雲端運算是什麼?

我們都聽過「雲端」,但這對部分人來說仍然是一團迷霧。現在就來瞭解「雲端」為何對企業和個人都無比重要。

true

雲端運算是什麼?如何運作?

其實即使對雲端運算服務一無所知,仍很可能曾在某些時候使用過雲端服務。

「雲端」是「雲端運算」的縮寫,意指以隨用隨付的方式,透過網際網路提供或託管工作和服務。一直以來,使用者已經能透過網際網路存放、執行及管理資料,不過雲端運算涉及更大規模的作業。

首先要釐清一下,雲端仍需要實體元素。您的檔案也許不是直接存放在自己的個人電腦裡,但這些檔案仍需要連結到世界某處的硬體。每當您透過 Dropbox 等服務將檔案上傳到雲端,該檔案會透過網際網路傳送到伺服器,而且是真正、有形的伺服器。雲端服務供應商有成千上萬台實體伺服器,合稱「伺服器陣列」,散落在世界各地的資料中心。

因此,以最簡化的方式來說,雲端是遍布全球的伺服器與資料中心集合,可供我們存放資料。基本上,這是個可供您存放所有檔案的數位儲存空間單位。有了雲端,只要連上網際網路,您就能透過任何裝置存取您的資料。

每次在雲端上儲存檔案,您其實是在線上存放檔案。只要有適當的資源和基礎結構,任何人都能託管專屬的雲端服務。不過這絕非易事,當然也不便宜。因此在探討雲端服務時,我們指的是由 Dropbox 等供應商所提供的高層級服務。

就以電力為例,在家中裝設私人發電機,不僅所費不貲,還需要處理大量維護工作。我們將這項工作交給電力公司負責,由這些公司經營大型發電機供大家用電,每個人只要按使用量付費即可。同理,比起自行組建基礎結構,由雲端服務供應商託管及存放您的資料,才是更有效率且具成本效益的作法。

雲端儲存服務之外的其他功能

就最簡單的層面而言,雲端是數位儲存空間解決方案,但還有許多服務也是以雲端為基礎。您可以將雲端運算細分成三項不同的核心功能:基礎結構即服務 (IaaS)、平台即服務 (PaaS) 和軟體即服務 (SaaS) 模式。

  • 基礎結構即服務 (IaaS) 是指雲端供應商提供自家伺服器儲存空間,支援從資料儲存空間到網站託管等各式服務。在這個模式下,仍須自行管理及維護資料、網站或應用程式,雲端供應商只負責出租運算資源。

使用 Dropbox 的檔案儲存空間就是 IaaS 的範例。使用者可按需求存取、更改及新增資料,而 Dropbox 則提供伺服器來託管資料。多虧 IaaS 模式的存在,您造訪的每個網站幾乎都是透過雲端託管。

  • 平台即服務 (PaaS) 與 IaaS 類似,不過雲端供應商擁有較多的控制權。以前因為時間、金錢和空間的關係,開發軟體及本地化測試是要價高昂的工作。PaaS 提供的虛擬平台可支援後端開發及測試,為程式設計人員提供線上軟體開發的虛擬架構,而且所有的伺服器和儲存空間仍交由供應商負責。因此,PaaS 模式為開發與作業人員提供虛擬的解決方案,而無須冒著風險在本機開發及測試項目。
  • 軟體即服務 (SaaS) 指的是任何透過雲端執行的軟體。以 Hellosign 為例,您可以透過這個雲端應用程式線上簽署有法律約束力的文件,無須使用紙筆即可完成。您可以隨時依自身需求並從任何裝置存取應用程式。SaaS 的另一個範例是 Grammarly 等網頁版應用程式,這類程式能直接透過網頁瀏覽器在線上執行。

簡單來說,IaaS 模式提供最多資源控制權,可滿足管理員的託管與儲存需求;PaaS 模式提供的控制權較少,可配合開發人員的技術開發需求;SaaS 模型提供的控制權最少,適合日常使用者使用。

有哪些不同類型的雲端?

