硬碟是什麼?

以下是關於硬碟、其運作原理、限制以及如何節省硬碟儲存空間的一切須知。

可以儲存在硬碟上的不同類型檔案

認識硬碟

硬碟是用來儲存電腦上的數位內容與資料的硬體。每部電腦都有內建硬碟,但您也可以購買外接硬碟來擴充電腦的儲存空間。我們將在此探索各種不同的硬碟及其優缺點。

次要儲存空間的類型

所有電腦都需要使用磁碟來長期儲存資料。這又叫做次要儲存空間;而電腦的 RAM (隨機存取記憶體) 是主要儲存空間。

一般而言,次要儲存空間有兩種:硬碟 (HDD) 與固態硬碟 (SSD)。也許您會看到有人將 SSD 稱為硬碟,但這其實不大正確,我們必須瞭解 HDD 與 SSD 之間的差異。

什麼是 HDD?

較「傳統」的硬碟類型就是 HDD。

硬碟由快速旋轉的磁碟組成 (又稱為磁盤),每分鐘轉數通常介於 5,400 到 15,000 轉。磁碟旋轉的速度越快,電腦從中存取資訊的速度也越快。

所有數位資料都由二進位程式碼組成,用一系列的 1 與 0 代表所有資訊。硬碟的寫入/讀取磁頭會透過磁化磁盤上的不同部分,來輸入這些 1 與 0。磁盤的每一個小部分都具備一個位元組,每個位元組不是等於 0 就是 1,而磁頭會偵測每個部份的磁性,並藉此「讀取」資訊。用來「讀取」資料的磁頭也可以用來變更磁盤上位元組的磁性,以「寫入」資料。

只要做出變更,像是儲存了一個檔案或刪除了一個檔案,硬碟的磁頭就會據此調整磁盤的磁性。您可以想像,就像唱盤一樣,黑膠唱片是儲存資訊的磁盤,而唱臂則是用來掃描資訊的磁頭。

由於資料以磁性方式儲存,HDD 是非揮發性裝置,也就是說在電腦關閉電源後仍能保留資料。

如今,內建 HDD 的最高容量可達 20 TB。自 SSD 問世以來,越來越少電腦使用硬碟作為次要儲存空間,但它仍然是可靠的外接儲存空間選項。

SSD 是什麼?

SSD (固態硬碟) 是新型硬碟。它們已成為高階筆電偏好使用的內建硬碟;所有智慧型手機與平板電腦也都使用某種形式的 SSD。

固態硬碟會使用快閃記憶體,此技術也用於 USB Flash 以及數位相機記憶卡。SSD 不會使用任何磁鐵,而是透過半導體儲存資料,原理為改變 SSD 內數兆個電路的電子狀態。由於 SSD 沒有任何可動零件,所以它們不只速度更快 (因為您不必等待磁碟轉動,以及讓磁頭收集資訊),壽命通常也比 HDD 長。

SSD 的製造成本高昂許多,因此即使它們越來越盛行,並成為高階筆電與 PC 主要使用的磁碟,許多人依然偏好選擇硬碟作為較便宜的外部儲存空間。

硬碟發展簡史

在實驗運用磁帶來儲存資料之後,第一部商用硬碟在 1956 年由 Reynold B. Johnson 領導的 IBM 工作團隊打造。

IBM 工作團隊發現他們可以將資料儲存在磁化的金屬磁碟上,再用新資訊加以覆寫;他們因此打造出世界上第一套硬碟系統,又稱為 RAMAC (Random Access Method of Accounting and Control,計算與控制隨機存取法)。

最原始的硬碟尺寸大概有兩個冰箱大,且總共有 50 個 24 英吋的磁盤以每分鐘 1,200 轉的速度運作。RAMAC 雖然體積龐大,儲存容量卻只有 5MB,大概是一個影像的大小;且造價為每 MB 10,000 美元。

IBM 資料中心一直使用 RAMAC 到 1960 年代推出可卸除式儲存裝置為止。1962 年的 IBM 1311 Disk Storage Drive 可在六張 14 英吋的磁盤上儲存 2.6 MB 的資料。尺寸大概是一部洗碗機這麼大。

個人桌上型電腦在 70 年代推出,而同一時間,IBM 也開發出第一張磁碟片。磁碟片於 1971 年首度發行,是第一款可攜式磁碟。您可以將其當成世界上第一部外接硬碟。磁碟片成為當時的標準磁碟儲存裝置,直到在 21 世紀初期,可寫入的 CD 與 USB Flash 普及化為止。第一部個人電腦用的讀取/寫入硬碟於 1972 年由 Memorex 發行。

1980 年代時,許多主要公司都投身打造 HDD,而 Shugart Technology 的 ST-506 硬碟成為當時最輕巧的 HDD,5.25 吋的大小可容納 5MB 的容量。同時,IBM 也推出了 IBM 3380,這是世界上第一款可提供 1GB 儲存空間的硬碟。

1983 年時,Rodime 推出 RO352,這是第一款 3.5 吋 HDD,搭載兩個磁盤,並具備 10 MB 的容量。3.5 吋的 HDD 很快就成為桌上型電腦的標準配備,且沿用至今 (筆記型電腦使用的是 2.5 吋 HDD)。

我們現在熟知的外接硬碟是在 80 年代才開始逐漸成形,而隨著時間推移,外接硬碟的大小也逐漸縮減;硬碟容量也逐漸增加。

硬碟的功能是什麼?

