一人創業家的數位檔案管理秘訣

瞭解如何管理數位檔案可為您省時省力。先不要認為這是段痛苦的過程。慶幸的是,有了簡單的檔案管理祕訣,您就能夠輕鬆學會如何整理數位檔案。

一人創業家坐著使用筆電,設法管理與整理數位檔案。

合約、稅務、銀行對帳單、檔案、資料夾,影片,以及其他許多項目。使用實體或數位方式管理您的文件及資產,是經營企業十分重要的一環。

 

雲端儲存解決方案讓您可更輕鬆將所有資料儲存至單一的安全位置,辦公室不再雜亂無章。將所有資料儲存至雲端,也讓您隨時隨地使用不同裝置登入。然而,儲存檔案與整理檔案,並非同一件事。

為什麼整理數位檔案很重要

為了能夠順利經營小型企業,您需要保持敏捷,並能即時回覆。若您曾經為客戶計劃一場夢幻婚禮,但對方卻在最後一刻弄丟了桌位安排表,這時您就必須快速找到它。或是一天中為不同合作對象拍攝了一連串的影片,現在必須開始剪輯?了解哪些短片屬於哪個專案,會有助於讓影片剪輯過程更加順利。

 

花點時間管理與整理檔案,對於您與客戶都會有很大的助益。

整理數位檔案需要多久?

整理數位檔案所需的時間,取決於檔案內容的多寡。如果只有一些專案 (或是您才剛開始),需要花費一個下午。如果有累積數月或數年的檔案、資料夾及素材,則需要幾天的時間將它們分類。如果您想要分散處理,則會花費超過一個禮拜。

 

是的,整理數位檔案聽起來的確十分花費心力。但是,建立可信賴的單一事實來源會非常值得。想像一下,要尋找舊有的創意專案時,若有清楚的檔案名稱,就能輕鬆在單一資料夾中找到所有素材。更棒的是,與您的會計師分享富有條理的「Tax Returns 2021/22」資料夾後,就可以期待那種從未認真感受過的快樂。接下來,只要放手讓他們處理剩下的工作就好。

 

把這想成管理郵件信箱:一開始很痛苦,但完成後就能加快速度,有效率地找到需要的項目。

如何整理數位檔案

整理數位檔案有很多種方法,但必須找出自己所需的系統。需要尋找檔案時,如果使用的是慢吞吞、讓事情更複雜的整理系統,並沒有任何用處。 

 

為協助您開始使用,我們整理出最重要的 10 個管理訣竅:

 

  1. 選擇儲存檔案及資料夾的位置
  2. 刪除或封存重複檔案
  3. 建立層級清楚的資料夾與子資料夾
  4. 保持清楚具體
  5. 維持檔案命名慣例
  6. 隨時存檔
  7. 安全儲存最重要的文件
  8. 為實體文件製作數位版本
  9. 不必害怕丟掉未使用的檔案
  10. 定期備份檔案及電腦

 

1. 選擇儲存檔案及資料夾的位置

身為一人創業家,您的電腦可能就是整個公司的中心。因此您的電腦自然成了最適合儲存檔案、資料夾及素材的位置。唯一的問題在於意外難免會發生,如果您的電腦壞了、遭竊或是遺失,後果將不堪設想。就這樣,您細心整理的檔案及資料夾也會不見。哎呀!

 

雲端儲存能夠儲存所有資產,是一項安全可靠的選擇。這代表檔案及資料夾都儲存在線上雲端,因此您永遠不需要擔心硬體設備表現不如預期。您也可以在任何地方、使用任何裝置存取所需的檔案。這麼一來,如果發生最糟糕的情況,您忠實的舊筆電終於壽終正寢,您還是可以使用其他裝置登入,並快速備份檔案。

雲端儲存空間中的各種檔案及資料夾。
雲端儲存空間中的各種檔案

從實際角度來看,使用雲端儲存也代表您可以隨時隨地存取所需的檔案及資料夾。如果您意外刪除檔案,大部分的服務都能夠還原檔案。或是建立備份,以防萬一。

 

