在大家应该已经对适当的礼仪有了相当程度的理解。虽然躺在舒适的床上与家人或朋友进行 FaceTime 通话并无不妥,但使用  Zoom 等职场通讯工具就并非如此,因为它们在礼节和有效性方面都需要更周全的考虑。您可能是在办公室开会的专家,但是视频会议带来的虚拟障碍可能会给一些人带来挑战。

居家工作时很容易分心或失去注意力,视频会议也不例外。当团队成员的宠物狗闯进房间时,它也许会很可爱,但那只可爱的小狗也可能会让人分心。同样的情况也适用于那些显然没有在倾听或关注会议的闲散参与者。

视频会议礼仪的基本规则

从技术和人的角度来看,进行高效视频通话的第一步是确保其能正常工作。因此,为了确保您充分利用与同事的视频会议,我们整理了一份清单,列出了一些最重要的 视频通话礼仪建议 :

事先检查您的网络和硬件

如果您在准备开始一场会议时,发现麦克风或网络摄像头坏了,会显得您看起来很不称职,很不专业。当您提前安排会议时,请务必事先(而不是在会议快开始前的两分钟)确保您的视频会议设置能正常使用。检查您的内置麦克风或耳机,以确保它已被您的软件检测到。

您还应该测试您的互联网连接是否能够支持视频会议。您不会想在关键时刻或谈话中途被打断。如果网络不畅,许多应用程序允许您限制所接收的视频质量,或者关闭视频,这样您仍然可以通过声音参与会议。即使您没有和其他人一起出现在视频中,仍然能够参与和跟进是最重要的。请牢记,有些人可能会出于各种原因选择完全退出视频选项,特别是当他们与孩子或宠物共处一室时,或者他们只是不想在那一刻被看到。这也没关系。

穿戴得体

我们都至少有过这样的经历:从床上爬起来,趴在笔记本电脑上,准备上午 9 点的团队会议。然而,穿着睡衣参加视频会议可能并非您职业形象的最佳选择。如果您想在视频电话会议上被认真对待,那就穿得得体些。虽然您不一定要穿正式的工作服,但一定要确保您穿得足够得体,让您的团队成员看到。这样不仅会让您看起来很重视这场会议,穿点运动服以外的服装也能帮助您树立正确的心态,与同事进行富有成效、专注的谈话。

找到安静空间

并非每个人都有专用的私人办公室来帮助他们居家工作,但重要的是,您可以找到或创建一个安静的视频会议空间。即使您没有发现家人、室友或宠物在您工作的时候四处游荡,让人分散注意力,您的一些与会者也会发现。因此,当您坐下来参加视频会议时,确保您处在一个不会有人走动或打扰您的地方。这样您就能在同事谈话的时候集中注意力,并在您讲话时消除任何背景噪音。

框定场景

既然您已经穿戴得体,在一个私密的地方进行视频通话,现在该注意您周围的环境及其在镜头下的呈现效果了。如果光线太暗导致同事们无法看见,或者他们看到的只是水槽里的一堆脏盘子,那么您的准备就无关紧要了。花点时间整理一下您周围的空间。打开窗帘或打开灯,或者如果问题是您的装饰看起来不整洁,则可以使用绿幕或虚拟背景来进行掩盖。例如,Zoom 会 自动检测您的背景 ,并让您用图像覆盖它。

如果您没有发言,请保持静音

在您的会议终于开始后,视频通话礼仪最重要的一个方面就是在您不发言的时候让麦克风静音。即使您找到了一个安静的地方开会,您的麦克风仍然会在您走动、咳嗽或开始打字时拾音。您最不希望看到的就是有人因为一次意外的打断而重复自己的发言,或者在会议中途发现您在做别的事情,不管时间有多短。大多数视频会议软件都为您自己或通话设置了静音按钮,只要确保在您再次发言时取消静音即可。

注视镜头

在进行视频通话时,查看会议中其他人的视频源似乎是最明智的。然而,如果您想让其他人在您发言时把注意力集中在您身上,那么您应该直视镜头。即使您看不见您的同事,看着镜头也有助于复刻面对面交流的感觉,确保他们集中注意力,真正倾听您说的内容。如果您想在说话的时候看到同事,则可以把屏幕上的视频直接放在摄像头旁边,这样两者便都与双眼平齐。这对大多数笔记本电脑来说都不成问题,但是如果您在台式机上工作,则可能需要调整您的设置。

集中注意力,保持专注

当然,一旦您参加了视频会议,您能做的最重要的事情就是把注意力集中在会议上。与在办公室相比,在召开视频会议时退出会议更容易实现也更容易逃脱惩罚。这意味着,即使您是坐在卧室里用笔记本电脑,也要确保自己像在办公室一样参与进来。 居家集中注意力 的方法和在办公室里一样:比如,记笔记可以帮助您吸收和回应正在讨论的内容。不过,您还需要避免将选项卡切换到其他活动或者只是看看手机的诱惑。即使您认为自己擅长同时处理多项任务,但如果您分心了,您也不会从会议中获得什么益处。

