如何取得工作與生活的完美平衡

無論是通勤、在家工作還是兼職,都一定要瞭解如何達到工作與生活的平衡。這不僅是為了您的健康和幸福,還會影響整體的工作效率。

工作與生活的平衡是什麼?

朝九晚五的工作方式愈來愈過時。以前的世代可能將工作視為最重要的一切,但現在我們已漸漸瞭解工作與健康之間的關係。個人生活在工作與健康之間定位的意識愈來愈強。工作與生活之間的平衡 (有時簡稱為 WLB),如同字面所說,指的是在工作生活及家庭生活之間獲得和諧,且兩者不相衝突。例如,如果您需要加班,可能會發現自己陷入工作及家庭衝突,無法平等地履行工作職責和家庭職責。在這種情況下,您的工作與生活之間的平衡絕對會失衡。

通常,當人們提到達成工作與生活的平衡時,指的是不需要犧牲個人時間來成全加班時間的工作時程表。通常,達到平衡對員工的幸福和受人敬佩的企業文化至關重要。

為什麼工作與生活的平衡很重要?

每個人都希望一天中有更多時間去做自己喜歡的事情,所以希望工作與生活達到更好的平衡,這難道不是一廂情願而已嗎?其實,它代表的遠不止於此。達成工作與生活的平衡已證明對辦公室員工和自由工作者的心理健康,甚至身體健康都至關重要。缺乏平衡會導致由世界衛生組織定義,所謂的「過勞」

「……一種概念化的綜合症,是由於長期的職場壓力所導致,尚未成功管理……感覺能量耗盡或筋疲力盡;與工作的精神距離愈來愈遠,或對於工作感到消極或憤世嫉俗;專業效能降低。」

過勞情形愈來愈多,導致員工失去動力和生產力,並影響到心臟病,高血壓和糖尿病類型相關疾病。簡而言之,持續處於壓力狀態對任何人或任何企業都很不健康。

工作與生活平衡的技巧

要保持工作與生活的健全平衡,態度和行動都同樣重要。以下方法可以確保您和團隊走在通往和諧的正確道路上:

瞭解它的價值

您發現後可能會很驚訝,工作與生活的高品質平衡,是人們最想希望獲得的事情之一。最近的一項研究發現,工人如果是為一間更加體恤員工的公司工作,他們願意領取較低的報酬。無論個人情況如何,這都是很大的退讓。然而,這清楚地說明人們不再將工作視為生活的全部,反而將其視為生活的一種手段。這對您和團隊來說,代表什麼?他們有必要知道,您正努力照顧他們工作及家庭的利益和幸福。

不要再稱呼它為平衡了

工作與生活的衝突是另一種愈來愈受歡迎的詮釋方式,不再將它視為微妙的平衡,反而視為生活的整體。例如,不要認為在周末發幾封工作相關的電子郵件會自動剝奪周末其「空閒時間」的地位。同樣地,不要認為在上班日休息一下就代表沒有專心工作。

管理時間和能量

上班日的意義,不是以您在辦公桌前花費多少時間來衡量的。試著採用新的方式來處理工作任務,也許可利用待辦事項或Pomodoro之類的時間管理技術。如果您是經理或老闆,應該給予團隊自由,來探索各種不同的工作方式。我們的能量在一天內歷經高峰和低迷,這是很自然的。不要因為同事沒有一直保持在產出高峰就責怪他。這會減輕您的壓力,讓您感到精力充沛,可以充分利用下班時間。

計畫和管理期望

提前計畫一週的工作,可以幫助您決定實際可用於個人生活的時間。例如,計畫每週都要全力以赴的話,可能會導致失敗、失望和筋疲力盡。為自己設定比較實際的期望,如此一來,您在工作和個人生活中的能量會得到更佳平衡。

如果您是管理團隊者,請不要期望團隊成員達成不可能的任務。試著採用知道一切都有可能出錯,並為此留有緩衝的方式進行專案。即使是海軍創造的 PERT 計畫技術也知道事情並非總是順利進行。

