如何压缩文件

学习如何在 Windows 和 Mac 上创建 ZIP 文件,以帮助处理大文件,同时节省空间。

ZIP 文件格式

ZIP 文件是节省磁盘空间和将大文件和文件夹发送到其他计算机的最主流方法之一。创建 ZIP 文件或文件夹的过程因您使用的设备而异,因此在此我们将介绍为 Mac 和 Windows 用户创建 ZIP 文件或文件夹的最佳方法,然后再讨论更高效、更可靠的替代方法。

ZIP 文件是指一个或多个压缩到单个位置的文件。当一个文件或文件夹被压缩时,其内容将被压缩,冗余数据将被删除,所以它们使用并需要较少的数据来存储和共享。该过程被称为“无损数据压缩”,无损意味着虽然文件大小将大大减少,但文件本身不会受到影响。ZIP 是一种文件存档格式。还有诸如 RAR 和 7-ZIP 等其他格式,但 ZIP 是最为常见的一种。

我为什么要压缩文件?

如果您有一大组文件或甚至只是一个大文件需要与团队共享,那么 ZIP 文件将非常有用。许多电子邮件客户端不允许您共享大型文件,因此文件压缩通常被视为发送较大数据的最佳解决方案之一。您还可以在将私人数据在线发送之前使用 ZIP 文件对其进行加密。

如何在 Mac 上压缩文件夹或文件

对于 macOS 用户来说,如果您要将多个文件压缩在一起,则需要确保它们包含在同一个文件夹中。理想情况下,您应该创建一个新文件夹,其中只包含您希望压缩的文件。然后,您只需右键单击或按住 Ctrl 键单击该文件夹,并选择“压缩项目”。该 .zip 文件便将保存在与原始文件夹相同的位置。

如果您只想压缩文件夹中的某些文件,而并非想压缩整个文件夹,则请按住 Command 键,然后单击您想要压缩的文件。当它们都被选中后,右键单击并选择“压缩 [#] 项目”。所有项目都将被压缩到一个名为 “archive.zip” 的单个 ZIP 文件中。您可以通过右键单击文件并选择“重命名”来更改名称。如果您只想压缩单个文件的话,此过程是相同的——只需右键单击并选择“压缩 [文件名]”。

如何在 Windows10 上创建 zip 文件

使用“发送到”

Microsoft 用户的流程也类似。确保您正在压缩的所有文件都在单个文件夹中,右键单击该文件夹,然后找到“发送到”选项。在“发送到”菜单中,您应该会看到“压缩文件夹”选项。单击该选项,您的压缩文件便将保存到您的桌面上。

要选择一个文件夹中的多个文件,但并非所有文件,请按住 Ctrl 键并单击每个要压缩的文件。如果您想要压缩的所有文件都连续出现在文件夹中,您可以单击第一个项目,按住 Shift 键并选择最后一个项目,则中间的所有文件也将被选中。然后,您可以右键单击并压缩所有选中的文件。要压缩单个文件,只需右键单击它,然后遵循相同的步骤。

共享选项卡

在 Windows 上压缩文件的另一种方法是选择所有您想要压缩的文件,然后在文件资源管理器的共享选项卡中,找到并单击 “压缩”按钮。此操作可以在任何运行 Windows 8.1 或更高版本的计算机上完成,而对于版本较旧的计算机,则需要使用右键单击并发送到的方法。

如何打开 ZIP 文件

要在 Mac 上解压缩 zip 文件,只需双击该文件即可。或者,您可以右键单击它,将鼠标悬停在“打开方式”上,然后选择“归档实用工具“。该文件将被解压缩,并将创建一个包含所有文件的新文件夹,该文件夹与 ZIP 文件的存储位置相同。

在 Windows 上,您可以查看 ZIP 文件夹的内容而不进行解压缩,但是除非您解压缩文件,否则无法对其进行编辑。为此,右键单击 ZIP 文件夹并选择“全部解压缩”。文件将被解压缩并存储在与 ZIP 文件相同的位置,或者您可以通过在“全部解压缩”向导中按“浏览”来设置不同的位置。如果您不想一次解压缩所有文件,也可以对压缩文件夹中的单个文件执行相同的操作。只需右键单击文件并选择“剪切”,然后将其粘贴到您想要保存的任何位置。

将文件添加到现有的 ZIP 文件夹

您可能已经有了一个压缩文件夹,需要向其中添加更多文件,幸运的是,此操作在 Windows 上这并不太复杂。只需将新文件或文件夹拖放到 ZIP 文件的顶部,就像将文件添加到普通文件夹一样。

另一方面,对于 Mac 来说,如果不使用第三方服务,此操作便无法实现。虽然有一些诸如 WinZip 此类的第三方归档程序相当可靠,但其仍然可能成为重要安全风险,尤其是当您压缩私人文件时。考虑到这一点,在 Mac 的压缩文件夹中添加新文件的最安全方法是从头开始创建一个新的压缩文件。

