敏捷方法

瞭解敏捷工作法的原理,評估其優勢和問題,並且找出適合的策略以應用於您的工作團隊。

什麼是敏捷工作法?

從 2000 年代早期,敏捷工作法就成為許多科技組織的必備專案管理方法。當今大多數的軟體開發工作團隊都是採用某種形式的敏捷工作法,相關要素也已經融入許多工作環境。「敏捷」這個詞本身甚至也變得更加普及,因為當今的思想領袖在商業界經常提起更加「敏捷」的必要性。但所謂的在公司中運用敏捷專案管理方法,究竟是什麼意思?

敏捷工作法是一套專案管理流程,將專案分割成較小規模的工作項目和階段。這種分割成小階段的工作方式,讓敏捷工作團隊可以納入相關人士的意見、重新評估工作,並且在流程中的每一個階段進行反覆修改。其中最常見的一種敏捷工作方式,會將工作切割成簡短的發展階段,也就是所謂的「衝刺」。這讓工作團隊可以迅速工作,並且在衝刺規劃和每日 Scrum 時定期與主管和相關人士一起重新評估工作內容。在檢討後,專案工作團隊和相關人士可以繼續當前的路線,或是變更接下來的衝刺計畫。相較於傳統的專案管理方式,敏捷工作法重視的是速度、彈性、團隊合作和相關人士需求。

敏捷工作法起源何方?

敏捷工作法背後的概念源於 2000 年代早期,有一群軟體開發人員建立了四大敏捷原則:

  • 個人與互動優先於流程與工具
  • 可用的軟體優先於詳盡的文件
  • 客戶協作優先於合約擬定
  • 因應改變優先於遵守計畫

這些在 2001 年發表的「敏捷宣言」中所強調的價值,形塑了敏捷專案管理方法,也徹底改變了軟體開發產業。

當時,瀑布式開發仍被視為比較理想的軟體開發專案工作方式。儘管瀑布式開發在 1970 年代問世時極具突破性,但到了 2000 年代,這種工作方式已經變得繁瑣。主要是因為,瀑布式開發在專案真正開始之前,就需要用到大量的文件和決定性的規劃。等到工作真正開始,通常各自獨立的不同工作團隊必須嚴格遵循這些計畫,導致難以應對問題或是需求改變。相較之下,採用敏捷開發方法的工作團隊可以更快開始工作,並在問題出現時即時反應,還能直接與客戶及相關人士一起進行規劃。

為什麼敏捷專案管理如此流行?

相較於瀑布式開發,敏捷工作法的優點對於 2000 年代的科技公司而言更顯而易見。敏捷軟體開發的優勢不只侷限於編寫程式,現在有許多其他產業也開始在工作流程中融入敏捷工作法。那麼,為何敏捷工作法可以吸引這麼多專案經理和企業領導人?

適應能力

敏捷工作法的核心概念就在於能夠應對目標、環境或流程問題的改變。在敏捷工作法的框架下,評估當前工作、時程和專案需求的能力都已經內建在這種工作法之中。如果相關人士想要變更專案的範圍或方向,Scrum 和衝刺規劃可以為工作團隊提供變更路線的機會。如果工作團隊成員發現當前工作項目或專案某個部份有問題,可以調整時間表以迅速解決問題。敏捷工作法能協助您迅速變更路線,因此您的專案工作團隊打造出的成品不會錯失客戶的需求。

相關人士協調同步

由於具備這種程度的彈性,敏捷工作法也能夠持續掌握客戶和顧客不斷變化的要求與需求。任何專案都一樣,您的工作團隊和相關人士在初期所規劃的目標和範圍鮮少能維持不變。也許會有客戶預料之外的工作和需求浮現,或是終端消費者的需求已經隨著時間改變。不論相關人士為何變更計畫,敏捷工作法都能讓您更加靈活地應對這類變化,進而迅速交付專案、避免待辦工作累積。如此不論專案進展到何種階段,都能確保交付成品符合客戶不斷變化的期望。

速度

當然,如果敏捷工作法的本質不敏捷,也不會以此命名。敏捷工作法將工作團隊的工作項目分割成較小的目標,並指定較短的明確工作期間,讓您的工作團隊能夠專注並加速工作。就基本層面而言,這表示產品可以更快進入市場或交到客戶手中。不過敏捷工作法對各行各業如此有吸引力的主因,在於這樣的速度結合了彈性適應的能力。當問題出現,您的工作團隊可以迅速變更路線和處理問題。不需要花時間回頭查看原始的計畫或文件:只要在 Scrum 中提出問題、安排處理時程,然後解決問題即可。如此一來,敏捷工作法就能協助工作團隊保持專注於個別的工作項目,並在期限內完成。

敏捷工作法有哪些問題?

