什麼是心流狀態?

心流狀態是帶領工作團隊進入專注忘我境界的藝術和科學。

進入心流狀態的人

進入心流

心流狀態是完全沉浸且專注於一項活動的心理狀態,在個過程中會感到滿足和快樂。您可能注意過類似的感受,例如您和工作團隊在工作時覺得時間飛逝,過程中完全「處於忘我的專注狀態」。不過,心流理論指出,心流不是突然發生的現象,而能積極創造適合的環境來達到此種狀態。不論就時間管理、專案管理、團隊精神,還是任何想要在生活中達成的目標而言,這都是絕佳的好消息。

心流理論:簡短歷史回顧

心流是心理學家 Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi 在 1975 年所提出的概念,他觀察到藝術家會徹底沉浸在自己的工作當中,以至於徹底忽略對食物、飲料和睡眠的需求,或根本不受影響。

在近期的 TED 演講中,Csikszentmihalyi 更進一步表示心流可以引出當前工作的「最佳體驗」,進而帶來更高層次的滿足感。心流被視為正向心理的一環,這種極其有益處的心理狀態會對人體的整體狀態帶來正面影響。

什麼是心流體驗?

那麼,究竟什麼是「心流狀態」?Csikszentmihalyi 指出,以下要素就是進入心流狀態的跡象,而且不受文化、教育、地點等因素影響:

  • 高度專注
  • 動作和意識合而為一
  • 失去自我意識
  • 感覺毫不費力就能投入工作
  • 強烈感受到可以掌控手上的工作
  • 時間感扭曲/沒有意識到時間流逝
  • 即使尚未完成工作,已感受到工作本身的成就感

其他心理學家也指出,深信成功的可能性以及立即的反饋也是重要的要素。以藝術家為例,每一次下筆都代表著明確的進展。

心流什麼時候會出現?

儘管最初對心流的研究是以藝術家為主,心流狀態卻可能發生在各式各樣的情境下,包括運動比賽、職場,或甚至只是晚間慢跑都會出現。最核心的概念就是,心流是可經由以下條件培養的心態:

  • 清楚的目標
  • 可克服的挑戰
  • 在從事過程中可帶來樂趣/成就感的活動,也稱為自發性任務

可以這麼說,如果要體驗最真實型態的心流狀態,達到可媲美藝術家作畫的程度,就必須滿足下列條件:

  • 對於手上的任務懷抱熱情,或從中獲得既定的樂趣
  • 認為可以透這項工作提升自身的技能程度或整體成就

能否在工作環境中達到心流狀態?

不論多熱愛自己的工作,也不可能對每種工作項目都懷有熱情。這並不表示就無法在工作中找到心流狀態;Csikszentmihalyi 指出心流和動機有所相關,也和整體幸福感有關。以工作環境來說,這意味著企業文化、工作與生活之間的平衡,以及您的辦公室或在家工作環境等因素,都會影響到心流狀態的養成。

如果工作項目毫無意義,就無法達到心流狀態。畫家之所以能如此沉浸在自己的工作中,關鍵原因就是從工作本身感受到強烈且個人的責任感、自豪感和成就感。這表示您和工作團隊在處理共同工作項目和專案時,也必須具備這些特點。

帶領工作團隊進入心流

您未必對每一個負責的工作項目都有發自內心的熱情,不過理論上應該會有強烈的深層渴望,想拿出最佳的工作表現。畢竟,我們就是透過這種心態差異,判斷自己是否正在做適合的工作,還是應該改為邁向下一階段。充滿動力和協作精神的工作團隊可以透過以下方法進入心流或類似狀態:

消除干擾

心流狀態並不是瞬間出現,而是要花時間投入工作項目,接著再花一點時間真正進入忘我的狀態。所以,請確保過程中沒有任何東西會導致分心。您甚至可以預留一段時間來專門練習進入心流,可以試著使用蕃茄鐘工作法這類的時間管理技巧,來確保自己完全投入手上的工作項目。也建議先把手機收起來、將通知設為靜音,或是杜絕任何會造成不必要干擾的因素。

讓大腦靜下來

就算您和工作團隊身在四面都是白牆的房間,分心還是有可能找上門。遊蕩的思緒、長期的壓力以及日常生活中各式各樣的小憂慮,都能輕易摧毀進入心流的機會。另一種有助於達到心流狀態的要素是正念練習,在正念狀態下您會真正與自己合而為一。每日冥想這類習慣有助於讓大腦冷靜、排除分心思緒並且激勵自己達成目標。

