什么是 VPN?

如果您的办公室经常在线共享重要文档,您是否了解 VPN 或许是进行协作的最佳选择?很多工作都依赖互联网,在这种情况下,您的团队安全吗?

一个人在通过笔记本电脑连接到 VPN

VPN 的含义

“VPN”是一个常用术语,特别是当涉及到远程团队时,但您知道它的含义吗?VPN 是虚拟专用网络的首字母缩写。顾名思义,VPN 会为您创建一个虚拟空间,供您在线使用。但它有哪些优势(若有)?

VPN 的作用是什么?

VPN 声称可为家庭互联网用户和繁忙的工作区提供众多优势,例如:

允许远程访问

VPN 允许创建包含选定设备的专用远程网络,非常适合远程工作者使用。这使您的团队即使相隔数英里或数个大洲,也能安全地保持联系。

更安全

如果您登录 Wi-Fi 热点来上网,比如在上班的火车上或在咖啡店里,VPN 可以保护您的数据安全。公共 Wi-Fi 可能很有用,但它不如您的家庭或公司的网络连接安全。通过创建 VPN 隧道(可以将其想象成数据周围的防护壳),即使 Wi-Fi 连接遭到入侵,VPN 也会使用 AES(高级加密标准)对数据进行完全加密。在您的数据到达其预定目标位置之前,无法对其进行解密,因此即使在公共 Wi-Fi 网络上,您也可以安全地浏览网页、发送电子邮件或使用信用卡付款。这被称为 PPTP(点对点隧道协议)。

绕过位置拦截器

由于 VPN 隐藏了您的位置并允许您在特定区域中选择服务器,因此您可以从任何地方查看内容。例如,如果您在中国,并且想要访问您的社交媒体帐户,您可能会发现很多这些网站被屏蔽了。但是,通过将 VPN 配置为提供位于美国的 IP,您的互联网将反映您的连接,就像您在美国一样。

绕过限制

虽然并非所有的 VPN 和互联网服务提供商 (ISP) 都是如此,但有时 VPN 服务可以帮助绕过网络流量限制。例如,如果 ISP 在您到达某个限值之后开始限制您的数据,VPN 可以帮助您掩盖某些活动,从而使数据额度持续更长时间。也就是说,使用 VPN 通常会降低宽带连接速度,因为需要通过 VPN 服务器重新路由连接。但是,这通常是家庭宽带而非业务方案的问题。

那么 VPN 是如何工作的?

本质上,VPN 会在线掩盖您的身份、位置和活动。当您连接到互联网时,互联网服务提供商 (ISP) 会使用其服务器使您联网。因为 VPN 通过专用服务器建立此连接,所以可能从您的电脑传输的任何数据都来自 VPN。

VPN 提供商使用加密和互联网协议安全 (IPSec) 来“打包”您的数据,这样数据就可以安全地封装,直到到达目标位置。这称为 L2TP(第二层隧道协议)。如果您正在在线浏览内容,则 IP 地址(互联网协议地址)不会显示为 ISP 分配给您的 IP 地址,而是会显示为 VPN 服务器的 IP 地址。

什么是 IP 地址?

互联网协议 (IP) 地址是一组数字,用于在您连接到互联网时识别您的设备。IP 地址可以作为标识,帮助确定您的位置。在某些情况下,这可能会很有用,例如,如果您是一家小型企业,并且需要为本地客户牢牢记录您的网站和位置。如果您的团队选择使用 VPN 连接,但是您仍然需要保留 IP 地址,则可以使用特定的 VPN。

VPN 的用途是隐藏 IP 地址,这主要是因为 IP 地址会泄露您的位置。例如,如果黑客获得了您的 IP 地址,他们就可以看到您最新的在线活动,并有可能入侵您的帐户。但可能会导致您受到入侵的不仅仅是黑客。您是否曾经想过,您在社交媒体频道中看到的广告如何确切地知道您一直在寻找什么产品?这是因为您的 ISP 出售了有关您的互联网活动的信息。VPN 可以防止发生这种情况,因为您的 IP 地址是隐藏的。

