流程圖是什麼?如何使用?

流程圖可以將複雜的工作流程轉為可理解的視覺效果,並突顯瓶頸和效率不佳的部分。

由電線和別針製成的流程圖

什麼是流程圖?

流程圖通常代表過程、系統或電腦演算法的圖表,通常用於記錄、規劃,改善或將多步驟的工作流程以視覺化方式呈現。建立流程圖可協助定義工作流程的目的和範圍,並按時間順序找出必要的任務。該概念最早紀載於 1921 年,當時工業工程師法蘭克吉爾布雷斯 (Frank Gilbreth) 和莉莉安吉爾布雷斯 (Lilian Gilbreth) 向美國機械工程師學會 (ASME) 展示了圖形組成的流程圖。在 20 和 30 年代,流程圖越來越流行,亞特史賓南格爾 (Art Spinanger) 和班格雷姆 (Ben S. Graham) 成為該系統的著名採用者。在吉爾布雷斯夫婦研究的基礎上,ASME 於1947 年為採用了適用於流程圖的符號集系統。到了 1949年,流程圖已開始用於規劃電腦程式。儘管現在通常都使用虛擬碼完成上述工作,但流程圖仍然是個很受歡迎且功能強大的生產力工具。

我們今天所知的流程圖使用不同的形狀來列出其工作流程的獨特事件,並使用箭頭或流線來描述其一連串步驟。根據使用者的需求,這些形狀可從簡單的手繪設計到電腦產出的複雜圖案。

不同的流程圖形狀代表什麼?

如果您曾經看過流程圖範例,應該已注意到其中使用的不同形狀。儘管它們看起來好像是隨意的,但這些形狀其實是代表有其定義的過程和子過程。詳細的流程圖 (尤其是用於電腦程時) 會使用廣泛種類的符號,但簡單的流程圖通常只需要幾種形狀。以下是您最常遇到的流程圖符號:

  • 流程或行動符號:此符號由矩形表示,代表流程中的步驟。這是最常用的流程圖形狀。
  • 開始/結束或終止符符號:此符號是一個帶有圓角邊緣的矩形,出現在流程圖的起點和終點。
  • 決策符號:使用菱形符號,表示要回答的問題,通常為是/否或對/錯。接著,流程圖分為不同的支線,為每個答案提供特定的指示。
  • 資料或輸入/輸出符號:使用平行四邊形形狀的符號,表示從過程中帶入或帶出的資料,即使用或產生的資源。

雖然您可以預期大多數流程圖範本都遵循這些已建立的符號標準,但若您要繪製自己的流程圖,則可以忽略這些規則,尤其是如果您只是為自己撰寫文件或供內部團隊使用。最重要的是要讓您的觀眾理解。如果要用非傳統的方式使用符號,最好還是維持符號一致,以免引起混淆。

我該如何使用流程圖?

流程圖是具有多種用途的多樣化工具。通常,過程流程圖會用於:

將複雜的系統和構想簡化和視覺化

因為流程圖的形狀、顏色和方向線條,讓它和常出現在企業流程評估的一整片嚇人文字相比,顯得平易近人許多。透過將工作流程和概念分解成小塊,讓分析過程的任務更容易處理,且更容易看到大方向。

記錄、概述和將流程標準化來建立共享的觀點

與團隊合作時,很容易變成只專注於您直接負責的流程事件。共同協作來完成流程圖的繪製,可藉由強化團隊正努力實現的更大目標,幫助打破孤島。確保每個人都能夠以相同的觀點看待問題,可大大幫助團隊共同尋找解決方案。

組織團隊、找出多餘的工作並協作來改善流程

有時候,用視覺化方式呈現需要完成的工作並確認執行者,對於立即發現流程中的問題大有助益。您可能會發現某位團隊成員工作量或空閒時間特別多,因此可以更平均地分配。透過詳細列出過程中各部分的目的,您可以很清楚地辨識出哪些元素是真正必要的,並可改善哪些元素來發揮最佳效果。

以單一位置提供單一資訊平台,可一目了然追蹤進度

那些詳細且複雜的流程圖,通常是您在工作流程的過程各階段中經常引用的文件。知道自己擁有一份主文件,其中每個細節都詳細記載,且製作過程的每個階段都加以追蹤,這對於製作過程中及完成後針對流程加以分析時,都會是非常寶貴的資訊。使用流程圖當作追蹤和評估的工具,對於確保流程維持順暢有所助益,因為您會更清楚任務的進度及工作流程中可能出錯的部分。

