如何像专业人士一样将照片上传到云端和整理照片

按照我们为专业摄影师准备的分步指南,了解如何将照片上传到云端并整理这些照片。

2021 July 08
一位女士坐在沙发上,目光注视平板电脑屏幕

您可能已经知道,拥有一个井然有序、易于访问的照片库可以让您与客户的合作变得更加轻松,尤其是当您将所有照片都存储在云端时。不过,要将这种美妙的打算付诸行动就完全是另一回事了,特别是在截止时间十分紧张的情况下。令人欣慰的是,使用像 Dropbox 这样的云存储服务上传和整理数字图片,就跟您将文件从相机传输到电脑一样简单。成功的关键在于,从始至终都要保持井井有条。

将照片存储在云端

使用云存储时,最基本的用法是将其视为可随时随地通过任何设备访问的外置硬盘驱动器。您可以直接将照片保存到在线文件夹中。无论照片存储在 Dropbox 中还是其他云存储服务中,您都可以访问和共享图片,而不需要再随身携带笨重的外置硬盘驱动器。

自动上传本机相册

想要确保将所有照片都安全地存储在云端,甚至还有更简单的方式,那就是设置相机上传。启用此功能后,当您插入相机、SD 卡、智能手机或平板电脑时,您的照片就会自动添加到云端。相机上传功能将文件复制到 Dropbox 中时,会根据 EXIF 数据自动将文件重命名为 yyyy-mm-dd hh.mm.ss.jpg。因此,开始使用相机上传功能之前,制定合适的整理结构非常重要,这样才不会在选择照片时面对一大堆杂乱无章的文件。

像专业人士一样整理照片库

专业摄影师的工作流程因为预算和技术而有所不同。无论您是预算充足、经验丰富的前辈高手还是初掌第一部相机的后起之秀,都应该根据自己的具体需求量身制定整理照片库的方式。

文件夹和照片命名

与普通用户不同,摄影师经常一次上传数百张照片。为每张照片重命名未免太耗费时间。而且,由于有许多图片需要编辑,保持默认图片名称或使用相机上传功能时自动提供的名称也有助于保持版本间的连贯性。

设置一致的文件夹命名约定并坚持按其命名至关重要。不妨先按年创建核心文件夹,再按月创建其中的子文件夹。在这些子文件夹中,您可以先按客户名称再按具体工作的标题分门别类添加子文件夹。

例如:2019 > 08-2019 > Ortiz > 婚礼

在每项工作中,您可以针对不同的日期、地点、人员等添加更多子文件夹。最后一个非常重要的子文件夹用于保存选辑。此文件夹很可能是您在审核周期中与客户共享的文件夹,因此您需要确保始终可以找到它并且它只包含您想要共享的图片。

您甚至可以为照片添加可搜索的主题标签,以便快速找到所需照片。在单张照片或整个文件夹上使用 #summer 或 #2021 等标签对重要项目进行编目。

原始文件与 JPEG——是否应将所有内容都存储在云端?

原始文件(仅举几例,比如 Canon 的 .CR3,Sony 的 .ARW,Nikon 的 .NRW)的一张图片大小在 20 MB 到 40 MB。JPEG 的大小介于 2 MB 到 15 MB 之间。如果您在云存储服务中的可用空间不大,拍摄一次产生的原始图片可能就会用尽您的所有存储空间。仅上传 JPEG 可为您节省大量空间。不过,这种做法也有缺点,JPEG 文件的画质不太高,共享这些图片可能会在生成文件时产生画质损失。

所有内容都在线存储

如果您有大量云存储空间,最好在线存储所有图片。如此一来,您就可以通过任意设备访问这些图片,从而避免麻烦,不必担心要将它们保存在哪台电脑或哪个硬盘驱动器上。另一个好处就是,您不必为了节省空间而区分原始文件、JPEG 或选辑。随时随地获取您所需的一切。

使用 Dropbox,您可以预览超过 30 种不同类型的图片文件,包括大多数原始文件。您可以直接在浏览器中预览 Adobe 文件,无需导出或使用任何特殊软件。您甚至还可以让 Lightroom 和 Photoshop 自动将您的所有照片同步到云端。

Dropbox 一站式满足您的所有需求

既然您已知道如何上传和整理各种内容,接下来您势必需要大量安全可靠的云存储空间来存储您的所有照片。Dropbox Professional 配备 3 TB 存储空间和其他实用工具,可以满足您的一切需求。

提升您的摄影体验。

了解 Dropbox Professional

How to upload and organize photos to the cloud like a pro

Follow our step-by-step guide for professional photographers on how to upload and organize photos to the cloud.

