Skip to content (Press Enter)

為什麼我無法編輯 PDF 檔案?

PDF 是我們許多人的首選檔案格式,但也存在著一些問題,尤其是在編輯 PDF 檔案時。瞭解為何編輯 PDF 時可能頗具挑戰性,以及針對這些常見問題的解決方案。

一個人坐在桌前,手放在滑鼠上並緊盯著電腦螢幕,想弄清楚為什麼不能編輯 PDF。

PDF (可攜式文件格式) 由 Adobe 的共同創辦人 John Warnock 和 Charles Geschke 所打造。PDF 格式設計為通用格式,因此 Mac 使用者可以與 Windows PC 使用者共享文件 (反之亦然),且檔案在兩種裝置上看起來會是一樣的。

隨著時間經過,這個格式納入了各種功能。例如密碼保護、數位簽署、嵌入媒體、互動式表單欄位以及其他諸多功能,這使得許多工作流程、專案和企業都奠基於 PDF。

如今 PDF 極為普遍,以至於網路上幾乎所有非文字、HTML 或影片的內容,都被安全地鎖定在 PDF 中。從工作申請表和履歷,到白皮書和電子書,PDF 是一種通用的檔案格式,可以運用在任何方面。

一個人在平板電腦裝置上使用數位簽署簽署 PDF 合約。

儘管如此,PDF 也不是完全沒有問題。這個格式中所加入的所有新特色和新功能,有時可能會讓您無法編輯 PDF,甚至無法進行存取。

無法編輯 PDF 檔案的常見原因

建立和共享 PDF 檔案很容易,但當您試著編輯來自他人的 PDF 時,有時卻可能會遇到問題。若要編輯的文件具有時效性 (例如需要簽署的緊急合約),這時候就特別令人沮喪。

有許多原因導致 PDF 有時難以編輯,以下介紹一些最常見的問題。

缺乏管理權限

PDF 由他人建立,而建立者並未為其他使用者啟用編輯功能。

檔案受到保護

PDF 文件使用密碼保護加密。

PDF 閱讀器不具編輯功能

您使用的可能是 PDF 閱讀器,只能預覽檔案,而無法編輯檔案。

建立 PDF 的程式有問題

使用過期或無效的程式建立的 PDF,會讓檔案編輯過程很困難。

PDF 編輯工具難以使用

您所使用的編輯軟體太過複雜。

如果沒有 PDF 檔案的管理權限,該怎麼辦?

在 Adobe 中建立的 PDF 檔案具有使用權限設定。權限由檔案管理員設定,是由檔案的原始建立者所指派的身分。

權限設定分為「唯讀」、「編輯」和「密碼保護」。若您只能預覽 PDF,有可能是因為權限層級被設為「唯讀」,才導致您無法編輯檔案。

解決這個問題的方法之一,是將 PDF 從 Adobe Acrobat 匯出到另一個應用程式 (如 Microsoft Word),然後使用「另存新檔」功能將檔案重新儲存為 PDF。但若文件內包含敏感和機密資訊,就不建議這麼做。

或者,您也可以使用具備編輯功能的 PDF 閱讀器,這可能更有效。行動版和桌面版的 Adobe Acrobat Reader 應用程式讓您可以在 PDF 上簽署和加入註解。但若要獲得更多編輯功能,則需要升級為 Acrobat Reader Pro 上的付費訂閱。

如果 PDF 檔案受到保護,該怎麼辦?

如果 PDF 是由您所建立,或您擁有管理員權限且不再需要密碼保護,那麼您可以輕鬆移除這項安全性功能。在 Adobe Acrobat 中,您只要依序點選 [工具] > [保護] > [加密] > [移除安全性],在方塊中輸入密碼後,然後按一下 [確定] 即可。

若您沒有管理員權限且無法在預覽模式下編輯 PDF,那麼移除安全性會有點棘手。

若您只是想編輯 PDF 中的文字或重新排序頁面,這樣可能相當惱人;更何況是從一開始就根本打不開檔案。

若要解鎖 PDF 以在 Adobe Acrobat 中編輯,您需要成為檔案擁有者和/或擁有密碼。在 Acrobat 中無法還原忘記的密碼。

如果您是 PDF 擁有者且忘記密碼,Adobe 建議您透過列印文件複本的方式來解決本問題:

  • 在 Adobe Acrobat DC 開啟 PDF 檔案
  • 依序點選 [檔案] > [列印]
  • 在對話方塊中選擇 [Adobe PDF] 作為印表機,然後選取 [列印]
  • 為檔案命名,然後選取 [儲存]
    • PDF 隨即會建立並在 Acrobat 中開啟。
    • 注意:採用這個方式後,檔案新版本中的互動式元素 (例如超連結、書籤和按鈕) 會遭到移除。

PDF 編輯工具難以使用,該怎麼辦?