为什么选择 VPN

在工作环境中使用 VPN 的最具说服力的原因之一是,能够安全连接远程团队。有了更高的安全性和可访问性,您的团队可以更高效地工作。

  • 更放心地在网上工作:VPN 意味着即使是进行文件共享,您也可以相信自己的数据是安全的。
  • 让客户放心:客户可能希望在交付任何文档之前,您已经采用 VPN 或同等安全的服务。
  • 远程网络:VPN 允许您将内部网络扩展到办公室之外。

使用 VPN

在考虑为您的工作 PC 或整个团队部署 VPN 服务时,请考虑以下事项:

  • VPN 位置:VPN 是否会根据提供商位置在您选择的目标位置工作?例如,如果您要访问一个在美国被屏蔽的网站,则需要一台位于该网站的首选国家/地区的服务器。检查您的 VPN 在那里是否有服务器。此外,VPN 将遵守其运营所在国家/地区(而不是其客户所在国家/地区)的规则(详见下文)。
  • VPN 类型:VPN 可以像扩展插件一样简单,也可以像整个企业 VPN 网络一样广泛。如果您的办公室希望改善协作工具,则需要考虑企业的选择。
  • 成本:VPN 越复杂,成本越高。对于企业 VPN 服务,您需要寻找的是一种定制的 IT 解决方案,这可能是一笔巨大的投资。
  • 操作系统:您需要选择与您的操作系统兼容的 VPN 服务。例如,Linux 电脑可能需要与 Microsoft Windows 不同的 VPN 客户端。
  • 设备:如果您打算在移动设备(例如手机或平板电脑)上使用 VPN,可能需要选择与笔记本电脑不同的 VPN。

VPN 安全吗?

在如此重视隐私和安全的情况下,人们很容易把 VPN 想象成抵御网络黑客的“虚拟防弹背心”。遗憾的是,事实并非如此。在最安全的情况下,VPN 可以为您提供一种安全的上网方式,让您不必担心安全威胁。但是,VPN 本身并不能确保防范黑客攻击。另外,使用 VPN 阻止 ISP 跟踪您的情况并非万无一失。许多案例表明,即使某些 VPN 宣称根本不保留任何日志,但这些 VPN 实际上却会记录您的活动

具体情况取决于 VPN 提供商本身的位置,因为他们需要遵循不同的规则。例如,在欧洲,通用数据保护条例 (GDPR) 阻止了这种情况的发生。不过,您也不应该认为 VPN 是保证网络安全的绝对选择。

VPN 有什么缺点?

VPN 具备很多优势,尽管其中许多优势也可以通过替代方案实现。例如,使用不需要进行太多设置、维护或成本的其他软件或服务也可以成功实现远程办公

在采用 VPN 之前,要考虑一下它的缺点:

  • 成本可能很高,尤其对于初创企业
  • 需要进行业务维护
  • 远程网络需要由 IT 专家进行初始设置,Dropbox 只需简单的注册即可
  • 并不总是像看起来的那样安全
  • 可能会显著降低互联网速度
  • 在某些国家/地区,VPN 被视为法律灰色地带或非法

一些品牌已经努力屏蔽使用 VPN 的用户,因为接受使用 VPN 的用户可能会给公司记录留下污点。

最后,您应该考虑一下您真正想通过 VPN 实现什么目的。您是否可以使用 Dropbox 之类的工具实现同样高效的协作?您能否使用在线代理服务器自由地上网?您能否通过最新的反恶意软件和防火墙程序保持较高的安全级别?如果对这些问题的回答都是肯定的,那么就不必要采用 VPN 这个复杂解决方案。

有哪些 VPN 替代方案?

如果您使用 VPN 的主要原因是为了确保您的团队能够保持远程连接,那还有更好的替代方案。VPN 无疑在很多方面都具备优势,但是在远程办公方面,启用并运行企业 VPN 所需的成本和时间似乎令人望而生畏。即使是精通技术的用户也会发现通过 VPN 连接到文件服务器步骤过多,让人烦躁。Dropbox 只需登录即可实现文件安全和远程访问,这使其成为一种满足这些需求的简单有效的 VPN 替代方案。

我的企业应该使用 VPN 吗?

