单一可靠信息来源 (SSOT) 是什么?

对于业务,您必须洞察全局,否则后果不堪设想。这正是单一可靠信息来源可以提供帮助的地方。

装饰图像

那么…单一可靠信息来源是什么?

单一可靠信息来源 (SSOT) 是指将所有业务数据汇集在一个单一位置。背后的理念是,让公司的每个员工都可以相互获取数据,从而依据这些数据来制定重要业务决策。这样就可以消除导致人们无法了解重要信息的工作孤岛。如果您的公司采用单一可靠信息来源,那么所有人都可以获得充分的信息,始终保持同步。通过将记录保存在一个集中位置以供访问,可防止您自己和同事因为同一个信息/文件存在多个版本而茫然无措。

摒弃谎言

这样团队成员都会知道,他们无法隐瞒数据,也不会因为数据管理混乱而手足无措,所以大有裨益。这也是处理数据的最佳方式,而且如果数据来自很多全渠道方向,保持单一可靠的信息来源就至关重要。不妨将它视为管理公司所有信息的最理想状态。

知识就是力量,能够与每个团队成员分享的信息越多,获得的商业智能就越全面。“可靠”并不一定意味着您输入到单一来源中的所有数据都必须准确无误,但是,通过统一地查看所有数据,可以更真实地了解您的业务。

例如,社交媒体指标显示,您的品牌可能有 20 万关注者。但是,经过调查后,您发现四分之一的关注者所在国家/地区不属于您的业务开展地,而且还有很大一部分关注者是机器人。您需要所有这两个信息来源,才能充分全面了解自己品牌的整体概况,并确定如何应对这种情况。例如,现在,您知道自己的大多数关注者身在国外,您可以在继续深耕本地业务的同时,认真考虑扩业务开展地范围,这样,就可以踏上业务提升之旅。

通过数据管理获得启示

只有将所有数据都集中到一个中心位置并采用适当流程以使数据保持最新状态,才能实现单一可靠信息来源。你们大家可以都同意将文档放在一个中心文件夹,但接下来呢?您必须在整个公司贯彻此理念,确保数据始终是最新状态并且随时可以访问。不妨将以下工作流添加到您的业务流程中:

从云端工作

云助力工作场所实现了许多方面的改进。利用云,您和您的团队可以从任何位置访问文档,而且,你们访问的是相同的文档,而不是过时的版本。

考虑制定内部指南

当然,您的团队了解自己的公司及公司文化,他们每天都会通过线下或线上方式体验公司文化。然而,您仍然会多次向同事询问同样的事情,而且您自己都知道以前曾问过同样的问题。“这个文件应该使用什么交付格式?”、“这张发票应发送到哪里?”、“Bob 是否仍然在负责应付账款?”,如此等等。花一两天时间整理与您的客户或市场无关的文档资源,而是让您的员工能够更好地完成他们的工作。

明确传达信息

季度目标、收入和团队指标可能很重要,但以口头方式谈论这些数据并不总是最有效的数据展示方式。不妨寻找一种更佳的方式来展示您的业务进展,确保便于消化信息并始终让信息保持最新状态,从而让团队可以观察到你们不断取得更大成功。共享文档就是一种简单的方法,这种方法能够以书面形式写下目标并经常更新,以供团队随时查看进度。

关注大局

将数据放在便于任何需要的人访问的位置(例如放在数据仓库中),不仅关乎公司文化,更有利于改进业务流程。开放的沟通渠道不仅仅是让您的核心团队受益,毕竟,您还需要让利益相关者和关键决策者从您所使用的每一个数据来源中获取您了解的所有信息。如今,透明度不仅对客户关系管理 (CRM) 和企业社会责任等方面至关重要,而且会显著影响您自己的团队对自身品牌的看法,以及团队的持续忠诚度。在建立可靠信息来源时,请注意考虑所有这些因素。

建立可靠信息来源

每个团队都有自己的工作方式。您可能有统一的公司文化和整体工作流程理念,但财务团队无法像营销团队一样处理他们的工作流程。这也意味着一个团队看待业务及其数据的方式会与另一个团队不相同,而两者都将与 CEO 的总体掌控方式有着很大差异。在这种情况下,单一可靠的信息来源是公正的。它还可以防止相同文件重复,进而防止混淆和相互指责。

Dropbox 可以帮助您建立可靠的信息来源,确保所有内容实时更新,仅提供最新信息。在 Dropbox 上,通过使用版本历史记录等功能,可以看到文件进行了哪些编辑和更改。如果您不喜欢新版本,则可以直接恢复到之前的版本。此外,还可以避免偷偷摸摸的行为。如果一个团队成员做了任何修改,其他团队成员都将收到通知。不小心从单一可靠信息来源中删除了某些内容,担心无法恢复?不必担心。Dropbox 允许恢复过去 30 天内删除的任何文件。因此,您可以放心,如果在处理文件时出现了任何差错,可随时恢复到之前的完好版本。

不同的团队,不同的系统,一个可靠的信息来源

尽管您可能认为自己对任何团队、流程或业务领域都了如指掌,但总难免百密一疏,也许这意味着您的在线状态并没有您一开始想象得那么井然有序,又或许您认为某文件早已更新,而您的团队却一直在使用旧版本。单一可靠信息来源可以防止上述所有情况。无论是人还是数据不够明晰,只要采用统一可靠的信息来源,您就可以获得可靠信息并恢复品牌形象。

仅分享可靠信息

开始使用

What is a single source of truth (SSOT)?