儘管流程圖的用途廣泛,但在某些情況下仍需要使用較特定的流程圖。泳道圖或跨職能圖將工作流程過程分組後,分門別類至不同的欄位中,來突顯各工作流程。這些欄位通常按職位、部門或過程的階段來劃分。從視覺上看來,流程圖好像被分割了,類似游泳池的樣子,圖表的名字也是由此而來。不一定每次都需要用泳道圖,但若想一眼就比較出工作流程中各部門的需求,泳道圖則非常有用。另外,資訊流程圖與一般流程圖的不同點,在於資訊流程圖沒有決策規則、循環或控制流程。資訊流程圖反而將重點放在資料於系統中的移動方式。尤其是資料來源、目的地、及其儲存方式。

另一個區別流程圖是業務流程模型和標記法 (BPMN),提供業務工作流程以圖形檢視的標準。這項流程圖已成為公認的視覺化模型語言,用於業務分析,並必須遵循其傳統及最佳做法。儘管業務流程模型和標記法建立在大家熟悉的流程圖技術上,但只支援適用於業務流程的模型概念,並不適合其他用途。

儘管流程圖有多種形式,將資訊視覺化還有其他方法。乍看之下,由於圖表也有熟悉的形狀或流線,因此看起來可能很像流程圖,但通常大不相同。對於特殊的案例,可選擇具有獨特特徵的圖表,僅提供幾個例子如:決策樹、心智圖、時間軸或魚骨圖。

我該如何製作流程圖?

製作流程圖可以很簡單也可以很複雜,由您決定。您可以使用專為符合業界標準所打造的專用軟體來列出技術流程,也可著手在廢紙上塗鴉形狀再用箭頭連接起來。真的全部由您決定。如果您想列出團隊中的業務流程或協調工作,則可能要考慮能方便儲存和共享的方法。為此,專用的流程圖軟體例如 Lucidchart,可幫助您和團隊將複雜的流程以視覺化的方式呈現,並讓複雜工作流程變得淺顯易懂。

Lucidchart 提供流程圖、心智圖、組織架構圖及一系列其他技術圖表和視覺效果,為您提供流程的即時概要,及團隊組織的清楚概述。Lucidchart 與 Dropbox Paper 的整合功能代表您可在 Paper 中順暢預覽 Lucidchart 文件,並輕鬆與協作者共享。您不需執行任何設定,只需將 Lucidchart 發布的連結貼到 Paper 文件中,Dropbox Paper 便會自動產出視覺預覽。這代表您的團隊成員可以發表評論並即時修改單一共享文件,同時可確保他們正在看的是檔案的最新版本。您可以將複雜的流程以簡便的方式列出,輕鬆和參與過程的人員共享流程圖概述,確保沒有任何遺漏。

流程圖具有豐富的歷史,且是用來評估各式系統的一項永不過時的工具。如果您發現自己陷入流程難題中,可考慮以視覺化方式來對應工作流程。解決方案可能一直就在您眼前。

What are flowcharts and how are they used?

Flowcharts can turn complicated workflows into digestible visuals that highlight bottlenecks and inefficiencies.

What is a flowchart?

A flowchart is a diagram which typically represents a process, system, or computer algorithm and is commonly used to document, plan, refine or visualize a multi-step workflow. Creating flowcharts can help to define the purpose and scope of a workflow and chronologically identify necessary tasks. The concept was first documented in 1921 when industrial engineers Frank and Lilian Gilbreth presented the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) with a graphic-based flow process chart. The popularity of flowcharts grew throughout the '20s and '30s, with Art Spinanger and Ben S. Graham becoming notable adopters of the system. Building on the Gilbreths' work, the ASME adopted a symbol set system for flow process charts in 1947. By 1949, flowcharts were beginning to be used in the planning of computer programs. Although this is now typically done by pseudocode, flowcharts still remain a popular and powerful productivity tool.

Flowcharts as we know them today use different shapes to outline unique aspects of their workflows and arrows, or flow lines, to describe their step-by-step sequences. They can range from simple hand drawn designs to complex, computer generated patterns depending on their users' needs.

What do the different flowchart shapes represent?

If you've seen flowchart examples in the past, you may have noticed different shapes being used within them. Though they may appear arbitrary, these shapes actually signify predefined processes and sub-processes. Detailed flowchart diagrams, particularly those used for computer programming, will use a wide range of symbols, while simpler diagrams often only need a handful of shapes. Here are some flowchart symbols that you can expect to come across most frequently:

  • The Process or Action symbol: This symbol is denoted by a rectangle and represents a step in the process. It is the most commonly used flowchart shape.

  • Start/End or Terminator symbol: This symbol is a rectangle with rounded edges that appears at both the beginning and end points of a flowchart.

  • Decision symbol: A diamond shaped symbol which indicates a question to be answered, typically yes/no or true/false. The flowchart then splits off into different branches providing unique directions for each answer.