2. 刪除或封存重複檔案

這項功能的步驟不僅簡短,還很貼心。管理重複的檔案,就是重複同樣的工作流程。開始存檔前,可刪除重複檔案。如果您不確定是否還會需要使用,也可以先將它們放到封存資料夾。

 

如果您決定要保留這些檔案,Dropbox 則讓您能夠將檔案儲存至線上,並且設定為僅供線上存取。這代表當您需要使用時,它們依舊安全地儲存在雲端,但不會佔用裝置上的珍貴空間。不必將全部的創意作品集都儲存在您信任的 MacBook Air 上。只要將作品集儲存至雲端,需要展示時,就可以直接存取您的工作檔案!

 

3. 建立具層級清楚的資料夾與子資料夾

您沒有時間一一搜尋每個資料夾,只為了找到正確的「Campaign_Asset_016.jpg」。建立易於理解和瀏覽的資料夾結構後,即可將相關檔案、文件及素材儲存在一起,不論檔案種類。為此,您需要建立清楚的資料夾與子資料夾層級

Dropbox 中的資料夾層級。

最佳做法就是為資料夾層級建立結構:

 

依照名稱分類

 

客戶 > 客戶名稱 > 創意 > 2022 秋季 > 最棒戶室內動 > 最棒室內活動_露營_臉書_1080x1080.jpg

 

按專案

 

所有專案 > 創意廣告活動 > 臉書廣告 > 最棒室內活動 > 最棒室內活動_露營_ 1080x1080.jpg

 

依照日期分類

 

2022 > 九月 > 創意 > 客戶名稱 > 最棒室內活動 > 最棒室內活動_露營_臉書_1080x1080.jpg

 

不論您選擇哪種方式,記得避免在資料夾中塞滿太多檔案。您可以改為分成不同子資料夾。這會讓您與協作者都能夠更輕易找到需要的檔案。

 

4. 保持清楚具體

檔案及資料夾名稱需要保持清楚及簡單明瞭。如果您是一位攝影師,在婚禮旺季工作時,會有好幾週都得參加 3 至 4 場婚禮。老實說,上傳相片時,您不會有時間為每張相片命名。但您可以透過一些詳細資料將檔案分類成不同資料夾,例如:日期、場地名稱,或是新人的名字。之後您會感謝自己這麼做。

 

保持檔案管理清楚具體,在分享檔案及資料夾時更形重要。在第 4 輪討論時,客戶不會有時間逐一預覽 30 個廣告素材。對方只想確認您是否已處理好他們對 JB_March_22_Campaign_Banner.png. 的意見回饋。

 

5. 維持檔案命名慣例

一旦您確定一系列的命名慣例後,請持續使用它們。不論是獨自工作或與人協作,保持一致都能讓每個人的生活更輕鬆。

 

額外好處在於,清楚命名檔案及資料夾,能夠讓人更容易以名稱搜尋。 

​​使用者在 Dropbox 中搜尋檔案。

6. 隨時存檔

囤積一堆需要歸檔的檔案,這種事情很容易發生。千萬別當那種人。應在離開前將檔案歸檔,或是在所屬資料夾中建立素材。如果您不小心將檔案儲存在錯誤的資料夾,清楚的命名慣例也能協助您輕易分類。一切就平安無事。

7. 安全儲存重要文件

使用密碼保護檔案,是保護重要文件的常見方式。某些雲端儲存解決方案甚至讓您能夠授予及移除文件存取權,只須簡單按幾下即可。兩者都是可以保護您工作檔案的聰明網路安全策略

 

有時候,檔案需要多一層安全保護,甚至不只需要密碼。可能是因為這類檔案包含敏感資訊,例如:顧客的個人資料。也可能是因為您正在處理新的品牌商標,而您的競爭者很想得到。或者根本跟工作無關。您可能只是需要一個安全的地方,協助儲存父母親的重要文件

 

Dropbox Vault 可以協助您儲存資訊,確保雲端機密資訊的安全,並井然有序地替您打理這些資訊。除了 Dropbox 現有的安全措施,Vault 是一個在 Dropbox 帳戶中的 PIN 碼保護資料夾。只有您知道 PIN 碼,且只有您能夠存取裡面的檔案。