When it comes to business, you just can’t afford to not know the whole story. That’s where a single source of truth comes in.

Decorative image

So…what is a single source of truth?

The single source of truth (SSOT) is a term given to the practice of bringing all business data to a single location. The idea is that everyone in that company can then make crucial business decisions based on mutually accessible data. That means there are no work silos keeping people from knowing important information. If your company works from a single version of the truth, nothing will be concealed from anyone and you’ll all be on the same wavelength. By keeping your records accessible in a centralized location, you can prevent yourself and your colleagues from getting lost in multiple versions of the truth/the same file.

Banning the lies

It can only be a good thing if your team is all working in the knowledge that things aren’t able to be swept under the rug or lost to confusing admin. It’s also the most optimal way to deal with your data and crucial if that data is incoming from a dozen omnichannel directions. Consider it a state of nirvana for all your company’s information.

Knowledge is power and having more information to share with every member of your team will result in greater business intelligence. "Truth” doesn’t necessarily mean that all the data you’ve put into your single source has to be exact, but that, when viewed in unison, it provides a truer look at your business.

For example, maybe your brand has two hundred thousand followers as shown by social media metrics. But, when you run a survey, you find out a quarter of your followers are in a country you don’t ship to, and that a good portion of them are bots. You need both these information sources to get the best overall picture of your brand, and to figure out how to remedy this situation. For example, now you know most of your followers are international, you can either hone in on local efforts or seriously consider broadening your shipping destinations. You have, therefore, climbed the road to business betterment.

Enlightenment via data management

A SSOT can only be achieved if all your data is in one central place and if you have suitable processes that allow for it to stay updated. You can all agree to place your documents in one central folder, but what then? You must be dedicated to this idea as a company, ensuring that data is always up-to-date and ready to access. Consider adding the following workflows to your business processes:

Work from the cloud

The cloud has helped transform the workplace in endless ways. It allows you and your team to access documents from anywhere, and, better yet, they can be the same documents, not outdated versions.

Consider internal guides

Of course, your team knows your company and your company culture, they experience it every day they walk in (or log on). Still, think about how many times you’ve messaged a colleague with a question you know you’ve asked before. “What delivery format should this take?”, “where should I send this invoice?”, “is Bob still in charge of accounts payable,” and so on. Take a day or two to build up a resource of documents that isn’t about your clients or your market but about enabling your staff to do their jobs better.

Make things clear

Quarterly goals, revenue, and team quotas may be important, but talk about these numbers isn’t always the most engaging way to present the data. Find a better way to show your business’ progress, one that is easy to digest and always updated, so your team can watch your success grow. That can be as simple as a shared document where goals are written and updated often, for teams to view whenever they want to check-in on progress.

Think about the bigger picture

Having data that is easily accessed by any personnel who need it, like in a data warehouse, isn’t just about company culture, it’s about better business processes. It’s not just your core team who benefit from open communication channels. After all, you also need stakeholders and key decision-makers to know everything you know from every data source you use. Transparency is vital nowadays not only in CRM and things like corporate social responsibility, but also in the way your own team views the brand, and how that impacts their continued loyalty. Consider all of this when you are forming your source of truth.

Forging a source of truth

Every team has its own way of doing things. You might have one uniform company culture and overall concept of work processes, but the finance team can’t operate their workflows the same as the marketing teams. That also means that the way one team views the business and its data will be very different to how another does, and both will be different to how the CEO is overseeing it all. A single source of truth is, in this way, impartial. It also prevents duplications of the same files which leads to confusion and finger-pointing.

Dropbox can help you create a source of truth, ensuring that only the latest information is available as everything updates in real time. With features like version history on Dropbox, you can see what has been edited and changed, and if you don’t like the new version, just revert back. Plus, there’s no room for sneakiness. If something changes, other team members on the file will be notified. Accidentally deleted something from your single source of truth and worried there’s no way you can replace it? You don’t have to. Dropbox will let you recover any files deleted in the past 30 days. This leaves you safe in the knowledge that if you ever have a patch of bad luck when working on your files, you can always revert back to better times.

Different teams, various systems, one truth

As well-informed as you may feel about any team, process, or area of your business, there’s always the possibility that there is more to the story. Maybe that means your online presence isn’t as organic as you first thought or that your team is working from a version of a file you thought had long since been revised. A SSOT is insurance against all that. Whether it’s people or data that aren’t showing a clear picture, your SSOT can bring the truth to light and bring your brand back to reality.

Share nothing but the truth

Get started