如何创建受密码保护的压缩文件

在某种程度上,通过 Windows10 可以对 ZIP 文件进行密码保护。为此,右键单击 ZIP 文件并选择“属性”。在“常规”选项卡中,单击“高级”。选择“加密内容以便保护数据”,在“高级”窗口中单击“确定”,然后在“属性”窗口中单击“确定”保存更改。您会注意到文件图标现在将显示有一个挂锁。只要您登录到您的用户帐户,您仍然可以像平常一样打开该文件,但其他帐户将无法访问它。这是保护您自己计算机上的压缩文件的一个不错的方法,但是并未为将该文件发送到其他地方提供任何安全性。

对于 Mac 用户来说,您的选择更为有限。在 Mac 上无法直接对 ZIP 文件进行密码保护。您必须使用终端做一些跑腿工作,这是一个相当复杂的过程,并且考虑到其他可用的选项,也是一个不必要的过程。

同样,在 Windows 和 Mac 上都有很多第三方应用程序可以用来保护 ZIP 文件。但是,此操作可能具有危险性,因为它要求您向第三方授予对未受保护文件的访问权限。

ZIP 文件的缺点

尽管 ZIP 文件在很大程度上是减少文件大小的有效解决方案,但它们并非对每种类型的文件都有效。例如,MP4 和 JPEG 文件已经被高度压缩,使用 zip 文件压缩它们实际上并不能进一步减少文件大小。因此,虽然 ZIP 文件始终应总起到减少文件大小的作用,但对于某些文件来说,这种减少的程度不会太大——您只能在不损坏文件的情况下压缩文件。还有一个风险是文件在压缩过程中可能会被损坏。此外,压缩文件需要几个额外的步骤,发送压缩文件可能会变得有些麻烦,当有替代方案可以更高效地完成工作时尤为如此。

ZIP 文件的替代方案

考虑到上述限制,您可能会发现压缩文件并并非您的最佳解决方案。ZIP 文件是一种节省设备空间的好方法,但这意味着要使用您的文件,您需要找到它所在的压缩文件,并在打开它之前将其解压缩。这很容易变得非常耗时。您最好选择一种可以让您的文件保持在原始大小, 而不占用您电脑上任何空间 的方法,这正是云存储的用武之地。

当您使用 Dropbox Smart Sync时,您会将文件保存到在线服务器上,因此它们不会占用您计算机上的任何空间,您可以从任何有互联网连接的地方访问它们。借助 Dropbox,您可以上传任何大小、任何文件格式的文件,与他人共享只需点击几下按钮。您不会有文件在压缩过程中被损坏的风险,您可以毫不费力地上传并立即 发送大文件 ,并且在此过程中节省了一些步骤。

即使您仍然需要使用压缩文件,您也可以通过 Dropbox 保存和发送它们,甚至可以通过 Dropbox 本身预览压缩文件。

如果您下载 Dropbox 桌面应用程序,那么在 Dropbox 上获取文件就像把它们拖到 Dropbox 文件夹一样简单。在网络应用程序上,您可以直接将文件拖放到 Google Chrome、Safari 或您在打开网络应用程序时使用的任何浏览器中。然后,共享您的文件和文件夹就像单击“共享”并选择发送对象一样简单。就像使用 ZIP 文件夹一样,您也可以对 Dropbox 文件进行 密码保护 ,以便只有那些被授予访问权限并拥有密码的人员才能打开这些文件。您和您的团队可以通过 Dropbox 本身共享和编辑文件和文件夹,而无需每次创建和发送带有更新文档的新 ZIP 文件。Dropbox 上的所有内容都会随着您的编辑而更新,从而使协作更加高效。

发现更有效的团队协作方式。

Dropbox Business 使用入门

How to ZIP files

Learn how to create ZIP files on Windows and Mac to help handle big files while saving space.

The ZIP file format explained

ZIP files are one of the most popular ways to save disk space and send large files and folders to other computers. The process for creating a ZIP file or folder is different depending on what device you’re using. We’ll explain how to zip files for Mac and Windows users. We will also offer methods for file storage and sharing that are more efficient and reliable

A ZIP file is one or more compressed files together in one location. When a file or folder is zipped, its contents are compressed. With redundant data removed, they need a lot less data to store and share. The process is called “lossless data compression”. Lossless meaning that while the file size is reduced, the file itself isn't affected. ZIP is a type of file archive. There are other formats, like RAR and 7-ZIP, but ZIP is the most common.

Why should I zip files?

ZIP files can be useful if you’ve got a large group of files or even one massive file that you need to share. A lot of email clients won’t allow you to send huge files. So file compression is often seen as one of the best solutions for sending bigger data. You can also use ZIP files to encrypt private data before sending it online.

How to zip a folder or file on Mac

If you’re compressing many files together on a macOS, you’ll need to make sure they’re contained in the same folder. Create a new folder with only the files you wish to compress. You can then right-click or Ctrl-click that folder and select “Compress Items.” The .zip file will save in the same location of the original folder. 

