優良設計需要敏捷的工作流程

對 Tomorrow Lab 的設計師和工程師來說,從草圖到製作出能正常運作的實體產品,需要與客戶和彼此經常快速進行協作,而 Drobpox 則提供了一套簡單工具,幫助工作團隊順暢創作與創新。

Dec 12, 2020

Theodore Ullrich,Tomorrow Lab 共同創辦人與合夥人

 

產品有多大價值,取決於他們解決的問題有多困難。人們今日熱衷的產品不只實用,也使人類生活更豐富。若要快速開發,並將創新產品上市,就需要運用能進行即時協作的工具。

Tomorrow Lab 由一群得獎設計師和工程師組成,專門打造革命性的科技產品。我們的其中一項原則就是務實:找出問題並找到解決方法。另一項原則則是愛,我們必須瞭解產品如何融入並豐富人們的生活。

我在 10 年前於紐約市共同創立了 Tomorrow Lab,而現在我每天早晨起床依然為了能開發前所未見的創新產品,像是刷牙的新方法,或是能監控土壤條件的農業偵測器而雀躍不已。

我們希望人們看見我們的成果後會說:「我從沒見過這樣的東西!」

我們的產品是一個零件接一個零件組合在一起,且考量到所有細節。同樣的,我們的工作團隊也由一群時時集思廣益,為共同目標努力的個別成員組成。對我來說,這就是協作的最佳典範。

創新始於協作

儘管在設計和工程領域有不少知名企業,但 Tomorrow Lab 是少數能結合這兩個領域的公司。我們的 12 位團隊成員都擁有十八般武藝。我們的規模也許不大,但工作團隊規模較小時,工作速度和敏捷度更高。速度是關鍵,且少有工作團隊製作新產品的速度能跟我們一樣快。我們最快可以在六週內完成從概念發想到組裝電子零件的過程。

我們不認為應該大家一起坐下來腦力激盪。協作需要透過工具,幫助人們整併個人的想法,並從中產生更棒的點子。

我的共同創辦人 Pepin Gelardi 老愛說,沒有任何事情比集思廣益更美妙。每個人都在自己的腦中思考,因此我們得找到一套工具和流程,幫助人們將自己的想法和其他人腦中的想法整併起來。對我們來說很重要的一點,是讓工程師和設計師在整個開發流程中一起探索概念並與全工作團隊分享,以便協作並快速收集意見。

整合設計、技術和工程流程看起來很複雜,但若是採取全面性的做法,就能幫助我們在短時間內促成有意義的發展。即便因為全球疫情,工作流程因而都轉移到線上進行,實際工作內容其實並未大幅改變;我們能繼續透過每日的視訊式站立會議、每週用來進行 CAD 審查的螢幕共享會議、iPad 打草稿會議和資料評估、大量使用 Slack 在工作日持續溝通;經常在我們各自的居家辦公地點間寄送原型;以及安排時間,在遵守 COVID 安全準則的前提下,前往我們在曼哈頓的製造工廠,繼續有效地延續我們的協作方法。

Tomorrow Lab 對於使用 Dropbox 協助工作的看法
“我們使用的任何新技術都需要通過大量檢驗和測試。在我們的工作流程中,無時無刻都在用 Dropbox 建立和共享檔案,無論這些檔案是 3D 渲染成果還是攝影和影片檔案皆然。Dropbox 很快就成了我們協作處理檔案時的完美必備解決方案。”
Theodore Ullrich,Tomorrow Lab 共同創辦人與合夥人

解決獨特的溝通難題

 

2010 年時,我們設立了複雜的伺服器,和多種不同的管理系統,讓我們的客戶和我們的團隊成員間可以同步協作成果。自採用 Dropbox 以來,我們捨棄了一切複雜的設備,改採雲端技術。我在市面上找不到任何其他比 Dropbox 運作更順暢的檔案共享系統。在我們的工作流程中,無時無刻都在建立和共享檔案,無論這些檔案是 3D 渲染成果還是攝影和影片檔案皆然。

