什麼是加密?這項功能如何運作?

別讓企業的敏感資料暴露在駭客和網路犯罪的風險中。透過加密方式,為組織的安全協定添加多層防護。

裝飾圖片

加密是什麼?

加密是技術處理,藉此將資訊轉為秘密代碼,隱藏您傳送、接收或儲存的資料。演算法本來是用來編碼資料,再由接收方使用解密金鑰解碼資料。包含未加密檔案的解碼訊息即是「純文字」;反之,加密格式的訊息即是「加密文字」。

試想公司檔案、資料夾、裝置保存多少重要資訊。接著想像不肖人士取得這些資訊後,會發生什麼事。舉凡員工的個人資料 (例如地址、社會安全號碼、稅務代碼等)、公司財務和銀行帳戶的詳細資料,您可能有很多僅限授權者存取的資料。加密是保護企業機密資料,不受網路安全性威脅最佳的方式。

無論什麼格式,有紀錄以來便有加密。 古希臘人的加密訊息使用的工具是「密碼棒」,而第二次世界大戰時,德國人使用知名的恩尼格瑪密碼機,保護軍事和外交傳輸。現代加密技術經歷多次更迭,但可大致分為兩類:對稱金鑰演算法和非對稱金鑰演算法。接著我們要進一步探索加密配置。

另外,值得注意的是,加密在確保網際網路瀏覽安全性有重要的作用。很多網站使用安全通訊端層 (SSL) 加密網站傳輸的資料,同時阻止駭客存取傳輸中的資料。但近年,傳輸層安全性 (TLS) 取代 SSL 成為驗證網站原始伺服器的標準加密通訊協定,維護 HTTP 要求和回應的安全性。

理論上,沒有加密金鑰可以解碼加密的檔案,但破解設計完善的加密配置需要龐大的運算能力。這即是俗稱的「暴力密碼破解攻擊」。現代加密方式,尤其牽涉安全性高的密碼時,能抵擋暴力密碼破解攻擊 (駭客破解正確加密的檔案要耗費數十億年),但今後電腦能力更強後,或許暴力密碼破解攻擊會變得更棘手。

加密如何運作?

基本層級時,加密是防止未經授權存取檔案的方式。使用加密後,您可將簡單明瞭的訊息 (「Dropbox 很好用!」) 編碼成加密訊息,即使有人不經意看到訊息的加密格式 (「9itQg7nbV781+f55eXC1Lk」),也無法理解。透過網際網路傳送的加密訊息,抵達目的地後,收件者有方式 (通常是加密金鑰) 轉換加密訊息,恢復原本的格式 (「Dropbox 很好用!」)。

之前我們提到非對稱式加密和對稱式加密。大致上,您主要會遇到這兩種的加密類型,但非對稱式加密和對稱式加密到底如何運作?以下是這些資料加密系統的詳細資訊:

  • 對稱金鑰演算法:在對稱金鑰系統的加密和解密程序均會使用相關或相同加密金鑰。在部分圈子,共享金鑰被稱為「共用密碼」,因為監督加密的寄件者/系統需和授權解密訊息的人分享金鑰。對稱金鑰演算法有各種範例,包括 AES、三重 DES 和 Blowfish。
  • 非對稱金鑰演算法:在別名公開金鑰加密的非對稱金鑰系統,加密和解密程序使用不同金鑰。分別為公開共享、任何人都可使用的金鑰 (所以稱為「公開金鑰加密」) 和私密金鑰。這做法讓非對稱金鑰系統比對稱金鑰演算法安全,因為傳輸時,駭客或網路罪犯無法複製金鑰。非對稱式加密的範例包括 RSA 和 DES。

這是加密程序的重要說明,但加密如何運用在企業?企業應注意的是,很多裝置提供加密作為標準功能。Windows 內建使用 AES 加密演算法的 BitLocker,提供加密功能的完整服務,而 macOS 和 Linux 也提供內建加密選項。另外,若論及加密電子郵件,Microsoft Outlook 和 Apple Mail 等主要電子郵件應用程式有很多內建的加密工具。

加密為什麼重要?

加密現在儼然是企業的本錢。為什麼?首要理由是安全性。Risk Based Security 在《2019 年末資料外洩速覽報告 (2019 Year End Data Breach QuickView Report)》指出,2019 年共有 151 億筆紀錄被揭露,這數字比 2018 年增加 284%。所以 Risk Based Security 宣稱 2019 年是「紀錄災難年」,我們之前看過 2020 年主要資料外洩紀錄,光是 2020 年第一季就有 84 億筆紀錄被揭露 (比 2019 年第一季增加 273%)。加密能協助防止駭客和網路罪犯,保護企業資料安全。如果正確加密,即使裝置遺失或遭竊,貴公司伺服器或裝置的資料也應安全無虞。而且加密通訊應能確保內外部通訊時,不洩漏敏感資料。換句話說,僅使用加密檔案能防止不肖人士取得您的資料。

