如何建立時程表

有時候無論花費多少心血,在一天結束前,您的待辦清單還是原封不動、毫無進展。幸好最簡單的解決方案就是最好的做法:建立時程表。

我需要工作時程表嗎?

您可能是朋友當中最有條理的人,不過時程表對每個人都有助益。概念很簡單:每日時程表能輕鬆讓您將待辦事項牢記於心。養成建立每週時程表的習慣,不光只是能清楚瞭解每天工作的概況;這個習慣也會促使您認真思考手上所有的工作,及需如何在一週之間將工作錯開分配。準備永遠不嫌多。

時程表管理及工具

可透過多種不同的方式來建立時程表,並且隨一週間的變化彈性調整。畢竟很少有計畫永恆不變。

數位方式是個很受歡迎的選項:您不太可能忘記帶手機,但可能會把筆記本忘了。不過工作到一半時,您可能無法用手機,或很難不受常見的分心因素干擾 (例如社群媒體)。像日誌之類的紙筆規劃方式也很受歡迎,同時使用日誌和數位時程表有益無害。

Dropbox Paper

對於您和團隊而言,Dropbox Paper 是個簡單易上手的時程安排工具,能促進團隊協作更順暢。可將待辦事項和時間表存放在相同位置,連結到關鍵文件,並讓團隊成員即時留下評論。時程範本可幫您為一週活動輕鬆建立條理分明的時程表。Dropbox 不僅能建立時程表,還能幫無論是在家工作還是和您一起在辦公室的所有團隊成員打造出工作中心。

白板

若需要專案排程管理,使用白板是非常好的方法。仍然建議使用方便的線上工具,並在 Dropbox Paper 上設定數位追蹤工具;但以視覺方式清楚呈現需完成的工作,百利而無一害。

無論要計畫一天還是整週的工作,首先要寫下關鍵任務。請邀請團隊成員在剩餘空白處填上需要完成的工作,如此一來,就非常適合用來促進腦力激盪和確認進度。如此可確保人人都有足夠的時間來完成重要任務、有時間與其他團隊成員進行協作,且大致上瞭解每個人需要重點處理的地方。

Excel

Excel 是個簡單的解決方案,可以輕鬆建立時程表。您可利用預設範本或是在程式中建立自己的版本。雖然可在線上進行備份,但這個選項和其他替代方案相比,好用的功能比較少。然而若想讓一切保持簡單,且認為有份時間表可供每天早上確認進度已非常足夠,則 Excel 是較簡單的方法之一。

Google 日曆

任何 Gmail 帳戶皆可使用 Google 日曆,透過此優良精巧的應用程式,可以和整個帳戶連結。也就是如果您剛預訂飯店或機票,Google 日曆會將這些資料從電子郵件傳輸到日曆上。Google 地圖上的目的地甚至會彈出日期。可透過應用程式輕鬆新增其他活動,日期快到時會在手機上收到推播通知。您輸入的內容都會自動備份。

子彈筆記

如果您容易分心、感到無聊或兩者皆是,則又名為子彈筆記的點式筆記就很適合您。子彈筆記可以照您的喜好採用簡單或複雜風格,且各式各樣的排版讓您幾乎可以對任何內容進行分類。您可以計畫一天、一週、一個月、甚至一年,並為工作時間、進餐、運動、情緒或您想要的任何事建立追蹤制度。

子彈筆記法使用「快速記錄」的方法,您可使用不同的記號來標註任務、事件和備註。然後,您可以用「*」和「!」之類的「特殊符號」在任務清單上標記優先等級和靈感、將不同工作項目「嵌套」在一個事件下、或建立子項目。您可以輕鬆將項目刪掉及增加新的緊急工作,只需看一眼,一整天的工作項目都一覽無遺。

簡而言之,子彈筆記能夠提供和 Google 日曆或 PC 時程表範本相同的組織方式,但是具有親自手寫的額外好處。照理來說,親自手寫有助於將想法牢記在記憶中,並激發更深的決心,尤其當您想到在數位化行事曆上打字,相比下感覺距離非常遙遠。

如何安排時程表

可按照自己的喜好安排時程表。不用覺得需要和傳統方式一樣,紀錄每天或每週。您可以將日期分解為時間塊,或使用時間管理方法的技術如番茄工作法來計畫。也可以建立以深度工作時間為主的時程表,盡可能減少拖延和逃避的現象。

設定時程表時,請盡量包含愈多資訊愈好,而非只限於工作相關內容。如此才能充分瞭解未來日期的規劃。請考慮以下項目:

  • 工作期間

  • 午休

  • 普通休息

  • 補充耗材 (是否需要補充墨水才能列印報告?)

  • 其他團隊成員,例如不要只是「發送電子郵件」,而是「用電子郵件寄報告給 David」

  • 起床或就寢時間

  • 所需的程序和設備及設定時間

  • 運動時間

  • 為隔天安排計畫的時間

建立如此詳細的計畫似乎過於狂熱,但這也可以讓您瞭解並適應自己的活力水平。舉例來說,如果您知道自己下午工作效率較好,就可以在最佳工作時間的前後安排休息時間,例如在早上花一小時來做些運動。

如果時程表對我來說沒幫助怎麼辦?