8. 為實體文件製作數位版本

就算您的企業幾乎已完全線上化,您還是擁有實體文件及素材。但是管理檔案時,沒有必要將這些資料分開。反而只要將它們數位化並歸檔,就像處理其他數位檔案一樣。

 

另一種方法則是使用文件掃描器來掃描收據、ID 及相片等其他檔案,並儲存至您的手機。只需要幾分鐘,就可以將它們歸檔。如果您的雲端儲存有內建光學字元辨識 (OCR),就可以將掃描後的圖片轉變為可搜尋文字的 PDF 檔案。

 

想找到那個您忘記歸檔的合約,但卻只記得簽署者的名字?沒問題,只要以簽署者的名字來搜尋您的儲存空間,OCR 就會為您快速辨識有提及此名字、讓您傷腦筋的 PDF 合約。

9. 不必害怕丟掉未使用的檔案

刪除並封存舊檔案,並非一個動作就能完成。若要有效管理數位檔案,就得每隔一段時間快速瀏覽一遍。您可能會驚訝地發現有多少檔案可以移除。

 

最好的方式是為自己設定提醒。整理好檔案之後,撥出時間來維護並管理檔案,都是為硬碟或其他雲端儲存方案節省儲存空間的好方法。

 

10. 定期備份檔案及電腦

最後重要的一點:永遠都要備份所有檔案及資料夾。如果您沒有將檔案備份起來,以防萬一,所有的檔案管理及檔案整理都會化為烏有。如果您沒有備份,丟失或損壞了整個公司仰賴的電腦,就會突然面臨巨大的挑戰。

 

我們已經說過,外部硬碟是備份檔案的好方法。然而,它們也很容易遺失、遭竊或損壞。然後,您就又回到了原點。雲端備份就是解決此問題的好方法,可以讓您隨時隨地存取您的備份檔案。

 

Dropbox Backup 還能讓您備份整個電腦或外部硬碟到雲端上。萬一您的電腦或硬碟壞掉或遭竊,就可以輕鬆地在另一部裝置上復原與還原所有檔案及資料夾。最棒的是,您的檔案及資料夾將會還原至原位置,讓您在原來中斷的地方繼續工作。

為您的檔案找一個家

說到管理數位檔案,找到對的儲存方式就是最佳起點。Dropbox 具有容易使用的雲端儲存功能,讓您能夠輕鬆將檔案及資料夾整理地井井有條。但我們做得不僅如此。

 

將 Dropbox 想像成您的中央協作中心。檔案及資料夾都安全無虞,有需要都能於電腦、手機或平板電腦隨時存取。如果您想要與客戶、顧客或協作者共享您的工作檔案,也十分簡單。萬一您無法存取檔案,Dropbox 也會協助您整理檔案,確保檔案安全無虞,就連您丟失電腦或電腦壞掉,也一樣沒問題。

保護您的檔案內容,以防萬一。

進一步瞭解 Dropbox Backup

Digital file management tips for solopreneurs

Knowing how to manage your digital files can save you time and effort. First, you need to stop thinking it’s a painful process. Thankfully, with a few simple file management tips it’s easy to master the art of organizing your digital files.

A solopreneur sitting with a laptop, trying to manage and organize their digital files.

Contracts, taxes, bank statements, files, folders, videos, and so much more. Physical or digital, managing your paperwork and assets is a significant part of running your own business.

 

Cloud storage solutions have made it much easier to store everything in one safe, secure place—all without cluttering up your office. Storing everything in the cloud also means you can access it from multiple devices—anywhere, anytime. However, storing and organizing your files are not the same thing.

Why organizing your digital files matters

To keep your small business running smoothly, you need to be agile and ready to respond. If you’ve planned a client’s dream wedding, but at the last minute they lose their table plan, you need to find it, fast. Worked on back-to-back video shoots in one day, with different stakeholders, and now need to edit them? Knowing which clip belongs to which project will make the video editing process so much smoother.

 

Taking the time to manage your files and organize them can make a big difference for you, and your customers.