Jul 09, 2021
Woman sitting on couch looking at laptop screen

You probably already know that having a well-organized and accessible photo library makes working with clients a lot easier, especially if you store everything in the cloud. It's a whole other story to put those good intentions into action, especially when you're on a tight deadline. Luckily, uploading and organizing digital images with cloud storage services, such as Dropbox, is as easy as moving the files off your camera onto your computer. The key to success is staying organized from start to finish.

Store photos in the cloud

The most basic way to utilize cloud storage is to treat it like an external hard drive that you can access anywhere, from any device. Just save your photos into a folder that lives online. Whether it's on Dropbox or another cloud storage service, you'll be able to access and share your images without having to carry around a bulky external hard drive.

Upload your camera roll automatically

An even easier way to make sure all of your photos are stored securely on the cloud is to set up camera uploads. When enabled, your photos are automatically added to the cloud when you plug in your camera, SD card, smartphone, or tablet. Camera uploads automatically renames files to yyyy-mm-dd hh.mm.ss.jpg—based on EXIF data—when copying to Dropbox. It is essential to have your organization structure in place before you start utilizing camera uploads, so it's not a giant, overwhelming mess when you make selects.

Organize your photo library like a pro

Professional photographer workflows differ depending on budget and technology. Whether you’re a seasoned veteran with a large budget or an up-and-comer with your first camera, you should tailor the way you organize your photo library to your specific needs.

Folder and photo naming

Unlike average users, photographers are frequently uploading hundreds of photos at a time. It’s too time-consuming to rename each photo. Also, since you’ll be editing many of the images, maintaining the default image name or the name automatically given when you use camera uploads is helpful for continuity between versions.

It is crucial to set up a consistent folder naming convention and stick to it. A good place to start is with core folders broken down by year housing subfolders within by month. In those subfolders, you could do client names and then the titles of specific jobs.

For example: 2019 > 08-2019 > Ortiz > Wedding Ceremony

Within each job, you can add more subfolders for different days, locations, people, etc. The final and very important subfolder is for your selects. Most likely, this is going to be the folder you share with your clients during the review cycle, so you need to ensure you can always find it and it only contains images that you want to share.

You can even add searchable hashtags to your photos so you can find what you need—fast. Use tags like #summer or #2021 on individual pics or the whole folder to catalog important projects. 

RAW vs. JPEG - Should you store everything in the cloud?

RAW files (.CR3 for Canon, .ARW for Sony, .NRW for Nikon, just to name a few) are between 20 MB and 40 MB an image. JPEGs are between 2 MB and 15 MB. If you don’t have a lot of space available on cloud storage service, one shoot's worth of RAW images could take up all your storage. Only uploading the JPEGs could save you a lot of space. There is a downside—JPEG files aren't as high quality, and sharing them could lead to generation loss.

Everything online always

If you have plenty of cloud storage space, it makes the most sense to keep all of your images stored online. That way, you can avoid the hassle and access them from any device without having to worry about which computer or hard drive you saved them on. You also have the benefit of not needing to separate RAW, JPEG, or selects to save space. Everything is right where you need it all the time.

Dropbox allows you to preview over 30 different image file types, including most RAW files. You can preview Adobe files right in the browser without exporting or any special software. You can even have Lightroom and Photoshop automatically sync all of your photos to the cloud.

Bring it all together in Dropbox

Now that you know how to get everything uploaded and organized, you’re going to need plenty of secure and reliable cloud storage for all of your photos. Dropbox Professional comes with 3 TB of storage and other helpful tools.

Take your photography to the next level.

Explore Dropbox Professional