如何發展小型企業

對於業務來說,成長是主要的優先事項,但若您同時追求多項目標,要保持平衡則有困難。

有個人在美容院用有觸控式螢幕的行動裝置發展自己的小事業

公司成長比利潤更重要嗎?

公司若要長期健全發展,業務成長非常重要。因此需要儘早確立穩固的業務發展策略,並加以施行。成長不僅代表公司營運順利,還可以吸引投資者、確保資金挹注,並吸引人才。

對任何公司的關鍵領域來說,利潤和成長彼此相輔相成。以小型企業的發展來看,其利潤可能很低,但成長卻很高。雖然公司並未帶來大量金流,但健康的成長率代表該公司正在順利獲利。這點能吸引投資者,接下來便會促進成長並推動獲利。這點再次說明了,追求業務成長應當是小型企業和新創公司的首要任務。

何謂最佳業務成長策略?

追求業務成長,沒有同一種共通策略。而且最適合公司的發展方式,需取決於自身情況。以下幾種小型企業成長策略可供參考:

市場滲透

將目標放在提升市占率,便是在執行市場滲透。有幾種方法可達成這個目標,包括提供產品或服務的折扣、增加廣告投放或製作搭售產品。這些方式可提供競爭優勢並吸引新客戶,且無需製造新產品。

市場擴張

這是指進入新市場的時刻。例如麵包店在服務項目中加入企業餐飲服務,便是增加了該領域的新業務。這是許多企業的常見策略,即使是非常成熟的企業亦會運用。成功的企業永遠都在尋求發展和成長的機會。因此即使對目前的市場很滿意,也應當不停尋找新商機和增加現金流量的方法。

加入新通路

全通路是行銷和銷售的現代化做法。如果僅依靠實體店來銷售,業務成長幅度可能難以和全通路的同業並駕齊驅。務必盡量運用所有可用的通路,引起客戶的注意並與您互動。現代化的企業應擁有線上商店、社交媒體頻道、電子郵件管道,並在適用情況下設立零售商店。此外實體位置不該只當做商店經營,也應視為其他各個通路的延伸。這代表線上商店與實體商店必須提供一致的體驗。如果目前僅採取線上經營方式,不確定接下來該如何發展,可考慮開設快閃店或將商品交由當地商店販售。

區隔市場

仔細觀察目前的客戶,並加倍關注最想互動的族群。可以根據所服務的顧客所在地點、年齡、習慣或產業類型來確定客群目標。在這方面,分析和指標不可或缺。關鍵在於知識共享和易於存取的資料,如此便能全盤掌握整體業務,瞭解該將精力集中何處。舉例來說,如果知道所在的城鎮有眾多學生,但學生顧客的數量未如預期,可嘗試提供學生折扣。同理,如果知道所在位置有大量的通勤者往來,可考慮以會員卡等形式吸引潛在顧客,並提高客戶忠誠度。

追求業務成長的重要小提示

企業主若希望事業有成,就要以正確的方式把握成長機會。以下有些小提示可供思考:

運用成長策略範本

永遠要計劃好下一步行動。小型企業需要以成長為目標,但若未經適當計劃便貿然投入,只會走向失敗。請與貴公司的所有關鍵決策者腦力激盪。您的下個行動會影響到所有人,所以請不要否決或忽視他人的想法。共享的成長計劃範本,可以為所有人提供一個空間,讓大家清楚瞭解公司打算採取的下一步,並提供自己的意見。團隊協作能使企業更加強大,並有助於發展。

設定 SMART 目標

每個人都有目標,但 SMART 目標可以協助您的工作團隊實現目標。SMART 這個縮寫代表著實現目標的方法:

  • 具體:明確說出想達成的目標,而不光是考慮中的模糊想法。
  • 可衡量:目標需要能夠加以衡量,這樣才能看出是否有所進展。
  • 可實現:道理很簡單,設定不可能達成的目標,並不會有什麼幫助。
  • 相關性:目標對於您的公司、目前的時間點,以及目前的工作團隊是否合情合理?
  • 時間限制:設定一個日期,並列出在截止日期前需要完成的工作。 

使用 SMART 目標為工作團隊建立完整的框架,便能以此為據努力實現您的目標。

務必使用正確工具

成長不一定代表要開創嶄新道路,而是應當將目前所做工作的流程最佳化。因此升級和改善目前的工具和工作流程,十分重要。

Doberman 這樣的小型企業,便向 Dropbox 尋求協助,以改善工作流程並提高工作效率。Doberman 設計總監Klas Thorsén 表示:「有了 Dropbox Business,就算離線工作或出門在外,檔案也垂手可得。以前,跟不同時區的人合作是一件很困難的事。但現在檔案都會隨時同步,只要有需要就能立即取用。」

無論是採用智慧協作空間、引進彈性工作方式,或是使用像 Dropbox Capture 的先進工具提高協作機會,這些對生產力的投資,正是通往成長的途徑。

考慮外部投資者

您可能會意識到資金的挹注可以扶植您的業務成長。這種外部資本能協助將想法付諸實踐,或將您的業務擴張到全新境界。如果這聽起來像是您的企業所處的階段,但您不確定從哪裡開始, DocSend Startup Index 可提供新創公司如何在其生命週期的各個階段成功募資的深入見解。當您準備好向投資者提案時,DocSend 可以追蹤您的提案資料何時受到查看、下載或轉寄,協助您隨時以最佳的方式推動您的投資者策略。進一步瞭解 DocSend 的工作方式以及使用 DocSend 能如何協助您的業務成長。

不自滿

無論小型企業變得多麼成功,都還是需要成長。以小型企業而言,即使已營運十年,但企業倒閉也仍舊司空見慣,因此不能滿足於現狀。同樣也不要過度超前部署。儘管煥然一新的大間辦公室和員工人數增加,能明顯展現出「成長」,但目前所處的成長階段,是否適合支撐這種成長?思考時需合乎理性和邏輯,且必須一律從自身公司的角度出發,而非單純複製他人的做法。

現代成功企業的標準很高,需不斷成長才能滿足標準。

探索最能有效率完成工作的方法。

探索 Dropbox 企業方案

How to nurture business growth

Growth is a major priority in business, but if you’re managing multiple objectives at once striking a balance can be challenging.

