如何提高員工士氣

只需對工作環境做一點小改變,您就可以改善員工的心情、績效和工作滿意度。

好的,那麼什麼是公司士氣?

公司士氣是衡量團隊信心、熱情和整體成就感的標準。您的團隊每天早上都很期待來上班嗎?您的團隊感覺像一個團隊嗎?良好的士氣與公司文化息息相關。如果您辦公室裡的員工個個愁眉苦臉,且明顯充滿「這只是一份工作」的氣氛,那麼您的公司毫無士氣可言。

雖然聽起來像是陳腔濫調,但現代辦公室可以營造一種「家庭」的氛圍。也就是說,您的團隊不僅可以培養真誠的友誼,更可以讓大家都感覺受到支持且不受評斷,在鞭策自己嘗試新事物的同時,不用擔心受到譴責。這樣的作法將帶來更強的凝聚力、重視協作的團隊成員,以及互相砥礪追求工作品質而非一位埋頭苦幹的員工,這些都將影響團隊的實際生產力。

為什麼員工士氣很重要?

留住現有員工比訓練新員工便宜。如果員工士氣高昂,您就比較不容易失去人才。您的公司可能已知道培養現有客戶,比吸引新客戶更有效,因此將這種想法延伸至您的團隊應該再自然不過了。想要留住優秀人才,就得讓員工有好的體驗。請不要先入為主認為只要提高薪資就好。事實上,選擇工作職務時,一半以上的工作者並未將薪資列為首要條件。畢竟,薪水優渥,生活卻過得苦不堪言又有什麼意義呢?

提高工作士氣

有很多方法可以提高員工士氣,您不須一味地花錢買新的乒乓球桌等娛樂設施。優秀的公司和快樂的團隊共享一個充滿希望的前景,並藉由整體幸福感帶動員工的工作滿意度。簡而言之,改善公司文化不僅可以大幅提高公司的生產力和效能,還可同時改善團隊的生活。以下是提高員工士氣的方式:

改善工作環境

這並沒有您想像中的昂貴。尤其現在因為疫情的關係,許多小企業都在狹小的空間甚至車庫裡工作,但他們仍然可以樂在其中。最重要的關鍵是自然光。許多研究證明了自然光與幸福感之間的聯繫,80% 的工作者表示自然光對他們來說非常重要。放上幾盆植物,花點錢買台不錯的咖啡機,再添購幾張懶人沙發,小小的辦公室瞬間就變得迷人許多。在陰暗沉悶的環境中工作,不僅會影響員工整體的機敏度和投入程度,還會對心理健康造成負面影響。

注重心理健康

畢竟,員工士氣對本地辦公室及遠端工作環境來說也同等重要,因此提供心理健康等協助非常關鍵。表揚員工時,不僅要關注工作層面的成功,也要認可完成這項偉大工作的人。您可能無法管理整個人力資源部門,但您應該要有一位公平、公正的人力資源同事,讓員工有需要時可向他們求助。同樣地,您也應該保持彈性,滿足團隊成員的需求,並讓他們發揮所長。也就是說,當團隊成員因心理健康問題缺勤時,不應受到眾人非難,因為這就和感冒請病假一樣自然。

在工作與生活之間找到健康的平衡點

如果您的企業還沒有彈性工時和允許團隊在家工作的制度,那麼您真的需要認真考慮這個選項。工作與生活之間的完美平衡代表員工在家中的生活品質,沒有因工作時間而受影響。要實現這點的一個簡單方法,就是讓員工在家工作,消除他們通勤的成本和時間,並將這些多出來的寶貴時間用於陪伴家人。比方說,只要達成設定的工作時數,員工們便可根據其他生活要事自由安排上下班時間。無論您的辦公室想以什麼方式處理這個議題,請盡量滿足團隊的需求,而非總是以企業需求為唯一考量。

扁平的階級制度

現代辦公室的常態是企業主和老闆需要放下自我。在現今的許多企業中,您可能走進辦公室後,甚至不知道老闆是誰,因為每個人是平等的。打破僵化的階級制度,您的員工便能擺脫「別多管閒事」或「安分守己」的老舊觀念。這能鼓勵他們以不受階級限制的創意方式,分享全新想法並解決問題。上司應該像基層同事一樣平易近人,而基層同事的才能和貢獻也應該像團隊主管一樣得到認可。

