使用雲端備份有哪些優點?

隨著雲端技術越來越普遍,在現今的資料導向世界中,雲端備份也逐漸變成不可或缺的功能。本指南會詳細說明箇中原因。

一位專業人士正在使用筆電和手機工作

不幸遺失資料不僅令人惱火且難以避免,因此請務必提前做好預防措施。

為了確保檔案安全且可輕易還原,採用資料備份解決方案是最佳策略之一。在理想的情況下,您應該製作至少三份資料複本,並分別備份在不同位置,也就是所謂的「3-2-1」方法。

其中兩份複本應分別備份在兩個不同的現場裝置中,例如硬碟。最後一份複本則應異地備份於雲端系統;對於資料保留和災難復原方案而言,這是不可或缺的功能。

不過,真的有必要花費這麼多心力在資料備份上嗎?本指南會介紹雲端備份的優點,以及這項功能為何如此重要。

一個人坐在沙發上使用多部裝置工作的示意圖

基本概念說明:什麼是雲端備份?

雲端備份是指將資料複本傳送至異地伺服器,而非硬碟等本機備份裝置。

您可以將雲端備份資料儲存在位於單一或多個資料中心的私人或公用伺服器。

雲端備份的運作方式,是將檔案複本傳遞至通常由第三方供應商代管的遠端儲存系統。該供應商會依據多項要素收取訂購費用,例如容量、頻寬,以及需要存取資料的使用者人數。

雲端備份的目的是保存資料,如此一來,當資料遺失或發生故障時,使用者依然能還原檔案和系統。

如果您曾在編輯和撰寫重要文件的過程中,因為裝置突然故障而失去所有辛苦完成的內容,必定能深刻體會那種瞬間跌落谷底的心情。雲端備份可讓您從先前中斷的地方接續作業,順利還原工作內容。

雲端備份有哪些優點?

雲端備份的一大優點是方便使用者作業。與本機備份相比,雲端備份可以省下許多原本花費在繁瑣手動作業上的時間和資源。

小型業主或是自雇者或許沒有足夠時間將整部電腦的資料備份至硬碟中,而監控備份進度或是排解疑難問題也同樣耗費時間。

雲端備份服務可替您自動處理上述工作,讓您專心處理更有生產力且能獲利的事項。

接著,讓我們來介紹更多應該採用雲端備份功能的理由。

兩手拿著一個藍色鎖頭的插圖

安全性

備份在雲端的資料會先進行加密再傳送至伺服器,以免未經授權的使用者在備份過程中或備份完成後擅自存取您的資料。即使您的資料在傳遞途中遭到攔截,也能確保其安全性。

無論您考慮使用哪間雲端備份供應商的服務,都必須確認對方具有嚴格的安全協定,包括全年無休的監控、管理和報告功能。假如您要備份的資料受到 HIPPA 等法規的規範,那麼在您的網路安全策略中,此舉更是不可或缺。

資料保護

在資料緊急情況策略中,雲端備份軟體的重要性日益增加。將檔案備份至雲端後,您不僅能隨時輕鬆取得所需檔案,還能避免檔案因預料之外的災難和損傷而毀損。

由於備份資料會保存在遠端儲存系統中,所以不會因本機備份帶來的風險而受影響。無論是惡意程式及勒索軟體對檔案造成的損害,或是因天災、裝置遭竊和系統故障所引起的損失,都不再是您的壓力來源,您大可將這些擔憂拋到九霄雲外!

雲端備份也能減少不慎刪除檔案等人為疏失造成的重大資料問題。我們都曾經遭遇過這種情況:您原本只是想整理一下檔案系統,後來卻發現自己誤刪了重要的工作資料,而且發現的時候已經無可挽回了,讓人欲哭無淚。

如果您的檔案內含私人或機密資訊,在不慎遺失時能夠順利還原資料的功能就格外重要。

一個人往後靠在桌前椅子上的示意圖,桌上的電腦畫面則顯示一個勾號

可靠性

包括 Dropbox Backup 在內的許多雲端備份服務,都提供自動備份功能。這項全天候運作的解決方案能讓您輕鬆還原遺失或毀損的檔案,免受資料災害的侵擾。

雲端備份功能也可讓您進一步控管自己的資料。舉例來說,您不但可保有監控及管理備份檔案的能力,也能掌握資料還原的程序。

無障礙

不像本機備份,只要有網路連線,您隨時隨地都能存取雲端備份檔案。

即使您出門在外且身上只帶著手機,也能使用應用程式或透過網頁版存取備份資料。

由於 Mac 的雲端運算相容性不如 Windows 裝置,因此這項功能對 Mac 格外實用。對 Mac 使用者而言,使用獨立的雲端備份服務通常是最佳的資料保護策略。

可擴充性

如果您是剛起步的一人創業家,手邊還沒有很多資料,或許不會考慮使用雲端備份,因為您已在自己的裝置上用條理分明的資料夾將檔案整理得井然有序,而且到目前為止沒出過什麼差錯。

不過,如果您的工作檔案中每項專案都各自有許多相當大型的檔案 (例如相片或影片),該怎麼辦?在這種情況下,無論您使用何種硬體或軟體,都會很快達到儲存空間上限,而且萬一裝置不幸受損或遺失,也很難還原檔案。

雲端備份的一大優點,就是無論資料量多寡,您都可以加以備份。服務可隨著容量要求擴充,並依您的需求進行調整。

使用雲端備份服務只需為實際用量付費,因此不必為了儲存不斷增加的備份檔案,購買不必要的額外軟硬體。

在 Dropbox Backup 中選取欲備份資料夾及檔案的動畫

使用 Dropbox Backup 確保數位生活安全無虞

確保檔案安全性以及輕鬆還原檔案的程序都應該要簡單易用。

Dropbox Backup 讓您輕鬆將檔案自動備份至雲端,無論發生什麼意外,都能快速順利地還原資料。

從中斷的地方繼續前進。

進一步瞭解 Dropbox Backup

What are the advantages of using cloud backup?

