存储设备类型

探索旨在提高数字存储容量的众多设备,并了解它们的工作方式。

存储容量不再取决于电脑的物理容量。有很多选择方案可用来保存文件,同时节省电脑、手机或平板电脑上的存储空间。如果您的设备运行缓慢且空间不足,则可以将文件放到物理存储设备上。或者更可取的做法是,利用最出色的存储技术,将文件保存到云端。

云储存

虽然云存储本身并不完全是一种设备,但它是适用于电脑的最新、最通用的存储方式。“云”不是一个地方或一个实物,而是位于世界各地数据中心的大量服务器的集合。当您将文档保存到云端时,就是将其存储在这些服务器上。

由于云存储是在线存储所有内容,因此它不使用电脑的任何辅助存储空间,从而可以节省空间

云存储提供的存储容量比 U 盘及其他物理选择方案高得多。这使您不必通过筛选每个设备来找到正确的文件。

虽然外置 HDD 和 SSD 曾经因其可移植性而受到青睐,但与云存储相比,它们也不尽人意。便携的外置硬盘并不多。尽管它们比电脑的内部存储驱动器小巧轻便,但它们仍然属于实体设备。而支持随处访问,无需占用任何物理空间,也没有外部驱动器的物理漏洞。

外部存储设备作为传输文件的快速解决方案也很受欢迎,但它们只有在您可以访问每个物理设备时才有用。随着许多企业现在开始远程运营,云计算也在蓬勃发展。您可能不会将 U 盘邮寄到国外以向同事发送大文件。云存储可充当远程员工之间的桥梁,使远程协作变得轻而易举。

如果您忘记将包含重要文档的硬盘带到会议上,除了回去取之外,别无他法。如果硬盘损坏或硬盘数据丢失,不太可能找回数据。云存储不存在这些风险。只要您可以访问互联网,就可以随时随地备份和访问您的数据。

使用 Dropbox 智能同步,您可以从桌面访问 Dropbox 中的任何文件。就像将文件存储在本地一样,不同之处只是文件不会占用磁盘空间。将所有文件保存在 Dropbox 中意味着只需单击一下即可进行访问。您可以从具有互联网连接的任何设备上访问它们,并即时共享。

外部存储设备

除了电脑中包含的存储介质外,还有电脑外部的数字存储设备。它们通常用于在空间不足的电脑上扩展存储容量、允许更多的可移植性或提供从一个设备到另一个设备的轻松文件传输。

外置 HDD 和 SSD

您可以将 HDD 和 SSD 设备用作外部驱动器。在外部存储选择方案中,这些设备提供的存储容量最大,其中外置 HDD 可提供高达 20 TB 的存储空间,(价格合理的)外置 SSD 可提供高达 8 TB 的存储空间。

外置 HDD 和 SSD 的工作方式与内置 HDD 和 SSD 完全相同。大多数外部驱动器都可以连接到任何电脑;它们没有固定到一个设备,因此是跨设备传输文件的一种不错的解决方案。

闪存设备

我们在前面讨论 SSD 时提到了闪存。闪存设备包含数万亿个用于存储数据的互连闪存单元。这些单元包含数百万个晶体管,它们的导通或关断以二进制代码 1 和 0 表示,使电脑能够读写信息。

U 盘是最为人熟知的闪存设备之一。这些小型便携式存储设备也称为拇指驱动器或记忆棒,长期以来一直是增大电脑存储空间的常见选择。在快速、方便地在线共享文件这种方式出现之前,U 盘对于轻松地将文件从一个设备移动到另一个设备至关重要。但是,它们只能在带有 USB 端口的设备上使用。大多数较旧款的电脑都有 USB 端口,但较新款的电脑可能需要实用适配器。