然而,敏捷工作法並不是十全十美的解決方案。如同任何專案管理方法,敏捷工作法有其優勢,使用時也有需要考量的層面。就像瀑布式開發,如果無法妥當管理敏捷工作法帶來的缺點和難關,就可能會妨礙到工作。

管理範圍

具備迅速應對問題和流程變更的能力之後,務必要注意整體的專案和範圍。敏捷工作法讓您可以迅速變更計畫和工作,但快速切換工作項目,可能會導致無法看清整體進度。即使工作團隊的良好的,如果衝刺規劃時建立的工作項目清單並未嚴加管理,您可能會耗費過多預算或時間。敏捷工作團隊和專案經理必須隨時掌握專案範圍和路線,以避免承擔的工作量失控膨脹。

排程

工作團隊採用敏捷流程時,可能不只是有專案範圍會脫離管控。工作團隊若利用衝刺規劃工作法,就能根據當前需求彈性調整時間表和優先事項。然而,一旦工作團隊成員開始行動並處理新的工作項目,或是針對問題提供支援,時間表就必須根據這些狀況彈性調整。如果時間表很緊湊,就必須確保衝刺規劃仍然符合該時間範圍。

此外,儘管自行管理型的工作團隊會根據需求而在多個工作項目之間切換,最終還是必須回頭處理指派的工作項目。在這個階段,採用敏捷工作法的專案經理必須負責掌握工作團隊的所有工作項目進度,確保沒有地方進度落後。否則,經過一次次步調快速的衝刺之後,可能會遺漏一些本該完成的工作。

溝通

在敏捷工作法中,團隊合作的優先順序和快速反應,自然代表溝通非常重要。工作團隊成員需要溝通自己當前的進度,不論是有問題出現,還是需要協助。這類溝通必須由工作團隊中的所有成員定期進行,也必須直接納入規劃中。與相關人士維持協調同步十分重要,一定要瞭解各方相關人士的需求,才有辦法變更計畫。

如何執行敏捷流程

如果有興趣讓工作團隊採用敏捷專案管理工作法,有很多經過測試和驗證的策略和做法可供選擇。衝刺和 Scrum 是其中最常見的兩種。當然,使用的專案管理軟體和工具是否適合,也會影響敏捷工作法的成敗。以下是建立和遵循敏捷工作法最重要的一些流程和方法:

追蹤工作項目

為了得知下一次衝刺必須完成哪些工作,您必須先知道哪些工作已經完成。因此工作團隊必須擅長追蹤自身進度。敏捷工作團隊經常使用的其中一種技巧,叫做待辦工作精簡或待辦工作梳理。主要的做法是提升工作團隊的透明度、設定待辦項目的優先順序,並且確保需要優先處理的項目已經準備好交付。Scrum 團隊經常會使用牆面或看板來追蹤工作內容,不過也有許多團隊選擇用工作項目管理軟體。Dropbox 可整合 Trello 這類工作項目管理軟體,讓工作團隊在跨應用程式的流程上即時同步。

定期有效溝通

確實溝通是敏捷專案管理框架的基礎。因此,務必要為工作團隊提供定期溝通的管道和機會。雖然衝刺通常是以 2 到 3 週為一個週期,但不少 Scrum 大師會每天和工作團隊進行「站立會議」,以掌握每日進度。您和工作團隊可以自行決定特定的溝通步調,不過運用工具有助於促進這類對話。Dropbox Spaces 可讓您將所有內容集中儲存在同個位置妥善管理,同時還可有效協調工作團隊。您可以指定待辦事項或是留下註解,讓同事瞭解背景資訊和方向以保持同步。Slack 和 Zoom 等即時聊天和視訊會議應用程式的整合功能,也有助於主持工作團隊會議和規劃會議時間。您可以直接從 Dropbox 分享檔案和開始對話,減少切換索引標籤和背景資訊的時間。這類功能特別適合用來與遠端工作團隊溝通,或者是辦公桌相隔甚遠的團隊成員。

停步檢討

採用敏捷工作法時,從一個工作項目直接切換到下一個,不停清除工作的做法,也許相當吸引人。不過務必要挪出空閒檢討敏捷流程和回顧衝刺階段,以免工作團隊陷入隧道效應。在每次衝刺結束時安排檢討時間,有助於團隊成員重新評估自己的工作和優先事項。