如何有效地进行视频会议

一旦您掌握了视频会议礼仪的基本知识,您在设置和与同事进行视频会议方面就不会有任何问题了。然而,就像您在办公室一样,您需要付出更多的努力才能 让视频会议更有效率 ,让时间更有成效。所以,如果您计划和同事开会,请确保备好需要的所有材料。幸运的是, Zoom与 Dropbox 的集成 使您可以轻松地使用文件和视频会议软件,从而更有效地进行视频会议。

始终要制定议程

无论是在办公室还是在办公室外,让任何会议变得有效的第一步都是要有一个明确的议程。光是这一点就足以让您的视频会议取得成功。使用 Dropbox 中提供的 会议议程模板 ,可以轻松地快速组合出一个可共享的议程,概述会议的基本要点。受邀参加会议但无法出勤的人员,也可在会议结束后查看本文件。或者,更好的办法的是:他们可以观看从 Zoom 自动复制到 Dropbox 的通话录像。

会议前共享文件和信息

如果您希望在视频通话中得到团队的投入和协作,那么为他们提供相关的背景信息是很重要的。虽然在办公室里您可能只需要传递一张纸或在白板上写字,但视频会议需要更多的事先计划。开会前准备并 分享您需要的文件或文档 ,这样您的同事就不会乱猜了。当你们都在线上时,您也可以共享您的屏幕,一起浏览文档,这样大家便都能保持进度一致。更好的是,您可以直接从 Dropbox 将该文件共享到 Zoom 会议中,团队成员可以在会议上实时添加该文件。

提前发出邀请

在办公室里,让人们进入会议室意味着只需走到他们的办公桌前,问他们是否能抽出 10 分钟的时间。然而,居家工作时,即使使用  Slack  或其他办公室聊天应用程序,也很难引起人们的注意。如果您想让人们出现在您的视频会议上,您必须事先通知他们。如果您不这样做,他们很可能届时无法与会,也没有时间阅读议程。给每个人所需的时间来为视频会议做准备,您将为自己和整个团队的成功做好准备。

通过视频会议进行协作

随着远程团队变得越来越普遍,视频通话不再只是会议的替代品;它们正在成为许多企业的标准。随着视频会议在我们的个人和工作生活中发挥着越来越大的作用,正确使用这项技术至关重要。因此,下次您计划在上午 10 点召开 Zoom 会议时,请使用我们的视频会议礼仪,以便您的会议取得成功。准备视频会议将有助于让您的团队进行参与,并最终在远程工作时促进 在线团队合作 。

发现更有效的团队协作方式。

Dropbox Business 使用入门

Video conferencing etiquette

Make the most of your virtual team meetings by making sure you know what to do—and what to avoid doing.

What is video conferencing?

Video conferencing is any kind of telecommunication between two or more people via video and audio. Remote workers and those who live far away from their family and friends are already likely experts in video calls. And with the increasing numbers of people working from home and remotely, communicating with colleagues via video conferencing is only becoming more common.

Why do we need video conferencing etiquette?

Considering how ubiquitous video conferencing software is today, one might think proper etiquette would be well understood by now. While there’s usually no issue FaceTiming family members or friends from the comfort of your bed, that’s not the case with workplace communication tools—such as Zoom—that require greater forethought for both decorum and effectiveness. You may be an expert in having meetings in the office, but the added virtual barrier of video conferencing can pose a challenge for some.

It can be easy to get distracted or lose focus when working from home, and video conference meetings are no exception. While it might be cute when a team member’s dog wanders into the room, that lovable pup could be a little distracting, too. The same goes for disengaged participants who clearly aren’t listening or paying attention to the meeting.

Ground rules for video conferencing etiquette

The first step to having productive video calls is to make sure they’re functional, from both a tech and a human perspective. So, to ensure you’re making the most of video meetings with your co-workers, we’ve put together a checklist of some of the most important video call etiquette tips to follow:

Check your internet and hardware beforehand

You’ll look and feel feckless and unprofessional if you’re trying to start a meeting but your microphone or webcam isn’t working. When you have a meeting scheduled in advance, always make sure your video conferencing setup is working beforehand—not two minutes before the meeting starts. Check your built-in microphone or headset to ensure it’s been detected by your software.

You should also test if your internet connection can sustain a video conference. You don’t want to get cut-off at a critical moment or mid-conversation. If it’s struggling, many apps allow you to limit the quality of video you’re receiving or turn it off so you can still participate audibly. Even if you’re not on the video with everyone else, being able to still engage and follow along is the most important. Keep in mind that some people may opt out of the video option altogether for various reasons, particularly if they are in a shared space with children or pets or they simply don’t want to be seen at that moment. That’s ok, too.

Get dressed

We’ve all done it at least once: rolling straight out of bed and onto that laptop for the 9am team meeting. Attending a video meeting in your pajamas, however, might not be the best look for your professional persona. If you want to be taken seriously in a video conference call, dress for it. While you don’t have to necessarily dress in formal work attire, do ensure that you’re dressed well enough to be seen by your team members. Not only will you look like you care, wearing something other than sweats can really help you get in the right mindset for having a productive and focused conversation with your colleagues.