簡單來說,硬碟可儲存資料。在電腦上,這包括您所有的相片、影片、音樂、文件與應用程式,除此之外,電腦作業系統的程式碼、框架與驅動程式都儲存其中。硬碟的容量單位為百萬位元組 (MB)、吉位元組 (GB) 與 Tera 位元組 (TB)。

這與 RAM (隨機存取記憶體) 並不相同,因為 RAM 是暫時的電腦儲存空間,需要用電力才能儲存資料,也就是說只有電腦開機時才能儲存資料,是一種揮發性記憶體。RAM 不會用於儲存個人資料,只會儲存電腦資料。您的電腦需要記憶體才能順暢運作,並讓您可以切換執行不同的工作項目與應用程式,而不會喪失先前的進度。RAM 又稱為主要儲存空間;而 HDD 與 SSD 屬於次要儲存空間。

硬碟是一種需要長期儲存您的檔案與資料的儲存空間裝置。只要您將檔案儲存在電腦上,就是儲存在電腦硬碟中。硬碟就像是數位檔案的檔案櫃。

外接硬碟是什麼?

外接硬碟是非內建於電腦的硬碟。您可以將這些可攜式裝置插入任何電腦,以存取其中儲存的資料。內建硬碟直接與電腦的主機板相連,並在您的檔案之外,還儲存作業系統資料、框架、驅動程式與軟體;而外接硬碟則大多用於儲存個人檔案。

電腦的硬碟通常可以移除並升級;但這是一項艱鉅的工作,因此大多數人在電腦儲存空間不足時,通常選擇使用外接硬碟。

現今外接硬碟的空間可儲存高達 20 TB 的資料,相比 1956 的第一代硬碟,容量提升數百萬倍。容量、便攜性與經濟實惠的價格,讓外接硬碟成為提高電腦容量的最佳解決方案,直到雲端儲存空間問世。

使用外接硬碟作為儲存空間的壞處

與單純使用電腦內建的儲存空間容量相比,外接硬碟是很有效益的解決方案,但也具備不少我們需考慮的風險和限制。

如同內建硬碟,外接 HDD 也有遺失資料的風險。像是遭到惡意程式或病毒攻擊;或是自然破壞或耗損,例如日曬過多、溫度過高、接觸到液體、灰塵,或受到其他磁場干擾。

由於硬碟內部有許多精密的活動零件,且您經常需要帶著硬碟四處移動,所以很容易損壞。若硬碟毀損,您也許仍能擷取磁盤上儲存的資料,但此過程相當複雜且昂貴。HDD 也是電腦硬體上最脆弱的組件之一,因為 HDD 具備許多可動零件。

此外,一般硬碟不受密碼保護或加密,所以要是弄丟或遭竊,您的個人資訊很容易因此外洩。

許多外接硬碟也只支援特定作業系統,或一次只能支援一種作業系統。您也許同時擁有 MacBook 與 Windows PC,並發現無法您的硬碟無法同時支援用這兩部裝置讀取與寫入;若您想用硬碟在這兩部裝置間傳遞檔案,這可能就會造成麻煩。許多硬碟必須先重新格式化 (而您會因此喪失所有資料),才可以設定供您用另一套作業系統寫入。

以雲端儲存空間取代硬碟

雲端儲存空間的問世為硬碟的限制與風險提出解決方案,提供更安全、更容易存取的資料儲存空間替代方案。在雲端上儲存檔案表示將檔案儲存在線上,因此不會占用您裝置的任何儲存空間。

使用 Dropbox,您可以在個人帳戶中儲存高達 3 TB 的資料,且幾乎支援所有檔案類型;而使用 Dropbox Business Advanced 與 Enterprise 帳戶則可以讓您盡情擴充儲存空間。

您不必在外接硬碟容量滿了的時候再購買新硬碟,只需要繼續擴充雲端儲存空間,而不會佔據任何實體空間。當您的檔案儲存在多個外接硬碟上時,要尋找檔案可能十分麻煩。雲端儲存空間則將一切資料集中在單一位置,方便您從任何有網路連線的裝置輕鬆存取與搜尋。外接硬碟通常透過 USB 連接到電腦,所以只能連接到特定裝置;但您不只可以透過 PC 與筆電,還可以使用平板電腦與智慧型手機存取雲端儲存空間。