Someone in a hair salon uses a touchscreen mobile device to grow their small business

Is company growth more important than profit?

Business growth is important for the long-term health of any company. That’s why solid strategies for business development need to be identified and implemented early on. Growth not only shows that your company is operating successfully, it also attracts investors, helps secure funds, and draws in talent.

Profit and growth go hand in hand when it comes to crucial areas of any company. In the cases of small business development, profit may be low, but growth rates high. While there may not be much money coming out of the business, a healthy growth rate shows that the company is on its way to being profitable. This can make it very attractive to investors, which in turn only boosts your growth and your journey to profitability. Again, this highlights how growth should be top priority for small businesses and startups.

What are the best business growth strategies?

There is no single strategy for business growth, and the way a company will best progress will depend on their own circumstances. Here are just some of the small business growth strategies you may want to consider:

Market penetration

Market penetration is when you aim to increase market share. There are several ways to do this, including discounting your product or services, increasing advertising or creating bundles. This helps give you a competitive advantage and attract new customers without having to make a new product.

Market expansion

This is when you move into new markets. For example, if a bakery adds corporate catering to its services it enters as a new business in this field. This is a common strategy for many businesses, even once they’ve become very well established. A successful business is always looking to develop and grow, so even if you are quite comfortable in your current market, you should always be on the lookout for new opportunities and ways to boost cashflow.

Moving into new channels 

Omnichannel is the modern way of marketing and selling. If you are relying on a brick and mortar location alone to make those sales, you may struggle to see business growth at the same level of your omnichannel peers. Make sure you have as many channels open as possible for customers to discover and engage with you. A modern business should have an online store, social media channels, email channels and, where applicable, retail stores. Plus, your physical location needs to think about being more than just a store, it’s an extension of all those other channels. That means you can’t offer one experience with your online store and not maintain it offline. If you operate solely online and aren’t sure where to go from there, consider things like pop-ups or being stocked by local stores.

Segment your market

Look at your current customers and double down on the demographic you want to engage with the most. You can base this on customer location, age, habits, or industry types you serve. This is an area where analysis and metrics are crucial. Knowledge sharing and easily accessible data is key here, giving you a true overview of your whole business so you know where to direct your energies. For example, if you know you are in a student town, but aren’t attracting as many students as you hoped, try offering a student discount. Similarly, if you know your location gets a lot of foot traffic from commuters, consider something like a loyalty card to attract potential customers and encourage long-term retention.

Top tips for business growth

Business owners need to approach growth opportunities in the right way if they wish to be successful. Here are some tips to keep in mind:

Use a growth strategy template

Always plan your next move. A small business needs to aim for growth but throwing yourself into it without proper planning will only propel you towards failure. Brainstorm it with all the key decision makers in your company. Your next steps will affect everyone so don’t overrule or ignore the ideas of others. A shared growth plan template can provide a space for everyone to have a clear overview of the next steps the company plans to take and leave their own feedback. Team collaboration is what makes a business great and what will help it grow.

Set SMART goals

Everyone has goals, but SMART goals help your team realize them. SMART is an acronym for how a goal should be approached:

  • Specific: Say precisely what you want to achieve, not just some vague idea of what you might do.
  • Measurable: Your goal needs to be measurable, so you can see if you are making progress.
  • Achievable: Naturally, it’s no good setting impossible targets.
  • Relevant: Does your goal make sense for your business, at this current time, with your current team?
  • Time-bound: Set a date and lay out what needs to be done into order to meet this deadline. 

In using SMART goals, you have created a whole framework for your team to work within to meet your targets.

Make sure you are using the right tools

Growth doesn’t necessarily mean doing something completely new. Instead, it means you should optimize the processes you are already doing. This is why upgrades and improvements on current tools and workflows is crucial. 

Small businesses like Doberman have turned to Dropbox to help improve their workflows and boost productivity, as Design Director Klas Thorsén explains, “With Dropbox Business, you can take your computer offline or travel, and you still have your files right there with you. It used to be difficult to work in different time zones, but now all of our files stay synchronized and available to whoever needs them.”

Whether it’s implementing a smart workspace, introducing flexible working, or boosting collaboration opportunities. Investing in productivity is its own path to growth.

Don’t be complacent

There is always a need to grow, no matter how successful your small business becomes. Business failure for small businesses is a very real threat even a decade into operations, so you can’t rest on your laurels. In the same vein, don’t think ten steps ahead. Sure, nothing says “growth” like a new, bigger office and a higher number of employees, but are you at the correct stage of growth to maintain that? Think sensibly and logically, and think always of your own business, don’t just replicate what you see others doing. 

Standards are high for the modern, successful business, and you need to grow to meet them.

Embark on your own path to growth.

Get started now