我們的 3D 渲染軟體需要足夠的處理效能,才能於數分鐘或數小時內在電腦上渲染出一幅場景。若在雲端上執行渲染,可能會有些不順暢,因此我們使用桌面版程式作業。然而,在高度互連的工作環境中,我們需要能輕鬆分享這些素材,而 Dropbox 成功解決了這個問題。

雖然身為一家科技公司,我們還是得拚命趕上科技創新的速度,但我們在工作流程中卻仍是會抗拒應用新技術。培養創新文化有賴我們打造良好的文化態度與習慣,若我們在需要學習和探索新的應用程式的時候老是受到干擾,就很難培養出這樣的文化。

任何我們運用的新技術都需要經過大量檢驗和測試,Dropbox 也不例外。但我們很快就發現,我們可以用 Dropbox 做任何事。Dropbox 成了我們協作處理檔案時的完美必備解決方案。

Tomorrow Lab 如何開發重要產品 2 分鐘。

從桌面版到網頁應用程式

 

Dropbox 讓我們得以在網頁應用程式中,執行桌面版軟體的所有功能。我們會在電腦上處理這些大型檔案,但是透過 Dropbox 與工作團隊共享這些檔案。有了這項流程,讓我們能夠隨時隨地協作,不必被桌上型電腦限制。

我們的專案起點,就從在 Dropbox 中設立數位檔案共享管理空間開始。我們建立的資料夾擁有一致架構:我們會把電機工程 (EE)、機械工程 (ME) 和工業設計 (ID) 檔案一併放到資料夾中,再與公司內所有人共享。我們將 Dropbox 當成封存檔案,以供紀錄的儲存庫,以及與客戶共享檔案的空間。

重要的是建立一套資料夾架構,否則就可能無法同步或造成混淆。確立相當基本的版本控制後,我們在 Dropbox 中的系統可讓人遠端處理並儲存檔案,以便其他人繼續在其他地方使用這個檔案。

與多個合作者共享檔案時,成員需要在任何位置和裝置上存取這些檔案。

敏捷度是關鍵,因為我們精巧的工作團隊中每位成員都身兼多職,且我們需要在眾多裝置上存取這些檔案。我們常會與世界各地的廠商分享 2D 或 3D 檔案,他們可能使用桌上型電腦、平板電腦及/或智慧型手機存取檔案。有了 Dropbox,人人都能從任何地方、在任何裝置上存取檔案,無論是在與客戶開會時或是早晨通勤時都沒問題。

最好的軟體和最好的產品一樣,能解決問題

 

我們兩家公司有些有趣的相似點:Dropbox 是一套在幕後安靜運作,以達成目標的軟體;同樣地,Tomorrow Lab 相信設計和工程流程不是拿來襯托人的偉大,而是要讓產品能夠發揚光大。重要的是,我們的協作工具不會阻礙工作,Dropbox 和其他許多讓人分心的應用程式不同,可以讓我們維持順暢的工作流程。

最好的協作工具會在幕後運作,讓您順利完成工作。

Dropbox 目前是我們生態系統根深柢固的一部份,我們幾乎將使用 Dropbox 視為理所當然。我們將檔案儲存至電腦後,檔案就會立即同步到 Dropbox 目錄中,以便人人皆可存取最新檔案。當客戶想瞭解進度時,我們不需要特別為可能巨大的檔案尋找附加傳送的方式。有了 Dropbox Transfer,只要按幾下就能分享檔案連結,而且 Dropbox 的普及度相當高,無論是客戶、廠商或是潛在的新員工,從來沒人問過我:「什麼是 Dropbox?」這就是我夢寐以求,希望產品能擁有的簡約特質。

從實體邁向數位化

 

如今我們有無數工具可以使用,幫助我們從實體空間將某些點子擷取下來,再將之轉化為數位素材。我們可以拍攝初步會議中的白板,再儲存在資料夾中。隔天,可能某人在平板電腦上畫了草圖,又會儲存到相同位置。接下來,另一個人打開了那張草圖,進行了些 CAD (電腦輔助設計) 工作,然後又存回同個位置。