Dropbox 的伺服器位於遍布全球的資料中心。您沒辦法向弄壞外接硬碟那樣不小心摔壞雲端,並毀損裡面儲存的檔案,因為一切通通數位化,所以絕對安全。當您將檔案儲存至 Dropbox 時,您的檔案會儲存在加密、受保護的儲存空間,比起傳統硬碟,大為降低了遭竊的風險。

Dropbox 是備份與儲存檔案的安全、多功能解決方案,可節省您電腦的儲存空間,並為您免除在外接硬碟上保存重要資料的麻煩與風險。

避免硬碟儲存空間的風險

比較方案

What is a hard drive?

Here’s everything you need to know about hard disk drives, how they work, their limitations, and how to save space on them.

Understanding hard drives

A hard drive is a piece of hardware used to store digital content and data on computers. Every computer has an internal hard drive, but you can also get external hard drives that can be used to expand the storage of a computer. Here, we’ll explore the different kinds of hard drives and their advantages and disadvantages.

Types of secondary storage

All computers require drives store data on a long-term basis. This is known as secondary storage, and the RAM (Random Access Memory) of a computer is its primary storage.

Generally speaking, secondary storage comes in two forms: hard disk drives (HDD) and solid-state drives (SSD). While you may see SSDs referred to as types of hard drives, this isn’t too accurate, and it’s important to understand the difference between an HDD and an SSD.

What is HDD?

The more “traditional” type of hard drive is HDD.

Hard disk drives are made up of magnetized disks—known as platters—that spin rapidly, typically somewhere between 5,400 and 15,000 RPM. The faster the magnetic disk rotates, the quicker your computer is able to access information from it.

All digital data comes in the form of binary code—a series of ones and zeros that can represent any piece of information. The read/write heads of a hard drive are used to input these ones and zeros by magnetizing portions of the platter. Each tiny portion of the platter houses a bit, which will be equal to either 1 or 0. The head can detect the magnetism of each portion, thus “reading” information from it. The same head that can “read” data can also “write” it, by changing the magnetization of bits on a platter.

Any time a change is made—such as a new file being saved or a file being deleted—the head of the hard drive will adjust the magnetism of the platter accordingly. You can picture it like a record player, with the vinyl disk being the platter containing the information, and the arm being the heads that scan that information.

Because data is stored magnetically, HDDs are non-volatile devices, meaning that they retain data even when the computer is turned off.

These days, internal HDDs can reach a maximum capacity of 20 TB. Since the emergence of SSD, hard disk drives are rarely used as a computer’s secondary storage, but are still reliable as an external storage option.

What is an SSD?

SSDs (solid state drives) are the newer of the type of hard drive. They have become the preferred format for high-end laptops’ internal hard drives, and all smartphones and tablets also use a form of SSD.

Solid-state drives use flash memory, which is also what’s used in USB flash drives and memory cards for digital cameras. There are no magnets involved here, SSDs use semiconductors that store data by altering the electrical state of the trillions of circuits contained within the SSD. Because they have no moving parts, not only do they work faster (as you don’t need to wait for disks to spin and heads to gather information), they also tend to last longer than HDDs.

SDDs are a lot more expensive to manufacture, so while they’re increasingly prevalent as the primary disk drive for high-end laptops and PCs, hard disk drives are still preferred by many as a cheaper external option.

A brief history of the hard disk drive

After experimenting with magnetic tape as a means of data storage, the first commercial hard disk drive was engineered in 1956 by a team at IBM led by Reynold B. Johnson.

The team at IBM discovered that they could store data on magnetized metal disks that could be overwritten with new information, which led to the construction of the first hard disk drive system, known as RAMAC (Random Access Method of Accounting and Control).

The original hard disk drive was about the size of two refrigerators, with a total of 50 24-inch platters spinning at 1,200 RPM. Despite its size, the RAMAC had a storage capacity of just 5 MB—about the size of one image, and despite its capacity, it came at a cost of about $10,000 per megabyte.

RAMACs were housed at IBM data centers until IBM introduced removable storage in the 1960s. 1962’s IBM 1311 Disk Storage Drive held 2.6 MB on six 14-inch platters. These were roughly the size of a dishwasher.

Personal desktop computers emerged in the ‘70s, and at the same time, IBM was developing the first floppy disks. First released in 1971, the floppy disk was the first easily portable magnetic disk. You could consider it the first external hard drive. Floppy disks became the standard for disk storage until writable CDs and USB flash drives became prevalent around the turn of the century. The first read/write hard disk for personal computers was released in 1972 by Memorex.

