如何壓縮影片

影片檔案太大,附件上限太小,導致專案停滯不前,此時就需要影片壓縮技術來助一臂之力。

影片共享

科技很美妙,不過有時候,就連最擅長使用科技的人都會感到焦慮。其中一例莫過於將高品質影片從團隊手上交給客戶,畢竟即使在最佳狀態下,影片仍是太龐大的檔案。

什麼是影片壓縮?

影片壓縮是種縮減影片檔案大小的方法。遺憾的是,從電子郵件到即時訊息,幾乎所有檔案共享方法都有一定程度的檔案大小限制。這表示您的影片可能會與訊息大小限制不符,或者收件人必須花上大把時間下載檔案。基本上,壓縮影片會減少檔案一部分的大小,不過整體品質通常也會受到影響。影片品質損失依原始大小的不同而定,甚至可能不太明顯,不過這完全端看希望將影片大小縮減多少。

什麼是 byte?

一個 byte 是數位檔案的度量單位。想要瞭解如何壓縮影片檔案,您不需要深入研究電腦術語,只要對這些單位有基本認識,即可大致瞭解您的檔案有多大。一般來說,您會看到檔案以 KB、MB、GB 和 TB 的單位計算,這些單位的換算方式如下:

  • KB:1024 個 byte
  • MB:1024 個 KB
  • GB:1024 個 MB
  • TB:1024 個 GB

因此,基本上若檔案大小落在 GB 區間,就會需要將檔案縮減到 MB 的範圍內。

轉碼器是什麼?

如果深入研究影片管理的技術層面,很快就必須認識轉碼器。轉碼器是用來壓縮影片的代碼,基本上轉碼器會將檔案縮減後儲存起來,等到需要檢視檔案時,再解壓縮檔案。轉碼器通常會在選定程式中自動運作。一般來說,使用者無須深入瞭解轉碼器就能壓縮影片,只要交由軟體執行即可。其實只需要知道一點,要是少了轉碼器,檔案大小至少會大上三到五倍。

如果正在選擇要使用哪種轉碼器,瞭解下列轉碼器類型應會有所幫助:

  • MPEG:MPEG 及其衍生代碼 (包含 MPEG-1 和 MPEG-4) 是目前最廣泛使用的代碼,即使經過壓縮處理,也能提供高品質的影片播放。
  • ProRes:是一種用於 iMovie 等軟體的轉碼器,從名稱就可得知,ProRes 專門提供極佳的色彩解析度。
  • WMV:只要是 Windows 使用者,一定遇過這種轉碼器。WMV 據稱可提供比 MPEG-4 更好的品質,如果目前使用的是 Microsoft 影片剪輯軟體,其優先選擇的轉碼器很可能就是 WMV。

AVI 是轉碼器嗎?

不是,AVI 是決定影片副檔名的容器。容器就像是裝著轉碼器的信封。所以,以 AVI 和 MP4 為例,兩者都是檔案類型或檔案容器,但本身並不是轉碼器。不過兩者之間還是有差異。MP4 具較高壓縮率,因此通常會比 AVI 來得小。

影片檔案多大?

每個檔案所需要的確切 byte 數會取決於多項因素,以下僅舉幾例:

影片格式

影片類型會影響整體檔案大小和品質,以下都是影片檔案的類型:

  • MP4
  • AVI
  • FLV
  • MOV
  • WMV

簡單來說,某些檔案類型會提供較好的轉碼器,也就是用來壓縮影片的處理程序。舉例來說,MP4 轉換為 FLV 檔後,整個檔案大小會變得比較龐大,因為 FLV 的轉碼器效率較低,因此所做的壓縮或檔案縮小也就較少。

影片長度

一分鐘影片的檔案大小顯然會比一小時影片來得小,不過選擇的檔案類型同樣會影響影片長度和檔案大小之間的比例。

影片品質

畫面播放速率和解析度都會影響檔案大小。畫面播放速率或每秒畫面格數 (FPS) 也會影響影片品質,HD 影片使用的格式至少為 24 FPS。畫面格數越多,細節就越多,檔案也變得越大。以慢動作影片來說,用 60、120 或甚至 240 FPS 拍攝出來的影片,可以放慢到 24 或 30 FPS。這些影片也可以保持原狀,讓剪輯較逼真、流暢。

如果您的影片是 480p,表示影片原先設計的整體顯示尺寸較小,解析度為 852x480 像素。720p 影片則屬於 HD 的範疇,解析度為 1280x720。解析度高不一定代表品質最好,高解析度只代表出影片留有多大的空間可供填補,並不保證這些空間都會填入清晰的細節。

如果您的影片是 480p,表示影片原先設計的整體顯示尺寸較小,解析度為 852x480 像素。720p 影片則屬於 HD 的範疇,解析度為 1280x720。解析度高不一定代表品質最好,高解析度只代表出影片留有多大的空間可供填補,並不保證這些空間都會填入清晰的細節。

以 1 分鐘影片來說:

  • Ultra HD 或 4K (3840x2160):2 GB 檔案大小
  • 2K 解析度 (2048x1080):430 MB 檔案大小
  • 1080p 或 Full HD (1920x1080):403 MB 檔案大小

影片壓縮如何運作?

