什麼是非同步溝通?

溝通是任何業務的關鍵,但有多少溝通是即時進行?

非同步溝通定義

非同步溝通是源自於電信產業的術語。這代表並非與目前時間同步傳輸資料,也就是說資訊是以間歇性方式共享,而非來自穩定的串流。

在業務方面,非同步溝通指的是任何非即時進行的溝通。例如:您可能透過電子郵件傳送問題給同事,而不是直接站起來去找他們詢問。這表示您原始的溝通 (問題) 未即時獲得回答,也就是辦公室內的溝通並非以穩定問答的方式進行,而是在一段期間後,問題才會獲得答案,這通常是因為同事在您提出問題時,正忙於其他工作項目。簡單來說,如果您提問或傳送訊息時,不預期能馬上得到回覆,這就叫做非同步溝通。與之相反的是使用如 Zoom 通話等所有人都會同時在線上溝通的工具。

雖然辦公室內確實有不少非同步溝通的狀況,這對自由工作者和遠端工作團隊溝通來說尤其關鍵。

非同步溝通有哪些例子?

訊息應用程式、電子郵件與線上文件共享平台都是最常見的非同步溝通範例。

電子郵件

沒有任預期電子郵件會立刻收到回覆,因為電子郵件只是傳統郵件的數位轉型。沒錯,您確實會更快收到訊息,但回應的時間仍然相當寬裕,有時候跟透過傳統郵局傳送信件的預期回應時間沒兩樣。

訊息應用程式

這包含 Microsoft Teams、WhatsApp 與 Slack。當然,這些工具很多能用於即時傳送訊息,且許多辦公室利用這些工具,透過輕鬆的聊天來加強營造公司文化。然而,這些工具仍不保證,或我們也非完全預期能立即收到回應。

工作項目管理工具

如 Monday 與 Trello 等平台,讓您可以用數位方式追蹤工作團隊成員的狀況,而不必在行事曆中騰出時間與他們一一討論。您只需登入,看看他們新增或強調了哪些工作項目,然後開始工作即可。這似乎有點抑制生產力。畢竟,您難道不該立刻直接找可以解決問題的人處理問題嗎?實際上,您工作團隊中的每個人都身兼數職,直接要求他們處理某個工作項目不只會扼殺動力,也沒辦法讓他們立刻騰出時間來立即處理問題。最好的方式是確保您已強調該問題,因此當所有人回到該工作項目時,就知道該做什麼。這些工具可確保人們不能再用「我弄丟您給的便利貼了」當藉口,也讓所以人都能掌握目前狀況,不會有人再驚慌失措地用電話溝通工作項目。

文件協作

 Dropbox Paper 這類工具讓您與您的工作團隊即時不在同一個空間、甚至不在同一個時區都能協作。您也可以做出編輯並留下註解,如此一來所有能夠存取文件的人都能立即收到更新,而其他人也能這樣做。您不必再來回傳送主要文件的複本,然後在檔案遭重新命名為「版本 2」或「版本 12」後,搞不清楚自己編輯的內容究竟是什麼。Dropbox Paper 讓非同步溝通變得輕鬆。

同步與非同步溝通

何者更好?對某些人來說,視訊通話或面對面溝通的即時性無可取代。您可能也會覺得若無法即時溝通,就無法即時評估他人的反應。雖然如此,在這些通話結束時,您仍然需要來回傳遞電子郵件,為溝通時共享的一切資訊留下紙本記錄。這感覺就像是只有非同步溝通,才能建立「正式」溝通記錄。此外,當您對他人施壓,要求他們馬上行動時,通常肯定無法獲得最佳工作成果:人人都瞭解措手不及的感覺有多糟糕。非同步溝通讓您有機會在取得資訊後先好好消化,再組織出自己的最佳回應,且不必擔心有人在您背後頻頻施壓。

非同步溝通是否代表溝通品質提升?