任何 IT 基礎架構均可由四種基本的雲端環境組成。

公用雲端指的是任何人都能使用的雲端服務。Amazon Web Services (AWS)、Microsoft Azure、Google Cloud 與 Google Drive、iCloud 以及 Dropbox 均為公用雲端服務。任何使用 Dropbox 的人都是租用了一部分的伺服器空間。公用雲端是一個共享環境,就像大型辦公室一樣,但每個終端使用者都有自己安全的辦公桌和櫃子。這種安全的專屬空間也稱為「虛擬機器」。虛擬化功能可讓每位終端使用者在相同實體伺服器上的獨立安全空間中擁有自己的虛擬機器。除了虛擬機器外,也有虛擬伺服器。因此,虛擬化功能可充分利用伺服器中的實體硬體。這樣的效率是任何人都能依自身需求,並以低成本使用雲端服務的原因。

私人雲端則大不相同,因為虛擬機器和所有雲端基礎結構只會專門為單一客戶服務。同樣是透過網際網路託管所有項目,但負責託管個人資料的伺服器只會供您一人使用。有些人也許為了多一點安全保障,而選擇私人雲端;有些人則為追求效能而使用私人雲端。

混合雲端結合內部伺服器和公用雲端伺服器。您可以將大型或較私密的文件保存在私人雲端,其他檔案則存放在公用雲端。

多重雲端指的是企業使用多種不同的公用雲端平台,而非像混合雲端那樣結合私人和公用雲端。會使用多重雲端解決方案通常是因為不同的雲端服務供應商提供不同的功能,而一家企業可能需要用上所有的服務。

企業如何使用雲端?

對企業而言,雲端運算的好處遠遠不只儲存解決方案這麼簡單。雲端運算已然是現代工作場域中的重要驅動力,有助於推動生產力、效率、成長與組織。使用雲端運算可為企業帶來的優勢如下:

  • 節省成本:在內部部署執行各項工作可能耗資甚鉅。有了雲端,現場 IT 系統和設備的維護工作就成了非必要的花費。雲端運算服務採取隨用隨付的方式,可大幅降低硬體、人事和能源消耗成本。另外,處理 IT 問題的時間減少,也就有更多時間能專注在目標上。
  • 災難復原:透過雲端備份所有重要檔案和資料,可額外提供重要的保護能力。如果將所有內容都儲存在同一個地方,就必須承擔巨大風險。從自然災害到突然停電,甚至是惡意程式攻擊,任何意外都有可能讓您突然一無所有。透過雲端,就能將資料備份在多個位置的多台伺服器上,這是非常重要的服務。
  • 保護並確保資料安全:或許有些人不這麼認為,但雲端運算服務同樣為私人資料提供極為出色的雲端安全保障。您可能會覺得,將所有內容存放在親眼可見之處才是比較安全的作法,但其實可將雲端想成是銀行保險庫。雲端服務供應商會以個人資料安全與保護為首要考量,資料會全數加密。在大多數情況下,您可以自行設定專屬的雲端安全設定。就像銀行保險庫專為安全儲存貴重物品而生,雲端的設計宗旨正是成為最安全的資料儲存方式。
  • 擴充能力:雲端運算為企業提供額外的彈性,讓企業可以擴展規模,甚至在某些情況下縮減。業務規模越大,營運所需的空間、時間和金錢也越多。企業可在有需要時使用雲端技術,藉由雲端虛擬環境促進成長。另一方面,假如業務規模縮減,也不必付費給再也用不上的設備或資源。使用雲端運算服務只需支付實際用量的費用即可。
  • 彈性:透過雲端存放及運作所有內容,即可自行選擇在世界上的任何角落工作。隨著傳統工作場所的概念不斷演變,雲端運算是公司得以透過虛擬方式運作的關鍵。雲端運算也促進了連線能力,可透過行動裝置存取檔案和資料。
  • 協作:使用者不僅可以儲存檔案,還能在雲端上建立及編輯檔案,協作因此變得更有效率。透過雲端運算,十人組成的團隊可在不同位置處理同一份文件。這讓團隊組織與資源管理變得比以往都要輕鬆。

個人使用雲端運算的優點

出了辦公室,在家利用雲端解決方案能帶來諸多好處。最顯而易見的優勢,自然是節省空間。如果目前尚未使用雲端儲存,那麼大多數檔案大概都保存在電腦或智慧型手機裡。假如裝置上的空間不足,您可能會選擇使用外接硬碟,假如硬碟儲存空間也滿了,就會再找第二個外接硬碟,以此類推。如果急需找到一份舊文件,事情忽然就變得棘手了。

將所有檔案都存放在同個虛擬位置並不會佔用到個人空間,不但所有檔案都井井有條、全在掌握之中,還省下了購買硬碟的費用。將大量檔案移轉到雲端後,作業系統的運算能力也會有所提升。

