寻找最适合您的写作应用

即使在万事俱备的情况下,写作也是一项挑战,所以我们整理了一些常见的写作应用,并概述了这些应用可以如何帮助您更好地表达自己的思想。

在 Dropbox Paper 应用中编写的笔记的屏幕截图

最适合作家使用的应用

虽然俗话说拙匠常怨工具差,但做文字工作是很困难的,您应该乐于接受任何能提升写作体验的工具。值得庆幸的是,可供选择的工具有很多,但如果选择不当,也会带来不良后果。为了帮助您了解相关问题,我们研究了一些可供选择的最佳写作工具,并研究了它们在什么情况下最有用。

一般写作

尽管复杂的写作软件各有其用途,但在更随意的情况下,往往只要拿起笔和纸就可以进行写作。能把东西写下来并保存到以后能看到的地方是一种非常普遍的需求,有很多应用可以帮助您做到这一点。简单的文本编辑器(如 Windows 的记事本或 Mac 的 TextEdit)可能在某些情况下就已经够用了,但如果用户要寻找更全面的格式选项或拼写检查功能,可能会发现这些工具不足以满足需求。那些寻求功能更全面的产品以满足一般用途的人会发现文字处理器是一款不错的工具。

Microsoft Word

对于很多人来说,一提到“写作应用”这个词,他们首先想到的就是 Microsoft Word 程序。作为 Microsoft Office 办公软件之一,Microsoft Word 是全球最受欢迎的文字处理器之一。它包含了模板、格式选项和编辑工具,是一款非常出色的全能型软件。

Dropbox 提供与 Microsoft 的应用集成,允许在 Word 中进行实时协作,并允许用户通过 Dropbox、移动应用或 Web 版的 Microsoft Office 编辑现有文件。更改将自动保存回 Dropbox。Office 和 Dropbox 移动应用相互集成,因此您可以轻松地在应用之间创建、编辑和共享。

Microsoft Word 需要订阅,而那些寻求免费替代方案的人可以选择使用 OpenOffice 或 LibreOffice。这些程序虽然功能不那么丰富,但提供了 Word 用户所期望的很多文字处理器功能。

Google 文档

Google Docs 是一款基于云的写作应用,使用该应用,您可以与朋友或同事协作,一起实时创建内容。这款广受欢迎的在线文字处理器具备智能功能(如 Smart Compose 和 Grammar),可帮助用户更快、更准确地进行写作。它会自动将工作资料存储在 Google 云端硬盘中,除了本地在线协作功能之外,它还支持离线编辑。您只需有一个供个人使用的免费 Google 帐户或注册一个用于企业的 G Suite 帐户即可开始使用。

由于与 Google 的应用集成,Dropbox 可以将 Google 文档与其他文档一起存储,这意味着您可以将所有文件井井有条地放在同一个位置。Google Docs 的编辑和注释会在 Dropbox 中显示为通知,因此当有更改时,系统会提醒您。

创意写作

小说家和编剧作家的作品通常需要更独特的格式。尽管常见的文字处理器会提供这类模板,但有些人宁愿更进一步,找到针对其所选工作的专用写作应用。

Scrivener

对于长篇作品来说,Scrivener 是一个备受推崇的选择,在文字处理方面,可以说是一款功能强大的工具。它为作家提供了很多功能,例如能够跟踪每日字数目标完成情况的写作统计信息、大量模板、用故事板为作家提供直观帮助的公告板视图,以及大量导出选项。

Scrivener 还以其全面的键盘快捷方式而闻名,这些快捷键可以帮助有经验的用户更快地导航程序。

Storyist

Storyist 是专门面向小说家和编剧的一款功能强大的文字处理器。该程序具有内置的样式编辑器,允许用户自定义自己要尝试使用的手稿,该程序还提供一系列常用手稿和剧本模板。其灵活的提纲工具可为作家提供故事的简要视图,而带故事笔记的索引卡片可在写作时显示在手稿旁边。Storyist 可以导入 Final Draft FDX 脚本,从而简化与编剧的协作,并提供可以将手稿转换为可打印 PDF 的书籍编辑功能。