影片壓縮會移除重複的影像和聲音,由轉碼器演算法決定所要移除的部分。肉眼幾乎看不太出來當中的差異。試想好萊塢電影是怎麼從銀幕大小轉換成 DVD,還可在任何家用電視上播放,且畫面不會延遲。想要保持解析度,又同時將檔案大小縮減到極小,只會發現影片經過壓縮後,確實會嚴重破壞顯示品質。這時候的影像會呈現「像素化」與「顆粒感」,而且通常難以觀看。

如何壓縮影片?

想要順利壓縮影片檔案,則需要專門的軟體,像 Mac 的 iMovie 或 Windows 的 Windows Video Editor。另外也能以 ZIP 壓縮檔的形式傳送影片,不過就需要由收件人下載檔案。

使用這些程式時,只需開啟影片即可。通常按一下 [開啟] 或 [匯入],再將其匯出,影片就會轉換成新的檔案類型。大部分影片剪輯程式都會讓使用者選擇所要產生的檔案格式,包含 MP4、AVI、MOV 和 WMV。

如何使用 Dropbox 壓縮影片?

幸好,您無須過度煩惱 byte 和格式問題,透過 Dropbox 即可傳送長影片。Dropbox 支援下列影片檔案格式 (僅舉數例),經過自動壓縮後即可在裝置上檢視,還能選擇以完整品質下載檔案:

  • AVI
  • MKV
  • MP4
  • MPG
  • MOV
  • WMV
  • OGV
  • 3GP

除此之外,只要檔案大小低於 50 GB,預覽窗格就會顯示流暢影片。您可以從手機、電腦或平板電腦傳送影片,也可以將分享連結新增至電子郵件、簡訊或聊天紀錄中。收件人甚至不需要有 Dropbox 帳戶,無須下載即可觀看影片。而且 Dropbox 上傳影片並沒有檔案大小限制,不用煩惱是否要壓縮及重新壓縮檔案。

運用 Dropbox 提升效率

因為 Dropbox,即時安全共享檔案變得毫不費力。只要提供共享資料夾的存取權,即可即時共享內容,無需耗費大量時間下載。您可以將共享連結傳送給任何人,無論對方是否有 Dropbox 帳戶。這樣一來,無論是在執行創意影片專案,還是要共享簡報,又或者只是想傳搞笑影片給朋友,通通都能順利達成。

How to compress a video

Big videos and small attachment limits can stop a project in its tracks—here’s how video compression can help.

Sharing videos

Technology is a wonderful thing, but there are still some things that can make even the most tech-savvy person get a little anxious. Getting a high-quality video from your team to a client can be one such topic of concern—after all, videos can be bulky files at the best of times.

What is video compression?

Video compression is a way of shrinking your video file size. Unfortunately, almost all methods of file sharing, from email to instant messaging, have some sort of file size limit. That means your video either won’t fit into your message, or if it does, your recipient can look forward to a lengthy download period on their end. Essentially, compressing your video cuts a chunk off the size needed by your file, though it usually means overall quality takes a hit, too. Depending on the original size, this quality loss may not even be noticeable, but that all depends on how small you need your video size to be.

What’s a byte?

A byte is a unit of measurement used for digital files. You don’t need to go deep into computer terminology to know how to compress video files, but a basic understanding of these units can help you understand just how big your file is. Generally, you will see files measured in kilobytes, megabytes, gigabytes and terabytes, which break down as follows:

  • Kilo: 1024 bytes

  • Mega: 1024 kilobytes

  • Giga: 1024 megabytes

  • Tera: 1024 gigabytes

So, essentially, if your file is in the gigabyte range, you’ll want to get it down to the megabytes.

What’s a codec?

If you start looking into the technical side of video management you’ll soon come across codecs. Codecs are the code used to compress your video: they essentially shrink your file down for storage and then decompress them again when you’re ready to view them. Codecs usually work automatically within the program of your choice, and, generally speaking, you don’t need to know much about them to be able to compress a video as your software will do it for you. All you really need to know is that, without codecs, your file would be at least three to five times larger in size.