與親朋好友共享內容也變得非常容易。舉例來說,您可以設立協作相簿供所有家人存取。

這就是 Dropbox 建立全球第一個智慧協作空間的原因。將您使用的所有內容和工具連接起來後,Dropbox 生產力應用程式就能讓一切唾手可得。您不再需要切換不同的平台、應用程式和內容類型,這個智慧協作空間可以讓您在同一處使用所有項目,並提供靈活的 IT 管理功能

無論是在家中或辦公室使用雲端運算,好處都顯而易見。雲端可以提升生產力、改善組織、提升協作效果及降低成本,同時保障資料安全並獲得保護。

What is the cloud?

We’ve all heard of the “cloud,” but it’s still kind of a mystery for some of us. Learn why the “cloud” is so vital for businesses and individuals alike.

What is cloud computing, and how does it work?

Chances are, even if you don’t know a thing about cloud computing services, you’ve probably still used them at some point.

“Cloud” is short for “cloud computing,” and it refers to tasks and services provided or hosted via the internet on a pay-as-you-go basis. People have been able to store, operate, and manage data via the internet for some time, but cloud computing does this on a much larger scale.

First off, it’s important to clarify that the cloud still requires physical components. While you may not save your files directly to your computer, they still need to be attached to some piece of hardware somewhere in the world. When you upload something to the cloud via a service like Dropbox, the file is sent via the internet to a server—a real, tangible server. Cloud service providers will have hundreds and thousands of physical servers, collectively known as “server farms,” located in data centers around the world.

So, at its most simplified level, the cloud is a collection of servers and data centers scattered across the globe that store data. Essentially, it’s a digital storage unit where you can keep all your files. With the cloud, you can access your data from any device so long as it has an internet connection.

When you save a file to the cloud, you’re storing it online. Anybody with the right resources and infrastructure can host their own cloud. But it’s no easy task, and it’s certainly not cheap. So when we talk about using a cloud service, we’re talking about high-level services offered by a provider like Dropbox.

Let’s use electricity as an example. It’d cost a whole lot and require a ton of maintenance to keep a private generator in your home. Instead, we have energy providers who essentially operate one big generator that anybody can access, and we all pay for what we use. In the same sense, it’s far more efficient and cost-effective to allow a cloud service provider to host and store your data rather than building your own infrastructure.

Other functions outside of cloud storage services

At its simplest level, the cloud is a digital storage solution, but there are many more services based on the cloud. You can break cloud computation down into three different core functions: Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS), Platform as a Service (PaaS), and Software as a Service (SaaS) models.

  • Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS) refers to cloud providers offering their server space for anything from data storage to web hosting. In this case, you’d still manage and maintain the data, website, or application, while the cloud provider rents you the computing resources to do so.

Using Dropbox for file storage is an example of an IaaS. You can access, alter and add data as you please, while Dropbox provides the servers to host it. Almost every website you visit is hosted through the cloud, thanks to IaaS models.

  • Platform as a Service (PaaS) is similar to IaaS, but it gives a little more control to the cloud provider. In the past, developing software and testing it locally was a costly task, in terms of time, money and space. PaaS provides a virtual platform for backend development and testing, giving programmers a virtual framework to develop software online, with all the servers and storage still handled by the provider. So, rather than risk a loss by developing and testing on-premises, PaaS models offer a virtual solution for devops.
  • Software as a Service (SaaS) refers to any software that runs via the cloud. Take Hellosign, for example. With this cloud application, you can sign legally binding documents online instead of using pen and paper. You can access the application on-demand from any device. Another example of SaaS would be a web application like Grammarly, which runs online directly through your web browser.

To put it very simply, IaaS models offer the most control over your resources and cater to admins for hosting and storage. PaaS models provide less control and cater to developers for building. SaaS models offer the least control and cater to everyday users.

What are the different types of clouds?

There are four basic cloud environments that can comprise any IT infrastructure.

The public cloud refers to cloud services that anybody can utilize. Amazon Web Services (AWS), Microsoft Azure, Google Cloud & Google Drive, iCloud, and Dropbox are all public cloud services. Anybody using Dropbox is renting a share of its server space. The public cloud is a shared environment, similar to a big office but every end-user has their own secure desk and cabinet. This secure dedicated space is also called a virtual machine. Virtualization allows for each end-user to have their own virtual machine in a separate secure space on the same physical server. Beyond virtual machines and there can be virtual servers. Virtualization thus makes the best use of the physical hardware in a server. This efficiency is why cloud services can be used on-demand by anyone at a low cost. 

