什麼是跨部門團隊?

一支團隊可能會朝著同一個目標共同努力,但不代表每個人的技能都要相同。為您介紹如何在公司裡建立起才華洋溢的跨部門團隊。

兩名跨部門團隊成員在 Dropbox Paper 中一起處理同一位客戶的提案

跨部門的意義

每間公司裡都有各種部門,例如財務、人力資源、內容文案或行銷部門。假使每個團隊的人員組成,都能展現出如此多樣化的技能,會是什麼樣的景況?這時就該採取跨部門的編制方式。

所謂的跨部門,意指聚集具備各式各樣技能和經驗的人,一起團結合作,為共同的目標而努力。因此,與其在產品正式推出前,將專案在不同團隊之間傳來傳去,不如由同一支團隊負責專案的每項工作。 就像每支團隊都是一個縮小版的公司,無需聯絡其他部門,就能透過協作完成專案的每一步驟。

為何要採取跨部門團隊?

跨部門團隊背後的主要概念,是為了提升反應能力、責任感、生產力和決策力。以往專案生命週期中的某一個流程,只有一支團隊負責處理。打破這種藩籬後,跨部門團隊可發揮更好的協作效果。除此之外,團隊成員可能來自公司裡的各個層級,甚至納入遠端工作者,所以能創造出更加多樣化的技能搭配、洞察力和經驗。本質上,因為無需再移交給不同部門,不用花時間等待,成功的團隊合作應能有效消除瓶頸。

跨部門團隊適合哪些人?

所有人都可找到將跨部門團隊納入企業的方法,但有一些先決條件。若想成功實行跨部門團隊,扁平化的組織階層、線上團隊合作及對新想法的開放態度,都是非常重要的企業概念。小型新創企業經常採用這種工作方式,因為這類公司通常只有少數員工,且員工在一定程度上必須多才多藝。大家認為跨部門團隊能更有效率解決問題,因此也願意為了發揮創意,冒更大的風險。

只有當整體企業都採取這種方法時,團隊才會如魚得水。因此如果知道貴公司不太可能將整個平台交給遠端工作的資淺主管,而且還需要審慎考慮公司文化,則跨部門團隊應該不會收到太大成效。

若還無法擺脫傳統思維模式,就可能還沒準備好活用這種前瞻性思維的工作方式。Netflix、Spotify 和 Google 等企業都開始採用這種工作方式,但這種改變並非一蹴可幾。若要跨部門團隊發揮效果,絕對需要合適的成員,且來自合適類別的部門領域。

企業如何運用跨部門團隊?

跨部門團隊的理念,衍伸出多種工作模式,像是敏捷工作法、精實工作法、看板工作法。這類工作風格的最佳運用方式,就是雇用對此有豐富經驗的團隊成員,讓他們協助團隊成員解決初期常碰到的問題。跨部門合作方式可能和專案經理、直屬匯報這種傳統想法有所不同,但通常領導者不可或缺。經驗豐富的跨部門團隊領導者可協助過渡期順利進行。

招募員工的多樣性,也是跨部門團隊的關鍵。需要有各式各樣的技能和經驗。跨部門合作需要彼此信任,這點最為重要。成員必須要能團隊合作、必要時跳出框架外思考、願意接手別人留下的爛攤子,而且整個過程需要獲得支持。招募具備不同觀點和專業經驗的人,有益於克服問題和運用創意解決問題。

跨部門團隊最重要的是什麼?

想要打造出成功的團隊,以下特點至關重要:

溝通

這是老生常談了。團隊想要成功,就需要時刻保持聯繫、互相分享最新消息。可進行看板和敏捷獎勵每日站立會議 (站立進行的簡短團隊會議,所以比坐下開會時更能把握重點),讓大家都掌握最新情況。不要只有在出現問題或需要緊急修改時,才彼此聯絡。記得也要以團隊的形式慶祝成功,不但在發生緊急問題要保持溝通,也別忘了正面積極的溝通內容。開放和誠實的溝通管道能避免發生辦公室政治鬥爭、相互責備和產生受害者思維。

責任

我為人人,人人為我。就像常說的,良好溝通是跨部門合作的關鍵要素,但同時也要鼓勵成員勇於承擔自己的錯誤。請以身作則,不僅自己犯錯時勇於承認,當其他人勇敢認錯時,對待他們的方式也很重要。失敗是人生中不可避免的一部分;好的團隊將失敗轉換為重要的學習契機,而不是推卸責任的機會。

適應能力

在單一專案進行的過程中,事情可能會產生很大變化。您的跨部門團隊需要上緊發條,隨時準備好應對。也就是需要快速且有效率地應對變化。您的團隊需要以自信的態度,運用全新途徑來實現成功專案。這就回到之前提到的要點,請鼓勵團隊嘗試新方法、為自己的行為負責,而且在失敗時不要互相指責。

結盟

在敏捷工作法和類似的工作法中,有一條常見的非正式座右銘:「把事情搞定就對了」。您的團隊需要接受這種觀點。您需要完全掌握任何專案的進展,並且需要將擁有權分享出去。請視大局下達決策,將問題歸納合一。不光只是想要做事,還要把事情做好,請以這種精神領導團隊前行。

跨部門團隊有用嗎?

