Your files will transfer to Dropbox in the background – no need to keep your computer on or stare at a status bar. You’ll receive a notification when the transfer's finished, at which point you’ll see the files in a new 'Photo Transfer' folder. Everything will be grouped by album, ready for you to organise whatever way works best for you. And with everything in Dropbox, you’ll have control over who exactly has access to your photos and videos. Your files will be private by default, and from there, you can share them with anyone, no one or just a few select people.
"At Dropbox, our goal is to provide products and services that make our users’ digital lives easier and less chaotic, so they can really focus on what matters”, said Jamie Young Perlman, VP of Business Development at Dropbox. “That’s why today we’re excited to partner with Facebook on a data portability tool that gives users the ability to transfer their Facebook photos and videos to Dropbox with just a few clicks. People no longer accept being locked into one service or product, and want the freedom to use the diverse tools they love. We’ll continue to look for ways to seamlessly integrate with best-in-breed products so that we can serve as the connective platform for all of today’s leading productivity tools and devices".