隨時隨地的工作與生活經驗

這對富有創造力的夫妻不是旅行全球各地製作影片和攝影,就是在加拿大荒野過著自給自足的生活和工作。因為科技,Angela Hartwick 和先生 Daryl Visscher 得以在世界遙遠的角落不受拘束地創作和協作。

躺在床上居家工作
在這樣的數位遊居生活中,需要花點巧思才能營造居家感。對 Hartwick Creative 的創辦人而言,他們的方式就是無論去到何處,都隨身帶上一件自己熟悉的物品。身兼作家與導演的 Angela Hartwick 與擔任攝影師的丈夫 Daryl Visscher 在四處旅行時總會帶上筆電、數位相機裝備和大量紡織品,讓工作空間可以啟發更多靈感。「無論身在何處,我們總會帶著一襲卡佛坦長袍和一塊美麗的布料,用來遮陽或是當作坐墊」,Angela 表示:「我們就是這樣子創造出自己當下需要的空間。」
在巴塞隆納飯店工作的 Angela Hartwick

他們的照片和影片創作包含各種活動和品牌合作、圖庫、紀錄作品和教育活動,對象有來自世界各地的知名品牌,例如 Volkswagen、Lufthansa、MTV、Marriott Hotels 和 General Electric。Angela 和 Daryl 在歐洲和亞洲居住許多年後,目前主要定居在加拿大荒野的偏僻小木屋,不需要出門旅行拍攝時,這裡就是他們的家。

他們在英屬哥倫比亞打造了自己的房子和總部,最近的超市需要開車三小時才能抵達,電力則是由六片太陽能板和八個電池所供應。透過風力和太陽能,山頂上的電塔和中繼器提供了高速頻寬網路,讓 Angela 和 Daryl 能夠與客戶聯繫。

Dropbox 可說是他們創意工作的一大功臣,讓他們的專案運作順暢、有條有理,且不論在哪裡都可執行。「數位科技是我們工作和生活的重點」,Angela 說道:「能夠移動影像、影片和我們須處理的其他檔案的功能,與我們的工作密不可分。我可以調整和安排我的所有素材、想法和參考資料,再和客戶分享合作專案,在路上隨時更新。Dropbox 是不可或缺的工具。」

與客戶舉行視訊會議

Angela 和 Daryl 出國製作其他專案時,常常會收到案子或 RFP。「我們常會開玩笑說,想要去東部工作的話,往西部飛就對了,反過來也是如此」,Angela 說:「遇到這種狀況時,我們不是租個 Airbnb,就是去飯店花幾天專心把專案處理好。從訂房到研究專案,還有向客戶簡報我們的想法,這些全都是在網路上完成。我們徹底把行動性融合到我們的工作模式之中。」

Angela 在此分享如何讓隨時隨地的工作生活變得更加美好:

讓所到之處都有家的感覺。

「輕裝上路,帶上有很多用處的東西就好。紡織品很輕,用途也很廣泛:天冷時可以當作圍巾、可以在海灘上當作鋪墊,也可以當作桌巾。帶塊布料,好處無窮。」

集中工作,去哪都行

「在線上建立一個中心點,將工作集中在一處。對我們來說,這個中心點就是我們的網站。自介中說明了我們的工作方式,我們也會持續更新新專案、為客戶簡報建立後端頁面,並將我們的社群帳號連結至聯絡資訊頁面。如此一來,我們無論身在何方,工作都能呈現出一致的樣貌。」

永續性,也代表永續成長。

「對我們而言,無論是環境或財務上的永續性,都是我們做選擇時的核心價值。我認為這有助於我們在非常彈性的生活型態中建立穩定性。簡約讓你獲得的自由,是難以衡量的價值。」

在旅程中接觸客戶。

「我們處理的每項專案,幾乎都來自於我們從發想概念時就已經寫下或接觸過的想法,所以在真正要執行時,我們都已經在世界各地走過一遭了。通常客戶的理念都與我們相符,也很喜歡我們為專案帶入的情境。」

掌握自己的時間。

「專案時間較長時,我們常會待在可以超前部屬的時區。比如說,我們目前的客戶位於紐約,所以我們在巴塞隆納後製,這樣就多了六個小時。我白天可以用來處理專案,客戶也可以在上班時間持續獲得更新、提問和各個版本。這樣交流意見就會變得更有效率。」

現場拍攝採訪

取得平衡。

「我知道我們工作和生活的平衡模式相當罕見。Daryl 和我選擇依照自己的直覺而活。我們在荒野中打造自己的房屋,在獲得靈感時上路旅行。我們不需要遵守任何成規,只要隨心創作,反映出我們當下的需求。」

冒險和科技息息相關。

「我們的工作和生活模式已經融為一體,引領我們踏遍幾乎各大洲。新興科技帶來了創新和想像的工具。隨著科技的觸及越來越廣,全世界的跨國貿易、概念和文化也呈現指數成長。我們的連結比以往更加緊密。踏出去,走出自己的路吧!」

 

影片和故事提供:Citizen Research

Dropbox 讓您隨時隨地都能工作。

深入瞭解 Dropbox 功能

Lessons from a work-from-anywhere life

When they’re not traveling the globe producing film and photography projects, this creative couple lives and works off-grid in the Canadian wilderness. Technology enables Angela Hartwick and husband Daryl Visscher to seamlessly create and collaborate from their remote corner of the world.