思考周遭環境

無論在家工作或在辦公室工作,都應該有意識地選擇圍繞在身旁的事物。您對於辦公室的設計可能沒太多控制權,但是請盡可能將工作區域保持乾淨整潔。古諺有云:「書桌整潔,頭腦清醒」,真是言之有理。同樣地,回家後請確保自己身處於能感到放鬆並減少壓力的空間。不要打開工作文件,不要一直在手機上看公事的電子郵件。如果您是在家工作的自由工作者,請盡量將辦公空間限制在某個房間或一張書桌上,以便在工作結束後可以起身離開。

不要小看心理健康

對團隊和您自己都一樣。愈來愈多的公司意識到「心理健康日」的重要性,這代表員工可以在認為適合的時機,休息一下為自己重新充電、補充能量。不是只有生理上的「生病」才需要時間休息。讓團隊對心理健康的重要性保持開放態度,鼓勵正面的風氣,若有隊員承認自己不是一直感到 100% 活力充沛,不需要感到不好意思。事實上也沒人能永遠做到 100%。儘管這種態度無法解決問題,但肯定有助於減輕負擔。當休假是為瞭解決心理健康問題時,55% 的員工對於要求休假感到擔心。透過建立開放且誠實的討論區,且不隱藏內心的情感,您可以幫助團隊減少承受壓力的時間,也期盼透過這樣的方式,可以改善這些問題對員工生活可能造成的影響。

不要一個人承擔

許多現代職場不僅僅將團隊視為名字或數字,而是一個大家庭。我們鼓勵同事們在社交活動和下班後聚會,也經常透過 Slack 或 Zoom 進行團隊聊天。從本質上來說,我們鼓勵同事將彼此視為朋友,是可以聯繫和依靠的人。擁有這類同志情誼,對於實現工作與生活的平衡具有非常顯著的影響。事實上,我們發現孤軍奮戰的情況對於開始遠端辦公且沒有分散式團隊支援的員工士氣有負面影響。

然而,距離無法阻止團隊進行連結,尤其現在有這麼多有效好用的遠端工作工具,任您使用。對於用來打造簡單方便且集中整合的工作空間所須的各式協作工具,請確保每個人都有存取權限,且知道怎麼使用即可。

總結要點

工作與生活間的良好平衡,其精隨在於確保您和團隊關心個人和家庭生活。這不代表應該要貶低職業生涯,而是每個人都應該銘記於心,工作和工作以外的生活同等重要。您的同事不是帶著筆記型電腦,一天出現八小時的人而已。他們也是人,在工作之外承擔著無數珍貴的義務。當所有人都同意這種思維方式時,您才會發現可以真正實現工作與生活間的高品質平衡。

How to perfect the work-life balance

Whether you commute, work from home, or work part-time, it’s important that you know how to strike a work-life balance. Not just for your health and happiness, but for your overall productivity too.

What is the work-life balance?

Working 9-5 is becoming increasingly obsolete. Past generations may have seen work as the be-all and end-all, but we’ve all come to better understand the relationship between work and health. There is a rising awareness of where personal life fits into all this. The term work-life balance—sometimes called WLB⁠—is pretty self-explanatory, referring to the sense of harmony you get between your work life and your home life, without having them conflict. If you need to work overtime hours, for example, you may find yourself in a work family conflict, where you can’t fulfill the duties to your job and to your family equally. In this case, your work-life balance is anything but balanced.

Generally, when people refer to achieving work like balance, they talk about a work schedule that doesn’t require them to sacrifice their personal time in favor of longer hours. Getting that balance right is often seen as vital to worker happiness and an admirable organizational culture.

Why is work-life balance important?

Everyone wants more time in the day to do things they like, so isn’t a better work-life balance just wishful thinking? Actually, it’s far more than that. Achieving a work life-balance has proven to be vital for mental health and even physical health, both for office workers and freelancers. A lack of balance can lead to what is known as “burnout,” defined by the World Health Organization as:

“…a syndrome conceptualized as resulting from chronic workplace stress that has not been successfully managed..feelings of energy depletion or exhaustion; increased mental distance from one’s job, or feelings of negativism or cynicism related to one's job; and reduced professional efficacy.”

Burnout is on the rise, causing workforces to lose motivation and productivity, as well as being linked to heart disease, blood pressure, and types of diabetes. Put simply, being in a constant state of stress isn’t healthy for anyone, or any business.

