艾森豪矩陣是什麼?

艾森豪矩陣是從艾森豪 (Dwight D. Eisenhower) 首創的策略技巧發展而來,這套時間管理工具可提升工作優先排序及工作量管理的能力。

艾森豪矩陣是什麼?

幾乎沒有人希望自己效率低落,至少在工作上不會如此。但一整天下來,工作清單上的事項越積越多,您開始忙著處理緊急事務,想要維持工作效率變得越來越艱難。不管是快要錯過重要的截止日期,還是在奮力追趕長期專案的進度,工作落後與超前的差異之處,就在於能否有效安排工作項目的優先順序。此時就該活用「艾森豪矩陣」管理法。

瞭解艾森豪矩陣

艾森豪矩陣 (也稱為「艾森豪方格」或「緊急/重要矩陣」) 是一種簡單方便的架構,可用來排定工作項目的優先順序和管理工作量。這種作法是以美國第 34 任總統暨五星上將艾森豪 (Dwight D. Eisenhower) 命名。艾森豪以傑出的工作效率聞名,他設定目標與時間管理的方法受到許多人廣泛研究,Stephen Covey也是其中之一。Covey 在《The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People》一書中,將艾森豪的概念重新包裝,變成一種簡易的工作項目優先度排序方法:艾森豪矩陣。

所以,什麼是艾森豪矩陣?基本上,透過這種策略,就能將艾森豪的以下名言付諸實踐:「我有兩種事情要處理:緊急的事和重要的事。緊急的不重要,重要的不緊急。」只需做一件事:根據急迫性和重要性,評估手頭上的工作項目。

艾森豪方格如何運作?

公司企業與一般個人,都能運用艾森豪矩陣來規劃、委派、排定優先順序及安排每日或每週的工作項目。將工作項目逐一排進以下四個象限中,即可判斷工作的急迫程度,以此制訂合適的工作處理方式:

  • 第一象限:緊急且重要 (須立即完成的工作項目)。這些工作非常重要,必須盡快「優先處理」,通常是因為意外情況而在緊要關頭出現的要求。一般來說,這類工作應立即完成,或在當天結束。比方說接手生病同事的專案,或者是因應預料之外的緊急情況,例如供應鏈中斷。

  • 第二象限:重要但不緊急 (可安排稍後完成的工作)。這類屬於重要的長期目標或工作,但沒有確切的期限,因此可排定之後再完成。例如考取專業資格,或是規劃預算刪減等長期的業務目標。

  • 第三象限:緊急但不重要 (可委派給他人的工作)。這類工作需要立即完成,但可能並未重要到需要親自費神處理,可將這些工作分派給其他團隊成員。相關例子包括例行公事,或是冗長卻目的不明的會議或電話。

  • 第四象限:既不緊急也不重要 (須剔除的工作)。這類工作會分散注意力,應盡可能避免。在許多情況下,可直接忽略或取消此類工作。像是社交活動,或是非必要又漫長的下午茶休息時間。

簡單來說,艾森豪方格可幫助您依據重要性和急迫性,以視覺化方式呈現手上的工作項目。開始運用這些分類來思考工作量後,就比較容易保障最重要的工作會受到優先處理並盡快完成。

如何區分急迫性和重要性?

建立優先順序矩陣時,想要區分某項工作屬於急迫還是重要,並沒有一套通用的標準公式,但一定要多加思考兩者間的差異。比起製作抽象的艾森豪方格,想在現實中分辨這兩種類別,通常確實更為困難。簡而言之,所謂的緊急工作代表難以避免,且必須立即處理;重要工作則需要多加規劃,而有助於實現長期目標。舉例來說,接聽重要客戶的電話就相當急迫,持續關注自身領域的最新研究則屬於重要工作。

艾森豪矩陣有什麼優勢?

艾森豪緊急/重要矩陣的一大優勢在於容易實行。不必購買昂貴的軟體套件,也不需要花費大量時間製作矩陣。藉著優先矩陣設下清楚明確的優先順序後,通常便可改善時間管理的效率。這個方法尤其適合管理高層或業主,另外像自由工作者可能需要同時處理不同專案或客戶的多項工作,也很適合使用。

艾森豪矩陣有什麼缺點?

