OKR 是什麼?

企業都有夢想,OKR 架構確保您有明確的目標,並知道實現的方式。

裝飾圖片

OKR 是什麼?

如果您和工作團隊使用設定目標和待辦清單,或許您會有興趣瞭解 OKR。英特爾前執行長 Andy Grove 開發的 OKR 架構可設定並評估目標。OKR 即「目標與重要成效 (Objectives and Key Results)」,例如您的目標和過程中有助成功實現目標的成效。目標是您要實現的結果,重要成效是實現目標所需的行動。

OKR 歷史

Grove 參考 Peter Drucker 的作品,從零開始構思出 OKR。Drucker 現在被視為現代管理技術「MBO」,又稱「目標管理」的主要創立者。OKR 深受創投者暨英特爾員工的 John Doerr 喜愛。他聽到 Grove 的演說後,創造了 OKR 的名詞。

離開英特爾後,Doerr 在新興小型企業 Google 導入 OKR 架構,後來 OKR 成為 Google 躋身全球卓越企業的重要工具。接著,很多其他成功企業也採用 OKR 方法。而後 Doerr 撰寫《Measure What Matters》,詳述 OKR 架構的效用。

OKR 和 MBO 有什麼區別?

OKR 源自 MBO,但下列區別顯示 OKR 為工作團隊帶來截然不同的影響:

  • OKR 是每季檢視,和每年檢視的 MBO 不一樣
  • MBO 針對個人目標,OKR 是整個工作團隊目標
  • OKR 一律以貨幣、百分比等數字衡量,MBO 可採取各種形式評分
  • MBO 會直接影響報酬,OKR 則不會

工作環境考核年度績效和關鍵績效指標 (KPI) 時,您極可能經歷 MBO 方案。在年初設定只有您和經理共享的目標後,努力達成目標,並依據成果獲得報酬。

OKR 的焦點不放在個人和適用個人的目標,而是著眼在更大的工作團隊,並規劃專案目標建立可衡量的成效。在現代辦公室,MBO 可能一下子就過時,甚至扼殺士氣,或負面影響公司文化,如果您總強調「個人不如團隊合作有效」。

繼續團隊為主的主題,OKR 使用瀑布式管理由上至下的結構,連結資深和資淺工作團隊成員的成效。

OKR 有什麼範例?

John Doerr 提供多個 OKR 範例。他使用足球隊 OKR 方案作為由上至下目標的範例。

目標:世界盃冠軍

  • 重要成效 1:錦標賽全程平均進球得分率 2.0
  • 重要成效 2:錦標賽全程平均失球率 0.5
  • 重要成效 3:控球率 75%

因為這些目標設在最高標準,所以進攻型教練的 OKR 需反映這些成效在個人的 OKR :

目標:每場比賽傳球進攻 700 公尺

  • 重要成效 1:傳球成功率 85%
  • 重要成效 2:射中率 80%
  • 重要成效 3:罰球討論率 100%

想當然耳,沒人能在比賽和生活任何層面期望 100% 成功,但重點不是一絲不苟達到成效,而是清楚知道您需要什麼成效。明白工作團隊目標,讓所有人能循序漸進和互相激勵。畢竟不知道目標或達成目標的方式,工作團隊可能出現壓力、拖延並抑鬱寡歡。

有趣的是,OKR 不必以工作為主。OKR 的架構也適用個人目標。下方是 Doerr 應用的方式:

目標:和家人共度美好時光

  • 重要成效 1:下午 6 點前回家吃飯
  • 重要成效 2:關閉網路排除干擾

進取型 OKR 是什麼?

