Aperture Venture Capital 成功完成首輪融資

這家創業投資基金公司現在運用 Dropbox 和 DocSend 無縫管理、追蹤和保護機密財務資訊。

男人拿著寫字板

背景

Aperture Venture Capital 是一間金融科技投資基金公司,也是企業合作夥伴網路,投資多元文化主流的各種創業者與公司。他們肩負使命,致力建立能成功出場的生態系,藉此為後續世代的多元化創業者重新定義創業投資的面貌。他們使用 DocSend 平台募資的對象包括主要投資者,還有包括 FIS、Truist Financial 及 PayPal 在內的有限合作夥伴,以催生出新一代的創業家與公司。

面臨挑戰

William Crowder 身兼 Aperture Venture Capital 的創辦人及管理合作夥伴,之前在不斷尋找更加安全的方法,以便將機密的募資銷售簡報向外部的潛在有限合作夥伴與投資者分享,而且還要能加以追蹤。

解決方法

William 投向 Dropbox 檔案儲存空間的懷抱,也使用 DocSend 的安全文件分享功能,無論是在組織內外分享,都能以統一的方式建立與發佈投資檔案。

Dropbox 安全儲存內部投資文件

創立創業投資基金時,為了募集資金,創業投資公司必須與潛在的有限合作夥伴建立信任關係。累積信任的核心在於,不管對方在何處工作,都能確定自己組織的檔案安全無虞。

William 想辦法集中創業公司的所有檔案時,選擇採取自己熟悉使用的解決方案。身為 Dropbox 個人方案的使用者,William 親身經驗過在 Dropbox 雲端儲存平台上管理檔案的優勢所在。新增給公司使用的企業授權,再理所當然不過。「我們公司上下都使用 Dropbox 運作。透過檔案使用權限,就能輕鬆根據我們的合作對象授予不同文件的存取權。」William 能自訂與某類型公司合作對象的使用權限存取權,不論對方是法定承包商、全職員工或是基金管理人。每個人都能輕易存取日常工作的必要資料,包括聘僱合約、薪酬待遇以及財務模型。

透過 DocSend 的虛擬資料室募集初始資金

William 使用 Microsoft Suite 產品在 Dropbox 中製作文件,接著上傳到 DocSend 虛擬資料室,準備好後就能將最終版本傳送給潛在的投資者。雖然一開始在衡量資料室的軟體時,有許多選項可供考慮,因為 DocSend 能讓潛在投資者獲得毫無阻礙的整體使用體驗,而成為了 William 的最終選擇。William 表示:「對於我們想要募得的資金以及募集的對象,我希望我們整理出的一切資料盡可能看起來專業正式,但也要讓潛在投資者與有限合作夥伴能輕鬆存取。這正是 DocSend 的虛擬資料室能派上用場之處。」Aperture Venture Capital 的資料室反映了公司的處處追求完美的特質,由自訂的商標與標誌就可見一斑。

開始使用 DocSend 的虛擬資料室後,William 上傳了他公司的所有介紹資料,並與潛在的有限合作夥伴與投資者分享。資料室裡存放了基金的銷售簡報、單頁介紹,以及所有盡職調查的資料。潛在投資者可輕鬆透過自己使用的瀏覽器,直接取得基金文件及投資備忘錄。此外,William 可以控制能下載檔案的對象,也能設置到期日,一切敏感基金資訊盡在自己的掌握之中。藉由 DocSend,Aperture Venture Capital 到目前為止已經完成了第一輪 7,500 萬美元的企業多元基金募資,第二輪正在進行中,希望能推動更具包容性的經濟。

「使用 DocSend,大家能順暢無阻地取得資料,也能看到一切需要看見的內容。完美兼顧簡單的使用經驗及安心無虞的保障。」

- William Crowder,Aperture Venture Capital 創辦人兼管理合作夥伴
William Crowder

分享虛擬資料室後再順暢更新

對於許多創業投資公司來說,可能需要不斷修改演變之後,才能找到自身定位的核心概念。最初的草案可能會經歷多次迭代,直到管理合作夥伴看見對潛在投資者的吸引力。

William 為 Aperture Venture Capital 募資的初期,就能使用 DocSend 無縫測試不同版本的銷售簡報。William 對細節近乎苛求,他表示在草創時期有過許多更動,像是商標、訊息傳達,或是虛擬資料室的整體外觀與風格。William 想要確定潛在投資者能取得正確的資訊,而不用每當有新版本出爐就頻繁通知他們,也不想傳送一大堆電子郵件附件。William 表示:「有了 DocSend,我們就能夠更新我們的銷售簡報與虛擬資料室,不用通知最終消費者。每個人都會自動取得最新版本,沒有任何繁瑣的通知。這樣我們能展現出最好的一面,特別是在我們想要建立良好關係的關鍵時刻。」