How long will it take to organize my digital files?

How long it takes you to organize your digital files will depend on how much you need to organize. If it’s just a few projects (or you’re just starting out), take an afternoon. If it’s months or years of files, folders, and assets, take a few days to get it sorted. Or spread it out over a week.

 

Yes, organizing digital files sounds like an effort. But it’s worth it to create that single source of truth you can rely on. Imagine how much easier it will be to refer back to old creative projects if they have clear names, with all the assets stored in one folder. Better yet, look forward to the underrated joy of sharing your fully organized “Tax Returns 2021/22” folder with your accountant. Then sit back and let them do the rest.

 

Think of it like managing your email inbox: it’s a pain at first, but getting it done will help you find things faster and more efficiently.

How to organize digital files

There are lot of ways to organize your digital files, but you need to make sure you find a system that works for you. There’s no point putting a really clear organizational system in place if it slows you down, or makes it harder for you to find files when you need them. 

 

To get you started, we’ve put together our top 10 file management tips:

 

  1. Choose one place to store files and folders
  2. Delete or archive duplicate files
  3. Create folders and subfolders with a clear hierarchy
  4. Be clear and specific
  5. Stick to your file naming conventions
  6. Always file as you go
  7. Store your most important documents securely
  8. Make digital copies of physical documents
  9. Don’t be afraid to get rid of unused files
  10. Regularly back up your files…and your computer

 

1. Choose one place to store files and folders

As a solopreneur, your computer is already probably the center of all things related to your business. That makes it a natural place to store all your files, folders, and assets. The only problem is what happens if, inevitably, your computer breaks, gets stolen, or is lost. Just like that, all your carefully organized files and folders are gone. Ouch.

 

Cloud storage is a secure, reliable option for storing all your assets. Since it means your files and folders are stored online in the cloud, you never need to worry about your hardware letting you down. You can also access all your files on any device, from anywhere you need them. So if the worst happens and your old faithful laptop finally gives up on you, you can login on another device and quickly get back up to speed.

A wide range of files and folders organized in cloud storage.
A wide range of files saved in cloud storage

From a practical perspective, using cloud storage also means you can access your files and folders wherever, and whenever you need them. Most services allow you to recover your files if you accidentally delete them too. Or create a backup, just in case.

 

2. Delete or archive duplicate files

This one is short and sweet. Managing duplicate files is duplicating your work. Before you start filing, delete duplicates. You could also put them aside in an Archive folder if you’re unsure you’ll need them again.

 

If you decide you do want to keep them, Dropbox allows you to store files online and set them as online-only. This means they’re still safe and secure in the cloud for when you need them, but don’t take up valuable space on your device. There’s no need to store your whole creative portfolio on your trusty MacBook Air. Simply store it in the cloud and access your work when you need to show it off!

 

3. Create folders and subfolders with a clear hierarchy

You don’t have time to search through folders upon folders to find the right “Campaign_Asset_016.jpg”. Create a folder structure that is easy to understand and navigate, then store related files, documents, and assets together, whatever their file type. To do this, you’ll need to establish a clear folder and subfolder hierarchy

A hierarchy of folders within Dropbox.

As a best practice, it’s a good idea to structure your folder hierarchy:

 

By name

 

Clients > Client name > Creative > Fall 2022 > The Great Indoors > Great_Indoors_Camping_ FB_1080x1080.jpg

 

By project

 

All projects > Creative campaigns > Facebook Ads > The Great Indoors > Great_Indoors_Camping_ 1080x1080.jpg

 

or By date

 

2022 > September > Creative > Client name > The Great Indoors > Great_Indoors_Camping_ FB_1080x1080.jpg

 

Whichever you choose, just remember to avoid overloading folders with files. Instead, break them into subfolders. This will make it much easier for you or your collaborators to find the files you need.

 

4. Be clear and specific

File and folder names need to be clear and easy to understand. If you’re a photographer working in peak wedding season, you’re going to have weeks where you’re attending 3 or 4 weddings. Let’s be honest—you’re not going to have time to rename every photo when you upload them. But you can sort them into folders with details such as the date, venue name and maybe the first names of the happy couple. Thank yourself later.