如今,U 盘最多可容纳 2 TB 的存储空间。它们每 GB 的成本要比外部硬盘更高,但它们已成为一种用于存储和传输较小文件的简单便捷的常用解决方案。

除 U 盘外,闪存设备还包括 SD 卡和存储卡,您会发现它们是数码相机使用的存储介质。

光存储设备

CD、DVD 和蓝光光盘的用途远不止播放音乐和视频,它们还可以用作存储设备。它们统称为光存储设备或光介质。

二进制代码以微小凸起的形式沿着从磁盘中心向外盘旋的磁道存储在这些磁盘上。当磁盘运行时,磁盘以恒定的速度旋转,同时磁盘驱动器中包含的激光会扫描磁盘上的凸起。激光反射凸起的方式决定了它在二进制中是表示 0 还是 1。

DVD 具有比 CD 更紧密的螺旋轨道,即使尺寸相同,它也可以存储更多数据,并且 DVD 驱动器中使用的红色激光比 CD 驱动器更精细。DVD 还允许采用双层结构,以进一步增加容量。蓝光光盘将数据存储技术提升到了另一个层次,它将数据存储在多层上,并采用更小的凸起,这意味着需要更精细的蓝色激光才能读取数据。

  • CD-ROM、DVD-ROM 和 BD-ROM 都是只读光存储磁盘。写入它们的数据是永久性的,不能删除或覆盖。这就是它们不能用作个人存储设备的原因。相反,它们通常用于软件安装程序。
  • CD-R、DVD-R 和 BD-R 格式的磁盘是可录写的,但不能覆盖。无论您在空白可录写磁盘上保存什么数据,这些都将永久存储在该磁盘上。因此,它们可以存储数据,但不像其他存储设备那样灵活。
  • CD-RW、DVD-RW 和 BD-RE 是可重写的。这意味着您可以在上面写入新数据,并可以根据需要从其中擦除不需要的数据。它们已经被诸如闪存之类的较新技术所取代,但是 CD-RW 曾经是外部存储的首选。大多数台式电脑和许多笔记本电脑都具有 CD 或 DVD 驱动器。

CD 最多可存储 700 MB 的数据,DVD-DL 最多可存储 8.5 GB 的数据,而蓝光光盘最多可存储 25 GB 到 128 GB 的数据。

软盘

虽然软盘现在已经过时了,但我们探讨存储设备时,不能少了朴实无华的软盘。软盘是第一个广泛使用的便携式可移动存储设备。这就是为什么大多数“保存”图标看起来像软盘一样,其所呈现的图形就是软盘。软件的工作方式与硬盘相同,但尺寸要小得多。

在 CD-RW 和 U 盘成为常用存储介质之前,软盘的存储容量从未超过 200 MB。iMac 是 1998 年发布的第一款没有软盘驱动器的个人电脑。从那时开始,超过 30 年的软盘统治时代很快过去了。

电脑系统中的存储器

存储设备是主要用于存储数据的硬件。每个台式电脑、笔记本电脑、平板电脑和智能手机都会具有某种存储设备。还有可以在设备上使用的独立外部存储驱动器。

存储器不仅是保存文件所必需的,也是运行任务和应用所必需的。您在电脑上创建或保存的任何文件都会保存到电脑的存储设备中。该存储设备还会存储任何应用以及电脑操作系统。

随着技术的不断发展,数据存储设备也发生了重大变化。如今,存储设备具有多种形状和大小,并且有多种不同类型的存储设备可以满足不同的设备和功能需求。

存储设备也称为存储介质。数字存储的度量单位是兆字节 (MB)、千兆字节 (GB),而如今则是太字节 (TB)

有些电脑存储设备能够永久保存信息,而有些则只能暂时保存信息。每台电脑都有主存储器和辅助存储器,主存储器充当电脑的短期存储器,辅助存储器充当电脑的长期存储器。

主存储器:随机存取存储器 (RAM)

随机存取存储器 (RAM) 是电脑的主存储器。

当您在电脑上处理文件时,它会暂时将数据存储在 RAM 中。RAM 使您可以执行日常任务,例如打开应、加载网页、编辑文档或玩游戏。它还支持您从一项任务跳到另一项任务,而不会丢失进度。从本质上说,电脑的 RAM 越大,您进行多任务处理就越顺畅、越快速。