瞭解工作團隊的時機

每個人的工作方式不盡相同:有些人一大早會達到巔峰表現,有些人則是在午餐過後才開始大獲進展。請記得,如果要讓工作團隊善用心流的優勢,其實不必全體一起行動。心流是一種個人體驗,重點在於激勵自己,而不是要主管下令「立即進入心流」。因此,這裡要記住的關鍵是,請設定實際一點的期望。您也應該要注意團隊成員和實際進入巔峰心流工作時間,才不會在下午 3 點突然要求一對一會面導致他們分心,但此時明明是他們最容易進入心流狀態的時間點。

增添挑戰性

有人會連續好幾天沉迷在電動遊戲中,這個現象背後其實有合理的心理學解釋,一次又一次面對相同的挑戰,就是為了達成目標之後感受到的狂喜和成就感。雖然電動遊戲看似和專業工作落在兩個極端,其中卻體現了許多達成心流所需的內在動機。沉浸式的環境、接連不斷的挑戰、能夠克服挑戰的信心,再加上持續自覺正在精進和學習新技能。事實上,甚至有電動遊戲是以 Csikszentmihalyi 的心流概念為主題。由此可知,請不要期望工作團隊可以因為一份 Excel 表單而進入心流。您必須以清晰、規劃周詳且吸引人的方式安排工作項目,並且依照個別團隊成員的長處指派適合的工作項目。請記得:心流最大的敵人就是無趣。

為工作團隊做好專注的準備

就如同電動遊戲是為了吸引人而設計,適合的工具設定也有助於您和工作團隊保持專注,可將切換背景資訊的次數降到最低,並讓投入程度提升到最高。智慧協作空間工具可協助您的工作團隊協作,並且以獨特的自由形式工作,讓他們掌控自己的工作,也能藉此展現自我。Dropbox Paper 文件就是一個例子,這項工具讓您可以建立任何內容,從影片庫到專案時程待辦清單,全都可以從一份多功能的範本著手。這項工具能在同個空間為工作團隊提供所需的工具,並讓他們以最有吸引力的方式自由協作,往心流狀態又更進一步。

咬牙苦撐不等於心流

請不要誤把長時間處理相同的工作項目當作是心流狀態。進入心流之後,根本不會注意到時間流逝,可以在任務本身以及您投入工作中找到動力,而且堅持下去是因為樂在其中。相對的,長時間坐在辦公桌前處理工作項目,只是因為必須這麼做而咬牙苦撐。

如果您的心思不是放在眼前的工作項目而是其他事情,或者不覺得自己正在做有成長性或正面的工作,您體驗到的大概不是心流。好消息是心流並不是需要學習的技能,而是會自然發生的體驗以及可以協助培養的心態。如果某件工作無法讓您進入心流,請重新思考您的工作項目、方法或環境,然後再試一次。

What is flow state?

Flow state is the art and science of getting your team in the zone.

Getting into the Flow

The flow state is a mental state characterized by a sense of complete immersion and concentration on an activity, making the process satisfying and enjoyable. You may have noticed something like this feeling when time flies and you and your team are totally “in the zone” during work. However, flow theory suggests that flow isn’t just a spontaneous thing that happens: can actively create the perfect environment for achieving the flow state. Which is great news for time management, project management, team spirit, and just about everything you want to achieve in life.

Flow theory: a very quick history

Flow was a name coined by psychologist Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi in 1975 after he observed artists who were able to become so lost in their work that they were ignoring, or simply unaffected by, the need for food, drink or sleep.

In a recent TED talk, Csikszentmihalyi went so far as to suggest that flow offers an “optimal experience” of whatever the task is at hand, leading to higher levels of satisfaction. It's considered a part of positive psychology, as an incredibly beneficial state of mind that positively impacts a human being’s entire state of being.

What is a flow experience?

So, precisely what is it to be in “flow state?” Csikszentmihalyi describes the following elements as tell-tale signs of a state of flow, regardless of culture, education, location and so on:

  • Intense concentration

  • A joining of both action and awareness

  • A loss of self-consciousness

  • A sense that task engagement is effortless

  • A strong sense of control over the task at hand

  • A distorted sense of time/losing track of time

  • A sense of the task being reward in itself, even before completion

Other psychologists have also suggested that a strong sense of potential success and immediate feedback—in the case of artists, the clear progress that comes with every brush stroke, for example—are vital factors.

When can flow occur?

