讓父母使用 Dropbox 的五大原因

將爸媽咖啡桌上那疊紙張轉成數位檔案,讓每個人的生活更輕鬆。使用 Dropbox 安全儲存重要財務文件、快速存取重要醫療保健資訊,還能輕鬆共享家庭相片。為自己省下大量時間,煩惱也少了。

我們的生活充斥著各種文件。我們會收到各式報表、保存各種記錄,並將重要個人文件歸檔。此外,還有我們拍攝、共享和儲存的所有精彩相片和影片。每個人都收藏了自己獨一無二的文書內容,而保持這些文件井然有序且安全無虞,是項重責大任。

當我們還年輕時,父母為我們整理這些資訊。他們製作家庭相簿、拍攝家庭影片,並將文件儲存在檔案資料夾中。然而,這項任務最終會從父母手上移交給子女。我們總有一天都得自己掌控這些文書內容,而且我們之中也有許多人協助日漸年邁的父母,保持一切井然有序。

幸運的是,數位檔案和雲端儲存可以讓我們輕鬆編排個人資訊。您可以在線上簽署文件、即時共享相片,並在手機上整理醫療保健檔案。可惜的是,並非每位父母都知道如何有效使用這些新工具。但是您知道,只要預先處理一些瑣事,就可以讓每個人的生活更輕鬆。

以下是讓父母使用 Dropbox 的五大重要原因:

1. 共享相片和影片,彈指間輕鬆搞定

沒有人比爸媽更愛看相片了。他們喜歡看您度假時去的地方,以及孫子孫女們的冒險故事。因此,即使您與爸媽住在不同的城鎮或國家,傳送相片或影片也都是保持聯繫的好方法。

與所愛之人共享相片的最佳方式是什麼?您可以使用簡訊或電子郵件。但因為父母常常「找不到相片」,所以同張照片必須重新傳送好幾次,這是件很痛苦的事情。有了 Dropbox Family,您可以將相片直接上傳到共享資料夾。接著父母就會收到可檢視新相片的通知。而且,他們會明確知道要從哪裡找到您傳送的所有內容。

數位攝影改變了共享和儲存家庭相片的方式。大多數人不再留有裝滿舊文件的盒子。相反的,很多相片都存放在匿名且未標記的硬碟上。知道我們的寶貴記憶安全無虞,能讓我們感到安心,但外接硬碟無法永久使用,而且可能遺失或損壞。實際上,如果這些內容值得保存,您應該將它們保存在雲端中。透過自動相機上傳功能,您可以自動備份所有相片和影片,下載 Dropbox 行動應用程式後,只需開啟相機上傳功能即可開始使用。

2. 一手掌握您需要的任何檔案、表格或文件

隨著年齡的增長,各式同意書、健保卡和法律文件變得日益重要。美國退休者協會 (AARP) 為家庭看護人員發行了一份法律檢查清單。他們建議的第一步驟是收集正確的文件,第三步驟則是整理重要的文件。沒錯,他們提供的六項提示中,有兩項強調父母文書作業的重要性。

當然,要知道何時需要特定物品並不容易,但是為什麼要等到緊急情況發生,才發現缺少某樣東西呢?當父母換新醫生時,通常需要健保卡和完整病史。此外,您還必須提供醫療和財務資訊才能符合某些給付的申請資格。

A Place for Mom 的 Merritt Whitley,在一則名為「幫日漸年邁父母準備的 30 幾份必備文件」的貼文中,引述老年生活轉介服務的客戶發展資深總監 Tiffany Wise 的話:「如果家庭成員找不到像是納稅申報表或銀行帳戶資訊等重要文件,可能會延遲甚至導致年長者無法享受醫療補助或退伍軍人給付等福利。」

最好的準備方法就是隨身攜帶所有物品。您可以將父母的醫療表格、持久授權書和生前遺囑儲存在 Dropbox 的單一資料夾中。您可立即透過智慧型手機或電腦存取這些重要檔案。如此一來,您就不必翻箱倒櫃尋找表格,因為一切都在您的掌控之中。

3. 與全家人共享重要資訊將會輕鬆許多

日漸年邁的父母有對什麼過敏嗎?他們服用哪些處方?他們的主治醫生是誰?要記住父母護理計畫中的每項細節並不容易,但這些細節都是非常重要的資訊。Whitley 表示:「當緊急醫療情況發生時,快速取得年長者的病史可以挽救生命。舉例來說,僅僅是一條醫療資訊,例如某種藥物的使用,就可能大幅影響治療效果。」