Dropbox 完美示範設計良好的軟體如何消除大量行政作業的需求,在這個情況下,我們就能省去檔案管理或 IT 專業人員管理需求。組織規模小時,減少管理成本很重要。Dropbox 可減少花費在惱人工作項目上的時間,讓我好好專注在重要的工作上。

這是一套不斷革新的數位記憶工具,可以即時記錄所有合作者的想法,相當驚人。Dropbox 深植於我們現有的工具和工作流程中,幾乎成為我們集體思考成果的一部份。
Dropbox 讓協作變得超簡單,也讓我們能打造出能在世界發揮重大影響力的優質產品。一切就從一個又一個的檔案開始。

Great design calls for an agile workflow

For Tomorrow Lab’s designers and engineers, moving from drawings to fully functioning physical products means constant and quick collaboration with clients and each other. Dropbox is the simple tool that keeps the team creating, innovating, and in flow.

Dec 12, 2020

By Theodore Ullrich, co-founder and partner at Tomorrow Lab

 

Products are only as valuable as the problems they solve. And what people crave today are products that not only are useful but also enrich human lives. Being able to quickly develop and bring such innovations to market requires tools that facilitate spontaneous collaboration.

Tomorrow Lab is an award-winning group of designers and engineers who create revolutionary technology products. Part of our approach is about being practical—identifying a problem and finding a way to solve it. The other part is about love—investigating how products fit into and enrich people’s lives.

I co-founded Tomorrow Lab 10 years ago in New York City, and I still wake up every day excited to develop products that are the first in their category, whether it’s a new way of cleaning teeth or an agricultural sensor that monitors soil conditions. 

We want people to see our work and say, “I’ve never seen anything like this before!”

Our products come together piece by piece, keeping all of the other fine details in mind. Similarly, we operate as a team of individuals who bring together many ideas and all work toward a common goal. To me, there’s no greater example of collaboration.

Innovation starts with collaboration

While there are big players in both the design and engineering spaces, Tomorrow Lab is one of the few firms that combine the two categories. Each of our 12 team members demonstrates that hybrid skillset. We may be small, but as a small team, you can work faster and be more agile. Speed is a necessity, and few teams can produce new products as quickly as we do. We can go from idea to complete assembly with electronics as fast as six weeks.

There’s no such thing as thinking in a group. Collaboration requires tools for people to merge individual ideas and create something better.

My co-founder Pepin Gelardi likes to say that there is no such thing as thinking in a group. Thinking happens inside a person’s head, so we have to find tools and processes that enable someone to merge their ideas with the ideas in someone else’s brain. For us, it’s vital that, throughout the development process, our engineers and designers can take a concept and share it with the entire team to collaborate and quickly gather feedback. 

Merging elements from design, technology, and engineering processes might seem messy, but our holistic approach allows us to make meaningful progress in a short period of time. Even though our workflow has moved online due to the global pandemic, it actually hasn’t changed much; we’ve been able to effectively continue our method of collaboration via daily videoconference stand-up meetings; a weekly screen sharing conference for CAD reviews, iPad sketching sessions, and data review; extensive use of Slack for ongoing workday communications; frequently shipping prototypes between our work-from-home locations; and scheduled visits to our fabrication shop in Manhattan, following COVID safety protocols.

Tomorrow Lab on working with Dropbox
“Any new technology we use undergoes a lot of vetting and testing. We use Dropbox every hour of every day to create and share files as part of our process—everything from 3D renderings to photography and video files. It didn’t take long for Dropbox to become our perfect go-to solution for collaborating.”
Theodore Ullrich, co-founder and partner at Tomorrow Lab

A unique communication challenge, solved

 

Back in 2010, we set up complicated servers and different types of management systems to allow for synchronized collaboration with our clients as well as with one another on our team. But since we implemented Dropbox, we threw out all that complex equipment in favor of the cloud. I’m not aware of any other file sharing system that works as seamlessly as Dropbox. We use it every hour of every day to create and share files as part of our process—everything from 3D renderings to photography and video files.

