ZIP 檔案是什麼?

ZIP 檔案能為企業節省儲存空間,並縮短電子郵件傳輸時間。

ZIP 檔案是什麼?

檔案壓縮是數位工作場域中重要的一環。我們可以用前所未有的速度傳送更多資料,ZIP 檔也因此是全球企業的愛用工具。但什麼是 ZIP 檔案?

ZIP 檔案說明

ZIP 是一種廣為使用的封存檔案格式,用來將一個或多個檔案壓縮到同個位置,進而減少整體檔案大小,使檔案傳輸變得更加容易。ZIP 檔案的運作方式與電腦上的標準資料夾大致相同。不過,在壓縮檔案裡,資料夾內容會經過壓縮,而減少電腦所使用的資料量。因此,若想知道如何縮小檔案大小,研究 ZIP 檔案格式十分有用。

如何辨別 ZIP 封存檔案?很簡單,只要看到檔案名稱尾端的副檔名是 .ZIP 或 .zip,那就是 ZIP 檔。ZIP 檔案格式已經存在一段時間了,於 1986 年由 Phil Katz 發明。Katz 起初在公司裡的 PKZip 程式中執行 ZIP 檔案,後來逐漸普及。儘管目前有許多不同的檔案封存格式,由於 WinZip 程式在 1990 年代大為流行,因此最常用的格式大概還是 ZIP。

ZIP 檔案如何運作?

ZIP 檔案會將資訊編碼成較少的位元數,透過移除重複資料來減少檔案大小。這就是所謂的「無損資料壓縮」,確保所有原始資料維持原樣。以下用簡短的例子來解釋其運作方式。

請想像有個檔案含有下方的句子:

  • 最適合貴公司的檔案分享和儲存平台
  • 貴公司最適合的檔案分享和儲存平台

檔案中每個單字都出現兩次。假如檔案中的每個字母和空格都等於一個記憶體單位,則整個檔案大小就是 110 個單位。不過,如果您為這份檔案建立編號代碼,那麼資料又能以另一種方式呈現:

  • 1 – 最
  • 2 – 適合
  • 3 – 檔案分享
  • 4 – 和
  • 5 – 儲存
  • 6 – 平台
  • 7 – 的
  • 8 – 貴
  • 9 – 公司

也就是說,這個句子現在可讀作:128973456891273456。這表示原本占 110 個單位的初始檔案大小,可以減少到僅 18 個單位,節省了很大的空間。ZIP 檔案格式利用無損壓縮演算法來做到這一點,只要移除檔案中重複的資料,便能用更具效率的方式呈現相同資訊。

工作中使用 ZIP 檔案的時機

ZIP 檔案在企業場域中有很多可能的用途。能夠透過電子郵件傳送大量檔案是首要之務。假如需要傳送大批檔案給同事或客戶,不必花費大把時間和精力,逐一上傳電子郵件附件檔案,還得等前一個檔案上傳完成才能再次附加檔案;您可以一次壓縮所有文件,再將單個 ZIP 檔案附加到電子郵件即可。另外也須考量到 ZIP 格式所提供的潛在儲存解決方案。您不用保留所有原始大小的業務檔案,壓縮檔案能大幅減少舊檔案所需佔用的空間。

ZIP 檔案格式有哪些優缺點?

既然已對壓縮檔案有所瞭解,也必須深入探討這種封存檔案的潛在優缺點,尤其是該如何進一步縮減檔案大小。最顯而易見的一點,就是 ZIP 為使用者提供了節省儲存空間及提升電腦效率的大好機會。ZIP 也能有效改善電子郵件傳輸效果,讓您以較小的檔案更迅速傳送電子郵件。此外,ZIP 檔案格式會將私人資料加密,這點在透過網際網路傳送檔案時向來格外重要。簡單來說,這是一種讓檔案處理效率最大化的簡單方法。只要在想壓縮的檔案上按右鍵,選擇 [傳送至],接著按一下 [壓縮資料夾] 就大功告成了。