有些研究顯示,遠端工作比在辦公室工作內更好,因為團隊會更有動力與生產力。Cisco 發現,這是因為有 83% 的遠端工作者認為,非同步溝通讓他們在遠距工作時,感覺溝通方式更平等或更有成效。另一項研究顯示,即時溝通會導致壓力上升,因為工作團隊認為自己得補足溝通占用的時間,這再一次告訴我們,非同步溝通可消除壓力,並改善個人工作流程。根據這些研究成果,顯然非同步溝通能讓您的團隊不受嚴格期待與壓力的束縛。

隨然即時訊息應用程式仍然是讓工作團隊保持聯繫的好方法,但本身也有因為您的工作團隊隨時保持連線,變相導致強迫進行同步溝通的風險。這很可能導致員工在工作與生活之間無法拿捏平衡,最終使得他們精疲力盡。拒絕在工作團隊聊天中表示意見,會讓您看起來漠不關心;但太常表示意見,又會讓您看起來像是總偷懶不工作,只關注聊天內容。

主要的啟示是什麼?知道使用非同步溝通的好處,且不要濫用這種溝通方式。

Dropbox 能提供什麼協助?

Dropbox 是能幫助任何辦公室或遠端工作團隊輕鬆協作的重要工具。身處不同時區在過去表示我們可能得熬夜守候通話。有了 Dropbox,您不必再花上數小時,等待大洋另一端的人起床上班。

Dropbox 註解讓您可以安全方式共享您的想法與意見,並讓您肯定只要登入,所有人都能看見您的註解。這表示您不必再擔心電子郵件失落在收件匣中,或者有人未轉寄電子郵件而中斷溝通鏈。若有人開啟您的共享文件編輯,就能在文件中看見所需的一切更新與資訊。當有人新增註解時,Dropbox 也會通知您,讓您不錯過任何更新。

使用 Dropbox 協作可幫助所有人無論從何處工作,都能協調工作步調。您可以輕鬆共享會議議程、專案大綱,甚至長影片。Dropbox 提供集中、便利的工作空間,不受上下班時間限制,讓您可以自行決定如何處理工作項目。只要您準備就緒,就能取得所需的一切資訊。

不同步的感覺

非同步溝通成為辦公室常態已有一段時間,但若您想念使用便利貼的感覺,可以今天立可開始嘗試。無論遠近,您的工作團隊都會感謝您採用全新、經過改善的溝通頻道。

Dropbox 與我們的整合功能可以幫助您的工作團隊即使未使用同一間辦公室、或不在相同時區,依然協調工作步調,您最需要同步進行的工作,就是善用 Dropbox。

無論身處哪個時區,都能保持聯絡

開始使用

What is asynchronous communication?

Communication is key to any business, but how much of it do we do in real-time?

Asynchronous communication definition

Asynchronous communication is a term that originates in telecoms. It refers to transmitting data without synchronizing to a clock, meaning this information comes from intermittent sharing and not a steady stream.

In terms of business, asynchronous communication refers to any communication that isn’t made in real time. For example, you might email your colleague a question rather than just getting up and asking them. That means your original communication (the question) isn’t instantly answered, just as any communication around the office isn’t done in a constant stream of ask and answer. Instead, the question is answered after an interval, usually because co-workers are busy with another task at the time of your asking. Put simply, if you ask a question or send a message without expecting an instant reply, that is asynchronous communication. The opposite to this would be something like a Zoom call, where everything is in real time.

While you no doubt use asynchronous communication plenty in the office, it is a vital tool for freelancers and remote team communication.

What are some asynchronous communication examples?

Messenger apps, email, and online document sharing platforms are the most common asynchronous communication examples.

Email

No one expects an instant reply on an email, mostly because email is the digital evolution of snail mail. Yes, you receive the message faster, but there is still a very generous time frame for the response which may take just as long as sending a letter by traditional post.