不要禁止樂趣

讓員工建立真正友誼的關鍵,是在工作中加入一點趣味,並鼓勵員工隨性地聊天。透過 Slack 等通訊工具和表情符號的幫助,即使是無聊透頂的專案,如果由一個能為陰雨天帶來光明的團隊進行支援,肯定也能做得有聲有色,更棒的是,心情愉快還能提升工作品質。

讓您的團隊知道他們很棒

許多員工經常覺得,自己所屬公司的意見回饋機制有待加強。沒錯,即便您的團隊有彩色懶人沙發、頂級的咖啡機和可在午餐後進行比賽的撞球桌,但如果您不提供意見回饋,他們永遠不知道該如何改進。對許多員工來說,職涯發展和個人成長是很重要的因素,因為每個人都希望自己能有所長進。

請定期與您的團隊進行交流,並為他們制定行動計畫,幫助他們進步和改善。每年需至少進行一次員工評鑑,但這不應該是個令人恐懼或害怕的場合。員工評鑑應該提供一個開放、誠實的對話管道,將重點放在員工表現良好或需要改進的地方,以及在此過程中您可以協助的部分。讓員工覺得受到重視的最好辦法之一,就是表現出對他們職涯成長的關心與投入。

確保團隊齊心協力

您的公司聚集了一群傑出的人才,大家互相分享並從對方的才能中受益,激盪出美妙的火花。俗話說的好:「沒有人能獨自生活」。您必須提供團隊最好的工具,並確保團隊在工作的各個層面都保持緊密聯繫。Dropbox 能讓團隊共享檔案和資料夾,並給予意見回饋和註解,因此所有人都可以參與其中。透過共享文件的即時更新,團隊可順利且完全於線上進行工作流程,所以因遺失離線主檔案造成員工互相指責的風險將不復存在。

重點不是金錢,而是價值

即使擁有最閃亮的辦公室、最棒的福利和無限的假期津貼,您可能還是得面對一個士氣低落的團隊。追根究柢,只有知道自己受重視,才能提升團隊成員的士氣。獎金和附加娛樂一開始看似吸引人,但老實說,跟放滿啤酒的冰箱比起來,您的團隊難道不會更希望自己得到表揚嗎?可能會。福利再多也無法反映個人價值,但擁有一位鼓勵您發揮所長的主管,當然可以讓您覺得備受重視。

您不需要大量預算就可開始落實這些提升士氣的措施,如果您的團隊真正想要的是彈性的工作時間,那麼即使您在休息區添購新的遊戲機,也不太可能「收買」他們。事實上,這很容易適得其反,您的團隊可能會覺得「為什麼我們可以把錢花在遊樂區上,卻不能在家工作?」因此請做出明智的選擇。

鼓勵您的團隊發揮所長

開始使用

How to boost employee morale

Just a few small changes to your working environment and you can improve your employees’ mood, performance, and level of job satisfaction.

OK, so what is company morale?

Company morale is the measurement of your team’s sense of confidence, enthusiasm, and overall fulfillment. Is your team happy to come to work in the morning? Does your team feel like a team? Good morale goes hand in hand with company culture. If your office is filled with glum faces and the definite sense of “this is just a job” then your morale is likely at zero.

As cheesy as it sounds, modern offices can promote a sense of “family.” That means, not only can your team foster genuine relationships with each other, but also that everyone feels supported, free from judgement, and able to push themselves to try new things without fear of reprimand. What that means for actual productivity is improved employee engagement, team members that champion collaboration, and not just hard work, but quality work as your team pushes each other to do their best.

Why does employee morale matter?

It’s cheaper to keep the employee you have than to train a new hire. If morale is high, your chances of losing talent will be much lower. Your company probably already knows it’s more effective to nurture existing customers than attract new ones, so it should be natural to extend that thinking to your team. To retain great talent, you need to offer a great experience. Don’t automatically assume this means pumping up salary numbers. In fact, over half of workers don’t list pay as their top priority when it comes to job roles. After all, what’s the point of being well-paid but miserable?