不過,ZIP 封存檔案有些缺點需要注意。最重要的是,有些檔案經過壓縮後並不會比原始檔案小上許多,像是 MP3 檔案和 JPG 檔案。因此,如需大量處理影片和影像檔案,ZIP 格式可能無法替您節省太多儲存空間。再來需要考慮壓縮檔案的安全層面問題。雖然檔案壓縮完成時已經過加密,但最初將資料上傳到檔案壓縮應用程式時,您無從得知這些資料發生了什麼事,也無法阻止資料落入有心人士手中。您當然可以使用 Windows 和 Apple 所提供的內建壓縮功能,但假如是使用第三方供應商的外部壓縮應用程式,資料安全永遠會有所疑慮。另外也須注意 ZIP 副檔名可能會損毀,在某些情況下,損毀的資料可能還會影響整個 ZIP 資料夾。

7z 檔是什麼?

研究 ZIP 檔案時,大概會看到「7z 檔」或「7-ZIP」等詞彙。什麼是 7z 檔案,與 ZIP 格式相比有何不同?7z 與 ZIP 和 RAR 等其他封存格式很類似,重點是 7z 檔使用的壓縮率比較高。這表示每個檔案的 MB 數較少,使用者因而能節省更多儲存空間。雖然 7z 檔案的處理時間可能稍長,但如果想以最有效的方式減少檔案大小,這種封存檔案大概正是首選。

ZIP 檔案有哪些替代方案?

ZIP 檔案當然不是唯一的檔案壓縮方式。封存檔案類型有很多選擇,包括 RAR、TAR 和 7z,還有封存工具和檔案壓縮軟體,像是 WinRAR、ZIPx 和 PeaZip。正如先前所述,ZIP 檔案有各種相關的潛在問題,包括等候時間較長、加入重複的檔案、檔案大小限制及檔案損毀。

與其忙著使用各種檔案壓縮應用程式,雲端儲存可作為 ZIP 檔案的替代方案,再也不需要壓縮任何檔案。以 Dropbox 為例,若想儲存或傳送大型檔案,不必經過漫長的多步驟程序,只要按一下 [共享] 即可傳送原始大小的檔案或資料夾,且無需壓縮。您可以儲存及共享多達 50 GB 的檔案,這種檔案共享方式快速又可靠,而且不會佔用收件匣或電腦磁碟的儲存空間。不過,即使需要處理壓縮檔案,Dropbox 也是理想的平台,能支援 ZIP 和 RAR 檔案預覽,提供上傳後壓縮功能,還有支援編輯。

結語

簡單來說,ZIP 檔案是讓儲存或傳輸資料更有效率的方法,但並非壓縮檔案的唯一方式,因此請務必研究各種壓縮選項,找出最能滿足需求的封存檔案系統。

What is a ZIP file?

Help your business save storage space and speed up email transmission time with ZIP files.

What is a ZIP file?

File compression is an incredibly important part of the digital workspace. We can send more data at faster speeds than has ever been possible, which is why ZIP files are such a popular tool for businesses all across the world. But a ZIP file?

ZIP files explained

ZIP is a widely used archive file format that’s used to compress one or more files together into a single location, reducing the overall size, and making it easier to transport the files. ZIP files work in much the same way as a standard folder on your computer. However, with zipped files, the contents of the folder are compressed, reducing the amount of data used by your computer. So, if you want to know how to make a file smaller, it’s in your best interest to investigate the ZIP file format.

So, how can you identify a ZIP archive file? Simple. Whenever you see the extensions .ZIP or .zip at the end of a file, you’re looking at a ZIP file. The ZIP file format has been around for a time, having been invented by Phil Katz back in 1986. Initially, Katz implemented ZIP files in his company’s PKZip program, but their usage eventually became widespread, and while there are many different file archive formats, ZIP is probably the most commonly used, primarily due to the popularity of the WinZip program in the 1990s.

How do ZIP files work?

ZIP files encode information into fewer bits—thereby reducing the size of the file or files—by removing redundant data. This is what’s referred to as “lossless data compression,” which ensures all of the original data is kept intact. Let’s look at a quick example to explain how this works.

