Skip to content (Press Enter)

异步会议是未来的发展趋势吗?

说我们的工作和沟通方式正在发生转变,一点也不为过。视频会议现在对许多企业来说是至关重要的,但它们有其缺点。了解异步会议如何帮助虚拟团队进行协作和提高生产力。

一个专业人士在家里用笔记本电脑工作的插图。

更加灵活的工作机会 - 包括混合型和虚拟优先型团队 - 将继续存在。根据普华永道 2020 年的一项研究,自疫情以来,83% 的员工希望每周至少有一天的远程办公。

随着越来越多的企业转向远程办公,通信和协作技术正变得至关重要。视频会议现在是保持远程团队互联互通和参与的一种普遍方法。

然而,视频会议可能很混乱,更不用说过度开会时的疲惫。互联网连接速度慢,对话重叠,以及普遍缺乏生产力,只是远程办公人员在视频会议中遇到的一些问题。

事实上,Atlassian 的一张信息图表显示,我们每月平均要花 31 个小时在无效会议上。那么,您如何利用虚拟会议的优势,而不影响生产力、团队参与和连接性呢?

输入:异步("async")会议。

一位专业人士坐在家里的地板上,同时用笔记本电脑工作。

让我们从基础概念开始……我们的 "异步 "是什么意思?

当一个人(或一群人)提供信息,接收人回复之前有一段时间延迟时会出现异步通信。 

异步通信的一个典型例子是电子邮件 - 信息不需要立即回应,交流中存在时差或延迟。

简单地说,异步会议并不是实时发生的。某种程度上需要组织和计划,但不需要事前安排。沟通可以是单向的,如预先录制的培训视频,或更多的互动性视频,如按需视频信息。

异步视频会议不是现场直播,而是录制,以便以后可以观看和审查。 

异步会议和同步会议之间有什么区别?

因此,您可能想知道是什么让异步会议变得不同。好吧,如果您已经远程工作了一段时间,很可能您的大部分会议都是 同步 。这意味着它们是实时的,并要求参与者在同一时间活动。

与异步会议一样,同步会议上您可以与同事和客户进行交流,即使地点是一个问题。但是,同步会议必须事前安排,您可以对会议进行记录,也可以不记录,以便今后参考。

综上所述:

  • 同步会议 是实时发生的,Zoom 等平台上的现场视频会议需要与会者之间进行双向对话。与会者一起审查会议材料,即时进行反馈
  • 异步会议 是相反的,它们不是现场直播,沟通也不是实时发生的。异步视频会议被记录和共享,因此,内容可以在以今后进行分享和查看。
一个专业人士坐在家里的沙发上用笔记本电脑工作。

异步会议有什么优势?

异步会议为企业创新和 变得更有弹性提供了新机会。让我们来看看异步会议会使您的企业受益的几个原因。

更富弹性

异步会议是混合型、分布型和虚拟优先型远程团队的必备工具。为了避免面对面会议带来的不便之处,企业可以将人才库和招聘机会扩大到办公室规定的限制之外。

异步会议方法可以让您跨越不同的时区和平台工作。如果您的客户在其他国家,你就不必担心安排的会议对一个团队来说太早,而对另一个团队来说太晚了!您可以通过电话和电子邮件的方式,向客户提供信息!

消除即时反应的压力意味着如果有竞争压力和时间要求,团队成员不太可能感觉到倦怠。

在个人层面上,异步会议方法表明您信任您的团队成员。这表明您对他们的履职能力有信心,不需要与主管或经理频繁联系。

您可以重新控制你的日程安排,释放出花在必须参加的会议上的时间(这些会议可能是有成效的,也可能是没有成效的!)。团队成员可以按照自己的节奏,在他们方便的时间和地点观看视频会议。

提高生产力

与同步通信及其看似无穷无尽的通知流相比,异步工作相关的干扰较少。

因为您可以消化适合您的异步会议内容,所以您有机会在工作日感觉最有效率或者您在状态可以真正集中精神的时候赶上视频会议。

异步会议使您在更加与同事的工作和 协作 中更加 主动 而不是 被动 。您不用急着看视频,也不用感到有压力要尽快回复会议。

没有会后的疲劳感,就像您在现场视频通话后可能体验到的那样您感到精神舒畅,准备更充分当您全神贯注地观看异步会议,并有能力暂停或倒退视频时,您会作出更敏锐、更集中的期待反馈。