Find your quiet space

Not everyone has a dedicated private office to help them work from home, but it is important that you can find or create a quiet space for video conferencing. Even if you don’t find family, roommates, or pets wandering around a distraction while you work, some of your attendees will. So when you’re sitting down for a video conference, make sure you’re in a spot where no one is likely to wander in or disturb you. You’ll be able to stay focused on your colleagues while they’re talking and remove any background noise when you’re speaking.

Frame the scene

Now that you’re dressed and in a private spot for your video call, pay attention to your surroundings and how they look on camera. Your preparation won’t matter if it’s too dark for your colleagues to see or if all they’re looking at is a pile of dirty dishes in the sink. Take a moment to clean and set up the space around you. Open the curtains or flick on the lights, or if the issue is your visually unkempt décor, use a green screen or virtual background to obscure it. Zoom, for example, automatically detects your background and lets you overlay it with an image.

If you aren’t talking, keep yourself muted

Once your meeting is finally underway, one of the most important aspects of video call etiquette is muting your microphone when you’re not talking. Even if you’ve found a quiet spot for your meeting, your microphone will still pick up if you move about, cough, or start typing. The last thing you want is for someone to repeat themselves because of an accidental interruption, or to catch you, no matter how briefly, working on something else mid-meeting. Most video conferencing software has a mute button for yourself or the call—just make sure to unmute yourself when you're speaking again.

Look at the camera

When you’re on a video call, it may seem most sensible to look at the video feeds of the other people in the meeting. However, if you want others in the call to focus on you when you’re speaking, you should look directly into the camera. Even if you can’t see your colleagues, looking at the camera helps replicate the feeling of face-to-face communication, ensuring they pay attention and really listen to what you’re saying. If you’d like to be able to see them while you speak, position the on-screen video directly next to the camera so both are at eye level. This isn’t an issue for most laptops, but you may need to shuffle your setup around if you’re working on a desktop.

Pay attention and stay focused

Of course, once you’re in the video conference, the most important thing you can do is to focus on the meeting you’re having. Tuning out of a meeting while video conferencing is both much easier to do and get away with than in the office. This means it’s on you to ensure you participate as if you were at the office, even if you’re sitting in your bedroom on the laptop. Staying focused at home can be achieved the same way as it is in the office: for example, note taking can help you absorb and respond to what’s being discussed. However, you also need to avoid the temptation of swapping tabs onto other activities or just looking at your phone. Even if you think you’re good at multitasking, if you’re distracted, you won’t get much out of the meeting you’re in.

How to video conference effectively

Once you’ve got the basics of video conferencing etiquette down, you shouldn’t have any issues with setting up and having video calls with your colleagues. However, just as when you’re in the office, it takes a bit more effort to make your video meetings effective and the time is productive. So, if you’re planning meetings with colleagues, make sure you have all the materials you need. Fortunately, the Zoom integration with Dropbox makes it easy to use your files and video conferencing software for more effective video meetings.

Always set an agenda

The first step to making any meeting effective, in or out of the office, is to have a defined agenda. This alone goes a long way to making your video conference a success. With the meeting agenda template available in Dropbox, it’s easy to quickly put together a shareable agenda outlining the basic points of your meeting. Those invited to the meeting but unable to attend, will also then be able to review this document afterwards. Or, even better: they can watch the video recording from the call that are automatically copied to Dropbox from Zoom.

Share files and information before the meeting

If you’re expecting input and collaboration from your team in a video call, it’s important to give them the context to do that. While you might be able to just pass around a sheet or write on a whiteboard in the office, video conferences require more advance planning. Prepare and share files or documents you’ll need before the meeting, so your colleagues aren’t left guessing. Once you’re all on the line, you can also share your screen to walk through the document together so that everyone is on the same page. Better yet, you can then share that file directly from Dropbox into the Zoom meeting, where team members can add to it in real time.

Send out invites in advance

In the office, getting people into a meeting room can mean just wandering up to their desk and asking if they’ve got 10 minutes. It can be a lot harder to get people’s attention however while working from home, even when using Slack or other office chat apps. If you want people to show up to your video conference, you must let them know in advance. If you don’t, it’s likely they won’t be at their desk and won’t have had time to read the agenda. Give everyone the time they need to prepare themselves for the video conference, and you’ll be setting up yourself—and your whole team—for success.

Collaborating via video conference

With remote teams becoming more common, video calls aren’t just a meeting substitute anymore; they’re becoming the norm for many businesses. And with video conferencing playing a bigger role in both our personal and work lives, using the technology properly is essential. So, the next time you’re scheduling a Zoom meeting for 10am, use our video conference etiquette so your meeting is a success. Preparing for a video conference will help engage your team to participate and, ultimately, boost your online teamwork while you’re working remotely.

Learn how you and your team can do more with Dropbox.

Get started now