Storyist 提供免费试用版,但对于 Windows 用户来说很遗憾,该应用仅提供 MacOS 和 iOS 版本。

Ulysses

Ulysses 也仅可用于 Mac、iPad 和 iPhone,其 iOS 产品可以利用 Siri 快捷方式和 3D 触摸操作。使用各种设备的作家都可以享用无干扰的界面和基于标记的文本编辑器以及令人印象深刻的主题选项。Ulysses 利用实时统计信息,使用户可以轻松监控每日目标的进展情况和写作截止日期,帮助他们保持责任心,按时完成写作。通过与 Dropbox 的集成,可以将外部文件夹保存到 Ulysses 的文本库中,从而使用户可以在一个位置找到所有工作内容。

Final Draft

Final Draft 是一款面向编剧的应用,自称是全球电影制作人的首选软件。它拥有 100 多个模板以及自动分页和格式设置选项,项目均将采用专业标准格式,让编剧作家可以放心使用。Final Draft 的“语音转脚本”功能利用了 macOS 的听写功能,其 SmartType 功能会自动填充常用的名称和位置,这意味着作家只需花更少的时间写作,但仍然可以更高效。

Dropbox Paper

Dropbox Paper 是一款文档编辑器和笔记应用,在各种情况下都非常有用。用户会发现 Dropbox Paper 的布局简单且无干扰,是日常写作的理想之选。而且该应用还是免费的。仅需一个 Dropbox Basic 帐户即可开始编写 Paper 文档,您可以立即开始使用。作家可以放心使用,因为所有工作内容都将可靠地保存在安全的云存储帐户中,随时可以在需要时进行访问。

Paper 既可以用作移动应用,也可以用作桌面应用,用户可以随时随地查看和编辑他们的工作内容。Paper 用户还可以与其移动应用进行离线同步,这意味着如果您的互联网连接中断,系统会保存文件的设备版本,并在恢复连接后立即与您的帐户同步。

Paper 的共享选项使其成为协作写作项目的绝佳工具。以团队形式工作时,您和您的团队成员可以实时编辑同一文件。此外,还可以轻松恢复文件的旧版本,从而消除了版本控制带来的任何烦恼。Paper 可以用作头脑风暴模板,帮助那些陷入写作瓶颈而苦苦挣扎的人,其任务管理功能使用户可以设置待办事项并标注截止日期,以帮助他们保持进度。通过探索和利用这些功能,富有创意的专业人员可以给自己一点额外的推动力来完成他们的写作项目。

归根结底,可以说最适合您的写作应用就是您正在使用的应用。无论是您用来记录半成熟创意的纯文本编辑器,还是您在写作过程的所有阶段都依赖的昂贵软件,重要的是能够捕捉您的想法。Dropbox Paper 允许您在没有互联网连接的情况下访问和开发已保存的创意,有了这样的功能,写作当然会变得越来越轻松。上面提到的所有应用都可与 Dropbox 集成,因此如果您已经习惯使用某款程序,仍然可以享受便捷顺畅的存储体验。

随时随地将创意保存下来

免费试用 Dropbox Paper

How to find the best writing app for you

Writing can be challenging at the best of times so we've compiled a list of some popular writing apps and outlined the ways they can help you better express your thoughts.

A screenshot of notes written in the Dropbox Paper app

The best apps for writers

While it may be said that only the bad carpenter blames their tools, working with words can be difficult and anything that can help make your writing experience more pleasant should be warmly welcomed. Thankfully, there's no shortage of options available but this can also bring with it a paralysis of choice. To help navigate these waters, we've taken a look at some of best writing tools available and examined when they will be most useful.

General writing

While sophisticated writing software has its uses, simply reaching for a pen and paper can often do the trick in more casual scenarios. Just being able to write something down and save it somewhere you'll be able to see it later is an incredibly common need, and there are plenty of apps that will help you do just that. Bare bones text editors like notepad for Windows or TextEdit for Mac may be suitable enough for some situations, but users looking for more comprehensive formatting options or a spell check may find these options lacking. Those looking for a more full-featured offering catered towards general usage will find happiness with a word processor.

Microsoft Word

For many, Microsoft Word is the first program that comes to mind when they think of the term “writing app.” Part of Microsoft Office, this word processor is one of the most popular in the world. Packed with templates, formatting options, and editing tools, it is a fantastic all-rounder.

Dropbox provides an app integration with Microsoft that allows for real-time collaboration in Word, and lets users edit existing files through the Dropbox, mobile app, or in Microsoft Office for the web. Changes are automatically saved back to Dropbox. The Office and Dropbox mobile apps integrate with one another so you can easily create, edit, and share between apps.