如果以正確方式成立團隊,就有用,不然註定會走向災難。值得注意的是,許多鼓勵跨部門的工作法,最初都是針對某些工作流程所開發而成。敏捷工作法最初是軟體開發人員採用,而精實工作法則是為製造業所設計。因此可能會發現這些方法的應用方式和好處,並不適合行銷公關等業務。錯誤使用這些方法會導致各種問題,像《哈佛商業評論》發現 75% 的跨部門團隊功能失調

我們已經介紹了建立夢想中跨部門團隊的各種好處,但如果只是隨意將員工聚在一起,告訴他們開始以敏捷方式工作,情況可能就會出錯。

部門忠誠度

大家可能都是同一支團隊沒錯,但面對逆境時,員工內心可能還是想要悄悄與所屬部門團結起來,站在同一陣線。舉例來說,團隊中負責行銷的成員是否會因為違背不利於部門 KPI,而反對開發人員的作法,即使這種作法對客戶或專案有益?這就是為何整間公司都必須共同採用這種工作方式,如果只有一天進行跨部門合作,其餘時間還是採用傳統工作模式,這樣是行不通的。

領導者的工作過量

領導者可幫助團隊順利運作。然而也可能會在不經意之中,間接將傳統的工作價值觀重新帶回本應具未來前瞻性的工作方式中。團隊很容易開始過度依賴領導者。需要做關鍵的決策嗎?去問領導者。遇到問題嗎?請領導者解決這個問題。看到有成員不負責任?就靠領導者來解決這件事。跨部門團隊在同心協力一起工作、一起成功的時候,才能蓬勃發展。

缺乏溝通

另一個風險是將「人人為我」的心態視為理所當然,並認為團隊可透過潛移默化來執行工作。身為跨部門的一員,不代表就全知全能。務必善用註解共享資料夾Trello 看板等工具,讓大家都能掌握最新狀態,並在辦公室或以虛擬方式進行頻繁的站立會議。

缺乏熱誠

這並非是要每個團隊成員都將工作視為最高優先事項,但必須要能從這種工作方式中找到動力。也就是團隊成員需要知道自己工作的價值,以及帶給整體專案的影響。當團隊同心協力一起工作、一起成功的時候,就會產生熱誠和動力。若不知道工作有何意義,肯定會失去興趣。

Dropbox 如何助您一臂之力

跨部門協作需要進行完美協調,Dropbox 正是實現這一目標的完美工具。您可以共享資料夾,並即時更新和編輯文件。團隊每位成員都可精準知道目前情況。

使用 Dropbox 代表團隊無需身處同處,也能確保順利協作,而且所有內容都安全線上儲存。跨部門團隊可以集中在同個地方工作,同心協力實現共同的核心目標。

幫助跨部門團隊互相合作

開始使用

What is a cross-functional team?

A team may all be working towards the same goal, but that doesn’t mean they need the same skill set. Here’s how to form talented cross-functional teams in your business.

Two cross-functional team members work together on the same customer proposal in Dropbox Paper

Cross-functional meaning

Every office has its departments. From finance to HR, content to marketing, but what if this variety of skills was reflected in each individual team? That’s where cross-functionality comes in.

Cross-functional means groups of people with a variety of skills and experience who all work towards a common goal. So, instead of passing one project around from team to team until launch day, a single team can handle every aspect of it. Consider it like each team being a mini workforce, able to complete every step of a project through collaboration, without reaching out to another department.

Why use cross-functional teams?

The main idea behind cross-functional teams is an increase in responsiveness, accountability, productivity and decision-making. By breaking down the barriers that mean only one team can approach any one process in a project’s life cycle, cross-functioning teams enjoy better collaboration. As well as this, team members can come from every level in the business, and include remote workers, creating a more diverse range of skill sets, insight and experience. A successful team will essentially be able to eliminate bottlenecks as there is no wait-time on handover to different departments.

Who can use cross-functional teams?

Anyone can find a way to incorporate cross-functional teams into their business, but there are some pre-requisites. A flat hierarchy, online teamwork and an openness to new ideas are all vital company concepts if you are going to make this approach work. Small business ventures, which usually have a small number of employees and need them all to be multi-functional to some degree, are common adopters of this work method. Cross-functional teams are thought to be able to problem solve better and therefore, also take more creative risks.

A team can only feel comfortable doing this if the business as a whole nurtures this sort of approach. So, if you know your company isn’t likely to give the platform to a remote working junior executive then, as well as needing to take a strong look at your company culture, you probably aren’t going to have much success in making cross-functional teams.