次要理由是規範方面。很多產業規定企業經手使用者資料時,資料須隨時加密。全球主要信用卡公司制定的常規、支付卡產業資料安全標準 (PCI DSS),即是最好的例子。PCI DSS 12 項主要的要求中規定,直接經手顧客卡片資料的企業「在公開、公用網路應加密傳輸持卡人資料」。不遵守規定可能產生罰鍰、起訴詐欺、中止接受信用卡付款等懲罰。除此之外,政府法規也要求加密。以歐盟 (EU) 為例,GDPR 要求企業實施技術和組織措施,確定安全處理個人資料,即指定加密適當的技術措施。

話說回來,加密實質是什麼?資料外洩的後果可能極其嚴重,尤其是財務方面。企業可能需支付詐欺、金錢失竊、資料損毀或損壞、攻擊後服務中斷、盜用智慧財產以及損失生產力、挪用公款、損壞系統的還原/刪除等費用。另外,您要考慮重大資料外洩,尤其涉及顧客資料外洩時,可能損害商譽,並影響公司後續發展。簡而言之,加密可協助您保護企業,預防彌補資料外洩衍生的成本和時間,確保貴公司是顧客可行、信賴的選擇。

如何使用 Dropbox 加密檔案

邁開安全旅程的第一步時,瞭解如何加密檔案似乎格外艱難。幸好,加密不必和攀登陡峭的高峰一樣。我們之前提到,作業系統常內建加密軟體,但也有很多第三方的加密配置,及提供加強保護的程式。在此,或許您想知道貴企業哪些敏感檔案可以加密?答案很簡單:所有檔案,包括文字檔、資料檔案、電子郵件、磁碟分割和目錄都可以加密,所以無論最容易受攻擊的資訊儲存在什麼位置,瞭解如何加密檔案對您都是有利無弊。

Dropbox 的安全平台提供現在的加密標準,協助保護企業敏感資料,防止暴力密碼破解攻擊、惡意軟體、勒索軟體和資料外洩。加密如何透過 Dropbox 運作?我們的處理方式基本是將檔案分成獨立區塊後,使用強大的編碼器加密各區塊,所以只同步不同修訂版本間有修改內容的區塊。另外,我們的應用程式和伺服器傳輸和存放檔案時,檔案均受到保護。Dropbox 的雲端安全也提供超越傳統加密的企業級加密,讓檔案和資料獲得進階保護。

結語

加密是什麼?簡單來說,在易受攻擊的世界,加密是保護檔案和資料最有效的方式。

What is encryption and how does it work?

Don't leave your business's sensitive data vulnerable to hackers and cyber criminals—supplement your organization's security protocols with encryption.

What is encryption?

Encryption is the technical process by which information is converted to secret code, thereby obscuring the data you’re sending, receiving, or storing. Essentially, an algorithm is used to scramble the data, before the receiving party unscrambles the data using a decryption key. The unscrambled message contained within unencrypted files is referred to as “plaintext,” whereas in its encrypted form, the message is referred to as “ciphertext.”

Think about how much important information is held on your company’s files, folders, and devices. Now imagine what would happen if that information fell into the wrong hands. From personal data about your employees (e.g., their addresses, social security numbers, tax codes, etc.) to details about your company’s finances and bank accounts, you’re likely to have a large amount of data that needs to be restricted to authorized parties. Encryption is one of the best ways to keep your business’s confidential data protected against cyber security threats.

In some form or another, encryption has existed since the dawn of recorded history. The ancient Greeks encrypted messages using a tool called the “scytale,” while in World War II, Germany used their famous Enigma machine to protect military and diplomatic transmissions. Modern encryption techniques have gone through numerous iterations, but they can mostly be broken down into two categories: symmetric key algorithms and asymmetric key algorithms. We’ll explore these encryption schemes in a little more detail later.

It’s also worth noting that encryption plays a significant role in ensuring the safety of your internet browsing. Many websites use a Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) which encrypts data sent to and from the website, stopping hackers from accessing the data while it’s in transit. In recent years, however, Transport Layer Security (TLS) has displaced SSL as the standard encryption protocol for authenticating website origin servers and maintaining the security of HTTP requests and responses.

Theoretically, it is possible to decode encrypted files without an encryption key, but it would require an enormous amount of computational power to crack a well-designed encryption scheme. This is what is meant by the colloquial phrase “brute force attack.” Although modern encryption methods, especially when coupled with strong passwords, are highly resistant to brute force attacks (it would take hackers billions of years to crack properly encrypted files), they may become more of a problem in the future as computers become increasingly powerful.

How does encryption work?

At the most basic level, encryption is a way of preventing unauthorized access to your data. Using encryption, you can encode a simple, clear message (“Dropbox is awesome!”) into a scrambled message that would be incomprehensible to anyone who happened to view it in its encoded form (“9itQg7nbV781+f55eXC1Lk.”) The encrypted message is sent via the internet, and once it arrives at its destination, the recipient will have some way—usually an encryption key—to convert the scrambled message back to its original format (“Dropbox is awesome!”).