也建議採取事後分析式的衝刺檢討活動,檢查您的規劃方式在專案生命週期中對專案造成的影響。為了做到這一點,一定要追蹤和詳實記錄您的工作。Dropbox 內建版本控制功能,可以協助您在此時審閱工作團隊每個開發階段的檔案。站立會議也能使用這項功能,以便查看個別團隊成員的進度,或回溯尚未核准的變更。

在工作上應用敏捷工作法

敏捷工作法大幅改變許多企業和經理的工作方式和帶來的成效。自 2000 年起,這種工作法就一直是軟體開發流程的一大推力,其中的元素也滲透到各行各業。不論是在考慮明天早上要進行工作團隊 Scrum,或是要繼續使用電子郵件溝通,看來敏捷工作法仍然會盛行下去

Agile methodology

Gain an understanding of the Agile methodology, assess its advantages and challenges and find strategies to implement it with your team.

What is Agile methodology?

Since the early 2000s, the Agile methodology has become a staple project management approach for many technology organizations. Most software development teams today practice Agile in some form, and elements of it have made their way into many work environments. The word itself has even become more popular, as thought leaders today talk about the need to be more “agile” across the world of business. But what does it actually mean to use an Agile project management approach in your business?

The Agile methodology is a project management process which breaks up projects into smaller tasks and stages. This bite-sizing of work allows Agile teams to incorporate stakeholder feedback, re-evaluate work and take an iterative approach at every point of the process. One of the most common approaches to Agile involves chunking up work into short phases of development, known as sprints. This allows the team to work quickly and then re-evaluate that work with managers and stakeholders regularly in sprint planning and daily scrums. Upon review, the project team and stakeholders can then continue their current track or change plans for their upcoming sprints. Compared to traditional project management approaches, Agile prioritizes speed, flexibility, teamwork and stakeholder needs.

Where did Agile come from?

The idea behind Agile emerged in the early 2000s from a group of software developers who established four main Agile principles:

  • Individuals and interactions over processes and tools
  • Working software over comprehensive documentation
  • Customer collaboration over contract negotiation
  • Responding to change over following a plan

These values, enshrined in the Agile Manifesto launched in 2001, shaped the Agile project management approach and transformed the software development industry.

Up until that point, Waterfall was considered the preferred approach in tackling software development projects. While ground-breaking when it first appeared in the 1970s, Waterfall had become burdensome by the 2000s. Crucially, it involved heavy amounts of documentation and decisive planning before a project could even begin. Once work actually began, those plans were strictly followed by separate, often siloed teams, making it difficult to adapt to issues or changes in needs. By comparison, teams using Agile development methods could begin work faster, adapt to issues as they arose and plan directly with their customers and stakeholders.

Why is Agile project management so popular?

Compared to Waterfall, the benefits of Agile were obvious to technology companies in the 2000s. The advantages of Agile software development extend beyond just the world of programming as many other industries now incorporate Agile in their workflows. So, what has made Agile so attractive to so many project managers and business leaders?

Adaptability

At its core, the Agile methodology is about being able to respond to changes in goals, environment or process issues. With an Agile framework, the ability to evaluate your current work, timelines and project needs are built into the approach. If a stakeholder wants to change the scope or direction of a project, scrums and sprint planning provide opportunities for the team to change course. If a team member discovers an issue with a current task or part of a project, the schedule can be adapted to tackle the issue quickly. Rather than your project teams producing something that no longer meets customer needs, Agile allows you to quickly change course.

Stakeholder alignment

With this level of flexibility, Agile is also able to stay aligned with the ever changing demands and needs of clients and customers. With any project, the goals and scope outlined at the beginning between your team and your stakeholders rarely stays the same. Perhaps extra work and needs have arisen with your client that they hadn’t foreseen, or the demands of the end consumer have changed over time. Whatever the reason for your stakeholder’s change of plans, Agile allows you to be more responsive to those changes so you can deliver quickly and avoid backlog. This ensures that deliverables meet the evolving expectations of your clients, no matter how far they travel from the project start.

Speed

Of course, the Agile methodology wouldn’t have the name if it wasn’t agile by nature. By bite-sizing your teams’ tasks and giving them shorter, defined work periods, Agile lets your team focus and work faster. At a basic level, this means that products can get to market or to clients faster. But this speed alongside the ability to adapt is the core combo that makes Agile compelling to businesses of all varieties. When problems arise, your team can change tack and deal with them quickly. There’s no time spent going back to original plans or documents: you raise the issue in a scrum, schedule for it, and then solve it. In this way, Agile helps teams to stay focused on individual tasks and complete them on time.