艾森豪矩陣有些缺點存在。最大缺點在於工作的重要性往往很難精準判定。即是最終有可能將工作委派給錯誤的資源,而導致品質下跌。還有一點必須注意,就是處理緊急活動時,不見得每次都能立即採取行動。缺乏知識,時間不足,再加上種種規定和官僚體制,又或者手邊同時有多項緊急又重要的工作,都是難以立即行動的因素,進而導致優先矩陣在決策下達與時間管理方面的效果變差。

如何利用艾森豪方格管理工作項目和工作量

緊急/重要矩陣可謂工作與專案管理的絕佳起點。將工作項目分配到合適的象限之後,即可開始訂定時間管理流程,以便及時處理重要活動。舉例來說,您可以透過 Dropbox 更有效率地管理待辦清單。可活用這類工作管理工具,將緊急但不重要的工作指派給其他團隊成員,至於可待後日處理的不緊急重要工作,也能設定相應的到期日和提醒。

在工作場域中推行自動化工具同樣值得考慮。在可能的情況下,自動化是處理待辦工作的好方法,而且在實際投入使用之前,無須進行太多計畫或分析工作。透過 Dropbox 的自動化工具或整合功能,即可有效「委派」緊急但不重要的 Q3 工作項目,為企業節省時間。您可以在 Dropbox Paper 中指派工作項目給工作團隊成員並設定截止日期,或是從 Dropbox 檔案直接移到團隊成員的 Trello 卡片中。有了自動化內容匯入工具的幫忙,您可以剔除耗時、容易出錯又恐會導致瓶頸的工作項目,確保您和團隊的工作效率在未來有所提升。

此外,建議考慮結合艾森豪方格與其他時間管理方法,以期獲得更佳成效。這邊以「吃青蛙」為例。這項法則源自於馬克・吐溫的名言,他曾說:「假如你的工作是生吃一隻青蛙,那麼最好每天早上第一件事就是吃青蛙。」放到商業領域來看,這表示應該先應付最龐大或最複雜的工作,再來才處理較小型的工作,這些小工作的優先順序可按其他因素排定,像是截止日期。除此之外還有 ABCDE 法,基本上就是將工作項目按重要程度排列,為每項工作標上字母等級,接著再依字母順序逐一完成。

結語

艾森豪方格可說是極度有效的工作與時間管理工具。只要學會如何有效率地排定工作的優先順序,就能提升工作效率,剔除浪費時間的活動,大步朝向長期業務目標邁進。

What is the Eisenhower Matrix?

Improve your task prioritization and workload management skills with the Eisenhower Matrix, a time management tool based on strategies and techniques pioneered by Dwight D. Eisenhower.

What is the Eisenhower Matrix?

Being unproductive is rarely anyone’s intent, least of all at work. But as the day goes on and you start fielding urgent requests as your task list starts to mount up, it becomes increasingly difficult to maintain that commitment to productivity. Whether you’re missing key deadlines or struggling to stay on track with long-term projects, effective task prioritization could be the difference between lagging behind and leading the pack. This is where the Eisenhower Matrix comes in.

Understanding the Eisenhower Matrix

The Eisenhower Matrix—also known as the Eisenhower Box or the Urgent/Important Matrix—is a simple framework for prioritizing tasks and managing workload. It’s named after Dwight D. Eisenhower, a five-star general and the 34th president of the United States. Eisenhower was known for his incredible levels of productivity, so much so that his approach to goal-setting and time management has been comprehensively studied by a wide range of people, one of whom was Stephen Covey. In his book “The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People,” Covey repackaged Eisenhower’s ideas into a simple tool for task prioritization: the Eisenhower Matrix.

So, what is the Eisenhower Matrix? Essentially, it’s a strategy that allows you to put into practice the following quote attributed to Eisenhower: "I have two kinds of problems, the urgent and the important. The urgent are not important, and the important are never urgent." All you need to do is evaluate your tasks according to urgency and importance.

How does the Eisenhower Box work?

Businesses and individuals can use the Eisenhower Matrix to plan, delegate, prioritize, and schedule daily or weekly tasks. By assigning tasks to one of the four quadrants below, you can determine how urgent they are and work out how to deal with them in an appropriate manner:

  • First Quadrant: Urgent and important (tasks to complete immediately)—these are “do first” tasks that are vital to deal with as soon as possible. They’re usually last-minute requests that arise due to unforeseen circumstances. Generally, tasks like this should be completed immediately or on the same day. Examples include covering a project for a sick colleague or dealing with an unforeseen emergency, such as a supply chain disruption.