You may only want to compress certain files in a folder but not the entire folder. To do this, hold down the Command key and then click on whichever files you want zipped. When they’re all selected, right-click and select "Compress [#] items.” All items will compress into a single ZIP file, called “archive.zip.” You can change the name by right-clicking the file and selecting Rename. It’s the same process if you only want to compress one file—right-click on it and select “Compress [filename].”

How to make a zip file on Windows 10

"Send To" is a similar process for Microsoft users. First, make sure all the files you’re compressing are in one folder. Next, right-click that folder, and then scroll to the “Send To” option. In the "Send To” menu, you should see the “Compressed Folder” option. Click that, and your compressed file will save to your desktop. 

Another way to zip files on Windows is to select the files you want compressed and, in the “Share” tab of File Explorer, locate and click the “Zip” button. You can do this on any Windows computer operating Windows 8.1 or higher. With older computers you’ll need to use the right-click and "Send To" method.

How to unzip a ZIP file

To uncompress a zip file on Mac, double-click on it. You can also right-click on it, hover over “Open With,” and select “Archive Utility.” The file will unzip and a new folder will be created with the files, in the same location of your stored ZIP file. 

On Windows, you can view the contents of a ZIP folder without unzipping it. But can’t edit them unless you extract the files. To do so, right-click on the ZIP folder and select “Extract All.” The files are then extracted and stored in the same location as the ZIP file. You can set a different location by pressing “Browse” in the Extract All wizard. You can also do the same for individual files within a zipped folder if you don’t want to extract everything at once. Right-click the file, select "Cut,” and then paste it wherever you want it saved.

Add files to an existing ZIP folder

You might already have a zipped folder that you need to add more files to. On Windows this isn’t too complicated. Drag the new files or folders on to the ZIP file, like you would if you were adding a file to a regular folder. These files are now added to your ZIP file.

But for Mac this isn’t possible without the use of a third-party service. There are always security risks whenever you use a third-party service. There are some third-party archivers like WinZip that are pretty well trusted, but they're not without some risk. This is especially true if you’re zipping private files. With that in mind, the safest way to add new files to a zip folder on Mac would be to create a new zip file from scratch.

How to create a zip file that’s password protected

It is possible to password protect ZIP files to some extent with Windows 10. To do so, right-click on the ZIP file and select “Properties.” From the “General” tab, click “Advanced.” Select “Encrypt contents to secure data,” click OK in the Advanced window, and then click OK in the Properties window to save your changes. You’ll notice that the file icon now shows a padlock. You’ll still be able to open the file if you’re logged into your account, but other accounts will not be able to access it. 

For Mac users, your options are more limited. There’s no way to directly password protect a ZIP file on Mac. You’ve got to do a bit of legwork using Terminal. This is quite a complicated and, considering the other options available, unnecessary process. Again, there are plenty of third-party apps that you can use to protect ZIP files on both Windows and Mac. But granting third-party software access to your unprotected files can lead to security issues.

Disadvantages of ZIP files

For the most part, ZIP files are an efficient solution for reducing file size. But they aren't effective for every type of file. For instance, MP4 and JPEG files are already highly compressed and zipping them won’t actually compress them much further. So, while ZIP files should reduce file size, for certain files this reduction won’t be anything substantial. You can only compress a file so much without damaging it. There is also the risk that the compression process can damage or corrupt your files. Furthermore, compressing or sending a compressed file involves a few extra steps. There are alternatives to ZIP files that can get the job done far more efficiently.

Alternatives to ZIP files

With the limitations described above, you might find that compressing files isn’t the best solution for you. ZIP files can be a good way to save space on your device, but makes access difficult. To use a file in a ZIP archive, you would need to find the ZIP it was in and unzip it before opening it. This could easily become time-consuming and cluttered. You’d be better off seeking an option that lets you keep your files at their original size without taking up space on your computer. And that’s when cloud storage comes in. When you use Dropbox Smart Sync, you’re saving your files to an online server. They don’t take up any space on your computer and you can access them from anywhere via the internet. 

With Dropbox, you can upload files of any size, in any file format, and share them with a few clicks. You’re not risking file corruption during compression. You can upload effortlessly and send large files in an instant, and you save a few steps in the process. Even if you still need to use ZIP files–you can save and send them from Dropbox. You can even preview a zipped file through Dropbox itself. 

With the Dropbox desktop app, moving your files to Dropbox is as simple as dragging them into the Dropbox folder. Drag and drop files straight into Google Chrome, Safari, or whatever browser you’re using to view the web app. Then, sharing your files and folders is as simple as clicking "Share" and choosing who to send them to. Your shared files and folders are as secure as any ZIP file. Dropbox can even go a step further with password protection. Now only those who you grant access to and have the password can open them. 

You and your team can share and edit files and folders through Dropbox itself. You no longer have to create and send new ZIP files every time your files are updated. Everything on Dropbox updates as you and your team edit. Collaboration is a whole lot more efficient without multiple versions on different hard drives. 

Discover a better way to work together.

Get started with Dropbox Business