为什么您应使用记录管理

每个企业都有大量的记录,从财务账簿到法律文书。如果您不能安全地组织这些记录,您最好开始使用记录管理。

书架上的书摆放整齐,标签清晰

什么是记录管理?

记录管理,也称为记录保留,顾名思义,是组织和保护组织记录的过程。对于企业而言,在公司的整个生命周期都应运行此过程,这意味着存储的文档可以反映企业的历史。不过,记录管理不仅仅是拥有一个文件柜。成功的记录管理应在包括分类、创建、接收和维护记录的过程中运行。组织记录的安全处置或删除也应属于记录保留过程的一部分。

记录管理员应考虑将以下文档全部存档:

  • 纸质文档或其他离线形式的记录
  • 数字文档
  • 合同
  • 报告
  • 审计
  • 证书
  • 电子邮件/社交媒体消息
  • 视频

企业定期积累这些项目。这正是拥有一个可以去芜存菁并将关键项目保存到您的重要记录中的监管流程如此重要的原因。Dropbox 是传统记录中心的宝贵现代更新。但是,它并不止于点击保存。这些文件需要维护,因此您不仅要管理新传入的项目,还要管理存档。

为什么企业需要使用记录管理?

除了一般管理之外,企业开始管理记录还有一些重要原因。记录不仅可以防止您陷入困境,而且如果您的企业被指控有任何令人不快的事情,您的记录还可以帮助您摆脱困境。您也不应假设非活动记录不再重要。以下是在美国需要遵守特定保留期限的一些类型的记录:

美国国税局

对于那些在美国生活的人来说,这是一件大事。美国国税局将要求您提供纳税记录。您应将这些重要记录至少保存四年

公平劳动标准法

公平劳动标准法将对不同类型的工资记录实施不同的法律。一般来说,至少三年的保留期就足够了。

人事记录

在您的员工离职后,将这些记录至少保留六年。这很重要,可以证明他们当时确实在贵公司工作,也可以在需要时帮助您形成推荐信。如果某位员工想对您提起诉讼,您也需要查阅这些记录。

雇用文件

任何与雇用职员有关的文件都应保存三年左右。平等就业机会委员会将要求这些记录至少保留一年。

其他

也有一些不那么可怕的记录,您应保留以让自己安心。已付水电费等公用事业费的收据、新软件的欢迎电子邮件和投机性工作申请都可以方便地存档。

如何建立记录管理系统

在建立记录管理系统之前,需要考虑一些重要事项。这是一个全公司范围的流程,需要有人掌控并对整个团队进行初步培训。一个成功的记录管理系统需要满足以下条件:

一名负责记录管理的高级职员

这不应是人力资源部门任何人的一揽子职责,应有一名高级职员全权负责此流程。记录管理与您的财务一样重要,您不会期望任何人为财务“尽自己的一份力”,您有一名专门的团队成员担任文档经理和首席档案管理员。

关于应如何保留记录、保留哪些记录和何时保留记录的决定

根据团队其他成员的意见,与高级职员一起决定需要保留哪些重要记录。选择保留期应为多长时间,并决定在记录生命周期结束时应如何删除它们。您保留文档的时间可能因类型而异。例如,您的公司文件应属于永久记录,但您可以在几年后删除员工工资明细。

电子记录管理预算

数字文档可能构成了您企业管理和通信的大部分内容,为了确保这一切安全,您需要求助于信息技术。软件即服务模型意味着记录管理计划不仅仅是一次性费用,而是持续的月度订阅。确保您已为此做好预算。

允许培训和持续监控

贵企业中的任何人都可能需要访问记录,记录应是单一真实数据源的关键部分。因此,作为记录管理计划的一部分,您的团队需要接受有关如何访问和负责任地处理记录的培训。毕竟,这些记录是贵企业最重要的一些文档,因此您需要实施数据治理并制定适当的记录管理策略。您还需要继续监控该系统,尤其是数字记录,以确保没有未经授权的使用或意外删除,这样您就可以随时准备好在为时已晚之前执行文件恢复。还应考虑灾难恢复,例如,如果您的业务活动受到互联网病毒的攻击。

其他注意事项

如果您的企业执行公用事业等公共职能,您的重要记录可能会受到管辖联邦记录的信息自由法的约束。这意味着您的记录保留的某些区域可能需要作为公共记录供访问。在开始将记录保留引入贵组织时,确保您已将此种可能性添加到流程中。

选择企业记录保留解决方案

拥有合适的数字记录管理系统是记录管理流程的核心。Dropbox 是一个功能强大的文件存储解决方案,非常适合记录管理,提供安全存储文件所需的所有工具以及更多功能,让您的整体工作流程和信息管理更轻松。您还可以通过轻松的文档扫描将纸质记录移动到您的数字存档中。享受高级团队控制、密码保护和限时访问功能,以实现一流的安全性和信息治理。更好的是,借助扩展版本历史记录附加功能,您可以恢复 10 年内更改或删除的文件。

使用 Dropbox,您可以放心,记录是完全安全的,不会出现面向授权用户隐藏或授权用户无法访问的情况。

上述信息不作为法律建议。如果您有任何法律问题,我们建议您咨询律师。

保护构成您数字生活的文件。

了解 Dropbox 如何确保您的数据安全无虞

Why you should be using records management

Every business has plenty of records, from finances to legal paperwork. If you’re not keeping them securely organized, you’d better get started.

