居家辦公須知

仿公司辦公室打造居家工作空間可是一大難題。在此介紹挑戰應有的準備。

居家辦公桌布置

改善居家辦公布置

說來諷刺,居家辦公後,最大的障礙是找到適合辦公的地方。若要常態居家辦公,您需要全心投入工作,所以第一步是在家中布置完善的工作空間。

布置居家工作空間

不是人人都有幸擁有一應俱全的居家辦公室,但您仍可在家中打造專心辦公的區域,例如客廳的邊桌、臥室的書桌或車庫的工作檯。接著判斷您工作效率最高的區域。或許您喜歡窩在角落不受打擾,或在重現辦公室喧囂的餐桌。只要適合您,就選那裡辦公吧。

發揮創意

對多數人來說,辦公必需品會精簡到只需空間安放筆電,而這也讓人透過全新的方式使用家具。需要站著辦公嗎?試試廚房中島或利用其他椅子增加目前辦公桌的高度。如果您需要其他螢幕,不妨用 HDMI 線連接電視,瀏覽 55 英寸的試算表。有些居家辦公的怪點子,其實是神來一筆。

賦予吸引力

無論符不符合您的美學,公司辦公室通常有專屬的設計規劃。居家辦公最美好的是,您可以決定工作空間的外觀和氛圍,所以不妨將辦公區域布置成家中您樂於長時間辦公和擁有的空間。雖然這應是概念上的工作空間,但不該是瓜分您個人時光的礙眼存在。舉例來說,如果您渴望整潔簡化的外觀,可以選擇無線滑鼠和鍵盤、增添與家中裝潢相得益彰的檯燈,順便一不做,二不休,高檔的咖啡機犒賞自己吧。

因地制宜

即使在辦公室可以,但或許您無法在家整天坐著不動八小時。如果是這樣,請隨心所欲改變作風吧。例如上午選在辦工桌,下午移至飯廳餐桌。如果氣候宜人,不妨在陽台或屋頂辦公。無論您一天在家換多少地點辦公,您仍該試著規劃辦公中心,安置筆電充電器、印表機、相關書籍等所有所需物品。如此一來,您即有開始和結束一天的實際目的地,而從臥室「通勤」到指定的居家「辦公」區域,對精神正面的影響令人意外。

選張好椅子

說來理所當然,但沒有好的辦公椅可能嚴重影響您的健康。或許不至於立刻腰酸背疼,但維持不恰當的坐姿數週後,可能導致長久的傷害。訂購人體工學辦公桌椅,並記得和工作團隊分享您推薦的桌椅。實用的辦公椅有可調整高度、記憶泡棉等選擇,是十分划算的投資。而且適用多數您喜愛的居家活動,有人不想在舒適的椅子打電動、追劇、看書嗎?

善待設備

如果您希望居家辦公時能自給自足,最重要的是隨時讓設備維持在良好的狀態。請考慮購買筆電支架,即可防止電腦過熱,並提供更好的瀏覽和打字角度。若要維持設備清潔,請選用超細纖維布或螢幕擦拭布,去除筆電螢幕的污漬。

尋找通話地點

只要有便利的工具,好比說可更換背景的 Zoom,即不必在電話會議前費事鋪床。不過,不被打擾、安靜的地點仍是視訊會議禮節的大前提。不必為了急著接電話,就將其他人趕出房門。如果可以,請與室友或家庭成員定出安靜的「通話區域」,您可在此視訊電話,不受不必要的干擾。

其他配件和居家辦公構想

實體設備就緒後,仍有很多其他選用的物品,或簡單變化可以改善您的居家辦公體驗。若要確保隨時可辦公,並在平衡工作和個人生活之餘保持健康,您該做什麼?

深度工作

您是隔絕外界打擾專心工作時效率最佳,或仿辦公室環境較能協助您辦公?無論採用什麼方式,居家工作空間應該要適合您一天的工作和效率。這包含將手機或其他干擾留在門外,或選擇消噪耳機協助您專心。只要能專心工作,無論是什麼方式都請放手嘗試。

不要忘記您的工作團隊

工作團隊遠端辦公時,更突顯出團隊合作的重要。透過每天聯絡保持溝通,並利用「居家辦公的效率最好的是誰?」等有趣的遊戲鼓舞士氣。即使分隔兩地,工作團隊一樣能通力合作。記得確保 Slack 或手機隨時能輕易聯絡上您。如果您認為工作團隊需要能讓工作更順利的新工具,或許是時候瞭解讓團隊合作效率更佳的數位工具了。Dropbox 附有很多協作功能,無論工作團隊在不在辦公室都能協作。即使工作團隊沒辦法實際碰面,一樣能保持聯絡,展現您的組織文化

維持健康

您絕對想不到,生活規律被打亂、整天在家後,我們變得有多散漫。因此,重視基礎是至關緊要。居家辦公最令人意想不到的基礎是,確保三餐正常。除此之外,準備品質值得信賴的水壺,隨時補充水分也很重要。但健康不侷限於身體狀況。如果您習慣上午 11 點和同事說說笑笑,建議您在這時間安排視訊電話。居家辦公時,您的身心健康最為重要,所以不要妥協。

Work from home essentials

Transforming your home workspace into what you had at your company office can be a challenge. Here's how to best equip yourself for the task.