By 1980, many major companies had joined the HDD game, and Shugart Technology’s ST-506 drive became the most compact HDD available at the time, at 5.25-inch with a 5 MB capacity. IBM, meanwhile, released the IBM 3380, which was the first hard drive to offer 1 GB of storage.

In 1983, Rodime unveiled the RO352, the first 3.5-inch HDD, with two platters and a capacity of 10 MB. 3.5-inch HDDs would soon become the standard for desktop computers, and are still used to this day (with laptop HDDs being 2.5-inches).

It was in the ‘80s that the external hard drives that we’re familiar with today began to take shape, and over time, as the physical size of external hard drives shrunk, hard drive capacity grew.

What does a hard drive do?

Simply put, a hard drive stores data. On a computer, this includes all of your photos, videos, music, documents, and applications, and beyond that, the code for your computer’s operating system, frameworks, and drivers are stored on hard drives too. The capacity of a hard drive is measured in megabytes (MB), gigabytes (GB), and terabytes (TB).

This is different from RAM (Random Access Memory), which is temporary computer storage that requires electricity to store data, making it volatile memory—it only stores data when the computer is turned on. RAM is not used for personal data, only computer data. Your computer needs memory to operate smoothly and allow you to jump from task to task or application to application without losing where you were. RAM is known as primary storage, while HDDs and SSDs fall under secondary storage.

A hard drive is a storage device required to hold on to your files and data for the long term. Whenever you save a file to your computer, you’re saving it to your computer’s hard drive. A hard drive is like a filing cabinet for your digital files.

What is an external hard drive?

An external hard drive is a hard drive that isn’t built into a computer. These are portable devices that you can plug into any computer to access the data it stores. While internal hard drives are directly connected to the computer’s motherboard and store operating system data, frameworks, drivers, and software in addition to your files, external hard drives are used mostly for storing personal files.

A computer’s hard drive can usually be removed and upgraded, but this is an arduous task, so many opt for external hard drives when their computer begins to run low on space.

These days, external hard drives can house up to 20 TB of data, over a million times more than the very first hard drive had to offer in 1956. These capacities, coupled with the portability and affordability of external hard drives, made them the best solution for increasing the capacity of a computer, until the emergence of cloud storage.

Disadvantages of using external hard drives for storage

When compared to simply using the internal storage capacity of your computer, external hard drives are a beneficial solution, but they do come with a few risks and limitations that are important to consider.

Like an internal hard drive, external HDDs do come with the risk of data loss. This can be caused by attacks like malware or viruses, or it can come from natural damage and deterioration like too much sunlight or heat, exposure to liquids, dust, or interference from other magnetic fields.

With the many intricate moving parts that make a hard disk drive work, they are quite vulnerable to damage, especially if you’re taking them around wherever you go. If a hard drive is damaged, you may still be able to retrieve the data stored on its platters, but this would be a complicated and likely costly process. In a computer, an HDD is one of the most fragile pieces of hardware because of its moving parts.

Additionally, the average hard drive is not password protected or encrypted, so if it’s ever misplaced or stolen, your personal information can be easily compromised.

Many external hard drives also only support certain operating systems, or can only support one operating system at a time. You might have a MacBook and a Windows PC and find that your hard drive is unable to read and write on both devices, which can be a nuisance if you wanted to use your hard drive to transfer files from one to the other. Many hard drives must be reformatted—thus losing all data—before you can configure it to write on a different operating system.

Using cloud storage instead of hard disk drives

The arrival of cloud storage presented a solution to the limitations and risks of hard drives, offering a safer, more accessible data storage alternative. Saving a file on the cloud means storing it online, where it won’t take up any space on your device.

With Dropbox, you can have up to 3 TB of storage on a personal account that can be used for almost any file type, and as much storage as you need with Dropbox Business Advanced and Enterprise accounts.

Rather than having to buy more external drives once each one is full, you can just continue to expand your cloud storage without using up any physical space. When you’ve got files saved across external hard drives, it can be a pain to find the file you’re looking for. With cloud storage, everything is in one place that you can easily access and search from any device with internet connection. External hard drives tend to connect to computers via USB, so they can only be connected to certain devices, while cloud storage can be accessed on not just PCs and laptops, but tablets and smartphones too.

Dropbox uses servers housed in data centers across the globe. You can’t accidentally drop the cloud and damage the files within like you could an external hard drive—it’s all digitized, and it’s all safe. When you save files to Dropbox you’re saving them in an encrypted, protected space that is far less vulnerable to theft than the traditional hard drive.

Dropbox is a safe, versatile solution for backing up and storing files, saving you storage space on your computer and doing away with the hassle and risk of keeping your important data on external hard drives.

Avoid the risks of hard disk drive storage

Compare plans