Shelves of books neatly stacked and labeled clearly

What is records management?

Records management, also known as recordkeeping, is, as the name suggests, the process of organizing and securing an organization’s records. For businesses, this process should run for the company’s full life cycle, meaning the documents stored can reflect the history of the business. Records management is about more than simply having a filing cabinet, though. Successful records management should run on a process that includes the classification, creation, and receipt and maintenance of records. Secure disposal or deletion of an organization’s records should also be part of the recordkeeping process.

The following documents should all be considered for archival by a records manager:

  • Paper documents or other offline form of records
  • Digital documents
  • Contracts
  • Reports
  • Audits
  • Certificates
  • Emails/social media messages
  • Videos

Businesses accumulate these items on a regular basis. That’s precisely why it’s so important to have a regulatory process that can sort the wheat from the chaff and save key items to your vital records. Dropbox serves as valuable modern update on the traditional records center. It doesn’t stop with just hitting save, though. These files need to be maintained, so you’re not only managing new incoming items but also archival management.

Why do businesses need to use records management?

Aside from general admin, there are some vital reasons for a businesses to start managing records. Not only can they prevent you from getting into hot water, if your business is ever accused of anything unsavory, your records can also help you get back out. You shouldn’t assume inactive records are no longer important, either. Here are just some types of records that need to be compliant with certain retention periods in the United States:

IRS

The big one for those in the United States. The IRS will require records of your tax. You should aim to keep these vital records for at least four years.

Fair Labor Standards Act

The FLSA will have different laws for different types of payroll records. Generally, a retention period of at least three years should be sufficient.

Personnel records

Keep these records for at least six years after your employee leaves. This is important as proof that they did, in fact, work at your company but can also help you form references when requested. Should an employee want to take action against you, you will also need to call on these records.

Hiring files

Any files relating to the hiring of a staff member should be kept for around three years. The Equal Employment Opportunity Commission will require these records to be kept for at least one year.

Other

There are also the less scary records that you should keep for your own peace of mind. Receipts of paid utility bills, welcome emails for new software, and speculative job applications can all be handy to keep on file.

How to set up a records management system

There are important considerations to make before you go ahead and make a records management system. It’s a company-wide process that will require someone at the helm and initial training for the whole team. A successful records management system will need:

A senior member of staff who is responsible for records management

This should not be a blanket duty for anyone in HR, there should be one senior staff member who fully owns this process. Records management is just as important as your finances, and you wouldn’t expect anyone to pitch in to “do their bit” for finances, you have a dedicated team member to serve as document manager and to be lead archivist.

Decisions about how, which, and when records should be kept

Decide with senior staff, and with the input of the rest of the team, which vital records need to be kept. Choose how long the retention period should be and also decide how they should be deleted at the end of the records life cycle. The period of time you keep documents may vary depending on type. For example, your incorporation papers should be among your permanent records, but you can delete employee payroll details after a few years.

Budget for electronic records management

Digital documents likely make up the majority of your business’ admin and correspondence, and to keep this all safe, you will need to turn to information technology. Software as a Service models mean that a records management program isn’t just a one-off fee, but an on-going monthly subscription. Make sure you have budgeted for this.

Allow for training and continuous monitoring

Records may need to be accessed by anyone in your business, and should be a key part of your single source of truth. So, your team will need to be trained in how to access and responsibly handle records as part of a records management program. These are, after all, some of your business’ most important documents, so you will need to enforce data governance and set a records management policy in place. You will also need to continue monitoring this system, especially for digital records, to make sure there is no unauthorized use or accidental deletion, that way you can always be prepared to perform a file recovery before it’s too late. Disaster recovery should also be considered, for example, if your business activities are hit by an internet virus.

Other considerations

If your business performs a public function like utilities, your vital records may be subject to the freedom of information act that governs federal records. That means some areas of your recordkeeping may need to be accessible as public record. Make sure you have added this possibility to your processes as you start introducing bookkeeping to your organization. 

Selecting a solution for business recordkeeping 

Having a proper digital records management system is core to the records management process. Dropbox is a powerful file storage solution which is perfect for records management, offering all the tools you need to securely store files plus plenty more features to make your overall workflows and information management easier. You can also move your paper records into your digital archive with easy document scanning. Enjoy advanced team controls, password-protection, and time-limited access for top-notch security and information governance. Better still, with the extended version history add-on, you can recover changed or deleted files for up to 10 years. 

With Dropbox, you can rest assured that records are completely safe without being hidden or inaccessible to authorized users.

The information above is not intended to be legal advice. We recommend you consult an attorney if you have any legal questions.

Keep records safe with Dropbox.

Get started