決定使用 DocSend 的資料室來籌募資金,大半是因為版本控制的概念。能夠控制資訊的發布與存取權,對我們而言非常寶貴。

- William Crowder,Aperture Venture Capital 創辦人兼管理合作夥伴

以 DocSend 先進的安全控制來保護敏感資訊

最初在為新創業投資公司籌募基金時,管理合作夥伴想要確保機密資訊滴水不露,保護公司的形象與名譽。在 DocSend 的幫助下,發送給數十個潛在有限夥伴的資訊,都在 William 一手掌握之中。例如,在傳送虛擬資料室的時候,William 會設置到期日。有時候投資者會在連結到期後回頭繼續聯絡,這可能代表對方正在考慮投資。

另一方面,如果有人請求連結的存取權,但是對方未獲授權取得資訊,William 可準確看到是誰想要查看他的虛擬資料室。William 表示:「特別是在線上分享專有資訊時,一旦按下傳送,發布出去的資訊可以說是覆水難收。我們希望對募資文件有更嚴密的控制。在虛擬會議盛行的新時代裡,DocSend 讓我們放心知道文件不會落入不肖人士手中。」

DocSend 分析能力讓創業投資募資達到最佳效果

在籌募基金的早期階段,William 仰賴 DocSend 的文件分析來協助進一步改善銷售簡報。William 表示:「在初期,我們要嘗試分辨什麼事物能夠引發迴響,反之亦然。DocSend 讓我們看到大家在哪一頁停留最久,有助於瞭解銷售簡報的關鍵所在。」

此外,DocSend 的分析功能幫助 William 向潛在的投資者與有限合作夥伴提出對方最關切的想法,藉此展開對話。他能夠看出人們在哪個部分花費最長時間,因此能與潛在投資者進行最有效的對話。William 表示:「只要注意人們在哪幾頁投影片上花最多時間,與潛在投資者開會前就能更充分準備,也能事先預測對方可能會提出的問題。」DocSend 提供重要的資訊,有助於在募資初期與潛在投資者的會議能投其所好。

讓潛在投資者接觸推薦介紹

想要請求投資者向同事或同業推薦介紹,可不是件易事。如果某人將連結轉發給潛在的有限合作夥伴,DocSend 可以找出可能有興趣的新對象。William 表示:「如果我們接觸到的潛在有限夥伴認為有某個同業可能感興趣,我可以看到對方將銷售簡報轉發給誰。」透過 DocSend 找出這些感興趣的潛在客戶,就不用逐一檢查哪位潛在有限合作夥伴已經查看過虛擬資料室,可以省下大把時間。

此外,在銷售簡報送到正確的決策者手上時,DocSend 的轉發分析也能顯示負責的管理合作夥伴。William 表示:「我喜歡留意有誰在存取銷售簡報,以及在組織裡面轉發的過程。我把這當成是何時主動出擊的信號。在這過程中不用費心猜測,而是直接將我們引導向真正的潛在客戶。」

未來展望:運用封鎖名單保護敏感募資資料

Aperture Venture Capital 繼續募集 7,500 萬美元基金的不足部分,William 也很期待繼續探索 DocSend 能帶給工作團隊的所有幫助。William 表示:「我很期待試試看封鎖名單功能。這是一個很棒的方法,能多一層安全防護,防止可能的第三方查看我們的文件。」

有了 Dropbox 和 DocSend,William 能夠繼續全神貫注在實現創業投資公司的使命,為新一代多元化創業者鋪路。

安全文件分享,輕鬆即時分析

免費試用 DocSend

Aperture Venture Capital successfully raises their first round

This venture capital fund now seamlessly manages, tracks, and protects confidential financial information with Dropbox and DocSend.

Man with clipboard

Background

Aperture Venture Capital is an investment fintech fund and corporate partner network that invests in diverse founders and companies of The Multicultural Mainstream. They are on a mission to redefine the venture landscape for generations of diverse entrepreneurs by building an ecosystem engineered for successful exits. They rely on DocSend’s platform to fundraise from major investors and limited partners (LPs), including FIS, Truist Financial, and PayPal to catalyze a new generation of founders and their companies.

The Challenge

William Crowder, Founder and Managing Partner of Aperture Venture Capital, was searching for a more secure way to externally share and track confidential fundraising pitch decks with potential LPs and investors.

The Solution

William turned to Dropbox’s file storage and DocSend’s secure document sharing to unify the way he creates and distributes investment files both within and outside of his organization. 

Dropbox safely stores internal investment documentation 

When starting a venture capital fund, VCs must build trusted relationships with potential limited partners (LPs) in the hopes of raising funds. At the core of building trust is knowing that no matter where someone might be working, their organization’s files are secure. 

When searching for a way to house all of his venture firm’s files, William turned to a solution that he was already familiar with using. As a user of the Dropbox Personal plan, William knew the first-hand benefits of organizing his files on Dropbox’s intuitive cloud storage platform. Adding an additional business license for his firm only seemed second nature. “Our entire firm runs on Dropbox. It’s easy for me to grant access to different documents using file permissions, depending on who is working with us.” William is able to customize permission access to a range of individuals working with his firm, whether they are legal contractors, full-time employees, or fund administrators. Everyone can easily access necessary materials for daily operations, including employment agreements, compensation packages, and financial models.