進行修改:如果按照特定的時間表會感到彆扭或疲憊不堪,表示這份時程表不適合您。時程表應該做為實用的工具,而非待辦清單上的另一項工作。只要利用一週時間來試用時程表,很快就會發現理論和實踐是兩回事。如果效果不彰,請從下週開始使用新的時間表。善用好的工具,一切都會有所不同。

How to make a schedule

Sometimes—no matter how hard you try—you’ve barely made a dent in that to-do list by the end of the day. Luckily, the best solution is also the simplest: make a schedule.

Do I need a work schedule?

You might be the most organized person around, but everyone can use a schedule. It doesn’t need to be complicated: a daily schedule simply keeps your to-do’s top of mind. Getting into the habit of keeping a weekly schedule doesn’t just give you a clear overview of each day. It encourages you to really think about all the tasks you have at hand and how you need to stagger them across the week. You can never be too prepared.

Schedule management and tools

There are lots of different ways you can create a schedule that’s flexible and adaptable to changes throughout the week. After all, very few plans are ever set in stone.

Digital is a popular option—you’re unlikely to forget your phone while you might forget a notepad. That said, midway through work, you may not feel able to use your phone, or be able to do so without falling to common distractions like social media. Analog methods like journals are hugely popular too, and there’s no harm in keeping both a journal and a digital schedule.

Dropbox paper

Dropbox Paper is an easy-to-use scheduling tool for you and your team that fosters greater collaboration. Keep to-do lists and time tables all in one place, link out to key documents and let team members leave comments in real time. Timeline templates can help you easily create structured schedules for your week. Dropbox creates more than a schedule, it creates a work hub for all your team members whether they’re working from home or with you in the office.

Whiteboard

Using a whiteboard is an especially good method if you need to schedule project management. You should still tap into handy online tools and set up a digital tracker on Dropbox Paper, but a clear visual display of what needs to get done is always helpful.

Start by getting the key tasks down, whether you’re planning for one day or your entire week. Invite team members to fill up the remaining white space with whatever they need to get done, and you have the perfect launch pad for brainstorming and check-ins. You can ensure everyone has enough time to get through important tasks, find time to collaborate with other team members, and generally know where everyone needs to focus.

Excel

Excel is a a simple solution to easily create a schedule. You can use a pre-made template or make up your own in the program. While you can back this up online, this option doesn’t have as many helpful features as other alternatives. That said, if you want to keep things uncomplicated and are happy to just have a timetable you can check-in with every morning, it’s one of the easier methods.

Google calendar

Available with any Gmail account and as a nifty scheduling app, Google Calendar connects to your overall account. That means if you’ve just made a hotel reservation or booked a flight, Google Calendar will transfer this information from your email to your calendar. The dates will even pop up on your destination on Google maps. Easily add other events in via the app and get push notifications on your phone when things are due. All your input is also automatically backed up.

Bullet journals

Dot journals, also known as bullet journals, are perfect if you’re prone to distraction, boredom, or both. Dot journals can be as simple or as elaborate as you like, with layouts that let you categorize just about anything. You can plan for the day, week, month, even the year and create trackers for your work hours, meals, exercise, mood, or whatever you want.

The bullet journal method uses “rapid logging” which lets you mark tasks, events and notes with different markers. Then, you can use “signifiers” like * and ! to mark priorities and inspiration on your task list, or “nest” different tasks under an event or create a subtask. You can easily cross out items, add in new last-minute tasks, and get a complete glimpse of your whole day with a single glance.

Put simply, bullet journals give you all the same organization as your Google calendar or PC schedule template, but with the added benefits of physically writing them by hand. Supposedly, this helps cement the ideas in your memory, and inspires deeper commitment, especially when you consider how distant typing into a digital calendar may feel in comparison.

How to organize a schedule

You can organize your schedule however you like. Don’t feel like you need to go the traditional way and go by days or week. You can break it down into blocks of time, or plan using time management approach technique like the Pomodoro technique. Or you could set a schedule that centers around deep work periods to minimize procrastination and avoidance.

When setting up your schedule, try to contain as much information as possible, not just work. That way, you have a full understanding of the day ahead. Think about:

  • Work periods

  • Lunch breaks

  • General breaks

  • Supply runs (do you need more ink to print out that report?)

  • Other team members e.g. don’t just “send that email” but “email report to David”

  • Wake-up/Bed time

  • Programs and equipment needed and set-up time

  • Exercise time

  • Planning time for the next day

It may seem over-zealous to be planning in such detail, but this also lets you understand and adapt to your energy levels. If you know you work better in the afternoon, for example, then organize your breaks around that optimal working period like taking an hour in the morning to get some exercise in.

What if my schedule isn’t working for me?

Change it up: if keeping to a particular timetable feels unnatural or like tiresome churn, then it’s not the right schedule for you. Schedules should be seen as a helpful tool, not just another task on your to-do list. Trial run your schedule for a week and you’ll soon realize that theory and practice are two different things. If it’s not working out, start the next week with a new timetable. It could make all the difference for the better.

Learn how you and your team can do more with Dropbox.

Get started now