FTP 是什麼?

該如何有效率地傳輸大型檔案或檔案集合?歡迎深入探究檔案傳輸協定 (FTP),瞭解更多如 SFTP 即服務等 FTP 替代產品的詳細資訊。

FTP 是什麼?

FTP 是檔案傳輸協定的縮寫,接下來會逐一解釋。基本上,「協定」是讓電子裝置相互溝通的一組程序或規則。FTP 是 TCP/IP 網路 (網際網路) 上的裝置用來傳輸檔案的一套規則。使用網際網路時,其實就在使用各種不同協定。想要瀏覽網頁,會使用到 HTTP。想要收發即時訊息,會使用到 XMPP。FTP 就是用來到處檔案移動的協定。

什麼是 FTP 伺服器?

FTP 伺服器是讓檔案從某台裝置傳輸至另一台裝置的軟體應用程式。聽起來可能很複雜,但基本上 FTP 伺服器就是具備 FTP 位址且專門用來接收 FTP 連線的電腦。這些伺服器負責執行兩項簡單工作:「取得」與「放置」。簡單來說,您可以從 FTP 伺服器「取得」檔案,或者在 FTP 伺服器上放置檔案。上傳檔案時,這些檔案會從您的個人裝置傳輸到伺服器;而在下載檔案時,這些檔案會從伺服器傳輸到個人裝置上。因此,以最基本的層面來說,FTP 伺服器是收件者和寄件者之間的中間點。

FTP 如何運作?

FTP 是一種主從式協定。換句話說,用戶端要求檔案,而伺服器則提供檔案。這樣一來,FTP 建立連線時需要兩種基本通道:命令通道 (負責啟動指令並攜帶基本資訊,即欲存取哪些檔案) 和資料通道 (在兩個裝置之間傳輸檔案資料)。為了建立連線,使用者需要向 FTP 伺服器提供登入資料,FTP 伺服器通常會將 21 號連接埠選為預設通訊模式。還需注意一點,FTP 有兩種連線模式:主動式和被動式。

在主動模式下,伺服器會主動核准資料請求。不過,主動模式有時可能會因防火牆而發生問題,即防火牆會封鎖來自第三方未經授權的工作階段。這時被動模式就能派上用場。在被動模式下,伺服器不會主動維持連線,而是由使用者同時建立資料通道和命令通道。基本上,伺服器「聽令」但不主動參與,而是由其他裝置來處理大部分工作。

FTP 負責解決什麼問題?

FTP 通常用於處理大量檔案,也因此往往是在網頁開發中發揮用處。變更網站內容時,可透過 FTP 工作階段管理檔案傳輸作業,如此可輕鬆上傳特定檔案,新增影像檔,以及移動網站範本等等。同理,專業 IT 人員可能也會利用檔案傳輸協定,在封閉系統內傳輸大批次的伺服器檔案。

FTP 有何優缺點?

FTP 有許多值得一提的優點。由於 FTP 已存在很長時間,這項協定對大多數人來說都不陌生,也有許多桌面工具讓 FTP 的操作變得相當直觀,包括 FileZilla、WinSCP、Cyberduck 等。此外,FTP 還具備許多實用功能,像是能同時傳輸多個檔案,可在連線中斷後恢復檔案傳輸,還能排定傳輸作業。

然而,FTP 的一大缺點就是安全性不足。FTP 發明於 1970 年代,早於現代社會所仰賴的諸多網路安全措施。FTP 的設計目標並不是做為安全協定,FTP 傳輸並未加密,這表示駭客擷取資料封包後 (即封包擷取攻擊),就能相對輕易地讀取密碼、使用者名稱和其他敏感資料。

鑑於這些安全漏洞,對 FTP 的支援服務正在減少,市面上也出現了各種不同的替代選項,包含 SFTP、HTTPS、AS2 和 FTPS。自 2020 年起,Google Chrome 預設為關閉 FTP,而 Firefox 則從程式碼中移除了 FTP。因此如果仍在使用 FTP 伺服器執行重要的業務功能,現在也許就是尋找替代產品的好時機。接下來,讓我們深入瞭解其中一種 FTP 替代方案:SFTP。

SFTP 是什麼?

如果您對 FTP 有所研究,大概曾經看過「SFTP」一詞。那麼 SFTP 是什麼?基本上,SFTP (又名 SSH 檔案傳輸協定) 是種透過安全外殼協定 (SSH) 資料串流來運作的獨立協定,可在檔案傳輸時提供較高的保護層級。SFTP 使用 22 號連接埠,而不是 FTP 用戶端所使用的 21 號連接埠。由於 FTP 協定並不安全,通常會比較偏好使用 SFTP。因為 SFTP 提供了基本的安全功能,而且能以揹負式機制進行 SSH 連線。

如何運用 Dropbox 取代 FTP 伺服器?

隨著 FTP 支援服務日益減少,網路安全威脅也變得越來越複雜,建議開始尋找替代選項,以供存取、傳輸及管理業務檔案。Dropbox 可以有效替代 FTP,提供安全又不費力的共享檔案方式。怎麼操作?很簡單。Dropbox Transfer 是種簡單又安全的檔案傳輸服務,最適合傳送大型檔案 (您可以傳輸高達 100 GB 的檔案給任何人,無論對方是否有 Dropbox 帳戶)。另外,Dropbox Transfer 會提供下載通知以便確認檔案傳輸狀態,還能利用密碼保護功能來控制存取權,有助於確保只有需要查看檔案的人才能檢視檔案。

結語

總之,什麼是 FTP?雖然 FTP 是有效的傳輸檔案方式,但已經有些過時,現在也有其他網路協定能加以取代,像是 SFTP 即服務。此外,Dropbox 能提供效果良好的檔案共享解決方案,讓企業能迅速且輕鬆傳輸大型檔案或檔案集。

What is FTP?