  • Second Quadrant: Important, but not urgent (tasks to schedule for later)—these are long-term goals/tasks that are important, but don’t have a particularly firm deadline, so you can schedule them for completion later. Examples include gaining a professional qualification or planning for long-term business target, such as budget reduction.

  • Third Quadrant: Urgent, but not important (tasks to delegate to someone else)—these tasks need to be completed immediately, but they may not be important enough to require your attention, which means that they can be delegated to other members of your team. Examples include routine work, or lengthy meetings/phone calls without a clear purpose.

  • Fourth Quadrant: Neither urgent nor important (tasks to eliminate)—these tasks are a distraction and should be avoided if possible. In many cases, you can simply ignore or cancel these types of tasks. Examples include social activities or unnecessarily long tea/coffee breaks.

Put simply, using the Eisenhower Box can help you visualize your tasks within the context of importance and urgency. When you start thinking about your workload in these terms, it’s much easier to ensure that the most important tasks get prioritized and completed as quickly as possible.

How do you distinguish between urgency and importance?

There’s no universal formula to determine the distinction between urgency and importance when you’re creating a Priority Matrix, but it’s something that’s vital to consider. More often than not, the distinction between these two categories in the real world is decidedly more difficult to determine than it is when you’re producing an abstract Eisenhower Box. In a nutshell, urgent tasks are unavoidable and require immediate attention, whereas important tasks require more planning and contribute to long-term goals. For example, answering phone calls from a major client is urgent while keeping up with the latest research in your field is important.

What are the advantages of the Eisenhower Matrix?

One of the key advantages of Eisenhower’s Urgent/Important Matrix is how easy it is to implement. There’s no need to purchase a costly software package and you don’t need to spend a significant amount of time producing the matrix. More generally, the Priority Matrix enables you to improve your time management by setting clear and unambiguous priorities. This is especially useful for people in management or ownership positions, as well as freelancers who may need to juggle tasks from several different projects or clients at any one time.

What are the disadvantages of the Eisenhower Matrix?

There are a couple of disadvantages associated with the Prioritization Matrix. Most significantly, it’s often difficult to determine the importance of a task accurately. This means that you may end up delegating a task to the wrong resource and experience a drop in quality. Furthermore, it’s important to remember that it may not always be possible to act immediately when you’re dealing with urgent activities. Lack of knowledge, lack of time, regulations and bureaucracy, or multiple urgent/important tasks can make that impossible, rendering the Priority Matrix a little less effective when it comes to decision-making and time management.

How to use the Eisenhower Box to manage your tasks and workload

The Urgent/Important Matrix can be an excellent starting point for work and project management. After you’ve assigned your tasks to the appropriate quadrant, you can start setting up time management processes to help you deal with important activities in a timely fashion. For example, you could use Dropbox to manage your to-do list more effectively. You can use these task management tools to assign urgent/non-important tasks to other members of your team, while you can also set due dates and reminders for important/non-urgent tasks that can be scheduled for a later date.

It may also be worth thinking about implementing workplace automation tools. Automation—where possible—is a great way to deal with tasks that need to be done, but don’t require very much planning or analysis before you jump in. Using automation tools or integrations in Dropbox you can “delegate” Q3 tasks (urgent, but not important) in a way that’s time-efficient for your business. You can assign tasks to team members in Dropbox Paper with deadlines, or port them directly into Trello cards for your team members from Dropbox files. Automatic content ingest tools can help you eliminate time-consuming, error-prone tasks that are likely to cause bottlenecks, ensuring that you and your team work more productively in the future.

Furthermore, you should consider combining the Eisenhower Box with other time management approaches for a better result. For example, Eat the Frog. Eat the Frog stems from a saying from Mark Twain, who stated, “If it’s your job to eat a frog, it’s best to do it first thing in the morning.” In a business context, this means that you should tackle your biggest or most complex task first, before moving onto the smaller tasks that you can prioritize based on other factors, like deadlines. There’s also the ABCDE method, wherein you essentially take your tasks and assign them a letter value based on order of importance, before completing them in that order.

Final thoughts

The Eisenhower Box can be an extremely effective tool for task and time management. By learning how to prioritize tasks effectively, you can improve your workplace efficiency, eliminate time-wasting activities, and build towards your long-term business goals.

Learn how you and your team can do more with Dropbox.

Get started now