As cloud technology continues to grow in popularity, cloud backup is emerging as a must-have in today’s data-driven world. Find out why in this guide.

A professional working on a laptop and a mobile phone

The loss of data is a frustrating and unfortunately inevitable experience that we should all be prepared for.

A data backup solution is one of the best strategies for ensuring your files are secure and easy to recover. Ideally, you should create at least three copies of your data to be backed up in multiple locations. This is known as the 3-2-1 method.

Two of these copies should be backed up on two different onsite devices, such as hard drives. The other should be an offsite backup in a cloud system—an essential feature in any data retention and disaster recovery plan.

But is going to such lengths to backup your data really necessary? In this guide, we look at the advantages of cloud backup and explain why it‘s so important.

An illustration of a person working across multiple devices while sitting on a couch

Let’s start with the basics: What is cloud backup?

Cloud backup is the process of sending copies of data to off-site servers, rather than on a local backup device such as a hard drive

The servers storing your cloud backup data might be private or public, and located in a data center or several data centers. 

Cloud backup works by transferring a copy of a file to a remote storage system, usually hosted by a third-party provider. This provider will charge a subscription fee based on several factors, such as the capacity, bandwidth, and number of users requiring access to the data.

The aim of cloud backup is to preserve data so that users can restore their files and systems in the event of a data loss or failure. 

If you’ve ever been in the middle of editing or writing an important piece of work, only to lose all of your progress because your device has suddenly failed, you know how devastating this can be. Cloud backup ensures you can pick up where you left off and recover your work without issue.

What are the advantages of cloud backup?

One of the main benefits of cloud backup is the convenience it offers to users. Compared to local backups, cloud backup frees up a lot of time and resources otherwise spent on tedious manual tasks.

If you run a small business or work for yourself, you may not have the time needed for backing up your whole computer to a hard drive. Monitoring the progress of your backup, or troubleshooting it if something goes wrong, are also not things you really have time for.

Cloud backup services automatically take care of tasks like this, meaning you’re free to focus on more productive and profitable work.

Let’s look at some more reasons why you should consider cloud backup.

An illustration of two hands holding a blue lock

Security

Data backed up to the cloud will be encrypted before it is sent to the server. This prevents any unauthorized users from accessing your data while the backup is in progress, or once it is complete. Even if your data is intercepted while it is being transferred, it will remain secure.

Any cloud backup service provider you consider should have strict security protocols. This includes 24/7 monitoring, management, and reporting capabilities. This should be an essential part of your cybersecurity strategy if the data you want to back up is subject to regulations such as HIPAA.

Data protection

Cloud backup software is increasingly important for data emergency strategies. Backing up files to the cloud means they aren’t just easy to retrieve whenever they’re needed—they’re also protected from unexpected disasters and damage.

As your backups will be kept in a remote storage system, they will be safe from the risks posed by local backups. Think corruption by malware and ransomware, destruction caused by natural disasters, device theft, and system failures. All that stressful stuff you never want to worry about!

Cloud backup also mitigates critical data issues caused by human error, such as accidental file deletion. We’ve all been there—you try to tidy up your file system then realize—too late—that you’ve deleted an important piece of work. Not fun.

If your files contain personal or sensitive information, being able to recover the data if it is accidentally lost is especially important.

Illustration of a person leaning back in a chair at desk with a computer on it with a check mark on the screen

Reliability

Many cloud backup services, such as Dropbox Backup, offer automatic backup. This always-on solution makes it easy to recover lost or corrupted files and protect yourself from a potential data disaster.

Cloud backup also means you have more control over your data. For example, you retain the ability to monitor and manage the files you have backed up, as well as the data recovery process.

Accessibility

Unlike local backups, you can access the files you back up to the cloud whenever and wherever you need them—as long as you have an internet connection.

So, if you’re on the move and only have your mobile phone at hand, you can still access your backups through an app or on the web. 

This is particularly beneficial for Macs, which are not always as compatible with cloud computing as Windows devices. For Mac users, a separate cloud backup service is often the best data protection strategy.

Scalability

If you’re starting out as a solopreneur and don’t have large amounts of data yet, you may not have considered cloud backup. You’ve got your files organized into neat folders on your device, and nothing has gone wrong so far.

But what if your work involves lots of very large files for each project, such as photos or videos? In this case, it won’t take long until you hit your storage limit on whatever hardware or software you use. It’s also difficult to recover these files from your device if it is damaged, or lost.

A key advantage of cloud backup is that you can back up as much or as little data as you want. Your service will adapt as your capacity requirements expand, and this is done on demand.

With cloud backup, you also only pay for what you need. This avoids the unnecessary purchase of extra hardware and software for storing your growing volume of backup files.

An animation of selecting folders and a file for backup in Dropbox Backup

Keep your digital life safe with Dropbox Backup

Making sure your files are secure and easy to recover shouldn’t be a complicated process. 

Dropbox Backup makes it easy to automatically back up your files to the cloud, so you can quickly and smoothly recover from whatever life throws your way.

Pick up right where you left off.

Learn more about Dropbox Backup