Messenger apps

These include Microsoft Teams, WhatsApp, and Slack. Of course, a lot of these can be used in real time for instant messaging, and plenty of offices do employ them to help enhance company culture through casual chat. Still, it’s not guaranteed or completely expected that the response will be instant.

Task management tools

Platforms like Monday and Trello let you play digital catch-up with team members without all having to find time in your calendars. You can simply log on, see what’s been added or highlighted and get on with it. This may seem counter-productive. After all, shouldn’t you take up an issue immediately and directly with the person who can fix it? In reality, with everyone on your team juggling different tasks, directly demanding that something be done is not only a great way to kill motivation, it’s not going to magically free up the time needed to instantly to sort it. Better to make sure you have highlighted the issue, so when everyone is back on the task, they know just what to do. These tools ensure the excuse of “missed the memo” can never be used again, and ensures everyone knows what’s happening, with nothing being confined to a panicked phone call.

Document collaboration

Tools like Dropbox Paper mean you and your team can all work collaboratively without having to be in the same room or even the same time zone. You can make edits and leave comments, which update instantly for everyone who has access to the document, and others can do likewise. Gone are the days of sending one master copy back-and-forth, only for edits to be lost as it’s renamed “Version 2” or “Version 12." With Dropbox Paper, asynchronous communication is easy.

Synchronous vs. asynchronous communication

So, which is better? For some, there’s no beating the immediate response you can get on a video call or face-to-face. You might also feel that you just can’t get the real measure of a person without some sort of real-time communication. That said, when these calls end, you still end up passing emails back and forth to cement everything that was shared into a paper trail. It’s almost like the “official” communication only really starts once things fall into asynchronicity. There’s also the fact that when people are pressured to act immediately, you almost certainly won’t get their best work—everyone knows how it feels to be a deer in the headlights. Asynchronous communication gives you the chance to take in information, digest it, and form your best response, all without anyone standing over you.

Does asynchronous communication mean higher quality communication?

There are studies to suggest that remote working is better than in-office work, with teams feeling more motivated and productive. Cisco found this was helped by the fact that 83% of remote workers felt they could communicate equal or better when telecommuting thanks to asynchronous communication. Another study found that the interruptions caused by real time communication led to increased stress as teams felt the need to catch up on lost time, again suggesting that asynchronous communication removes pressure and improves individual work processes. Based on these findings, it would be easy to think asynchronous communication frees your team from strict expectation and stress.

While real-time messaging apps remain a great way of getting the team connected, there is very much the risk of it causing your team to be constantly connected, forcing it into synchronous communication. This can lead to a poor work/life balance and eventual burn out. By refusing to contribute to your team chat, you can also appear unsporting, though by contributing too often, you might look like someone who is, pardon the pun, slacking off.

The key takeaway here? Know the strengths of using asynchronous communication and don’t abuse it.

How Dropbox can help?

Dropbox is a vital tool for any office or remote team looking for effortless collaboration. Different time zones used to mean staying late to get that call in. With Dropbox, no one needs to spend hours waiting for the other coast to wake up.

Dropbox annotations let you share your thoughts and feedback safe in the knowledge that everyone will see it when they log on. That means you don’t even have to worry about an email getting lost in an inbox or one person breaking the chain of communication by not forwarding it. If someone opens your shared document to work, they will have all the updates and information they need right there. Dropbox will notify you when new annotations are added, so you don’t miss a thing.

Collaborating with Dropbox can help align everyone, no matter where they are working from. Meeting agendas, project outlines, even long videos can be shared effortlessly. Dropbox creates one central, convenient workspace that doesn’t have office hours and lets you approach tasks on your own terms. Everything you need will be waiting for you when you’re ready.

No syncing feeling

Asynchronous communication has been the norm in many offices for some time, but if you’ve missed the memo, get started today. Your teams, both near and far, will thank you for new and improved communication channels.

Dropbox and our integrations can help your team get aligned without sharing the same office or time zone, all you need to really sync on is making the most of Dropbox.

Stay connected regardless of time zones

Get started