Work-life balance tips

Getting a healthy work-life balance is as much about attitude as it is about action. Here’s how to ensure you’re on the right track to harmony for you and your team:

Know its value

You might be surprised to know that a quality work-life balance is one of the things people want most of all. A recent study discovered that workers would be willing to get paid less if it meant they could work for a company that empathized more. That’s a pretty major compromise to make no matter what your personal circumstances are. However, it’s a clear indicator that people are no longer viewing work as their whole lives, but as a means to live them. What does this mean for you and your team? They need to know that you’re looking out for their interests and well-being, both in the office and at home.

Stop calling it balance

An increasingly popular take on the idea of work-life conflict is to stop thinking of it as a delicate balance, and to instead think of it as life as a whole. For example, don’t think that sending a few work emails over the weekend automatically strips your weekend of its status as “free time.” Similarly, don’t think taking a break during the workday implies that you’re not applying yourself.

Manage time and energy

The workday is about more than the number of hours you spend at a desk. Try and approach your work tasks in a new way, maybe by adopting a to-do list or time management technique like Pomodoro. If you’re a manager or a boss, you should give your team the freedom to explore different ways of working. Our energy naturally goes through peaks and valleys throughout the day⁠—don’t get on a co-worker for not being at peak output constantly. This leaves you feeling less stressed and more energized to make the most of out-of-work hours.

Plan and manage expectations

Planning your work week ahead helps you determine the time you can actually dedicate to your personal life. For example, planning to go all-out every week can set you up for failure, disappointment, and burnout. Set more realistic expectations for yourself so you have more balanced energy for both your work and personal life.

If you’re managing a team, don’t expect the impossible from your team members. Try approaching a project knowing that everything may well go wrong and make allowances for it—even the Navy-created PERT planning technique knows things don’t always go smoothly.

Think about your surroundings

Whether you work from home or from an office, you should be aware of the things you choose to surround yourself with. You may not have much control over office design, but try your best to keep your work area neat and tidy⁠—the old adage “tidy desk, tidy mind” has a valid point. Similarly, when you come home, make sure you feel like you’re in a space that’s designed to make you feel relaxed and lower your stress levels. Don’t leave work documents out, don’t have work emails constantly open on your phone. If you work from home as a freelancer, try and keep your office space confined to a room or desk you can walk away from at the end of the workday.

Don’t downplay mental health

That goes for your team as well as you. More and more companies understand the importance of “mental health days,” meaning that employees can take time off to recharge—as they see fit. Being physically “sick” doesn’t have to be the only reason to take time to rest. Be open with your team about the importance of mental well-being, don’t adopt or encourage a sense of embarrassment for admitting to not feeling 100% all the time⁠—no one does. While this attitude doesn’t fix the problem, it can certainly help lessen the burden. 55% of workers worry about asking for vacation time to help with a mental health issue. By creating an open and honest forum, and by not hiding your inner feelings, you can help your team spend less time stressing and hopefully help lessen the hold these issues may have on your worker’s lives.

Don’t go it alone

Many modern workplaces see their teams as more than just names or numbers⁠—they are an extended family. Colleagues are encouraged to spend time together at social events and after work, while team chats through Slack or Zoom are usually the norm. Essentially, colleagues are encouraged to view each other as friends, people they can connect with and rely on. Having this sense of camaraderie can make a massive difference for work-life balances⁠—in fact, isolation was found to have a negative impact on motivation for those who started telecommuting without a distributed team to support them.

That said, distance can’t stop your team from connecting—especially today with so many effective remote work tools at your disposal. Just make sure everyone has access to and knowledge of all the collaborative tools they need to create an easy-to-use, unified workspace.

Key takeaways

The heart of a good work-life balance is ensuring that you and your team attend to your personal and family lives. This doesn’t mean anyone should downplay their professional life but everyone should remember that work and life outside work are equally important. Your co-worker isn’t just a person who shows up with a laptop for eight hours a day. They’re a human being, too—with hundreds of valuable obligations outside of work. When you can all get aligned with this way of thinking, you’ll find you can truly achieve a quality work-life balance together.

Learn how you and your team can do more with Dropbox.

Get started now