OKR 不見得全格守不變,在此指的是您、工作團隊和公司同意努力的目標。有些是進取型,亦稱「延伸性目標」或「射月」—意思和諺語「瞄準月亮」一樣是力爭上游。這些目標的目的是激勵工作團隊,所以不必腳踏實地,也不必實現。

一如 Google 創辦人 Larry Page 常說:「即使設下雄心萬丈的目標而失敗,您仍會獲得非凡的成就。」不要為失敗做準備。要挑戰自己的能力—畢竟,容易實現的目標通常影響較小。

您可用相同的概念,透過承諾型和進取型 OKR 完成重要的工作項目,並隨時觀察大局:

目標:成為成功的自由工作者

  • 重要成效 1:一月前研究並建立網站
  • 重要成效 2:五月前開發客戶群,至少要 10 名客戶
  • 重要成效 3:六月前收入比現在增加 10%

進取型目標可改為:

目標:在「紐約自由工作者」的 Google 排名躍上第一

  • 重要成效 1:從事關鍵字調查和改善
  • 重要成效 2:精通 SEO 技術並觸類旁通
  • 重要成效 3:月底前出現在 Google 首頁

萬事總要有個起頭,雖然即使您背後有專業團隊,也不大可能在短短數週登上首頁,尤其 Google 不一定這麼運作。但在此的概念是您知道如何實現目標,無論目標是否踏實,您邁向目標的每一步都能帶來新知、深刻理解,和接近目標所需的工具。

團隊合作成就夢想

若要採用 OKR,您要確定工作團隊成員和您一樣熱忱。因為 OKR 應視為公司策略,而不該只是工作團隊一員的時間管理工具。Dropbox Paper 能建立待辦清單,並執行整個工作團隊可存取的單一文件工作項目管理。管理高層到基層的所有成員能隨時掌握目標,所以您的目標被視為公司全體計畫,不再孤軍奮戰。

Dropbox 排除遺失檔案、修訂等挫敗,將所有資料集中在一處,減少銷蝕士氣的管理、外務和壓力。而讓工作團隊投入面對共同目標,必定要有合適的生產力工具並啟用無縫協作。Dropbox 確保無人落後。

What is an OKR?

Every business has dreams and the OKR framework ensures that you not only have clear goals, but you know how to get there.

OKR meaning

If you and your team are using set goals and to-do lists then you might want to know about OKRs. Developed by Andy Grove, ex-CEO of Intel, the OKR framework allows for goals to be set and then evaluated. OKR stands for “Objectives and Key Results,” i.e., your goal, and the results which serve as steps towards successfully meeting that goal. Your objective is what you want to achieve, and your key result is what you need to do in order to do so.

OKR history

Originally conceived by Grove, he based OKRs on the work of Peter Drucker, now thought of as a key founder of modern management techniques, who created “MBOs” or “Management by Objectives.” OKRs were popularized by venture capitalist John Doerr, also an Intel employee, who coined the term OKR after hearing Grove lecture on them.

After leaving Intel, Doerr introduced the OKR framework to a small start-up called Google, where it served as a vital tool for growing it into one of the world’s most successful companies. Many other hugely successful businesses have since adopted the OKR methodology. Doerr went on to author “Measure What Matters” in which he details the power of the framework.

What’s the difference between OKRs and MBOs?

While OKRs derive from MBOs, the following differences mean that OKRs can affect a team in a completely different way:

  • Check-ins of an OKR are quarterly, not yearly like an MBO
  • MBO goals are for each individual, not for an overall team like OKRs
  • OKRs are always measured in numbers, e.g., by dollar, by percent, etc. MBO scores can take on a variety of forms
  • MBOs directly impact compensation, OKRs do not

You’ve very likely experienced the MBO scenario in your workplace annual review and Key Performance Indicators (KPIs). Goals are set at the beginning of the year, shared only with yourself and your manager. You work hard to meet those goals, and depending on how well this is achieved, you receive some measure of compensation.

OKRs move the focus away from the individual and from goals adapted to a single person, and take a look at the broader team, planning project goals that create measurable results. In modern offices, MBOs can quickly seem dated, even demotivational. They might even negatively impact a company culture if you’ve always suggested that “the individual is only as strong as their team”—until bonus season, that is.