有兩種簡單的解決方案:尋求編輯服務提供商的支援服務,或是選擇不同的 PDF 編輯工具!

如需快速簡單的操作,可以在 dropbox.com 上對儲存在 Dropbox 帳戶中的 PDF 執行簡易編輯。無需任何額外的應用程式或整合功能。

Dropbox 和 Adobe Acrobat 應用程式整合功能,讓您能對 Dropbox 帳戶中的 PDF 執行更全面的編輯。所有您在桌面或行動裝置上的 Acrobat 中對 PDF 所做的變更,都會自動儲存到您的 Dropbox 帳戶。

簽名後無法編輯 PDF?不是只有您遇到這個問題

簽名後無法編輯 PDF 是另一個常見問題。之所以會出現這個問題,通常是因為在使用了 HelloSign 等數位簽署工具簽署 PDF 後,檔案會將其他使用者設為唯讀模式。

若您以 PDF 的形式 (例如合約或工作說明書) 向他人索取數位簽署並收回檔案,那您有可能無法編輯簽好的檔案。簽署者可能會選擇在簽名後手動鎖定 PDF,導致每個人都只能讀取這份檔案。

如果要修改 PDF,您需要回頭使用未簽署的版本,對這個版本的檔案進行修改,然後重新索取簽名。

如此一來,與文件相關的每個人都會知道已簽署的內容已得到各方的同意,不會遺漏後續增加的內容或變更。

為什麼我無法使用 Adobe Acrobat 編輯 PDF 檔案?

Adobe Acrobat 不僅可說是查看和編輯 PDF 時最常用的軟體,實際上,這個格式就是 Adobe 的共同創辦人在 1990 年代所開發的。

但是,有時您會發現使用 Acrobat 無法編輯 PDF。這是因為 Adobe 是建立和編輯 PDF 時最常用的軟體,因此許多問題 (例如無法存取受密碼保護的檔案) 只有在 Acrobat 等 Adobe 工具中才能真正獲得解決。

如果您嘗試使用 Acrobat DC 編輯儲存在桌面上的 PDF 卻無法編輯,可能原因如下:

  • 軟體已經過期
  • 您電腦上的預設的 PDF 開啟軟體不是 Acrobat
    • 在這種情況下,您可能是用 Adobe Reader DC 打開檔案,而非 Acrobat DC
    • 若要進行變更,請在 PDF 檔案縮圖上按右鍵,按一下 [內容] [變更] (在 [開啟方式] 旁),再從清單中選取 Adobe Acrobat,然後按一下 [確定]回到對話視窗後再按一下 [確認]

可以在 Dropbox 帳戶編輯 PDF 檔案嗎?

當然,您可以在 Dropbox 中編輯 PDF 檔案!

在 dropbox.com 上預覽儲存在 Dropbox 帳戶中的 PDF 時,您可以執行輕度的編輯 (例如插入、刪除、重新排序和旋轉頁面)。您可以在帳戶中將編輯後的 PDF 另存為新的檔案,也可以用編輯後的版本取代原始版本。

或者,您也可以將您的 Dropbox 帳戶連結到 Adobe Acrobat 以取得更多編輯功能。透過 Dropbox 和 Adobe Acrobat 應用程式整合功能,您可以在桌面、行動裝置或平板電腦裝置上編輯 PDF。

Acrobat 讓您能填寫和簽署 PDF 表單、新增和編輯圖片、物件及文字,還能在頁面加入註解,以及將 PDF 檔案匯出至 Microsoft Word 或 Excel 等等。對 PDF 所做的所有變更都會自動儲存到您的 Dropbox 帳戶。

Dropbox 使用者可以使用行動裝置掃描實體文件,並將掃描文件以 PDF 格式儲存到自己的 Dropbox 帳戶。也可以使用 Dropbox 行動應用程式,將儲存在 Dropbox 帳戶中的圖片轉成 PDF 掃描檔。