Working from home in bed
Carving out a sense of home takes intention when living a digital nomad lifestyle. For the founders of Hartwick Creative, it comes down to bringing a piece the familiar with them wherever they roam. Writer-director Angela Hartwick and her husband photographer Daryl Visscher travel with their laptop, digital camera equipment, and a lot of textiles, which help make any work space feel more inspiring. “Regardless of where we are, we always bring a kaftan or a beautiful piece of fabric that can be a sun shade or a seat cover,” says Angela. “We kind of create the space we need, where we need it.”
Angela Hartwick working from Barcelona hotel

Their photography and video work includes campaigns and branded partnerships, image libraries, documentaries, and education initiatives for some of the world's leading brands, such as Volkswagen, Lufthansa, MTV, Marriott Hotels, and General Electric. After living in Europe and Asia for many years, Angela and Daryl now mainly reside in a remote cabin in the Canadian wilderness when they’re not on the road shooting.

They built their home and headquarters on a ranch in British Columbia, where the nearest supermarket is a three-hour drive away and power is supplied by a series of six solar panels and eight batteries. Angela and Daryl connect with their clients thanks to high-speed broadband internet delivered via of mountaintop towers and repeaters that run on wind and solar energy.

And at the core of their creative work, Dropbox keeps their projects streamlined, organized, and accessible from anywhere. “Digital technology is a huge piece of our work and our lives,” says Angela. “The ability to move files — images, videos, or whatever files we're working with — is integral to what we do. I can refine and arrange all my assets, ideas, and references before sharing the project with a client, and update them as we go. Dropbox is an indispensable tool.”

A video conference with clients

Assignments or RFPs often arise while Angela and Daryl are abroad producing other projects. “We often joke that all we need to do to book a job in the East is to fly West, or vice versa,” says Angela. “When that happens, we'll either rent an Airbnb or check into a hotel and work for those days that we need to focus on a project. We do all of that online, from booking the place, to researching, to presenting the treatment to our client. We’ve really integrated mobility into the way we work.”

Here, Angela’s lessons for making a work-from-anywhere life work better:

Make wherever you are feel like home.

“Travel lightly, with things that have multiple uses. Textiles are lightweight and can be used in myriad ways — as a scarf on a cool day, a beach blanket, or a table cover.  A little textile goes a long way.”

Centralize your work in order to decentralize your location.

“Create a central point online where all your work lives. For us, it’s our website — our bio explains the way we work, we constantly update with new projects, create backend pages for client presentations, and link our social accounts to the contact page. That way, wherever we are, the presentation of our work is consistent.”

Sustainability can mean sustained growth.

“For us, sustainability—both environmental and financial—is at the root of all our choices. I think this has helped to create stability within a really flexible lifestyle. Simplicity affords you freedom that can’t be underestimated.”

Take clients on your voyage.

“Almost every project we do results from something we've written or have been involved in from the concept, so by the time it comes to actually executing, we’ve been around the world and back. In general, our clients are aligned with our world view and appreciate the context we bring to our projects.”

Put time on your side.

“For longer projects, we will often set ourselves up in a timezone that keeps us ahead of the game. For example, our current client is based in New York, so we are doing post-production in Barcelona to give us a six-hour lead. I get the day to work on the project, and my client can still receive updates, questions, and versions during business hours. This makes the turnaround for feedback much more efficient.”

Filming an interview on-location

Find your balance.

“I realize we have a pretty rare work-life balance. Daryl and I have chosen to live according to our own intuition. We built our own house in the wilderness and travel when and where we feel inspired to go. We don't have anything to conform to, we just create as a reflection of what we need in the moment.”

Adventure and technology are related.

“Our work and lifestyle have merged together and led us to nearly every continent. New and emerging technology has provided the tools for innovation and imagination. As technology extends its reach, the world is witnessing exponential growth of international trade, ideas, and culture. We are more connected than ever before. Get out there and find your path!”

 

Video and story by Citizen Research

Dropbox helps you work from anywhere.

Learn about Dropbox features