Continuing this team-orientated theme, OKRs use a top-down structure for cascading management that links the results of the most senior team members with that of the most junior.

What are some OKR examples?

John Doerr offers several examples of OKRs. For an example of top-down objectives he uses the scenario of a soccer team OKR.

Objective: Win the World Cup

  • Key Result 1: Average scored goals rate of 2.0 throughout the tournament
  • Key Result 2: Average conceded goals rate of 0.5 throughout the tournament
  • Key Result 3: Ball possession rate of 75%

With these goals set at the highest level, that means the OKRs of the offensive coach must reflect this in their own OKRs:

Objective: Generate 700-meters-per-game passing attack

  • Key Result 1: Pass completion rate of 85%
  • Key Result 2: Shots on target rate of 80%
  • Key Result 3: Penalty kick conversation rate of 100%

Of course, no one can go into a game, or any aspect of life, expecting 100% success, but the key here isn’t to be rigidly stuck to attaining these results, but in clearly knowing what results you need. Clarity on the team’s goal keeps everyone on track and mutually motivated. After all, not knowing what needs to be done, or being unclear on how to get there can lead to stress, procrastination, and a very unhappy team.

Interestingly, OKRs don’t have to be work-based. The framework is perfectly applicable to personal goals as well. Doerr uses the following:

Objective: Spend quality time with family

  • Key Result 1: Getting home for dinner by 6pm
  • Key Result 2: Turning off the internet to eliminate distractions

What are aspirational OKRs?

Not all OKRs are committed—that means goals you, your team, and your company have agreed to work towards. Some are aspirational, also known as “stretch goals” or “moonshots”—just like the phrase “shoot for the moon.” These goals aren’t meant to be rooted in reality in that you’re not meant to literally achieve it, but they are designed to really push and your team.

As Larry Page, one of Google’s founders says, “if you set a crazy, ambitious goal and miss it, you’ll still achieve something remarkable.” Don’t set yourself up for failure. Instead, be willing to push your abilities—after all, easily achievable goals are usually likely to have minimal impact.

You can tackle the same concept, but have a committed OKR and an aspirational OKR, so the essential tasks are carried out, but you are always looking at the bigger picture:

Objective: Become a successful freelancer

  • Key Result 1: Research and set up a website by January
  • Key Result 2: Grow a customer base of at least 10 clients by May
  • Key Result 3: See a 10% increase in my current earnings by June

For an aspirational goal, you could alter this to:

Objective: Become #1 on Google rankings for “New York freelancer”

  • Key Result 1: Engage in keyword research and optimization
  • Key Result 2: Perfect SEO techniques and outreach
  • Key Result 3: Appear on the first page of Google by the end of the month

Starting from zero, it’s unlikely you’ll hit the front page in a matter of weeks even if you had a whole team of experts behind you, not least because, Google doesn’t always work like that. But the idea here is that you to know how to get there, regardless of whether it’s a realistic goal, so any steps you take towards it will result in new knowledge, greater understanding and the tools you need to bring that goal a little bit closer.

Teamwork makes the dream work

So, if you are about to adopt OKRs, you need to make sure your team members are just as committed as you. After all, OKRs should be seen as a company strategy, not as a time management tool for one member of the team alone. Dropbox Paper allows you to create to-do lists and run task management from a single document, accessible by the whole team. Everyone can stay on track with what the goal is, not just for the top level of management but all the way down, so that your objective is seen as a company-wide initiative and not a personal struggle.

Eliminate setbacks like lost files and revisions, Dropbox put everything in one place, so there’s less admin, less distraction and less stress eating away at your motivation. Having the correct production tools and enabling seamless collaboration is vital to engaging your team and tackling a shared goal. Dropbox ensures no one is left behind.

Learn how you and your team can do more with Dropbox.

Get started now