您可以透過一個簡單的技巧記住這些堆積如山的資訊,那就是:建立一份備忘錄。輸入父母的藥物資訊、醫生姓名和健康狀況。然後將文件儲存在 Dropbox 中,與看護人員和家庭成員等共享。所有最新資訊都存放在單一位置,因此您不必一再共享同樣的內容,而且更新也很容易,您可直接在 Dropbox 上編輯 Google 文件和 Microsoft Office 檔案。

4. 電子簽章幫您省下時間也少了煩惱

日漸年邁的父母常常需要簽署大量不同文件。以往來說,這是個緩慢且費力的過程。您需要等待好幾天或好幾周,才能透過郵件收到表格。接著,簽署完成後,為了保存紀錄,您還是需要製作副本,並蓋章寄回。每一步驟都得花費時間,而且文件很有可能在寄送途中遺失。

盡可能選擇使用電子簽章,就可以簡化一切。使用電子簽章可以讓您在幾秒鐘內完成整個流程,不用花費好幾天。數位文件和表格皆可立即送出。父母只要按幾個鍵就能完成簽署,而且 Dropbox 連接頂尖的電子簽章工具,可自動儲存簽署的檔案。

電子簽章具有法律約束力,但遺囑或授權書 (POA) 等少數表格則需要實體簽章。不過,您仍然可以將簽章副本儲存在雲端中。Dropbox 讓您可以輕鬆掃描實體文件。如此一來,父母的所有文書資料都儲存在單一且安全的位置。將最新的數位文件與大家共享,比保存一份實體的影印文件要輕鬆許多。

5. Dropbox 適用於您父母正在使用的裝置

協助日漸年邁的父母使用新的智慧型手機或電腦,絕非易事,而且一旦他們熟悉使用方式,最好就維持現狀。新的應用程式和服務也是如此。在一篇《富比士》的文章中,作者 Roobin Seaton Jefferson 提醒道:「…...研究人員發現很多時候,『挫折感』讓年長者對自己使用新科技的能力缺乏信心,所以甚至連嘗試看看都提不起勁。」不過,這並不代表您無法讓父母學會新的科技。關鍵在於仔細考慮他們的需求,然後耐心教導他們使用新工具。

同樣的,Dropbox 也可以跨平台使用。即使您使用 Mac 作業,父母也可以在他們的 PC 上查看共享檔案。無論您使用 iOS 還是 Android 系統,所有內容都會儲存在同一個位置。雖然每個人使用不同的科技,體驗卻是相同的。如果有任何新流程,您也可以更輕鬆協助父母處理。

 

我們的一生中,都收藏了大量的記錄、相片和文件。因此很容易被埋沒在文書資料中,尤其當您同時協助家人管理資訊時更是如此。幸運的是,雲端儲存重新定義了記錄管理者的角色。把自己當成家裡的技術長吧。現在,您有責任為這份職位選擇合適的科技。Dropbox 提供簡單的方式,讓您可以輕鬆共享和存取必備檔案。

減輕您與父母的日常負擔

開始使用 Dropbox Family

每個方案最多可供 6 名成員使用

5 reasons to get your parents on Dropbox

Make life easier for everyone by turning that stack of papers on Mom and Dad's coffee table into digital files. Use Dropbox to safely store important financial docs. Quickly access critical healthcare info. Easily share family photos. And save yourself a lot of time and hassle.

Our lives are well documented. We receive statements, keep records, and file away important personal documents. Plus, there are all the great photos and videos we take, share, and save. Everyone curates their own eclectic collection of content. And it's a big responsibility to keep it organized and safe. 

When we were young, our parents collected that info for us. They made family photo albums, shot home movies, and saved our documents in file folders. Eventually, though, the task passes from parents to their kids. We all take possession of our content at some point. And many of us help aging parents stay organized, too. 

Luckily, digital files and cloud storage make it easy to catalog personal info. You can sign docs online, share photos instantly, and organize health care files on your phone. Unfortunately, not every parent knows how to use these new tools effectively. But you do—and a little legwork upfront can make life easier for everyone down the road.

Here are five great reasons to get your parents on Dropbox: 

1. Sharing photos and videos is a snap

Nobody likes looking at pictures as much as Mom and Dad. They love seeing where you went on vacation and all the adventures their grandkids have. So sending photos or video is a great way to stay connected, whether across town or across the country. 

What's the best way to share your shots with loved ones? You can use text or email. But it's a pain to resend the same image multiple times because your parents "can't find it." With Dropbox Family, you upload images directly to a shared folder. Then your parents get a notification that there's a new photo to view. Plus, they’ll know exactly where to find everything you’ve already sent. 