Above we mentioned asymmetric encryption and symmetric encryption. Broadly speaking, these are the two main types of encryption that you’ll encounter, but how exactly do they work? Here’s a little more information about these data encryption systems:

  • Symmetric key algorithms: In a symmetric key system, related or identical encryption keys are used for both the encryption and decryption process. In some circles, the shared key is referred to as a “shared secret,” because the sender/system overseeing the encryption must share the key with anyone who is authorized to decrypt the message. There are many different examples of symmetric key algorithms, including AES, Triple DES, and Blowfish.
  • Asymmetric key algorithms: In an asymmetric key system, also referred to as public-key encryption, different keys are used for the encryption and decryption process. One key is shared publicly and can be used by anyone (hence the name “public-key encryption”), while one is private. This makes asymmetric key systems even more secure than symmetric key algorithms, because hackers or cyber criminals can’t copy the key while it’s in transit. Examples of asymmetric encryption include RSA and DES.

So, that’s a top-line description of the encryption process, but how does encryption work for businesses? Well, from the enterprise side, it’s important to note that many devices offer encryption as standard. Windows offers a built-in, full-service encryption feature called BitLocker, which makes use of the AES encryption algorithm, while macOS and Linux also offer built-in encryption options. Moreover, when it comes to encrypting your emails, there are plenty of baked-in encryption tools for major email applications, including Microsoft Outlook and Apple Mail.

Why is encryption important?

Today, encryption is table stakes for enterprise. Why? First, security. According to Risk Based Security’s 2019 Year End Data Breach QuickView Report, over 15.1 billion records were exposed throughout the course of 2019, an increase of 284% over the figures for 2018. The research firm characterized 2019 as the “worst year on record,” and we’ve already seen major data breaches in 2020, with 8.4 billion records exposed in the first quarter of 2020 alone (a 273% increase on Q1 2019). Encryption can help to keep your business’s data safe from hackers and cybercriminals. Assuming it’s properly encrypted, the data on your company’s servers or devices should be secure, even if the device is lost or stolen. Furthermore, encrypted communications should ensure that you’re able to communicate externally and internally without leaking sensitive data. Put simply, dealing only with encrypted files can stop your data from falling into the wrong hands.

Then, there’s the regulatory aspect. Many industrial regulations stipulate that companies handling user data must keep that data encrypted. PCI DSS (Payment Card Industry Data Security Standards), a set of general practices governed by the world’s major credit card companies, is a great example of this. One of the 12 key PCI DSS requirements states that businesses which directly handle their customer’s card data should “Encrypt transmission of cardholder data across open, public networks.” Failure to comply can lead to a broad range of penalties, including monetary fines, liability for fraud charges, and the suspension of your ability to receive credit card payments. There are also many governmental regulations that demand encryption. In the European Union (EU), for example, GDPR requires businesses to implement technical and organizational measures to ensure personal data is processed securely. Encryption is listed as an appropriate technical measure.

But what does encryption mean in real terms? The consequences of data breaches can be devastating, particularly financially. Your business may end up footing the bill for a broad range of costs, including fraud, stolen money, damage or destruction of data, post-attack service disruption, embezzlement, and the restoration/deletion of damaged systems. You may also wish to consider the reputational harm that a major data breach, particularly a breach pertaining to customer data, can have on a business, and what sort of impact that’s likely to have on your company’s prospects moving forwards. In short, encryption can help keep your business safe from the cost and time-intensive process of recovering from a data breach, ensuring that your company remains a viable, trustworthy option for consumers.

How to encrypt files with Dropbox

When you’re first starting out on your security journey, learning how to encrypt files can seem like a pretty steep mountain to climb. Fortunately, it doesn’t have to be. As we mentioned earlier, encryption software is often baked into your operating system, although there’s also a broad range of third-party encryption schemes and programs that can provide you with increased protection. But, in any case, you’re probably wondering which of your business’s sensitive files can be encrypted? Simple answer: virtually any file—including text files, data files, emails, disk partitions, and directories—can be encrypted, so regardless of where your most vulnerable information is stored, learning how to encrypt files can be advantageous.

Dropbox’s secure platform offers modern encryption standards that can help keep your business’s sensitive data safe from brute force attacks, malware, ransomware, and data breaches. So, how does encryption work in Dropbox? Essentially, we process your files by splitting them up into discrete blocks. Each block is encrypted with a strong cipher and only blocks that have been modified between revisions are synchronized. Furthermore, your files are protected when they’re in transit between our apps and servers, as well as when they’re at rest. Dropbox also offers enterprise-grade encrypted cloud security that goes beyond traditional encryption, providing you with an even greater level of protection for your files and data.

Final word

So, what is encryption? Simply put, encryption is one of the most effective ways to keep your files and data protected in an increasingly vulnerable world.

Learn how you and your team can do more with Dropbox.

Get started now