What are the challenges to the Agile approach?

Agile isn’t a foolproof solution, however. As with any project management approach, there are things that it excels at and things that need to be taken into consideration when using it. Just as Waterfall, there are drawbacks and challenges to using Agile that can get in the way of work if not managed appropriately.

Managing scope

With the ability to quickly adapt to issues and changes to process, it’s important to watch your overall project and scope. Agile allows you to change plans and work fast but moving between tasks quickly can blind you to how much progress is being made overall. Even if your team is working efficiently, you may overshoot on budget or time if the list of tasks created by sprint planning grows unchecked. Agile teams and project managers need to stay on top of their project’s scope and roadmap to ensure the amount of work they are taking on doesn’t balloon out of control.

Scheduling

It’s not just scope that can slip away from a team using an Agile process. When teams use sprint planning, they’re able to be flexible in their schedules and priorities based on current needs. However, once team members start to move around and tackle new tasks or support on problems, the schedule needs to flex to accommodate that. If you’re keeping to a strict schedule, you need to ensure that sprint planning is still staying within that timeframe.

Also, while self-organizing teams may be jumping between various tasks based on need, they will also eventually need to come back to their assigned tasks. At this point, it’s on Agile project managers to know where the team is on all tasks and to ensure that nothing is left behind. Otherwise, work that was thought to be done may be forgotten over the course of numerous rapid-pace sprints.

Communication

In the Agile approach, the prioritization of teamwork and rapid response naturally means that communication is paramount. Team members need to be able to communicate their current progress, whether any issues have arisen and if they need help with ease. This communication needs to happen regularly between all members of the team, and it needs to feed directly into your planning. It’s essential to stay aligned with stakeholders, as you’re only able to change your plans if you know what your stakeholders want. 

How to implement an Agile process

If you’re interested in adopting the Agile project management methodology for your team, there are many tried-and-tested strategies and practices—sprints and scrums being some of the most common. Of course, using the right project management software and tools can also make or break an Agile planning approach. Here are some of the most important processes and methods to establishing and following an Agile methodology: 

Track your tasks

In order to know what work needs to be done in the next sprint, you need to know what’s already been completed. As such, your team need to be masters of keeping track of their progress. Backlog refinement, or backlog grooming, is a technique commonly used by Agile teams. It centers around providing teams with transparency, prioritizing backlog items and ensuring that the items topping the list are ready for delivery. Scrum teams will often use planning walls or Kanban boards to keep track of things, but many opt for a task management software. Dropbox allows for the integration of task management software, such as Trello, keeping your team synced up on processes across apps in real-time.

Communicate regularly and effectively

Proper communication is the cornerstone of any Agile project management framework. So, giving your team the means and opportunities to communicate at regular intervals is paramount. While sprints are typically run in 2-3 weeks bursts, many scrum masters host daily “stand-ups” with their teams to keep on top of progress day-to-day. While your specific communication cadence is up to you and your team, using tools can help you facilitate those conversations. Dropbox Spaces allow you to store all of your content in one organized place while effectively coordinating your team. By assigning to-dos or leaving comments you can provide your colleagues with the context and direction needed to stay in sync. Integrations with real-time chat and videoconferencing apps like Slack and Zoom can also help you host team meetings and planning sessions. You can share files and begin conversations directly from Dropbox, reducing the time spent switching between tabs and context-switching. This is especially useful for communicating with remote teams—or with team members whose desks are just too far away.

Stop and review

With Agile, it can be tempting to just jump straight from one task to the next, ticking them off as you go. It’s important however to make space for reviews and sprint retrospectives in Agile processes to prevent cases of team tunnel vision. Building time for review at the end of each sprint allows for team members to re-evaluate their own work and prioritize.

Post-mortem style sprint reviews should also be used to examine how your planning has affected a project over its life cycle. For these, keeping track and having proper records of your work is essential. Dropbox has built-in version control features that can help you review your team’s files at every stage of development at these times. It can also be used during stand-ups to see an individual team member’s progress or roll-back changes that may not have been approved.

Working with an Agile methodology

The Agile methodology has been transformative for many businesses and managers in terms of the way they work and the success they see. It has been a driving force in software development processes since the 2000s, and elements of it have permeated across the world of work. Whether you’re considering sitting down for a team scrum tomorrow morning or just sticking to emails, it seems that the Agile methodology is here to stay.

Learn how you and your team can do more with Dropbox.

Get started now