GIF 動畫示範如何使用 Dropbox 行動應用程式將圖片轉換成 PDF

如果您在編輯 PDF 時仍有問題,可以詢問 Dropbox 社群的成員。您或許能找到遇過相同問題並已找出有效解決方案的使用者。

將文件掃描為 PDF 並使用 Dropbox 順暢編輯

從需要簽名的文件到協作影片專案,Dropbox 提供能容納所有內容的空間。

您的 Dropbox 帳戶不僅能作為檔案和資料夾的雲端儲存空間,同時也是一個方便您隨時整理、編輯、共享和協作的專屬空間。

使用適用於 iOS 和 Android 的 Dropbox 應用程式掃描文件,並以 PDF 格式儲存到您的 Dropbox 帳戶。從桌面存取 PDF 檔案並立即在 dropbox.com 上開始編輯。是時候讓您的工作效率更上一層樓了。

發現一個適合所有思緒、檔案和構想的空間。

立即開始使用 Dropbox

Why can't I edit a PDF file?

The PDF is the file format of choice for many of us, but it’s not without its issues—especially when it comes to editing PDF files. Discover some common reasons why editing a PDF may be a challenge, as well as some solutions to tackle these issues.

A person sits at a deck, hand on their mouse and staring at a computer screen as they try to figure out why they can’t edit a PDF.

The PDF (Portable Document Format) was created by John Warnock and Charles Geschke, the co-founders of Adobe. The format was designed to be universal—so a Mac user can share a document with a Windows PC user (or vice versa) and the file will look the same on both devices.

Over time, all sorts of features have been incorporated into the format. Password protection, eSignatures, media embeds, interactive form fields, and more have made PDF the cornerstone of many workflows, projects, and businesses.

Today, PDFs are so common that almost every piece of content on the web that isn’t text, HTML, or video-based is safely locked within a PDF. From job applications and resumés to white papers and eBooks, the PDF is a versatile file format that you can use for anything.

A person signs a PDF contract with an eSignature on their tablet device.

Despite this, the PDF is not without its problems. With all the new features and functionality being added to the format, sometimes you may be unable to edit a PDF, or even access it.

Common reasons why you can’t edit a PDF file

It’s easy to create and share a PDF file, but occasionally you can run into problems when trying to edit a PDF you’ve received from someone else. This can be particularly frustrating when editing the document is time sensitive, such as an urgent contract that needs signing.

There are a number of reasons why PDFs can sometimes be difficult to edit. Let’s look at some of the most common issues.

Missing administrative rights

Someone else created the PDF and they didn’t enable editing capabilities for other users.

File is protected

The PDF document is encrypted with password protection.

PDF reader doesn’t allow it

You may be using a PDF reader that only allows you to preview files, not edit them.

PDF created with the wrong program

The PDF was created using an outdated or ineffective program that makes editing the file difficult.

PDF editor is hard to use

The editing software you are using is too complicated.

What to do if…your PDF file is missing administrative rights

PDF files created in Adobe have permission settings. These are set by the file administrators, roles assigned by the original creator of the file.

The permission settings are “read-only”, “edit”, and “password-protected”. If you can only preview a PDF, it may be that you can’t edit the file because the permission level is set to “read-only” or “view-only”.

One way around this may be to export your PDF from Adobe Acrobat to another application like Microsoft Word, then resaving the file as a PDF in the Save As function. However, this isn’t recommended for documents that contain sensitive or confidential information.

Alternatively, a PDF reader that offers an editing function may be more effective. The Adobe Acrobat Reader app for mobile and desktop will enable you to sign and annotate PDFs. But to access more editing capabilities, you may need to upgrade to a paid subscription on Acrobat Reader Pro.

What to do if…your PDF file is protected

If you created the PDF or have administrator permissions and no longer need password protection, you can easily remove this security function. In Adobe Acrobat, all you have to do is go to Tools > Protect > Encrypt > Remove Security. Type the password in the box, then click OK.

If you don’t have administrator permissions and you can’t edit a PDF in preview mode, then removing security protection is more difficult.

This can be frustrating if all you want to do is edit text or reorder the pages in your PDF—but you can’t even get into the file in the first place. 