The private cloud is very different, as the virtual machine and all cloud infrastructure are dedicated to a sole customer. You’ll still be hosting everything through the internet, but the server that hosts your data will be yours and only yours. Some may opt to use a private cloud for a bit of added security, while others may need to use the private cloud for performance.

Hybrid clouds make use of both in-house servers and public cloud servers. You can keep bigger or more private documents in the private cloud but keep everything else on the public cloud.

Multicloud is when a business uses multiple public cloud platforms, as opposed to using a combination of private and public like a hybrid. Multicloud solutions generally occur because various cloud service providers will offer different functionality, and one business may need all of them.

How do businesses use the cloud?

When it comes to businesses, cloud computing benefits go far beyond its role as a simple storage solution. Cloud computing has become an essential driver for the productivity, efficiency, growth, and organization of modern workplaces. Here are some of the ways business benefit from using cloud computing:

  • Cost savings: Doing everything on-premises can be extremely costly. Maintaining IT systems and equipment on-site is an unnecessary expense with the cloud. As a pay-as-you-go service, cloud computing will significantly reduce hardware, staffing, and energy consumption costs. Plus, less time spent handling IT issues means more time focused on your goals.
  • Disaster recovery: Backing up all your important files and data to the cloud provides a crucial bit of extra protection. You’d be taking a significant risk to keep everything stored in only one place. Anything from a natural disaster to sudden power outages to a malware attack could leave you empty-handed at any given moment. As such, the cloud provides a hugely important service by backing up your data on multiple servers in multiple locations.
  • Protect and secure data: Similarly, and despite what some may believe, cloud computing services provide excellent cloud security for your private data. You may assume it’s safer to keep everything where you can see it, but you can think of the cloud like a bank vault. Cloud service providers will prioritize the safety and protection of your data, which will all be encrypted. In most cases, you will be able to set your own cloud security settings. Just like a bank vault is designed to be the most secure way to store valuables, the cloud is designed to be the most secure way to store data.
  • Scalability: Cloud computing offers businesses a bit of extra flexibility to grow or even shrink in some cases. The bigger your business, the more space, time, and money required to operate it. Being able to use the cloud as needed provides a virtual environment to facilitate this growth. On the other hand, if the business does decline, you know that you won’t be paying for equipment or resources that you no longer need. With cloud computing services, you only pay for what you use.
  • Flexibility: With everything stored and operated via the cloud, you’ve got the flexibility to work from absolutely anywhere in the world. As the traditional workplace concept continues to evolve, cloud computing plays a fundamental role in allowing companies to function virtually. Cloud computing also facilitates connectivity, giving access to files and data from mobile devices.
  • Collaboration: In the same sense, being able to not only save your files, but also create and edit them on the cloud encourages more efficient collaboration. With cloud computing, you can have a team of ten all working from different locations on the same document. This makes organization and resource management within a team simpler than ever.

Advantages of cloud computing for personal use

Outside of the office, there are plenty of ways you can benefit from utilizing cloud solutions at home. The clearest advantage is, of course, the space you’ll save. If you don’t currently use cloud storage, then most of your files are probably saved on your computer or smartphone. If you run out of space on that device, you might opt for an external hard drive, and if that gets filled up, you’ll get a second external hard drive, and so on. Suddenly, it becomes a whole lot trickier to find that old document you urgently need.

Having all your files saved in one virtual place, that doesn’t take up any of your personal space, will help you keep everything organized and under control, while saving you money on buying hardware. It’ll also help improve your operating system's computing power as you migrate a bulk of your files to the cloud.

Sharing with loved ones becomes a whole lot easier, too. You can, for example, set up a collaborative photo album that anyone in your family can access.

That’s why Dropbox is building the world's first smart workspace. By connecting all the content and tools you use, everything is easily accessible. No more switching between platforms, apps, and content types—a smart workspace lets you use them in one place. 

The benefits of cloud computing are evident whether you’re using it at home or work. The cloud increases productivity, improves organization, enhances collaboration, and reduces costs—while keeping your data secure and protected.

Discover a better way to work together.

Get started with Dropbox Business