  • Data or input/output symbol: A parallelogram shaped symbol that represents data being brought into or taken out from the process, i.e., resources used or generated.

While you can expect most flowchart templates to follow these established symbol standards, it’s okay to ignore these rules if you are diagramming your own process map, particularly if you are just creating a document for yourself or to be used by an internal team. Being understood by your audience is the most important thing. If symbols are to be used unconventionally, it is best they still remain consistent so as not to cause confusion.

How can I use flowcharts?

Flowcharts are versatile tools with a wide variety of use cases. Generally, process flow diagrams are used to:

Simplify and visualize complex systems and ideas

The shapes, colors and directional lines of flowcharts make them far more easily accessible than the intimidating wall of text that can often come with typical business process evaluations. By breaking down workflows and concepts into small chunks, the task of analyzing the process becomes much more manageable and it is far easier to see the bigger picture.

Document, outline, and standardize processes to build a shared perspective

When working with a team, it can be easy to only focus on the aspects of the process that you are directly responsible for. Collaborating on a flowcharting exercise can help to break down silos by reinforcing the larger goal the team is working to achieve. Ensuring everybody is able to look at a problem with the same view goes a long way in helping your team come together to find a solution.

Organize teams, identify redundancies, and collaborate to improve processes

Sometimes, having a visual representation of the work that needs to be done and seeing who needs to do it can help immediately identify issues in the process. You may see that a member of your team has too much work or free time that could be better allocated. By carefully outlining the purpose of each part of your process, you are well positioned to recognize which elements are truly necessary and which could be better optimized.

Track progress at a glance with a single source of truth in one central location

Flowcharts, especially detailed and intricate ones, will typically be documents that you will frequently refer back to throughout various stages of your workflow process. Knowing that you have one master document with every detail outlined and every phase of production tracked can will be invaluable both during production and when analyzing the process upon completion. Using process flowcharts as trackers and evaluation tools will help ensure your process remains smooth as you are more aware of your tasks moving parts and the aspects of the workflow that are likely to go wrong.

Despite their broad uses, there are occasions where more specific types of flowcharts are necessary. Swim lane or cross-functional diagrams highlight workflow processes by grouping them into categorized columns. These columns are typically divided by role, department, or stage of the process. Visually, this creates divisions to the flowchart that are similar to those found in a swimming pool, giving the diagram its name. Swim lane diagrams won’t always be necessary but can be very useful when trying to compare the demands on various divisions in a workflow at a glance. Alternatively, data-flow diagrams differ from general flowcharts in that they have no decision rules, loops, or control flow. They are instead solely focused on how data moves within a system. Particularly, where it comes from, where it goes and how it is stored.

Another flowchart of distinction is the Business Process Model and Notation (BPMN) which is the standard for providing graphical views of business workflows. It has become the accepted visual modeling language for business analysis and has conventions and best practices which must be followed. Although it is based on familiar flowcharting techniques, BPMN only supports concepts of modeling applicable to business processes and is not intended for any other use.

Despite their many forms, flowcharts are not the only way to visualize information. Diagrams which at first glance may look like flowcharts because of their familiar shapes or flow lines can often be very different. For specific use cases, diagrams with unique characteristics may instead opt for: decision trees, mind maps, timelines, or fishbone diagrams just to name a few.

How can I make a flowchart?

Making a flowchart can be as simple or as complicated as you'd like it to be. You could outline a technical process with a dedicated software designed to conform to an industry standard or start scribbling shapes connected by arrows on a sheet of scrap paper. The choice really is all yours. If you are trying to outline a business process or co-ordinate work within your team, you may want to consider an option that is both easily stored and shared. For this, a dedicated flowchart software like Lucidchart can be a great way to help you and your team visualize complex processes and demystify complicated workflows.

Lucidchart provides flowcharts, mind maps, org charts, and a range of other technical diagrams and visuals, granting you with an immediate outline of your processes and a clear overview of your team's organization. Lucidchart's integration with Dropbox Paper means you can seamlessly preview Lucidchart documents in Paper and easily share them with your collaborators. There’s no setup required—you just need to paste a Lucidchart publish link into a Paper doc and Dropbox Paper will automatically generate a preview of the visual. This means your team members can leave comments and make real-time changes to a single shared document while ensuring they are looking at the most up-to-date version of the file. Outlining even complex processes is made so much simpler by being able to easily share flowchart outlines with the very people who participate in the process to make sure nothing is missed.

Flowcharts have a rich history and are a timeless tool for evaluating systems of all descriptions. If you ever find yourself stuck on a process puzzle, consider visually mapping your workflow. A solution may have been right in front of you all along.

Learn how you and your team can do more with Dropbox.

Get started now