Perfect your work from home setup

When you start working from home, one of the biggest hurdles is, ironically enough, figuring out where you’re actually going to work. If you’re going to be regularly working from home, you’ve got to commit to it and the first step in doing that is creating the perfect workspace in your house.

Create a home office space

We aren’t all lucky enough to have a fully stocked home office, but that doesn’t mean you can’t create an area in your home that’s a work-only zone. It could be a side table in a front room, a desk in the bedroom, or even your worktop in the garage. Decide where you’re most likely to be productive—perhaps you prefer sitting undisturbed in a corner or you’d like to recreate the bustle of the office by being at the kitchen table. Whatever works for you, do it.

Get creative

For most of us, the office essentials boil down to just needing enough room for a laptop, which also lets you use your furniture in a whole new way. Want a standing desk? Try your kitchen island or just add some height to your current desk with a different chair. If you need a second monitor, why not hook up your TV with an HDMI for a 55-inch view of your spreadsheets? Some of the wackiest work from home ideas are actually pretty genius.

Make it appealing

There’s a good chance your company office has a design scheme to it—whether its your aesthetic or not. One of the best things about working from home is that you get to make all the decisions in terms of how your workspace looks and feels. So why not make your office area a place that you’re happy to spend time working in and is pleasant overall to have in your home? While it’s a space you should mentally associate with work, it also shouldn’t be an eyesore that distracts negatively from personal time. If you want a sleek and streamlined look, for example, go for a wireless mouse and keyboard. Add an attractive desk lamp that complements your overall décor, and, while you’re at it, what’s stopping you from treating yourself to a more high end coffee maker?

Switch it up

Even if you did so in the office, maybe you’re not the sort of person who can sit in the same place for eight hours a day when at home. In that case, feel free to change things up. Maybe spend the morning at your chosen work desk and then move to the dining room table in the afternoon. If the weather’s nice, why not work from your patio or roof deck? No matter how many areas of your home you end up visiting throughout the day, you should still try to make a work hub where everything you need, like your laptop charger, printer, or reference books, can go. This way, you have a physical destination to start and end the day—you’ll be surprised at the positive mental impact the “commute” from your bedroom to your designated home “office” area can have.

Pick a good chair

It sounds obvious but the lack of a good work chair can have a big impact on your physical health. You may not get aches and pains right away, but after weeks of the same unsuitable perch, you could potentially cause lasting damage to your posture. Order an ergonomic desk chair and be sure to share your recommendations with your team as well. From height-adjustable to memory foam options, a sensible office chair is just a good investment. It’ll also come in handy for most of your favorite home activities, whether you’re gaming, binging a TV series, or reading—and who doesn’t want a comfy chair for that?

Treat your equipment well

If you’re going to be completely self-sufficient when working from home, keeping your equipment in good condition is more important than ever. Look into getting a laptop stand to help prevent overheating as well as providing a better angle for viewing and typing. If you need to keep your equipment clean, perhaps pick up a microfiber cloth or screen wipes to take the marks off your laptop screen.

Find a call spot

With handy tools like changeable backgrounds on Zoom, you don’t really need to worry about making the bed before taking that conference call. However, having a quiet spot where you won’t be disturbed is one of the basics of video conferencing etiquette. Don’t rush around on a call, ushering people out of rooms. If you’re able, confirm with your housemates or family members a designated quiet “call area” where you can go when you need to make a video call without unwanted disruption.

Extra accessories and work-from-home ideas

Once you have your physical set up in place, there are plenty of other items you can pick up or simple changes you can make to enhance your work from home experience. What do you need to do to make sure you’re ready to work, and to maintain a sense of wellness while balancing your work and personal life?

Immerse yourself

Do you work best by blocking out everything in order to focus, or do you need a faux office environment to help you work? Whatever approach you take, your home workspace should be optimized for your working day and your best work. This could take the form of leaving your phone or other distractions out of the room, or picking up some noise-cancelling headphones so you can really plug in. Whatever it is you need to focus on your work, don’t hesitate to do it.

Don’t forget your team

When you’re working as a remote team, teamwork becomes more important than ever. Keep communication up with daily calls and boost morale with fun games like “Who has the best work from home space?” Just because you’re apart doesn’t mean your team can’t pull together. With that in mind, make sure you’re approachable, always available in Slack, or over the phone. If you think your team needs new tools to get the job done better, it might be time to look into digital tools to keep you working together more effectively. Dropbox comes with a whole host of collaboration features to help teams work together, whether they’re in or out of the office. Even when your team is physically divided, make sure you stay connected and that your organizational culture shines through.

Stay healthy

You’d be surprised how lax any of us can get when our usual routine is interrupted and we’re staying in the house all day. That’s why paying attention to the basics is key. One of the most unexpected work-from-home essentials is making sure that you cook and eat properly each day. Additionally, having a trusty water bottle to keep you hydrated throughout the day is another must. But your health extends beyond just your physical condition. If your 11am chat with your co-workers puts a smile on your face and is the highlight of your morning, set up a video call at just that time. Your health—both physical and mental—is of utmost importance while working from home, so don’t compromise on it.

Learn how you and your team can do more with Dropbox.

Get started now