 

Being clear and specific with your file management is even more important when you’re sharing files and folders. At round 4, the client doesn’t have time to preview each and every one of the 30 campaign assets. They just want to check you’ve actioned feedback on JB_March_22_Campaign_Banner.png.

 

5. Stick to your file naming conventions

Once you’ve chosen a set of naming conventions, stick with them. Whether you’re working solo, or collaborating with others, being consistent makes everyone’s lives easier.

 

As an added bonus, naming your files and folders clearly makes it much, much easier to search for them by name. 

​​A user searching for a file within Dropbox.

6. Always file as you go

It’s easy to end up with a backlog of files needing to be filed. Don’t be that person. Instead, file as you go, or create assets in the folder they belong in. If you do mistakenly save a file in the wrong folder, clear naming conventions should make it easy to sort too. No harm done.

7. Store your most important documents securely

Password protecting files is a common way to keep important documents protected. Some cloud storage solutions even allow you to grant and remove access to documents with a few simple clicks. Both are smart cyber security strategies to put in place to protect your work. 

 

Sometimes, files needs an extra layer of security, beyond even passwords. That could be because they contain sensitive information, such as your customers’ personal data. It could be because you’re working on a brand-new prototype your competitors would love to get their hands on. Or maybe it’s not work-related at all. Maybe you just need somewhere safe to help store your parents’ important paperwork for them.

 

Dropbox Vault helps you store, organize, and secure your most sensitive information in the cloud. On top of the security measures Dropbox already has in place, Vault is a PIN-protected folder in your Dropbox account. Only you should know the PIN, and only you can access what’s inside. 

8. Make digital copies of physical documents

Even if your business is almost entirely based online, you will still have physical documents and assets. But there’s no need to keep these separate when managing your files. Instead, simply digitize them and file them away just as you would another digital file.

 

One way to do this is by using a document scanner to scan receipts, IDs, photos, and more, right to your phone. In moments they’ll be ready to file away too. And if your cloud storage has Optical Character Recognition (OCR) built in, you can turn those scanned images into text-searchable PDFs. 

 

Trying to find that one specific contract you forgot to file, but can only remember the name of the signer? No problem—simply search your storage for the name of the signer and OCR will quickly identify the pesky PDF contract it’s mentioned in.

9. Don’t be afraid to get rid of unused files

Deleting and archiving your old files isn’t just a one-off action. If you want to manage your digital files effectively, you need to do a quick review every once in a while. You might be surprised by how much of what you find can be removed.

 

The best way to do this is set yourself a reminder. Once your files are organized, setting this time aside to maintain and manage your files is a great way to save space—both on your hard drive, and in any cloud storage you’re using.

 

10. Regularly back up your files…and your computer

Last, but by no means least: always keep backups of all your files and folders. All that file management and organizing is wasted if your files aren’t backed up, just in case. If you don’t have a backup and lose or damage the computer your entire business is based on, you’ve suddenly got a big problem. 

 

We’ve already mentioned that external hard drives are a good option for backing up your files. However, they can just as easily get lost, stolen, or corrupted. And then you’re back to square one. Cloud backups are a great solution to this problem—enabling you to access your backups, anytime, anywhere.

 

Dropbox Backup even allows you to back up your entire computer or external hard drive to the cloud. If your computer or hard drive ever breaks or is stolen, you can easily recover and restore all your files and folders to another device. Best of all, your files and folders will be restored in their original place, ready for you to pick up where you left off.

Find a home for all your files

When it comes to managing your digital files, finding the right storage solution is the best place to start. Dropbox features secure, easy-to-use cloud storage that makes it easy to keep your files and folders organized. But we do more than just store.

 

Think of Dropbox as your central, collaborative hub. Safe and secure, your files and folders are accessible from your computer, phone, or tablet, whenever you need them. If you want to share your work with clients, customers, or collaborators, that’s easy too. Plus, if you ever lose access to your files, Dropbox will keep them safe and organized—even if you lose your computer, or it finally breaks down.

Keep all your content safe—just in case.

Learn more about Dropbox Backup