While the original research into flow was based on artists, flow state can occur in a wide range of settings, including sports, the workplace, or even simply going for an evening run. The idea is that flow is a mindset nurtured by the following:

  • Clear goals

  • A surmountable challenge

  • An activity that is enjoyable/rewarding in its undertaking, also known as an autotelic task

Arguably, to experience flow state in its truest form—to a degree that rivals an artist at their canvas—the following are also needed:

  • A passion for or pre-established enjoyment of the task at hand

  • The sense that your skill level or general achievement can be improved upon via this task

Can you achieve flow in the workplace?

No matter how much you love your job, not every task you do as part of it is going to be your passion. That doesn’t mean finding flow state here is impossible; Csikszentmihalyi suggests that flow correlates with motivation, as well as general happiness. Translated to the workplace, that means things like corporate culture, work life balance, and your office or work from home surroundings all play a part in nurturing a flow mindset.

Flow cannot be achieved if the task is meaningless. The key reason why painters can be so engrossed in their work is because they feel a strong, personal sense of accountability, pride, and achievement even in the task itself. That means you and your team need to be able to share in these traits when it comes to tackling your joint tasks and projects.

Getting your team to flow

Your natural passion may not be for every task you undertake but, ideally, you should have a deep-rooted desire to do your best at work. That is, after all, the difference between knowing if we are in the right job or need to move on. A motivated and collaborative team can achieve flow, or something close to it, by doing the following:

Eliminate distractions

The flow state of mind doesn’t happen instantly, it takes time to settle into a task, and then a little more time to really tap into the zone. So, make sure nothing is going to distract you from that process. You can even set aside a block of time to dedicate to it, try using a time management technique like Pomodoro to make sure you’re completely committed to the task at hand. You’ll also want to stash your phone, silence notifications, or nix anything else that’s unnecessarily distracting.

Silence your mind

You and your team could be placed in a white-walled room and distraction can still find you. Drifting thoughts, ongoing stresses, and all the little worries that come with everyday life can easily ruin your chances of achieving flow. Another suggested element of achieving flow is the practice of mindfulness, where you are truly in tune with yourself. Things like daily meditation can help you calm your mind, keep distracting thoughts at bay, and push yourself to achieve your goals.

Know your team's timings

Everyone works differently: some people are at peak performance first thing in the morning while others hit their stride after lunch. Bear in mind that for your team to make the most of flow, you don’t have to all be doing it together. Flow is a personal experience and it’s about you pushing yourself, not your manager demanding you to “get into flow now.” So, the key takeaway here is to have realistic expectations. You also should be also be aware of your team members’ peak in-flow work times so you don’t distract them with an impromptu 1:1 at 3pm when you know that’s when they’re most likely to be in the zone.

Make it challenging

There’s a valid psychological reason people can lose days of their lives to video games, tackling the same challenge again and again for a sense of ecstasy and accomplishment when they reach their goal. While video games may seem the furthest thing from professional work, a lot of the intrinsic motivation requirements for flow are present in them. An immersive environment, constant challenges, the knowledge that they can be overcome, plus the constant feeling that you are improving and learning new skills. In fact, there’s even a video game dedicated to Csikszentmihalyi's concept of flow. The lesson here is don’t expect your team to be getting into flow over an excel sheet. You need to lay out your tasks in a clear, well thought-out and engaging way, and assign tasks that play to the strengths of each individual team member. Remember: the biggest enemy of flow is boredom.

Equip your team to focus

Just as video games are designed to be engaging, the right tool setup can also help you and your team focus, minimizing context-switching and maximizing their engagement. Smart workspace tools help your team collaborate and work in unique and free-form ways, so they can have control over and express themselves in their work. An example is Dropbox Paper documents, that allow you to create anything from video galleries to project timelines and to-do lists, all from one versatile template. This gives your team the tools they need in one place and the freedom to collaborate in ways they find most engaging, moving them closer to finding flow.

A grind is not flow

Don’t mistake long hours working at the same task as being the same as flow. Flow is when you don’t even notice the time passing, when you are motivated by the task itself and the work you are putting in, when you push on because you are so blissfully engaged with what you’re doing. Conversely, sitting at a desk for hours and hours to get a task done is just grinding your way through something due to necessity.

If your mind is on anything other than the task in front of you, or you don’t feel that what you’re doing is nourishing or positive, you likely aren’t experiencing flow. The good news is that flow itself isn’t a skill you learn—it’s an experience that naturally occurs and a mindset that you can help cultivate. If something isn’t working for you to achieve flow, reconsider your task, approach or environment and try again.

Learn how you and your team can do more with Dropbox.

Get started now