To unlock a PDF for editing in Adobe Acrobat, you need to be the file owner and/or have the password. There is no way to recover a forgotten password in Acrobat.

If you are the PDF owner and have forgotten the password, Adobe suggests the workaround of printing a copy of the document:

  • Open the PDF file in Adobe Acrobat DC 
  • Go to File > Print
  • Choose Adobe PDF as the printer in the dialog box, then select Print
  • Give your file a name, then select Save
    • This will create a PDF that will open in Acrobat DC
    • Note: This method will remove interactive elements such as hyperlinks, bookmarks, and buttons from the new version.

What to do if…your PDF editor is hard to use

There are two simple solutions to this—either seek out support from the editing service provider, or choose a different PDF editor!

For something quick and simple, you can make light edits to PDFs stored in your Dropbox account on dropbox.com. No need for any extra apps or integrations.

The Dropbox and Adobe Acrobat app integration offers a way to make more thorough edits to PDFs in your Dropbox account. Changes you make to PDFs in Acrobat on desktop or mobile devices will be automatically saved to your Dropbox account.

Can’t edit a PDF after signing it? You’re not the only one

Being unable to edit a signed PDF is another common problem. This usually happens because once you sign a PDF with an eSignature tool like HelloSign, the file becomes read-only for other users.

If you requested an eSignature from someone in a PDF form (such as a contract or statement of work) and have received the file back, you may not be able to edit it once it has been signed. The signer may choose to manually lock the PDF after signing it, making it read-only for everyone.

To edit the PDF, you will need to go back to the unsigned version. Make your revisions to this version of the file, then it back over to be signed again. 

This way, everyone involved in the document knows that what has been signed has been agreed upon by all parties, with no late additions or changes that might be missed.

Why can't I edit a PDF with Adobe Acrobat?

Not only is Adobe Acrobat arguably the most common software used to view and edit PDFs—the co-founders of Adobe actually developed the format in the 1990s.

However, sometimes you may find that you are unable to edit a PDF using Acrobat. Because Adobe is the prevailing software for creating and editing PDFs, many of the issues—such as being locked out of a password-protected file—can only really be solved in Adobe tools like Acrobat.

If you’re trying to edit a PDF stored on your desktop with Acrobat DC, you may be unable to edit a PDF because:

  • The software is out of date
  • Acrobat is not the default PDF owner on your computer
    • In this case, you may be opening your files in Adobe Reader DC and not Acrobat DC
    • To change this, right-click the thumbnail of a PDF file then go to Properties and Change next to “Opens with”. Select Adobe Acrobat DC from the list, then click OK, and OK again when you’re taken back to the dialog box

Are you able to edit a PDF file in your Dropbox account?

Yes, you can edit PDF files in Dropbox! 

You can make minor edits (such as inserting, deleting, reordering, and rotating pages) when previewing PDFs stored in your Dropbox account on dropbox.com. You can either save your edited PDF as a new file in your account, or replace the original version with the edited one.

Alternatively, you can connect your Dropbox account to Adobe Acrobat to access more editing capabilities. With the Dropbox and Adobe Acrobat app integration, you can edit PDFs on desktop, mobile, or tablet devices.

Acrobat allows you to fill in and sign PDF forms, add and edit images, objects, and text, annotate pages, export PDF files to Microsoft Word or Excel, and much more. All changes made to a PDF will be saved automatically to your Dropbox account.

As a Dropbox user, you can use your mobile device to scan physical documents and save them to your Dropbox account as PDFs. Images saved to your Dropbox account can also be converted to PDF scans using the Dropbox mobile app.

A GIF showing how the Dropbox mobile app can be used to convert images to PDFs

If you are still having trouble editing PDFs, you can reach out to members of the Dropbox Community. You may find other users who have experienced the same problem as you and have found an effective solution.

Scan documents as PDFs and edit them seamlessly with Dropbox

From documents that need signing to collaborative video projects, Dropbox is a space for all your content.

Your Dropbox account isn’t just cloud storage for your files and folders. It’s also a dedicated space to organize, edit, share and collaborate anytime you want.

Scan documents using the Dropbox app for iOS and Android and save them to your Dropbox account as PDFs. Access your PDF files from your desktop and start editing them straight away on dropbox.com. It’s time to unlock the next level of your productivity.

Discover a space for all your thoughts, files, and ideas.

Get started with Dropbox today