此外,异步会议使更多的同事能够参与各种讨论。在同步视频通话中,多个声音或具有主导个性的人会全程碾压团队中比较安静的成员。异步替代方案鼓励 积极参与,有效协作

一个专业人士在家庭办公室里工作。

将会议信息截图供将来参考

异步会议的性质避免了在会议结束后对人工记笔记和记忆的依赖。

通过像 Dropbox Capture这样的工具,您可以创建一个视频会议的记录系统,供当前和未来的员工在需要时使用。这使得为新入职员工提供培训视频,甚至为整个团队提供研讨会变得更加容易。

通过记录可以在任何时候审查的会议,您就为透明和信任的工作文化尽了一份绵薄之力。如果您需要重新审视你的项目目标或期望,这些录音将为你提供借鉴。

所以,异步会议是未来工作的发展趋势吗?

根据 Buffer 结论,20%的远程办公人员认为与他们的团队进协作和沟通是一件很困难的事情。如果这个问题听起来很熟悉,那么异步会议可能会提供一个解决方 - 消除了同步会议的许多限制,给团队带来更多的灵活性。

在工作文化不断变化、生产力面临空前挑战的时代,异步会议帮助您创新和调整您的业务。 

然而,同步会议不需要被完全取代,但也不应该成为您的优选工具。一些团队成员和客户可能更喜欢面对面的交谈,而不是录制视频。此外,您需要牢记,对于期限紧迫的项目,与异步会议相关的响应时间滞后。

理想情况下,您应该找到一个平衡点,让您的业务与您的长期目标同步发展。像Dropbox Capture这样的平台不仅消除了参加会议的压力,而且还使团队成员能够通过帧精确的评论对视频提供反馈。

Dropbox Capture 中的屏幕截图视频。

毫无同步之感

随着远程办公和混合工作变得越来越普遍,视频会议正在成为许多企业的常态。有了 Dropbox Capture ,异步会议变得轻而易举。

您的团队,无论远近,都会感谢你,因为您让他们可以控制自己的日程安排,并在他们可能花在无意义的会议上的时间里高效产出。

Are async meetings the future?

It’s no understatement to say the way we are working and communicating is shifting. Video meetings are now vital for many businesses—but they have their drawbacks. Learn how asynchronous meetings can help virtual teams with their collaboration and productivity.

An illustration of a professional working from home on a laptop.

More flexible work opportunities—including hybrid and virtual-first teams—are here to stay. According to a 2020 study by PwC, 83% of employees want to work remotely for at least one day per week since the pandemic.

As more businesses move towards remote working, communication and collaboration technologies are becoming essential. Video meetings are now a commonplace method of keeping remote teams connected and engaged.

Yet, video meetings can be chaotic—not to mention exhausting when used to excess. Slow internet connections, overlapping conversations, and a general lack of productivity are just some issues remote workers encounter with video meetings.

In fact, an Atlassian infographic indicates we spend 31 hours per month on average in unproductive meetings. So how can you leverage the benefits of virtual meetings, without sacrificing productivity, team engagement, and connectivity?

Enter: asynchronous (“async”) meetings.

A professional sits on the floor at home while working on a laptop.

Let’s start with the basics… what do we mean by “async”?

Asynchronous communication occurs when one person (or group) provides information, and there is a time lag before the recipients provide their response. 

A classic example of async communication is email—messages don’t require an immediate response and there are gaps or delays in the exchanges.

Put simply, an async meeting doesn't happen in real-time. It will be organized and planned to some extent, but will not require a schedule. Communications may be one-way, such as a pre-recorded training video, or more interactional like on-demand video messages.

Async video meetings are not live streamed—instead, they are recorded so they can be watched and reviewed later. 

What’s the difference between asynchronous and synchronous meetings?

So, you may be wondering what makes asynchronous meetings different. Well, if you’ve worked remotely for a while now, it’s likely that most of your meetings have been synchronous. This means that they are live and require participants to be active at the same time.