Do you know how to transfer large files or collections of files effectively? Explore FTP, the File Transfer Protocol, in more depth, and learn more about FTP alternatives like SFTP as a service.

What does FTP stand for?

FTP stands for File Transfer Protocol. Let’s break this down. Essentially, a “protocol” is a set of procedures or rules that allow electronic devices to communicate with one another. FTP is the set of rules that devices on a TCP/IP network (the internet) use to transfer files. When you use the internet, you’re actually using a range of different protocols. For browsing, you’ll use HTTP. For sending and receiving instant messages, you’ll use XMPP. FTP is simply the protocol used to move files around.

What is an FTP server?

FTP servers are the software applications that enable the transfer of files from one device to another. It might sound complicated, but essentially, FTP servers are just computers that have an FTP address and are dedicated to receiving FTP connections. They perform two simple tasks: “get” and “put.” In short, you can either “get” files from the FTP server or “put” files on the FTP server. When you upload files, they’ll be transferred from your personal device to the server. Alternatively, when you download files, they’ll be transferred from the server to your personal device. At the most basic level, therefore, FTP servers are the midpoint between the recipient and the sender.

How does FTP work?

FTP is a client-server protocol. In other words, the client requests the files, and the server provides them. As such, FTP requires two basic channels to establish a connection: the command channel (initiates the instruction, carries basic information, i.e., which files are to be accessed) and the data channel (transfers the file data between the two devices). To establish a connection, users will need to provide credentials to the FTP server, which typically uses port number 21 as its default mode of communication. It’s also important to note that there are two distinct FTP connection modes: active and passive.

In the active mode, the server takes an active role by approving a request for data. However, the active mode can sometimes run into issues with firewalls, which block unauthorized sessions from third parties. That’s when the passive mode comes into play. In passive mode, the server doesn’t actively maintain the connection, meaning that the user establishes both the data channel and the command channel. Essentially, the server “listens,” but doesn’t actively participate, allowing the other device to handle the bulk of the work.

What problems does FTP solve?

FTP is often used to handle large numbers of files, which is why it can often come in handy in web development. When making changes to a website, you can manage file transfers with an FTP session, which provides a simple way upload specific files, add image files, move web templates, and so on. Similarly, IT professionals may also use the File Transfer Protocol to transfer large batches of server files within a closed system.

What are the pros and cons of FTP?

FTP has a couple of benefits that are important to mention. Since it’s been around for a long period of time, most people are already familiar with the protocol, and there are lots of desktop tools—including FileZilla, WinSCP, Cyberduck, and more—that make using FTP reasonably straightforward. It’s also worth noting that FTP has a couple of useful features, such as the ability to transfer multiple files at the same time, the ability to resume a transfer if the connection is lost, and the ability to schedule transfers.

However, there’s one significant drawback associated with FTP, and that’s the lack of security. FTP was invented in the 1970s, and as such, it predates many of the cybersecurity measures that we’ve come to rely on in the modern world. It wasn’t designed to be a secure protocol and FTP transfers aren’t encrypted, which means that your passwords, usernames, and other sensitive data can be read relatively easily by hackers capturing your data packets (i.e. via a packet capture attack).

Because of these security holes, support for FTP is dropping and a range of different replacement options have come onto the market, including SFTP, HTTPS, AS2, and FTPS. As of 2020, Google Chrome switches off FTP by default and Firefox has removed FTP from its code. So, if you’re still using FTP servers for important business functions, it may be a good time to look for an alternative. Now, let’s look at one of these FTP replacements—SFTP—in a little more detail.

What is SFTP?

If you’ve been researching FTP, you’ll probably have encountered the term “SFTP” at some point. So, what is SFTP? Essentially, SFTP (also known as the SSH File Transfer Protocol) is a separate protocol that works over the Secure Shell (SSH) data stream to provide a higher level of protection when you’re transferring files. Unlike FTP clients, which use port number 21, SFTP uses port number 22. Because FTP is an insecure protocol, SFTP is often preferable, as it provides underlying security features and offers the ability to piggyback on an SSH connection.

How can Dropbox be used in place of an FTP server?

As support for FTP dwindles and cyber security threats become increasingly sophisticated, it could pay to look for alternative options for accessing, transferring, and managing your business’s files. Dropbox can be an effective ftp alternative, offering a secure and stress-free way to share files. How? Simple. Dropbox Transfer is a simple and secure file transfer service that’s ideal for delivering large files (you can transfer up to 100 GB to anyone, regardless of whether they have a Dropbox account). In addition, Dropbox Transfer will confirm delivery of your file transfers with download notifications and provides you with the ability to control access with password protection, helping to ensure that your files are only viewed by the people who need to see them.

Final word

So, what is FTP? Well, while FTP is an effective way to transfer files, it’s somewhat outdated and has been surpassed by some of the other network protocols, such as SFTP as a service, that are now available. Moreover, Dropbox could offer an effective file sharing solution for businesses looking for a way to quickly and easily transfer a large file or collection of files.

Learn how you and your team can do more with Dropbox.

Get started now