Raising initial funds with DocSend’s virtual data room  

Once William was ready to send out final documents to potential investors that he created using Microsoft Suite products in Dropbox, he uploaded them into his DocSend virtual data room. Though there were many options to consider when first evaluating data room software, William chose DocSend because of its overall frictionless user experience for potential investors. “What we were looking to raise and who we were going to be raising the money from, I wanted to make sure that everything we put together looked as professional as possible, but was easy to access for potential investors & LPs. That’s where DocSend’s virtual data rooms came into play,” William shared. Aperture Venture Capital’s data room reflects the polished nature of the firm, containing customized branding and logos. 

Once he got started with DocSend’s virtual data room, William uploaded all of his firm’s introductory materials and shared it with potential LPs and investors. His data room holds his fund’s pitch deck, one pagers, and all due diligence materials. Potential investors can easily access fund documents and investment memos right in their browsers. Additionally, William can control who can download files and set expiration dates, granting him full control over sensitive funding information. With DocSend, so far, Aperture Venture Capital has closed its first round of a $75 million corporate diversity fund and its second close is well underway, aiming to power a more inclusive economy. 

"DocSend has been seamless in terms of people accessing the materials and being able to see everything they need to see. It's a perfect mix of an easy user experience and great peace of mind."

- William Crowder, Founder and Managing Partner, Aperture Venture Capital
William Crowder

Seamless updates after sharing virtual data rooms

For many VCs, positioning their core message can be an evolving process. Initial drafts might go through many iterations until managing partners see traction with potential investors. 

As William was initially fundraising for Aperture Venture Capital, he was able to seamlessly test out different versions of his pitch decks using DocSend. Meticulous to detail, William shared that in the early stages, there were many changes, whether it was the branding, messaging, or the overall look and feel of the virtual data room. William wanted to ensure that potential investors had the right information, without bombarding them with notifications of a new version or email attachments. “With DocSend, we were able to update our pitch deck and virtual data room without notifying the end consumer of that information. Automatically, everyone has the latest versions, without any tedious notifications. It positions us in the best light, especially in a critical time when we are trying to form relationships,” William shared. 

Our decision to use DocSend’s data room for fundraising is largely driven by the idea of version control. Having the ability to control distribution and access to our information has been invaluable to us.

- William Crowder, Founder and Managing Partner, Aperture Venture Capital

Protecting sensitive information with advanced security controls in DocSend

When initially raising funds for a new venture capital firm, managing partners want to keep confidential information tightly secured to protect the narrative and reputation of the firm. With DocSend, William has more control over the information he sends out to dozens of potential LPs. For example, when sending out a virtual data room, William sets an expiration date. Sometimes, investors will reach back out after the link expires, which might indicate that they are considering an investment. 

On the other hand, if there are individuals requesting access to the link, but they were not granted information, William can see exactly who was trying to view his virtual data room. “Especially when you are sharing proprietary information online, once you press send, typically what you put out there is pretty much gone. We wanted more control over our fundraising documents. In this new landscape of virtual meetings, DocSend provides us with peace of mind knowing our documents aren’t ending up in the wrong hands,” William shared. 

DocSend’s analytics optimizes venture capital fundraising

Early on in the fundraising process, William relied on DocSend’s document analytics to help refine his pitch deck. “In the beginning, we were trying to figure out what was resonating and what was not. DocSend lets us see what pages people were spending the most time on, which helped us understand the most critical areas of our pitch,” William shared.  

Additionally, DocSend’s analytics helped William approach conversations with potential investors and LPs with an idea of what they cared about most. He was able to see the parts of the deck that people spent the most time on, letting him make his conversations most relevant to potential investors. “By looking at how much time people are spending on specific slides, I’m more prepared when approaching meetings with potential investors and am able to anticipate any questions that people might have beforehand,” William shared. DocSend provides critical information that helps personalize meetings with potential investors early on in the fundraising process. 

Forming warm introductions with potential investors 

It can be daunting to ask for investors to provide warm introductions to a colleague or a peer. DocSend can help identify new parties that may be interested if someone forwards a link on to a potential LP. “If a potential LP we met thinks a peer of theirs might be interested, I can see who they have forwarded our pitch deck to,” William shared. Uncovering these warm leads in DocSend could take hours out of the painstaking process of trying to determine whether an LP has already viewed your virtual data room. 

Additionally, DocSend’s forwarding analytics show managing partners when pitch decks are getting into the hands of the right decision makers. “I love watching who is accessing the pitch deck and seeing how it gets forwarded within an organization. I’ll use this as a trigger for when to reach out proactively. It takes a ton of guesswork out of the equation and points us to real leads,” William shared.  

Looking ahead to the future: utilizing block list to protect sensitive fundraising materials 

As Aperture Venture Capital continues to raise the rest of its $75 million fund, William is looking forward to continuing to explore all that DocSend has to offer for his team. “I am excited to try out the block list feature. It’s a great way to add additional layers of security that could prevent potential third-parties from viewing our documents,” William shared. 

With Dropbox and DocSend, William is able to continue to hyperfocus on his venture firm’s mission and pave the way for a new generation of diverse founders.

Secure document sharing with real-time analytics at your fingertips

Try DocSend for free