Like async meetings, sync meetings allow you to engage with colleagues and clients even when location is an issue. However, sync meetings have to be scheduled and a record of the meeting may or may not be taken for future reference.

In summary:

  • Synchronous meetings happen in real-time—live video meetings on platforms such as Zoom require a two-way conversation between participants. Participants review the meeting materials together and feedback is immediate
  • Asynchronous meetings are the opposite—they aren’t live-streamed and the communication doesn’t happen in real-time. Async video meetings are recorded and shared so the content can be shared and viewed at a later time
A professional works at home and sits on the sofa while working on their laptop.

What are the benefits of async meetings?

Async meetings present new opportunities for businesses to innovate and become more flexible. Let’s look at a few reasons why async meetings would benefit your business.

Greater flexibility

Async meetings are a must-have for hybrid, distributed, and virtual-first remote teams. By avoiding the inconvenience of in-person meetings, businesses can expand their talent pool and recruitment opportunities beyond the limits of the office.

This approach also allows you to work across different time zones and platforms. If you have clients in other countries, you won’t have to worry about scheduling a meeting that’s too early for one team and too late for another!

Removing the pressure of an immediate response means team members are less likely to experience burnout if there are competing stresses and demands on their time.

On a personal level, an asynchronous approach demonstrates that you trust your team members. It shows that you have confidence in their abilities to fulfill their roles without the constant contact of supervisors or managers.

You can regain control of your schedule and free up the time you would spend in must-attend meetings (that may or may not be productive!) Team members can watch a video meeting at their own pace, at a time and place that is convenient for them.

Better productivity

Compared to synchronous communication—and its seemingly endless stream of notifications—there are fewer interruptions involved with asynchronous work.

Because you can consume async content when it suits you, you have the opportunity to catch up on a video meeting when you are feeling the most productive during the workday or when you are in the right headspace to really concentrate.

Async meetings enable you to be more proactive than reactive in working and collaborating with colleagues. You won’t have to rush to watch a video or feel the pressure to respond to a meeting as quickly as possible.

With no post-meeting fatigue, as you might experience after live video calls, you’ll be fresher and more prepared. When you’re allowed the space to watch an async meeting with your full attention—and have the ability to pause or rewind the video—any feedback that is expected of you will be sharper and more focused.

Additionally, async meetings enable more colleagues to contribute to discussions. Multiple voices or dominating personalities in synchronous video calls can drown out quieter team members. The async alternative encourages better participation and collaboration.

A professional works in their home office.

Capture meetings for future reference

The nature of async meetings cuts out the reliance on manual note-taking and memory for relaying information after the meeting is over.

With a tool like Dropbox Capture, you can create a record system of video meetings for current and future employees to use when needed. This makes it much easier to provide training videos for new starters, and even seminars for the whole team to access.

By capturing meetings that can be reviewed at any time, you contribute to a work culture of transparency and trust. The recordings will be available to support you if you need to revisit your project goals or expectations.

So, are async meetings the future of work?

According to Buffer, 20% of remote workers find it a struggle to collaborate and communicate with their team. If this sounds familiar, async meetings may offer a solution—they remove many of the constraints of synchronous meetings and give teams more flexibility.

Async meetings help you innovate and adapt your business in a time of shifting work cultures and unprecedented challenges to productivity. 

However, sync meetings don’t need to be entirely replaced—but they shouldn’t be your priority, either. Some team members and clients may prefer face-to-face conversations rather than recorded videos. Additionally, you will need to bear in mind the lag in response time associated with async meetings for projects that have tight deadlines.

Ideally, you should find a balance with tools that allow your business to grow in line with your long-term goals. A platform like Dropbox Capture not only removes the pressure to attend meetings, but also enables team members to provide feedback on videos with frame-accurate comments.

A video of a screen capture in Dropbox Capture.

No syncing feeling

With remote and hybrid working becoming more common, video meetings are becoming the norm for many businesses. With Dropbox Capture, async meetings are a breeze.

Your teams, both near and far, will thank you for allowing them to take control of their schedules and produce great work in the time they may have spent in pointless meetings.