If you are stuck in a traditional mindset, you may not be ready to benefit from this forward-thinking way of working. Businesses like Netflix, Spotify and Google are all starting to adopt this work method, but it’s not an overnight change. You absolutely need the correct people from the right range of functional areas behind it in order to make it work.

How can a business use cross-functional teams?

There are several work styles that are built around the idea of cross-functional teams, such as agile, lean and kanban. Your best bet to adopting these work styles is to employ team members who are experienced in them, and they can then support team members through any teething problems. Cross-functionality may veer away from the traditional idea of having a project manager and direct reports, but having a leader is often a necessary thing. An experienced cross-functional team leader can help this transition run smoothly.

Diversity in your hiring is also key here. You want a variety of skills and experience. Cross-functionality arguably requires trust more than anything else. You want to be able to work as a team, to think outside the box when needed, to not be afraid to pick up the slack and to be supported when you do so. Hiring individuals with varying outlooks and professional experience will put you in good stead for overcoming issues and creatively solving problems.

What is most important for a cross-functional team?

The following traits are essential for successful teams:

Communication

Nothing new here. All successful teams need to stay connected and keep each other updated. Kanban and agile prize daily stand ups (short stand-up team meetings which therefore are more to-the-point that sitting meetings) to keep everyone up to date. So, don’t just get in touch when things are going wrong or urgent changes are needed. Remember to also celebrate wins as a team and keep communication about positives as well as more pressing issues. Open and honest communication channels are what help keep office politics, blame, and victimized thinking at bay.

Accountability

It’s all for one, one for all. Like we said, communication is key here, but you also want to encourage people to be able to own their mistakes. Lead by example, not only to admitting when you are wrong, but by how you treat those who do likewise. Failure is an inevitable part of life; a good team can make it an important learning opportunity, not a chance to pass the buck.

Adaptability

Things can change a lot over the course of a single project. Your cross-functional teams need to be ready to deal with this. That means reacting to these alterations needs to be quick and efficient. You team needs to feel confident in taking these new pathways to a successful project, and again, that comes back to trusting them to try something new, owning their actions, and not pointing fingers should it fail.

Alignment

A common unofficial motto of agile and similar work methods is “get sh*t done” and it’s a sentiment your team needs to buy into. You need to all be very clear on the progression of any project, and you need to share in the ownership. Decisions should be made as a whole, issues should be elevated as one. The desire not just to do something, but to get it done well, should be your team’s guiding light.

Do cross-functional teams work?

Yes, if they are formed correctly, otherwise, it may be a recipe for disaster. It’s worth noting that many of the work methods that encourage cross-functionality were originally developed with certain work processes in mind. Agile was originally adopted by software developers, and Lean was designed for manufacturing. So, you may find that the application and benefits of these methods just don’t fit businesses like a marketing agency, for example. Using these methods wrong can lead to all sorts of issues—the Harvard Business Review found 75% of cross-functional teams were dysfunctional.

We’ve already covered all the bonuses of forming the dream cross-functionality team, but here’s what can go wrong if you just throw any employees together and tell them to start working in agile.

Departmental loyalties

Yes, you may all be one team, but there may also be a silent need for employees to side with their department as a whole in the face of adversity. For example, is the marketing portion of your team going to push back on developers because it goes against department KPIs, even if it’s for the best of the client or project? Again, this is why you need the whole company to be on board with this work style, you can’t just spend one day being cross-functional and the rest of the time in a traditional work model.

Overloading the leader

Leaders can help keep teams on track. However, they can inadvertently encourage traditional work values to creep back into what is meant to be a future-facing way of working. Teams can easily start depending on them for too much. Have a key decision to make? Ask the leader. Have a problem? Tell the leader to fix it. See one member not being accountable? Rely on the leader to address it. Cross-functional teams flourish when they work and win as one.

Lack of communication

There is also the risk of you taking the “all for one” mentality for granted and assuming that the team can perform using osmosis. Just because you are now cross-functional, doesn’t mean you are omnipresent. Make sure you keep everyone up to date with tools like annotationsshared foldersTrello boards, and frequent stand-ups either in the office or virtually.

Lack of passion

This isn’t to say that every member of the team needs to prize work above everything else, but they need to be able to find motivation in this way of working. That means they need to know there is value in their work and that it has an impact on the project overall. You do this by working and winning as one. Anyone who fails to see purpose in their work is sure to lose interest.

How Dropbox can help

Cross-functional collaboration needs to be perfectly aligned, and Dropbox is the perfect tool for that. You can share folders and update and edit documents in real time. Every member of the team can know precisely where they stand.

Dropbox means your team doesn’t need to be in the same location to make sure collaboration is still flowing, with everything stored safely online. Cross-functional teams can have one central work location so they can jointly work to one core goal.

Help cross-functional teams work together

Get started