RAM 是易失性存储器,这意味着一旦系统关闭,它就无法保存信息。例如,如果您复制了一段文本,重启电脑,然后试图将这段文本粘贴到一个文档中,您会发现电脑已经忘记了所复制的文本。这是因为该文本只是临时存储在 RAM 中。

RAM 使电脑能够以随机顺序访问数据,因此读写速度比电脑的辅助存储器快得多。

辅助存储器:硬盘驱动器 (HDD) 和固态硬盘 (SSD)

除 RAM 外,每台电脑还具有另一个存储驱动器,用于长期存储信息。这个存储驱动器就是辅助存储器。您创建或下载的任何文件都会保存到电脑的辅助存储器中。有两种类型的存储设备可用作电脑中的辅助存储器:HDD 和 SSD。虽然 HDD 是两者中比较传统的类型,但 SSD 正在迅速取代 HDD 成为首选的辅助存储器技术。

辅助存储设备通常是移动式设备,因此您可以更换或升级电脑的存储器,或将存储驱动器移至另一台电脑。也有一些明显的例外,比如 MacBook,它没有移动式存储器。

硬盘驱动器 (HDD)

硬盘驱动器 (HDD) 是原始硬盘驱动器。它们是自二十世纪五十年代以来一直存在的磁存储设备,尽管它们已经随着时间而发展变化。

硬盘驱动器由多个旋转的金属磁盘(称为盘片)组成。每个旋转的磁盘都有数万亿个可以磁化的微小片段,用以表示位(二进制代码中的 1 和 0)。具有读/写磁头的执行器臂会扫描旋转的盘片并磁化片段,以便将数字信息写入 HDD,或检测磁荷以从中读取信息。

HDD 用于电视和卫星记录器、服务器以及笔记本电脑和 PC 存储器。

固态硬盘 (SSD)

固态硬盘出现的时间要晚得多,是在二十世纪九十年代。SSD 不依赖磁体和磁盘,而是使用一种称为 NAND 的闪存。在 SSD 中,半导体通过更改驱动器中包含的电路的电流来存储信息。这意味着与 HDD 不同,SSD 不需要移动部件即可运行。

因此,SSD不仅比 HDD 运行更快、更顺畅(由于盘片和磁头的机械特性,HDD 需要更长的时间来收集信息),而且它们的使用寿命通常也比 HDD 更长(由于有许多复杂的活动部件,HDD 容易损坏和磨损)。

除了新型 PC 和高端笔记本电脑之外,在智能手机、平板电脑甚至摄像机中都可能有 SSD。

存储大量数据的最佳方法

如果您的设备存储空间不足,是时候考虑使用其他存储设备了。甚至闪存驱动器之类的外部存储设备也可能会空间不足、损坏或丢失。这就是为什么存储所有文件的最佳方法是在存储云中。它更安全、更快、更容易访问。

有关硬盘的创意思维

比较套餐

Types of storage devices

Explore the many devices designed to boost your digital storage capacity and discover how they work.

Storage in computer systems

A storage device is a piece of hardware that is primarily used for storing data. Every desktop computer, laptop, tablet, and smartphone will have some kind of storage device within it, and you can also get standalone, external storage drives that can be used across multiple devices.

Storage is necessary not just for saving files, but also for running tasks and applications. Any file you create or save on your computer is saved to your computer’s storage device, as are any applications you use, as well as the operating system your computer runs on.

As technology has advanced over time, data storage devices have also evolved in a major way. Nowadays, storage devices come in many shapes and sizes, and there are a few different types of storage device that cater to different devices and functions.

A storage device is also known as a storage medium or storage media, and digital storage is measured in megabytes (MB), gigabytes (GB), and, these days, terabytes (TB).

Some computer storage devices are able to hold information permanently, while others can only hold information temporarily. Every computer has both primary and secondary storage, with primary storage acting as a computer’s short-term memory, and secondary as a computer’s long-term memory.

Primary Storage: Random Access Memory (RAM)

Random Access Memory, or RAM, is the primary storage of a computer.