Our 3D rendering software requires enough processing power that it can take anywhere from minutes to hours for the computer to render a scene. Putting it on the cloud would make the experience clunky, so we use the programs on our desktops. In our hyper-connected working environment, though, those assets must be easily shareable. We achieve that with Dropbox.

Despite being a technology firm that’s under pressure to stay on top of the latest tech, we’re somewhat resistant to using new technologies in our workflow. Fostering an inventive culture requires building good cultural attitudes and habits, and that’s hard to do if you’re constantly interrupted with having to learn and navigate new apps.

Any new technology we use undergoes a lot of vetting and testing, and Dropbox was no different. But it didn’t take long for us to realize we could use Dropbox for everything. It became our perfect go-to solution for collaborating on files.

From desktop to web app

 

Dropbox allows us to take all that desktop software and essentially turn it into a web app. The processing of these large files happens on our computers, but we then share those files across our team through Dropbox. This process allows us to collaborate without being tied to our desktops.

All of our projects begin by setting up our digital file sharing management in Dropbox. We create a folder with a consistent architecture: We place all electrical engineering (EE), mechanical engineering (ME), and industrial design (ID) files in a folder, which is then shared with everyone in the company. We use that as a repository for archival files for record-keeping and sharing with clients.

It’s important that we have this folder structure in place, or we risk being out of sync and causing confusion. With some very basic version control, our system in Dropbox allows someone to work remotely on a file and save it, so that someone else can continue using it elsewhere.

When sharing files with various collaborators, people need to access those files anywhere, on any device.

This agility is critical because everyone on our small team wears many hats, but also because we need to access files on a variety of devices. We often share 2D or 3D files with vendors in different parts of the world, all of whom use desktops, tablets, and/or smartphones. With Dropbox, anyone can access files anywhere—in a meeting with a client or during a morning commute—on any device.

The best software—like the best product—gets the job done

 

Our two companies share some interesting parallels: Dropbox is a piece of software that quietly works behind the scenes to achieve its goals; similarly Tomorrow Lab believes in a design and engineering process that removes ego in order to let the product shine on its own. It’s crucial that our collaboration tools stay out of the way, and unlike a lot of distracting apps, Dropbox lets us maintain our flow.

The best collaboration tools stay in the background and allow you to get the job done.

Dropbox is such a part of our ecosystem at this point, we almost take it for granted. We save something to a computer, it’s immediately in the Dropbox directory, and anyone else can access the updated file. When a client wants to see our progress, we don’t need to figure out a way to attach what might be a massive file. With Dropbox Transfer, it takes one click to share a link. And Dropbox is ubiquitous. Whether I’m talking to a client, a vendor, or a potential new hire, no one has ever asked me,“What’s Dropbox?” That’s the kind of magical simplicity I dream of in a product.

From physical to digital

 

Today, we have countless tools at our disposal to capture something from the physical space and transform it into a digital asset. The whiteboard from an initial meeting is captured and saved to a folder. The next day, someone draws something on a tablet and it’s saved to the same place. The day after that, another person opens that drawing, does some CAD (computer-aided design) work on it, and saves it to the same space.

Dropbox is also a great example of how well-designed software can eliminate the need for a lot of administrative jobs—in this case, a file management or IT professional. When you’re a small organization, keeping overhead costs down is crucial. By using Dropbox, I spend less time on annoying tasks and more time focused on work.

It’s an evolving digital memory that captures the ideas of all collaborators in real time, and that’s remarkable. Dropbox is so engrained with our existing tools and workflows, that it’s almost like a piece of our own collective minds.
Dropbox makes collaboration vastly easier, and it helps us make great products that have a meaningful impact on the world—one file at a time.

Discover a better way to work together

Get started with Dropbox Business