使用 VPN 有很多好处,尽管您需要使用的确切类型可能决定着这将为您带来一款出色的工具还是增加不必要的开销。当涉及到在网络级别保护数据时,VPN 协议的优势难以匹敌,但是由合适的反恶意软件组成的良好的安全框架也可以为您的设备提供强大的保护。搭建并启用企业 VPN 需要时间。还需要进行维护,并需要专业的 IT 专家来保持它的正常运行。对于简单的远程办公和文件共享,Dropbox 是更好的选择。

发现更有效的团队协作方式。

Dropbox Business 使用入门

What is VPN?

If your office is frequently sharing important documents online, do you know if a VPN is the best option for collaboration? And with so much riding on your internet presence, just how safe is your team?

VPN meaning

“VPN” is a common term, especially when it comes to remote teams, but do you know what it means? VPN is an acronym for Virtual Private Network. As the name implies, a VPN creates a virtual space for you to operate in when you’re online. But what are the benefits—if any?

What does a VPN do?

VPNs claim to offer numerous advantages for home internet users and busy workspaces, such as:

Permitting remote access

A VPN allows you to create a private remote network of select devices which is ideal for remote workers. This enables your team to stay connected—safely—even when miles, or continents, apart.

Better security

If you log into Wi-Fi hotspots to get online, such as on the train to work or in a coffee shop, a VPN can keep your data secure. Public Wi-Fi can be a great commodity, but it isn’t as safe as your home or work internet connection. By creating a VPN tunnel—picture it like a protective casing around your data—even if your Wi-Fi connection is compromised, your data is fully encrypted using AES (Advanced Encryption Standard). Until your data reaches its intended destination, it cannot be deciphered, so you can browse, email, or pay by credit card securely even on a public Wi-Fi network. This is known as PPTP, Point-to-Point Tunneling Protocol.

Bypassing location blockers

Because a VPN hides your location and lets you choose a server in a certain region, you can view content from anywhere. If you were in China, for example, and wanted to access your social media accounts, you might find that many of these sites are blocked. However, by configuring your VPN to provide an IP based in the US, your internet would reflect your connection as though you were in the United States.

Negate throttling

While this may not be true for all VPNs and all Internet Service Providers (ISPs), sometimes a VPN service can help bypass network traffic restrictions. For example, if your ISP starts throttling your data after a certain limit, a VPN can help mask some of your activity, making your data allowance last longer. That said, using a VPN in general can slow down your broadband connection as there is a whole extra step of rerouting your connection through a VPN server. However, this is typically an issue for home broadband rather than business scenarios.

So how does VPN work?

Essentially, a VPN masks your identity, location and activity online. When you connect to the internet, your internet service provider (ISP) uses its servers to get you online. Because a VPN makes this connection through a private server, any data that’s possibly transmitted from your computer comes from the VPN instead.

VPN providers use encryption and Internet Protocol Security (IPSec) to “package” your data so it’s securely wrapped until it reaches your destination. This is known as L2TP (Layer Two Tunneling Protocol). If you’re browsing online, your IP address (Internet Protocol address) isn’t displayed as the IP address your ISP assigns you, but as an IP address from the VPN server.

What is an IP address?

An Internet Protocol (IP) address, is a set of numbers used to identify your device when you connect to the internet. An IP address serves as identification and helps pinpoint your location. In some cases, this can be beneficial, say if you’re a small business and need your website and location to be firmly logged for local customers. If your team opts for a VPN connection but you still need to keep your IP address, there are specific VPNs for this.

The main reason VPNs aim to hide IP address is because they can give away your location. If a hacker gets access to your IP address, for example, they can see your latest online activity and potentially hack into your accounts. It’s not just hackers, though. Have you ever wondered how the ads you see in your social media channels seem to know exactly what you’ve been searching for? It’s because your ISP sells information about your internet activity. A VPN prevents this from happening as your IP address is hidden.