When you’re working on a file on your computer, it will temporarily store data in your RAM. RAM allows you to perform everyday tasks like opening applications, loading webpages, editing a document or playing games, and allows you to quickly jump from one task to another without losing your progress. In essence, the larger the RAM of your computer, the smoother and quicker it is for you to multitask.

RAM is a volatile memory, meaning it cannot hold onto information once the system is turned off. For example, if you copy a block of text, restart your computer, and then attempt to paste that block of text into a document, you’ll find that your computer has forgotten the copied text. This is because it was stored only temporarily in your RAM.

RAM makes it possible for a computer to access data in a random order, and therefore reads and writes much faster than a computer’s secondary storage.

Secondary Storage: Hard Disk Drives (HDD) & Solid-State Drives (SSD)

In addition to RAM, every computer also has another storage drive that’s used for storing information on a long-term basis, and this is known as secondary storage. Any file you create or download is saved to the computer’s secondary storage. There are two types of storage device used as secondary storage in computers: HDD and SSD. While HDDs are the more traditional of the two, SSDs are fast overtaking HDD as the preferred tech for secondary storage.

Secondary storage devices are often removable, so you can replace or upgrade your computer’s storage, or move your storage drive to a different computer. There are notable exceptions however, like MacBooks, which don’t offer removable storage.

Hard Disk Drives (HDD)

The hard disk drive (HDD) is the original hard drive. These are magnetic storage devices that have been around since the 1950s, though they’ve evolved greatly over time.

A hard disk drive is comprised of a stack of spinning metal disks known as platters. Each spinning disk has trillions of tiny fragments that can be magnetized in order to represent bits (1s and 0s in binary code). An actuator arm with a read/write head scans the spinning platters and magnetizes fragments in order to write digital information onto the HDD, or detects magnetic charges to read information from it.

As well as laptop and PC storage, HDDs are used for TV and satellite recorders and servers.

Solid-State Drives (SSD)

Solid-state drives emerged far more recently, in the ‘90s. SSDs don’t rely on magnets and disks, instead they use a type of flash memory called NAND. In an SSD, semiconductors store information by changing the electrical current of circuits contained within the drive. This means that unlike HDDs, SSDs don’t require moving parts to operate.

Because of this, SSDs not only work faster and smoother than HDDs (HDDs take longer to gather information due to the mechanical nature of their platters and heads), they also generally last longer than HDDs (with so many intricate moving parts, HDDs are vulnerable to damage and wear).

Outside of newer PCs and high-end laptops, you can find SSDs in smartphones, tablets, and sometimes video cameras.

External storage devices

In addition to storage media contained within a computer, there are also digital storage devices that are external from computers. These are commonly used to expand storage capacity when a computer runs low on space, to allow more portability, and to allow easy file transfers from one device to another.

External HDDs and SSDs

You can get both HDD and SSD devices as external drives. These generally offer the largest storage capacity among external options, with external HDDs offering up to 20 TB of storage and (reasonably-priced) external SSDs offering up to 8 TB of storage.

External HDDs and SSDs work in the exact same way that their internal counterparts do. Most external drives can be connected to any computer; they’re not tied to one device, so they’re a decent solution for transferring files across devices.

Flash memory devices

We mentioned flash memory earlier when discussing SSDs. A flash memory device contains trillions of interconnected flash memory cells that store data. These cells hold millions of transistors that when switched on or off represent 1s and 0s in binary code, allowing a computer to read and write information based on the electrical current of the transistors.

Perhaps the most recognizable type of flash memory device is the USB flash drive. Also known as a thumb drive or simply a ”USB," these small, portable storage devices have long been a popular choice for extra computer storage. Before it was quick and easy to share files online, USB-flash drives were basically essential for easily moving files from one device to another.

These days, a USB flash drive can hold up to 2 TB of storage. They’re more expensive per gigabyte than an external hard drive, so while it’s unlikely that anyone is using thumb drives to store all of their personal data, they have prevailed as a simple, convenient solution for temporarily storing and transferring smaller files.