If you’re confronted with a choice of which codec to go for, it might be helpful to know the following types of codec:

  • MPEG: One of the most widely used codes, MPEG and its derivatives including MPEG-1 and MPEG-4 result in high quality video playback even after compression.

  • ProRes: A codec used in software such as iMovie, ProRes, as the name implies, gives fantastic color resolution.

  • WMV: You’ve no doubt come across this one before if you are a Windows user. WMV is claimed to provide better quality than MPEG-4 and if you are using Microsoft video editing software, chances are this is the codec it will opt for.

Is AVI a codec?

No, an AVI is a container which dictates your videos file extension. Containers are like envelopes that hold the codecs. So while an AVI and MP4, for example, are both file types/containers, they are not codecs in themselves. They do still make a difference, though. MP4s usually come up smaller than AVIs due to a better compression rate.

How big is a video file?

The precise number of bytes needed for your file will depend on several factors, including:

Video formats

Video types can impact the overall size and quality. The following are all video file types:

  • MP4

  • AVI

  • FLV

  • MOV

  • WMV

Without getting too complex, some file types offer better codecs, that is, the process used to compress your video. An MP4, for example, if converted to an FLV file, will be a larger file overall, as the codecs of a FLV are less efficient and result in less compression/file shrinkage.

Video length

A video of one minute will obviously be smaller than a video of one hour—though, again, your choice of file type can also impact the ratio between video length and file size.

Video quality

Frame rate and resolution impact file size. Frame rate, or FPS (frame per second) also effects video quality, with HD video using a minimum of 24 FPS. The more frames you have, the more detail you have, and the larger your file will become. Videos shot in 60, 120, or even 240 FPS can be slowed down to 24 or 30 FPS for slow motion videos. They can also be left unaltered, making for clips with life-like smoothness.

If your video is 480p, then it is designed to be a smaller overall display at 852x480 pixels. A 720p video enters the realms of HD at 1280x720. A high resolution doesn’t necessarily mean the highest level of quality, it just denotes how large an area the video has been created to fill, not a guarantee that it will fill that space with crystal clear detail.

If your video is 480p, then it is designed to be a smaller overall display at 852x480 pixels. A 720p video enters the realms of HD at 1280x720. A high resolution doesn’t necessarily mean the highest level of quality, it just denotes how large an area the video has been created to fill, not a guarantee that it will fill that space with crystal clear detail.

For a 1-minute video:

  • Ultra HD or 4K (3840x2160): 2 GB file size

  • 2K resolution (2048x1080): 430 MB file size

  • 1080p or Full HD (1920x1080): 403 MB file size

How does video compression work?

Video compression occurs by removing repetitive images and sounds as determined by the codec algorithm. To the human eye, this loss is hardly noticeable. Think about how a Hollywood movie goes from cinema screen size to a DVD, able to play on any home TV without lag. You’ll only start to see compression really wreak havoc on display quality if you want to shrink a file down to a tiny file size while maintaining resolution—this is when things start getting “pixely,” “grainy,” and generally not viewable.

How can I compress a video?

To successfully compress a video file, you will need dedicated software such as iMovie for Mac or Windows Video Editor for Windows. Alternatively, you could send your video in a ZIP compressed file, but this will require your recipient to download it on their end.

All these programs require from you is to open your video, usually through clicking “open” or “import” and then exporting them which converts them to a new file type. Most video editing programs will let you choose your resulting file format including MP4, AVI, MOV, and WMV.

How do I compress a video with Dropbox?

Luckily, you don’t need to worry too much about bytes and formats to successfully send a long video with Dropbox. Dropbox supports the following video file formats, to name a few, and will automatically compress them for viewing on your device, with the option to download them in full quality should you so wish:

  • AVI

  • MKV

  • MP4

  • MPG

  • MOV

  • WMV

  • OGV

  • 3GP

And, so long as your file size is below 50 GB, the preview will display as a sleek video. You can send videos from your phone, desktop, or tablet, shareable via link added to an email, text, or chat, your recipients don’t even need a Dropbox account and can view the video without downloading them. Plus, there is no size limit on the video you can upload, so no panic about compressing and re-compressing your file.

Up your efficiency with Dropbox

Dropbox makes it effortless to share files securely in real time. Give access to shared folders for instant sharing, without time-consuming downloading—you can send the sharing link to anyone, whether they have a Dropbox account or not. That means nothing can hold you back if you’re working on a creative video project, sharing a presentation, or just want to send a funny video to a friend.

Learn how you and your team can do more with Dropbox.

Get started now