Digital photography changed the way we share and store family photos. Most of us don’t have boxes filled with old prints anymore. Instead, a lot of pictures wind up on an anonymous, unlabeled hard drive. It’s nice to know our memories are safe—except external drives won't last forever and could get lost or damaged. The truth is: If it's worth saving, you should keep it in the cloud. And with automatic camera uploads you can back up all your photos and videos automatically—simply turn on camera uploads once you’ve downloaded the Dropbox mobile app to get started.

2. Any file, form, or document you need is at your fingertips

Consent forms, insurance cards, and legal documents grow increasingly important as people age. The AARP released a legal checklist for family caregivers. The first step they recommend is to collect the right documents, the third is to organize important papers. That's right—two of their six tips stress the importance of your parents’ paperwork. 

Of course, it's hard to know when you'll need a specific item. But why wait until an emergency to realize something's missing? Your parent's new doctor usually requires an insurance card and complete medical history. Plus, you have to share medical and financial to qualify for certain benefits. 

A Place for Mom's Merritt Whitley, in her post 30+ Essential Documents to Have in Order for Aging Parents, quotes the senior living referral service's senior director of customer development, Tiffany Wise: "If a family member cannot locate important documents like tax returns or bank account information, it could delay or even cause a senior to be denied benefits like Medicaid or veterans benefits."

The best way to prepare is by keeping everything with you. You can save a parent's medical forms, durable power of attorney, and living will in a single folder in Dropbox. And all those important files are instantly accessible from your smartphone or a computer. That way, you don’t have to search high and low for one form—everything’s right where you expect it to be.

3. It's a lot easier to share crucial info with your entire family

Does your aging parent have any allergies? Which prescriptions do they take? Who's their primary care physician? It's tough to remember every detail of a parent's care plan, but it’s critical information. Whitley says, "Having quick access to a senior’s medical history can be lifesaving during a medical emergency. For example, a single piece of medical information, such as a certain medication, could dramatically influence treatment."

There’s a simple sidestep to memorizing this mountain of info: Create a cheat sheet. Type out your parents' medications, doctors' names, and health conditions. Then store the doc in Dropbox and share it with caregivers and family members alike. All the latest info is in a single place, so you don’t have to share the same things over and over. And it's easy to make updates—you can edit Google Docs and Microsoft Office files right from Dropbox.

4. eSignatures save time and a lot of hassle

Aging parents get asked to sign a multitude of different documents. Traditionally, it's a slow, labor-intensive process. You wait days or weeks for the form to arrive by mail. Then, once it's signed, you still need to make a copy for your records, stamp it and send it back. Each step takes time, and there's always a chance the doc gets misplaced somewhere along the way.

Here's how to streamline things: Choose to eSign whenever possible. Using an eSignature lets you complete the whole process in seconds, not days. Digital docs and forms get delivered instantly. Your parents can sign them with just a few clicks. And Dropbox connects with leading eSignature tools to store signed files automatically. 

eSignatures are legal binding, but a few forms like a will or POA require a physical signature. You can still store a signed copy in the cloud, though. Dropbox makes it easy to scan physical documents. That way, all your parents' paperwork is in a single, safe place. And it's much simpler to share the always updated digital doc instead of a photocopy.

5. Dropbox works with the devices your parents already use

Helping aging parents with a new smartphone or computer is no easy feat. And once they get the hang of things, it's best to leave the status quo uninterrupted. The same is true for new apps and services. In an article for Forbes, author Robin Seaton Jefferson cautions, "…researchers found that many times 'frustration' with new technology made older adults unsure of their ability to use it, leaving them unmotivated to even try." That doesn't mean you can't update your parents' technology. The key is to consider their needs carefully—then patiently teach them to use new tools.

Dropbox works the same way across different platforms. Your parents can view shared files from their PC, even if you’re working on a Mac. And everything gets stored together whether you're on iOS or Android. Everyone shares the same experience, even if you don't share the same technology. That makes it much easier to help your parents with any new processes.

 

We all collect a cornucopia of records, photos, and documents throughout life. So it’s easy to get buried in paperwork, especially when you manage other family member’s info. Luckily, cloud storage has reshaped the role of the record keeper. Think of yourself as the family CTO, instead. Now it's your responsibility to choose the right technology for the job. And Dropbox is an easy way to share and access must-have files.

Make life easier for you and your parents

Get started with Dropbox Family

Up to 6 members per plan