Imagine a file that contains the following sentences:

  • The best sharing and storage solution for your business
  • Your business solution for the best sharing and storage

Each word in this file appears twice. Now, if each character and space in the file equals one unit of memory, then the entire file size would be 110 units. However, if you create a numbered code for the file, the data can be expressed in a different way:

  • 1 – The
  • 2 – best
  • 3 – sharing
  • 4 – and
  • 5 – storage
  • 6 – solution
  • 7 – for
  • 8 – your
  • 9 – business

Or to put it a different way, the sentence would now read: 123456789896712345. This means that the initial file size of 110 units can be reduced to just 18 units, which is a massive saving. The ZIP file format uses lossless compression algorithms to do exactly that, allowing you to express the same information in a more efficient way by simply removing the redundant data from the file.

When to use ZIP files at work

There are a broad range of potential uses for zipped files in a business setting. Being able to send large numbers of files over email is imperative. Say you need to send a big batch of files across to a colleague or client. Rather than laboriously uploading each file one by one as an email attachment, having to wait for each file to upload before attaching the next, you can simply zip all the documents at once and attach a single ZIP file to your email. You should also consider the potential storage solutions that the ZIP format provides. Rather than retaining all your business files in their original sizes, zipping the files can help to significantly reduce the amount of space that your old files take up.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of the ZIP file format?

Now that you know a little more about zipped files, it’s important to explore the potential advantages and disadvantages of using this type of archive file, particularly with regard to how to make a file smaller. First, and most obviously, ZIP provides users with the opportunity to save storage space and increase the efficiency of their computer. It’s also an effective way to improve email transfers, as you’ll be able to send emails much more quickly with smaller files. Furthermore, the ZIP file format will encrypt your private data, which is always important when you’re sending files over the internet. In short, it’s a really simple way to maximize the efficiency of your file handling. Simply right click on the files you want to zip, select “Send to,” click “Compressed (zipped) folder,” and you’re good to go.

However, there are a number of disadvantages associated with ZIP archive files that you should be aware of. Most importantly, some files cannot be compressed much more than they already are, including MP3 files and JPG files. So, if you work extensively with video and image files, the ZIP format might not help you save very much storage space. Then, you need to think about the security aspect of zipped files. Although zipped files are encrypted on completion, there’s no way for you to know what’s happening with your data when it’s initially uploaded to a file compression app, and no way to stop it falling into the wrong hands. Of course, you can use the built-in zipping functions that are available in Windows and Apple, but if you’re using an external compression app from a third-party provider, data security will always be a concern. It’s also worth remembering that ZIP file extensions can also get corrupted, and in some cases, corrupted data can affect the entire ZIP folder.

What is a 7z file?

When you’re researching ZIP files, you’ll probably come across the term “7z file” or “7-ZIP.” But what is a 7z file and how does it differ from the ZIP format? It’s very similar to other archiving formats like ZIP and RAR, but crucially, 7z files use a higher compression ratio. This means that there are fewer megabytes in each file, ensuring that users can make even greater storage savings. While 7z files may take a little longer to process, it’s likely to be the archive file of choice for anyone who’s focused on learning how to make file sizes smaller in the most effective way.

What are the alternatives to ZIP files?

Of course, the ZIP file format isn’t the only game in town when it comes to file compression. There are a broad range of archive file types, including RAR, TAR, and 7z, as well as archiver and file compression software, such as WinRAR, ZIPx and PeaZip. But, as we’ve mentioned, there are a range of potential issues associated with ZIP files, including long wait-times, duplicated files, file size limits, and corruption.

Rather than wrestling with various file compressor apps, using cloud storage can provide a ZIP file alternative, removing the need for compression altogether. With Dropbox for example, there’s no long, multi-step process that you need to run through in order to store or send large files. Simply send a file or folder in its original size without compressing by clicking “Share.” You can store and share files up to 50gb, making it a fast, reliable way to share files without eating into your inbox or taking up disk space on your computer. Having said that, even if you need to work with compressed files, Dropbox can be an ideal platform, offering ZIP and RAR preview support, post-upload compression, and support for editing.

Final word

In a nutshell, a ZIP file is a way to store or transfer data in a more efficient way. However, it’s not the only way to compress files, so be sure to look at the different compression options to work out the best archive file system for your needs.

Learn how you and your team can do more with Dropbox.

Get started now