Microsoft Word requires a subscription but those looking for a free alternative may choose instead to opt for OpenOffice or LibreOffice. Though less feature-rich, these programs offer a good deal of the functionality Word users will have come to expect from word processors.

Google Docs

Google Docs is a cloud-based writing app that enables you to collaborate with friends or colleagues to create content together in real-time. This massively popular online word processor includes intelligent features such as Smart Compose and Grammar to help users write faster and with more accuracy. It automatically stores your work in Google Drive and supports offline editing in addition to the native online collaboration features. All you need to get started is a free Google account for personal use or sign up for a G Suite account for business.

Because of its app integration with Google, Dropbox is able to store Google Docs alongside your other documents—meaning you can find all of your files in one organized place. Google Doc edits and comments appear as notifications in Dropbox, so you'll be alerted when a change has been made.

Creative writing

Novelists and screenplay writers work typically requires a more unique format. Although popular word processors will have these templates available, some choose to take this one step further and find writing apps dedicated to their chosen craft.

Scrivener

A highly regarded option for long-form work and built with this intent in mind, Scrivener is somewhat of a powerhouse when it comes to word processing. Authors are treated to writing statistics which can track progress towards daily word count goals, a large array of templates, a corkboard view to visually aid writers with storyboarding, and numerous exporting options.

Scrivener is also famed for its comprehensive array of keyboard shortcuts designed to help experienced users navigate through the program even faster.

Storyist

Storyist is a full-featured word processor geared towards novelists and screenwriters. Boasting a built-in style editor allowing users to customize their manuscripts to taste, the program also comes loaded with an array of common manuscript and screenplay templates. Its flexible outlining tools provide writers with a high-level view of their story and index cards with story notes can be displayed next to manuscripts while writing. Storyist can import Final Draft FDX scripts, making collaboration with screenwriters simple, and offers book editing features that can turn manuscripts into print-ready PDFs.

Storyist offers a free trial but unfortunately for Windows users, only MacOS and iOS editions of the app are available.

Ulysses

Ulysses is also exclusive to Macs, iPads, and iPhones, and its iOS offerings utilize Siri shortcuts and 3D touch actions. Writers on all devices will be treated to a distraction-free interface with a markup-based text-editor and an impressive depth of theming options. Ulysses uses live statistics to allow users to easily monitor progress towards daily goals and writing deadlines, providing accountability and helping writers stay on track. Through its integration with Dropbox, external folders can be saved into Ulysses’ text library, allowing users to find all their work in one place.

Final Draft

Final Draft is an app for screenwriters and hails itself as the software of choice for filmmakers around the world. Boasting over 100 templates along with automatic pagination and formatting options, writers can rest assured that their projects will be formatted to a professional standard. Final Draft's Speech to script feature utilizes macOS's dictation feature, and its SmartType feature autofills common names and locations, meaning writers can spend less time writing but still be more productive.

Dropbox Paper

Dropbox Paper is a document editor and note taking app that can be greatly beneficial in a wide range of scenarios. Users will find Dropbox Paper's simple and distraction-free layout makes it perfect for everyday writing. It's also free—only a Dropbox Basic account is needed to start making Paper docs—so you can get started right away. Writers can rest assured that all their work will be held safely in a secure cloud storage account and be ready to access whenever it is needed.

Paper works as both a mobile and desktop app, allowing users to check and edit their work while on the go. Paper users can also sync offline with its mobile app, meaning that if your internet connection is disrupted, the device version of your file will be saved and synced with your account as soon as your connection is restored.

Paper's sharing options make it a great tool for collaborative writing projects. When working in groups, you and your team members can edit the same file in real-time. Previous versions of files can also be easily restored, removing any anxiety over version control. Paper can be used as a brainstorming template for those struggling with writer's block and its task management features allow users to set up to-dos and mark deadlines to help keep themselves on-track. By exploring and utilizing these features, creative professionals can give themselves the extra little push they need to finish their writing projects.

Ultimately, it could be argued the best writing app for you is the one you have open at the time. Whether that's a plain text editor that you use to jot down a half formed idea or expensive software that you rely on heavily throughout all stages of your writing process—being able to capture your ideas as they come to you is what's important. And when Dropbox Paper allows you to access and develop your saved ideas even when you don't have an internet connection, it becomes harder and harder to find good excuses not to write. All of the apps mentioned above integrate with Dropbox, so if you’re already comfortable with one program you can still enjoy an easy and seamless storage experience.

Save your ideas no matter where you are

Try Dropbox Paper for free