Aside from USB drives, flash memory devices also include SD and memory cards, which you’ll recognize as the storage medium used in digital cameras.

Optical Storage Devices

CDs, DVDs, and Blu-Ray disks are used for a lot more than just playing music and videos—they also act as storage devices, and collectively they’re known as optical storage devices or optical disk media.

Binary code is stored on these disks in the form of minuscule bumps along a track that spirals outwards from the center of the disk. When the disk is in operation it spins at a constant speed, while a laser contained within the disk drive scans the bumps on the disk. The way the laser reflects or bounces off a bump determines whether it represents a 0 or 1 in binary.

A DVD has a tighter spiral track than a CD, allowing it to store more data despite being the same size, and a finer red laser is used in DVD drives than CD drives. DVDs also allow dual layering to increase their capacity further. Blu-Ray took things to another level, storing data on multiple layers with even smaller bumps that require an even finer blue laser to read them.

CD-ROM, DVD-ROM, and BD-ROM refer to optical storage disks that are read-only, meaning the data written on them is permanent and cannot be removed or overwritten. These are commonly used for software installation programs, but cannot be used as a personal storage device.

CD-R, DVD-R, and BD-R format disks are recordable, but cannot be overwritten. Whatever data you save on a blank recordable disk will then be permanently stored on that disk. So, they can store data, but they’re not quite as flexible as other storage devices.

CD-RW, DVD-RW, and BD-RE are re-writable, so you can continuously write new data on them and erase unwanted data from them. While they’ve been largely overtaken by newer technology like flash memory, CD-RWs were for a long time the top choice for external storage—most desktop computers and many laptops have a CD or DVD drive.

CD can store up to 700 MB of data, DVD-DL can store up to 8.5 GB, and Blu-Ray can store between 25 and 128 GB of data.

Floppy Disks

While they may mostly obsolete at this point, we can’t discuss storage devices without at least mentioning the humble floppy disk. Floppy disks were the first widely-available portable, removable storage devices. They work in the same way as hard disk drives, although at a much smaller scale.

The storage capacity of floppy disks never exceeded 200 MB before CD-RW and flash drives became the favored storage media. The iMac was the first personal computer released without a floppy disk drive, in 1998, and from here the over 30-year reign of the floppy disk very quickly declined.

Cloud storage

While not exactly a device per se, cloud storage is the newest and most versatile type of storage for computers. “The cloud” is not one place or object, but rather a huge collection of servers housed in data centers around the world. When you save a document to the cloud, you’re storing it on these servers.

Because everything is stored online, cloud storage doesn’t use any of your computer’s secondary storage, allowing you to save space.

Cloud storage offers significantly higher storage capacities than USB flash drives and other physical options, saving you from having to sift through each device to get to the file you’re looking for.

While external HDDs and SSDs were once favored for their portability, they, too, fall short compared to cloud storage. There aren’t many pocket-friendly external hard drives, and while they’re of course smaller and lighter than a computer’s internal storage drive, they are still tangible devices that you need to take care of. The cloud, on the other hand, can go with you anywhere you go without taking any physical space at all, and without the physical vulnerabilities of an external drive.

External storage devices were also popular as a quick solution for transferring files, but of course, they’re only useful if you can physically access each device. Cloud computing is striving at a time where many businesses now operate remotely. You probably wouldn’t post a USB drive overseas just to send a large file to a colleague, so cloud storage acts as a bridge between remote workers, making collaboration from afar a breeze.

If you forget to bring a hard drive containing important documents to a meeting, there’s not much you can do other than go back and grab it. If you break or lose a hard drive altogether, it’s unlikely you’ll ever get that data back. These risks don’t exist for cloud storage—your data is backed up and accessible whenever and wherever you are so long as you have access to the internet.

With Dropbox Smart Sync, you can access any file in your Dropbox directly from your desktop, so it’s just like your files are stored locally—only they don’t use up any of your disk space. Keeping all your files saved in Dropbox means they’re always one click away, they can be accessed from any device with internet connection, and they can be shared in an instant.

Think outside the hard drive shaped box

Compare plans