Why people choose VPNs

One of the most compelling reasons to use a VPN in a work environment is to safely connect a remote team. With greater security and accessibility, your team can work more efficiently.

  • Greater confidence online: A VPN means you can trust that your data is safe, even when file sharing.
  • Client confidence: Clients may expect you to have a VPN or equally secure service in place before they hand over any documents.
  • Remote network: A VPN allows your internal network to extend beyond the office.

Using a VPN

Consider the following when thinking about equipping your work PC or whole team with a VPN service:

  • VPN location: Will a VPN work in your chosen destination based on the provider location? For example, if you want to access a site that is blocked to your USA location, you’ll need a server that is based in the site’s preferred country. Check your VPN has servers there. Further, a VPN will abide by the rules of the country it operates in, not that of its customer, (more on that below).
  • VPN type: VPNs can be as simple as extension add-ons or as extensive as a whole corporate VPN network. If your office is looking to improve its collaborative tools, you’ll need to look at corporate options.
  • Cost: The more complex the VPN, the higher the cost. For corporate VPN services, you’re looking at a custom built IT solution that is likely to be a substantial investment.
  • Operating systems: You’ll need to pick a VPN service that is compatible with your operating system. Linux computers, for example, may need a different VPN client than Microsoft Windows.
  • Device: If you plan to use a VPN on your mobile devices, like your phone or tablet, you may need a different VPN than the one you select for your laptop.

Are VPNs secure?

With so much emphasis on privacy and security, it’s tempting to think of a VPN as a virtual bullet-proof vest against internet hackers. Unfortunately, this isn’t quite true. At its most secure, a VPN can give you a safe way to get online without worrying about security threats. However, VPNs aren’t impervious to hacking themselves. Plus, using a VPN to stop your ISP keeping tabs on you isn’t foolproof. Numerous cases have shown that some VPNs do log your activity even after saying they keep no logs at all.

The extent of this will depend on the location of the VPN provider themselves as they’ll need to conform to different rules. Within Europe, for example, the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) prevents this from happening. Still, you shouldn’t assume your VPN is an infallible option to online security.

What are the downsides to a VPN?

There are many benefits to a VPN, though many of these perks can also be accessed through alternative means. Remote working, for example, can be successful using other software or services which don’t require as much set-up, maintenance or cost.

Consider the cons of a VPN before you go ahead:

  • Can be costly, especially for a corporate set up
  • Requires maintenance for businesses
  • A remote network needs to be initially set up by an IT specialist—Dropbox requires only a simple sign-up
  • Isn’t always as secure as it may seem
  • Can significantly slow down your internet speed
  • In some countries, VPNs are seen as a legal grey area or illegal

Some brands have made efforts to block users who are using VPNs—this could result in a black mark against a company account.

In the end, you should consider what you really want to achieve with a VPN. Can you collaborate just as efficiently using a tool like Dropbox? Can you surf the web as freely using an online proxy server? Can you keep security levels high with up-to-date anti-malware and firewall programs? If the answer is yes to any of these, a VPN may be an unnecessarily complex solution.

What are the VPN alternatives?

If your main reason for using a VPN is to make sure your team can stay connected remotely, there are better alternatives. VPNs definitely have their advantages in various areas, but when it comes to remote working, the cost and time needed to get a corporate VPN up and running can seem daunting. Even tech savvy users can find the multi-step process of connecting to a file server via VPN irritating. Dropbox provides file security and enables remote access by just signing in, making it a simple and effective VPN alternative for these needs.

Should my business use a VPN?

There are many benefits to using a VPN, although the exact type you need to use can be the difference between a great tool or a needless expense. VPN protocol is hard to beat when it comes to protecting your data at a network level, but a good security framework consisting of suitable anti-malware software can offer strong protection for your devices. A corporate VPN will require time to be built and on-boarded. It also requires maintenance and a dedicated IT specialist to keep it going. For simple remote working and file sharing, Dropbox is a better option.

Learn how you and your team can do more with Dropbox.

Get started now