Boost morale at work

There are plenty of ways to instill positive employee morale and it’s not always about dropping funds on a new ping pong table. A great company and happy team share an overall outlook that is positive, and a sense of job satisfaction that is linked to overall well-being. In short, improving your company culture can massively improve not just your company’s productivity and effectiveness, but also the lives of your team. Here’s how to do it:

Improve the work environment

This isn’t necessarily as expensive as it sounds. Especially now amidst the pandemic, many small businesses are working out of tiny spaces, even garages, but they can still be a joy to be in. One of the most important things is natural light. Endless studies have proven the link between this and well-being with 80% of workers saying it is important to them. Add a few plants, splurge a little on a quality coffee maker, throw in a bean bag or two, and suddenly a tiny office is a whole lot more inviting. Working in gloomy and dull surroundings not only impacts overall alertness and engagement, it can take a toll on mental health.

Care about mental heath

After all, employee morale applies just as much to remote work environments as your local office, so offering support areas like mental health is vital. Employee recognition is not just about noticing work successes, but about recognizing the human behind that great work. You may not be able to run a whole human resources department, but you should have a fair, impartial HR member of staff that employees can turn to in times of need. In the same vein, you should be flexible with what team members need to be at their best. That means you shouldn’t judge absenteeism due to mental health issues as lesser compared to a team member who is out sick with a cold.

Find a healthy work-life balance

Flexible working and allowing the team to work from home is something your business seriously needs to consider if you aren’t already offering it. The perfect work-life balance means that your employees aren’t having their quality of life at home impacted by their work hours. That can be as simple as eliminating the cost and duration of a commute by letting them work from home and spend that valuable extra time with family. It could mean letting them stop and start work at times that fit around other life commitments, so long as they do their set number of hours. However your office wants to approach this area, make sure you are doing your best to accommodate the needs of your team, not just the needs of your business.

A flat hierarchy

Very much the norm in modern offices, business owners and bosses need to let go of any ego. In many businesses today, you can walk into an office and not even know who the boss is, because everyone is treated as an equal. In squashing a rigid hierarchy, you are freeing your workers of old-fashioned notions of “staying in their lane” or “knowing their place.” This encourages them to share new ideas and tackle problems in creative ways that aren’t restricted by rank. The boss should be as approachable as a junior co-worker, and the junior coworker’s talents and contributions should be as recognized as that of the team lead.

Don’t ban fun

Injecting some fun and encouraging casual chat is key to creating real friendships among staff. With the help of messengers like Slack and a few choice emojis, even the most boring projects can be made better if its powered by a team that’s always ready to lighten a grey day—and, even better, with a great mood comes great work.

Let your team know they’re doing well

Employee feedback is an area where many workers often feel their workplaces are underperforming. Yes, your team can have colorful beanbags, top-notch coffee machines, and a pool table for post-lunch game, but if you’re not giving feedback, they’ll never know how to improve. Employee development and growth is a huge factor for many employees, no one wants to feel like they aren’t progressing.

Make sure you have regular catch ups with your team and create action plans for how they can progress and improve. Employee reviews should take place at least once a year but shouldn’t be a dreaded or scary event. They should feel like an open and honest dialogue that focuses on where they’re doing well, could improve, and what you can do to help them along the way. Showing you are invested in your employee’s professional growth is one of the clearest indications that they are valued.

Make sure team means team

Your company should be a group of talented people who can share and benefit from each other’s skills to create something fantastic. As the saying goes, no one is an island. Make sure your team is connected in every aspect of their work by giving them the best tools. Dropbox lets teams share files and folders, feedback and annotations, so no one is ever left out of the loop. With realtime updates to shared documents, work processes can run smoothly and completely online so there’s no risk of finger-pointing because an offline master copy went missing.

It’s not about money, it’s about worth

You could have the shiniest office, the most amazing perks, and unlimited vacation allowances, and still find yourself faced with an uninspired team. At the end of the day, morale comes from individuals knowing they are valued. Bonuses and fun extras can seem fantastic as a novelty, but really, does your team want a beer fridge more than individual recognition? Probably not. These blanket perks don’t reflect individual worth but having a manager who encourages you to do your best certainly does.

You don’t need a massive budget to start instilling some of these morale-boosters, and your team is unlikely to be “bought off” by the addition of a new games console in the break area when what they really want is flexible work hours. In fact, this can easily have the opposite impact, with your team thinking “we can make allowances for a play area but not let me work from home?” so make your choices wisely.

Encourage your team to do their best

Get started